[Plugin] FredoScale - v3.1a - 18 Dec 18

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby array81 » Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:43 pm

I installed the last version but I have only the "box" tools, no "target" tools. Any ideas?
1
User avatar
array81 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby Dave R » Sat Mar 18, 2017 10:56 pm

array81 wrote:I installed the last version but I have only the "box" tools, no "target" tools. Any ideas?


They don't show even after you enabled them and restarted SketchUp?
Screenshot - 3_18_2017 , 4_56_38 PM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby georgeoakblaster » Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:24 pm

Hi,

Is there a way to get the dimension tags to update after you resize using the 'box stretching' feature? At the moment I re-add them manually to get them to update to the correct measurement.

Thanks for this great plugin Fredo.
0

georgeoakblaster 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby Dave R » Tue Jul 04, 2017 10:25 am

georgeoakblaster wrote:Hi,

Is there a way to get the dimension tags to update after you resize using the 'box stretching' feature? At the moment I re-add them manually to get them to update to the correct measurement.

Thanks for this great plugin Fredo.


Like this?
stretch.gif
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby georgeoakblaster » Tue Jul 04, 2017 11:09 am

Thanks,

I should have mentioned this is when using 'enter new dimensions' which is on the right click dialogue box.

George
0

georgeoakblaster 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby Dave R » Tue Jul 04, 2017 12:51 pm

Maybe you could post a screen shot of what you are trying to describe because it isn't clear.

The New Dimension window is intended to allow you to type in the new dimension.

What is the "dimension tag" you refer to?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby kevsterman » Tue Aug 01, 2017 4:44 pm

Hey guys. I've recently discovered radial bend and its just brilliant. Its really helping me with some illustrations I'm doing. I was wondering if there's a way for the materials to bend as well as the model. So far the materials either stay the same or go a bit skew-whiff, they don't bend in the same directions as the face they're on. Any way of doing this?
0
"Avoid keeping more than 3 items on your desk that you can't fit into your mouth."

kevsterman 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby fredo6 » Tue Aug 01, 2017 9:52 pm

kevsterman wrote:Hey guys. I've recently discovered radial bend and its just brilliant. Its really helping me with some illustrations I'm doing. I was wondering if there's a way for the materials to bend as well as the model. So far the materials either stay the same or go a bit skew-whiff, they don't bend in the same directions as the face they're on. Any way of doing this?

Unfortunately, Radial Bend creates a lot of new faces and triangulation due to slicing. So, reconstructing the original texturing would be kind of big headache!
In general, texturing should be done on final shapes.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby kevsterman » Tue Aug 01, 2017 10:24 pm

Ok thanks Fredo. That's good to know :thumb:
0
"Avoid keeping more than 3 items on your desk that you can't fit into your mouth."

kevsterman 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby kevsterman » Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:10 pm

Hi guys. I have another question regarding radial bend. As you can see from the image all of the lines denoting brickwork haven't bended as I was expecting. I'm not sure why. Is it a parameter problem or maybe something to do with the model? Its probably something really easy I'm missing :?

Screenshot 2017-08-10 13.03.15.png
0
"Avoid keeping more than 3 items on your desk that you can't fit into your mouth."

kevsterman 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby robertWan » Thu Sep 14, 2017 5:11 pm

0
User avatar
robertWan 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby fredo6 » Thu Sep 14, 2017 6:25 pm

robertWan wrote:Why? :(
https://youtu.be/FgNyfpZPVfA

Robert

'By default', FredoScale Stretching makes the component unique before operating on it.
The issue is that I did not provision an option to apply to all instances instead.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby Lorand » Sun Oct 29, 2017 10:29 pm

Hi all,

Great plugin like all Fredo6 ones, thank you sir.

Problem: Imagine a simple Chinese lamp - equilateral triangles at the top and bottom and FredoScale TWIST for elegantly getting the surfaces between them - but the TWIST function twists around the axis of the boundary box not the axis through the centers of the bottom and top triangles and the result is skewed. Same goes for any odd sided polygons: those two centers are different. Is there any way to use TWIST and get the "expected" result?

Thank you in advance,
Lorand
0
Last edited by Lorand on Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Lorand 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby Dave R » Mon Oct 30, 2017 1:10 pm

Is there any way around it? I expect so. Upload your SKP so we can see what you've got so far.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - Twist axis

Postby Lorand » Mon Oct 30, 2017 6:13 pm

File attached.
0

Lorand 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby Dave R » Wed Nov 01, 2017 10:23 am

I see what you're getting at. It happens with shapes whose sections have an odd number of sides. It's due to the way they fit in their bounding box. I don't know if it's something Fredo can modify but an immediate solution to get around it is to put the triangle in the center of a square.

Screenshot - 11_1_2017 , 4_11_43 AM.png


Screenshot - 11_1_2017 , 4_13_05 AM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - Twist axis

Postby Lorand » Wed Nov 01, 2017 8:03 pm

Nice idea, thank you. Lorand
0

Lorand 
 

FredoScale - v3.0a - Radial Bend

Postby jtri » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:43 pm

I am using the Radial Bend tool to model a "splayed" end of an object. A couple of questions. I know it is just a few steps to copy and flip a face and then finish the end, but was wondering if I missed a command in the tool that would allow this to be done off a center line so that you could use a model, bend one face and the opposite face would bend the same but in the opposite direction? If there a better tool I should consider for this type of modeling please let me know.
Thanks for a great tool and all the support
0

jtri 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby Dave R » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:58 pm

I don't know of a tool that would do what you ask. I think using an extension to bend the surface would be more work than just drawing the curves before extruding it.

By the way, how did you draw this and manage to get all the faces inside out?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby jtri » Sun Nov 05, 2017 8:33 pm

It was easy. Just do a very quick sketch hoping to make it clear what I was asking and not pay attention at all when drawing. I unfortunately am an occasional sketch up user now and forget the basics way to often. As for using the extension vs drawing the curve, I had model that was mostly completed and I wanted the end to splay a bit. So using the extension seemed like the fasted way at that point in the modeling. The example I used was a very simplified example.
Thanks Dave
0

jtri 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby TBoy » Fri Dec 22, 2017 5:59 pm

Hi Fredo6
Is there a code I can use to put only one (or more) scale tool(s) on my own toolbar. For example "Box Stretching"?
I will put icon on my toolbar, but don't know how to start particular tool from your suites. Is there any documentation about this?
0

TBoy 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby fredo6 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 9:18 pm

TBoy wrote:Hi Fredo6
Is there a code I can use to put only one (or more) scale tool(s) on my own toolbar. For example "Box Stretching"?


Here is how you can launch any of the FredoScale tools:

F6_FredoScale.launch_action(action_code), where code must be passed as a symbol
Code: Select all
#   - :Scale_B --> Scale - Box mode
#   - :Scale_T --> Scale - Target mode
#   - :Taper_B --> Taper - Box mode
#   - :Taper_T --> Scale - Target mode
#   - :PlanarShear_B --> Planar Shear - Box mode
#   - :PlanarShear_T --> Planar Shear - Target mode
#   - :PlanarShear_A --> Planar Shear - Free mode
#   - :Stretch_B --> Stretch - Box mode
#   - :Stretch_T --> Stretch - Target mode
#   - :Twist_B --> Twist - Box mode
#   - :Rotate_B --> Rotate - Box mode
#   - :Rotate_A --> Rotate - Free mode
#   - :RadialBend_A --> Radial Bending - Free mode
#   - :MakeUnique_U --> Make Unique - Utility


Icons are in Fredo6_FredoScale/IMAGES_Standard/ folder.
There are alternate icons in Fredo6_FredoScale/IMAGES_DanielS/

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby TBoy » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:55 pm

Thank You !!!
One more general question:
Is it possible to inspect commands activated by buttons inside ruby console?
"Listener mode" of the console or something, that will show/expose these code lines from your answer?
0

TBoy 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby fredo6 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 9:54 am

TBoy wrote:Is it possible to inspect commands activated by buttons inside ruby console?
"Listener mode" of the console or something, that will show/expose these code lines from your answer?

I am not sure I understand what you wish to accomplish.
Most of my plugins are launched by LibFredo6, so not with a straightforward method. However. for some, like FredoScale, I have built a small API, which is supported.
If you need launch commands from other plugins, just tell me.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby TBoy » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:31 am

fredo6 wrote:I am not sure I understand what you wish to accomplish.
Fredo


I have a lot of scripts = a lot of toolbars with 1 single icon. I want to combine some of these in 1 toolbar. That's why I'm asking if there is method to obtain name and command to start someones script (most are coded). I hope this is not against rules.
This is a general question, not only about your tools.
0

TBoy 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby fredo6 » Sat Dec 23, 2017 10:44 am

Nothing against the rules, at least on my side.

Many plugin authors puts the launch of commands in their top Ruby file, which is not encrypted. So it's easy to replicate the Ruby code.

For my plugins, I use another mechanism, so it's less easy to find out. Better ask. Do not hesitate.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

RADIAL BENDING FORMS AT THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION WHEN @ 180 DE

Postby MadeMaker » Tue Jan 30, 2018 12:41 am

Guys, I'm having a problem with my Fredoscale Radial Bending tool and need help fast.
When bending objects in a direction at other angles except 180, it works fine. When I try bending in a specific direction and type 180 degrees, the object snaps and forms at the opposite diection most times which is not the desired direction for the 180 degrees bend.
Pls, I'll really appreciate a solution to this problem...thanks.
0

MadeMaker 
 

Re: RADIAL BENDING FORMS AT THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION WHEN @ 18

Postby fredo6 » Tue Jan 30, 2018 10:29 am

MadeMaker wrote:Guys, I'm having a problem with my Fredoscale Radial Bending tool and need help fast.
When bending objects in a direction at other angles except 180, it works fine. When I try bending in a specific direction and type 180 degrees, the object snaps and forms at the opposite diection most times which is not the desired direction for the 180 degrees bend.
Pls, I'll really appreciate a solution to this problem...thanks.

Think of it, an angle of 180 degree cannot be handled in a single curve operation because the curvature would be reduced to a point.

If you wish something like a horseshoe, do it with 2 successive bending.

Would help anyway if you post a picture or the model.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: RADIAL BENDING FORMS AT THE OPPOSITE DIRECTION WHEN @ 18

Postby MadeMaker » Wed Jan 31, 2018 3:22 am

fredo6 wrote:
MadeMaker wrote:Guys, I'm having a problem with my Fredoscale Radial Bending tool and need help fast.
When bending objects in a direction at other angles except 180, it works fine. When I try bending in a specific direction and type 180 degrees, the object snaps and forms at the opposite diection most times which is not the desired direction for the 180 degrees bend.
Pls, I'll really appreciate a solution to this problem...thanks.

Think of it, an angle of 180 degree cannot be handled in a single curve operation because the curvature would be reduced to a point.

If you wish something like a horseshoe, do it with 2 successive bending.

Would help anyway if you post a picture or the model.

Fredo




Here are some illustrative pics...
0

MadeMaker 
 

Re: [Plugin] FredoScale - v3.0a - 14 Jan 17

Postby james_h » Thu Feb 08, 2018 5:29 pm

Hi all,

Long-time lurker here, making a first post.

First: Thanks Fredo6 for such a great set of tools! Really impressive.

Next, here's details of a problem I've seen a few time with Radial Bending. Apologies in advance if it's already covered elsewhere.

I see Radial Bending generally work well. However, with some geometry, it does not create clean faces. The new geometry has gaps, e.g. where an edge is not created or where a face is not created.

Here's a demo showing the problem. Note the missing faces seen after the Radial Bend has been applied. I would appreciate any advice on how to better use the tool to avoid the problem.

I'm using SU 2017. The fredo6 plugins are all at latest versions. I tried adjusting the Number of Slices parameter to various values and see the same problem. I'm aware that SU sometimes struggles with very short edges. The geometry in the demo was re-scaled to be 8.1 metres in height.

Finally, this demo covers Radial Bending. I see similar problems with Box Twist when working with similar geometry.

Thanks for any advice.

James.
0

james_h 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chase_mccloud, PowderPig2004, tomsoyer and 9 guests

Visit our sponsors: