[Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v11.6a - 23 Jan 21

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby vittete » Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:17 pm

hi,
i got a small problem.
whenever i press on round corners in 3D, it crashes imediatly.
any suggestions?
thanks in advance
0

vittete 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby Dave R » Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:30 pm

What is "it"?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby vittete » Thu Aug 16, 2012 1:31 pm

hei, sorry. everything works. thanks! it's a great and easy tool!
0

vittete 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby icekoong » Thu Aug 30, 2012 5:48 pm

ty sir
0

icekoong 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby pyeng3 » Wed Sep 19, 2012 6:49 pm

wow thank you very much I'll try it.. hai I am Newbie, I just came registered here because ma sketchup program always produce bug splat. but I m also want to learn a more skill about this great program..
0

pyeng3 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby cacowan » Sat Sep 22, 2012 12:49 am

Issue with it crashing SketchUp Pro 8. Now running OS 10.8.1. Crashes on even the simple things. Can it be fixed? Is it the OS? I'm only trying to use Fredo Scale.
0

cacowan 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Sat Sep 22, 2012 9:58 am

cacowan wrote:Issue with it crashing SketchUp Pro 8. Now running OS 10.8.1. Crashes on even the simple things. Can it be fixed? Is it the OS? I'm only trying to use Fredo Scale.
Have you installed everything into the correct Mac HD.. 'plugins' folder?
Reread the download details.
Have you kept everything inside the subfolder in which it was packaged as a zip ?
If you have files loose inside the Plugins folder that ought to be inside the Lib's subfolder you must remove them as they will now be auto-loadings and causing all kinds of weirdness...

On a MAC it's possible to setup Safari to auto-extract zips into a folder - this causes confusion because all guidance assumes that the zip files are intact and you will manually extract them, keeping files inside any subfolders etc.
If you do have a 'zip' file [or any other downloaded format for that matter] then the safest way of installing its contents is to use thomthom's simple installer - viewtopic.php?p=375454#p375454 it works in v8 PC AND MAC - you do need to install this first from the RBZ file using the clear instructions ... using Preferences > Extensions > Installer button...

Good luck.

How do you mean 'crash' - are there messages in the Ruby Console?
Is it a Bugsplat! etc ? ...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby cacowan » Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:23 pm

ShetchUp crashes. Shuts down. Closes. Work reverts to last saved version on reopening SketchUp. I've learned to save before trying to use the tool so I don't have to go dig out the autosave file.
Fredo Scale and all the Fredo Tools were downloaded exactly as detailed in the user download and installed and working perfectly before I upgraded the OS from 10.7 to 10.8, so I can only assume its the upgrade.
I'm going to try a reinstall later today, but wondered if anyone else was having this problem after upgrading. If not, I may have another issue going on...OR the tools need tweaking in order to work with 10.8. I'd just like to have an idea which it is before I go messing around with files that used to work... And waste more time.
I tried updating LibFredo6 to v4.6c, and that did nothing. (previous to the upgrade I had 4.6a working). Purging the outdated files in the folder via the upgrade screen didn't help either. Kind of frustrated because I've come to rely on the ability to correct sizing on my construction drawings with the ability to choose where the stretch or shrink should occur.
0

cacowan 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby Dave R » Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:28 pm

Others are using FredoScale with OS 10.8.1 so it isn't likely to be Fredo's files. Others have reported that the permissions for the Plugins folder have changed after upgrading the OS. Perhaps that's what has happened in your case. Make sure the Plugins folder isn't set to be Read Only.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Sat Sep 22, 2012 4:36 pm

Very good point :enlight:
Fredo's tools [and some other tools too] write log or temporary files etc into the Plugins folder, so if that folder's 'write' permissions are not set properly [Read/Write for all] then a tool can fail - seemingly catastrophically in your case.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby cacowan » Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:19 am

I checked the read and write settings, and changed "everyone" to r&w just in case it didn't see me as admin. first two tries, it worked. Then crashed the next 6 times. Went to the sketch up root folder above plugins... Made sure it and all it's contents are r&w... Rebooted sketch up... And crash. It allows me to select the tool, position the grid, and the as soon as I select the toggle on that axis... Sketchup closes. Same as always... But for two brief seconds I was smiling...

I'll try a complete system reboot and check to make sure it's still all r&w... But any other suggestions?
0

cacowan 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby Dave R » Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:59 am

What other plugins do you have? Perhaps there's a conflict. Do you have Sketchy Physics by any chance? It is known to wreak havoc on other plugins.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Sun Sep 23, 2012 10:20 am

Make sure the full R&W permissions 'permeate' into the changed folder's "contents" - files/subfolders/their-files etc.
Just fixing a folder's permissions might not be enough - if for example it were to leave a log-file with read-only permissions, when it needs read AND write permissions, will cause issues...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby cacowan » Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:00 am

Still trying and still frustrated in geting fredoscale to work. All files are updated. Computer re-started from a cold shut down. Only other plugin is mirror. All I really need is the fredo toolset. Mirror works. I had some idea that it was the z axis that had problems, but no. Sketchup closes with any movement or attempted movement of the toggle. Every file in the plugins folder is read and write.

What would be the correct way to remove everything and re-download and re-install? Can I just delete them from the directory? I'm not sure which files are which now that it's been extracted to the plugins folder.

Yikes.
0

cacowan 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby cacowan » Tue Sep 25, 2012 2:21 am

Something I just noticed... sometimes.... the toggles look like the scale tools in Sketchup... like there's three across... THAT's when it crashes. If I click away, and try the tool again...sometimes... the toggles remain singular, and then (as in the last two tries) it works. If the toggles are oversize and all black... it's like the tool launched incorrectly, and the crash happens. If this is how I have to work... then so be it. Got to get these drawings out tomorrow.
0

cacowan 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby fredo6 » Tue Sep 25, 2012 9:31 am

cacowan wrote:Something I just noticed... sometimes.... the toggles look like the scale tools in Sketchup... like there's three across... THAT's when it crashes. If I click away, and try the tool again...sometimes... the toggles remain singular, and then (as in the last two tries) it works. If the toggles are oversize and all black... it's like the tool launched incorrectly, and the crash happens. If this is how I have to work... then so be it. Got to get these drawings out tomorrow.

Cacowan,

I guess the "toggles" you mention are actually the "handles" for scaling

To understand your problem, could you clarify the following

1) can you check you have in the Plugins directory
- FREDOSCALEDir_22 folder
- LibFredo6.rb
- LIBFREDO6_DIR_46 folder
..and no other file with Fredoscale in their name

2) Do you have one of the following plugins installed?
- Podium
- Matchbox
- SunPosition
- SketchyPhysics

3) Do you see the FredoScale toolbar with all icons

4) does the crash happen when you use the Scale tool only, or any of the other tool (Bend, Twist, Rotate, Taper, ...). By the way, which tool do you use when it crashes

5) Does the crash happen with any model or just a particular model

5) can you open the Ruby console when you play with FredoScale, in case there are messages

Thanks

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby guanjin » Tue Sep 25, 2012 4:43 pm

I install a lot of tools and did not find any problems, work properly! Thank the LibFredo6 work! ! :sketchstatic:
0
I come from China, is to learn
User avatar
guanjin 
 

problem with "check for update"

Postby mrossk » Wed Oct 03, 2012 4:36 am

Hi- When I opened up Sketch-Up tonight there was the familiar "check for update" icon for the various Fredo plugins. I clicked the icon to check and recieved the following error messages:
Capture.JPG


I've used this functionality many times without a problem. Any suggestions?

Thank you,
Michael
0

mrossk 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby driven » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:40 am

My 'guess' is it's the new forum server causing a problem... john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:38 am

driven wrote:My 'guess' is it's the new forum server causing a problem... john
Yes, Fredo needs to update his tool's code to suit the new site address / format...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby mrossk » Wed Oct 03, 2012 12:14 pm

Thanks guys. Usually things like this are me doing something dumb :)
0

mrossk 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby fredo6 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:07 pm

NEW RELEASE: LibFredo6 v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

LibFredo6 4.6d is a minor release which essentially fixes a problem in the functionality "Check for Updates". The issues comes from the change in URL schema of the new SKetchucation web site.

See main post of this thread for Download.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby fredo6 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:19 pm

TIG wrote:
driven wrote:My 'guess' is it's the new forum server causing a problem... john
Yes, Fredo needs to update his tool's code to suit the new site address / format...

TIG,

The forum supports the old and new schemes.
Unfortunately, when using Ajax (XMLHttpRequest), you need to have the new valid URL address.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby mrossk » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:26 pm

Has anyone else successfully tried this? I just installed it, overwrote the exisitng files, and get the same error messages. Thank you,
Michael
0

mrossk 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:41 pm

I still get an error.
The error is because of the new SCF format, presumably the thread's code has changed... :?
Might it be TT's tools causing issues, rather than the updated Fredo tools.
viewtopic.php?p=358315#p358315
Unfortunately the error message isn't very precise...
:roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby Dave R » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:43 pm

I did it just now. It worked fine for me but told me that 4.6c is out of date. It did that after I installed 4.6d.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby driven » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:57 pm

hi Fredo,

all working on the mac, from London... john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby fredo6 » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:59 pm

mrossk wrote:Has anyone else successfully tried this? I just installed it, overwrote the exisitng files, and get the same error messages. Thank you,
Michael

When you call the CheckForUpdate dialog box (without updating), which version of LibFredo6 do you see ? LibFredo6 4.6c or LibFredo6 4.6d ?

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:03 pm

Mine says 4.6c NOT d...
It's a clean install - I removed the old files/subfolder...

LibFredo6.plugin says 4.6d in Plugins BUT 4.6c in the Lib subfolder !
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6d - 03 Oct 12

Postby Dave R » Wed Oct 03, 2012 9:05 pm

I get the same thing as TIG. After seeing it the first time, I removed the files and did a clean install.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Munique_sm, OSN58 and 11 guests

Visit our sponsors: