[Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

[Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

Postby Didier Bur » Wed May 14, 2008 7:30 pm

Hi all,
Following a request by Jorgensen, I just come up with this little utility to quickly draw lintels above doors when raising plans from 2D drawing.

It detects incorrect door height, non-parallel wall sides, suspicious opening width, non-connectable wall side, obstructive object crossing the lintel.
French version also available at the Ruby Depot (Architecture section).
Enjoy,

EDIT 1:
Some quick usage notes:
- Default door height: 2m
- You don't have to enter it first if this is the height you want to use. Once a height is set, it will be used unless you change it.
- select a wall side where you want the door-lintel to be (I don't know the right english word for it but I think this is "embrasure"). Select the option in the Plugins menu. That's all.

I had first put the option in the context menu, but Jorgensen thought it will be better located in the pull-down menu. If you prefer a context menu option, it can be done of course.
Oh, and the window option is a nice idea (why didn't I thought about it myself ??? :lol: )

EDIT 2 (16 May):
Updated for windows. Enter sill and window heights in the Plugins menu, usage is the same than for doors.

EDIT 3 (18 May):
Plugins menu option fixed.

Please get the latest version from the PluginStore

Download

0
Last edited by Didier Bur on Sun May 18, 2008 5:12 pm, edited 9 times in total.
Didier Bur
Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Nancy (F)
http://rld.crai.archi.fr/rubylibrarydepot/
User avatar
Didier Bur 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby ilay7k » Wed May 14, 2008 7:53 pm

Incredible work!!!
very useful!
Thanks a'lot...

BTW...if chose incorrect height of door(wrong measure of walls) , put 0(nill) in dialog(and it doesn't to tire with request)
0

ilay7k 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Jorgensen » Wed May 14, 2008 10:03 pm

And nice it is :ecstatic:

Many thanks Didier
0
sketchup pro 2016 16.1.1449 64 bit | windows 10 pro | i7-3770k @3.5 GHz | 16gb ram | gtx 780 ti / gtx 980 ti | nvidia driver 368.39

Jorgensen 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Mike Lucey » Wed May 14, 2008 11:29 pm

Didier, that must be the fastest Ruby resquest turnaround I've seen.
Thanks, it will be a great time saver.

Mike
0
User avatar
Mike Lucey 
Mayor
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby erikB » Thu May 15, 2008 8:14 am

Didier, thanks very much this is really a very handy ruby !!
Now if there was an option for windows it would be fantastic. As far as I am concerned it also could be a 'standard' height for the distance of the floor and height of the lintel. This often changes during the design anyway and can easy be changed with push/pull afterwards.
erikB
0
User avatar
erikB 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby ilay7k » Thu May 15, 2008 8:23 am

ErikB, magic cutting_windows-script(by Didier...again ;)) will be useful for you!
0

ilay7k 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby JClements » Thu May 15, 2008 3:43 pm

It does nothing for me. I input a door height of 6', click OK, and that is it. The script ends.
door_lentel error.jpg
. The same thing happens whether the walls are preselected or not.
0
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby david_h » Thu May 15, 2008 4:20 pm

I just gave this one a test drive. Works Great. huge Time saver.

Merci, Mon ami.

D
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Dave R » Thu May 15, 2008 4:26 pm

JClements wrote:It does nothing for me. I input a door height of 6', click OK, and that is it. The script ends.
door_lentel error.jpg
. The same thing happens whether the walls are preselected or not.


What happens if you enter 72 for the height?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby majid » Thu May 15, 2008 4:50 pm

it doesn't work for me too :( .nothing happens! i saw the swf , but i don't know where i am rong!!
1
My V-Ray book for architects: https://goo.gl/cz1oRc
User avatar
majid 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby ilay7k » Thu May 15, 2008 4:58 pm

"door.skp" example with description was included in package(From: http://www.crai.archi.fr/RubyLibraryDep ... lintel.zip)
0

ilay7k 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby majid » Thu May 15, 2008 8:41 pm

thanx .... it was so useful :thumb: (none of the smilies shows my respect truely )
0
My V-Ray book for architects: https://goo.gl/cz1oRc
User avatar
majid 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby dylan » Thu May 15, 2008 8:46 pm

Excellent Didier, thankyou for this :thumb:
0

dylan 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Edson » Thu May 15, 2008 9:26 pm

i managed to install it but i do not know how to make it work.

what is the 1st thing to do? set the door height? and then what? could you take me through the steps?
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby dylan » Thu May 15, 2008 9:30 pm

Edson check out ilay7k's post three up from yours. There is a link to a skp explaining.
0

dylan 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Edson » Thu May 15, 2008 9:53 pm

Dylan wrote:Edson check out ilay7k's post three up from yours. There is a link to a skp explaining.

thanks, dylan. but that is not what i asked for.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Dave R » Thu May 15, 2008 9:59 pm

Edson wrote:i managed to install it but i do not know how to make it work.

what is the 1st thing to do? set the door height? and then what? could you take me through the steps?


Edson, I set the door height, selected the side of the door opening and then chose the other option in the plugin's menu.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Edson » Thu May 15, 2008 10:19 pm

this is what happens when i run the script. notice there is no lintel. the result was just the disapearance of a back face and the shortening of the wall on the side where i selected a face to start the lintel from.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Dave R » Thu May 15, 2008 11:39 pm

Edson, is that your back face color?. Try this. Before pulling the walls up, delete the floor so the walls pull up right side out.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Edson » Fri May 16, 2008 1:04 am

thanks, dave. i ran some tests and the problem seems to have been the fact that the faces were reversed for the script to work. leaving the floor on was no problem.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Dave R » Fri May 16, 2008 1:26 am

Edson, I knew that reversing the faces would fix it but if you had deleted the floor, Push/Pull wouldn't have resulted in the exposed back faces. Glad you got it to work in any case.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby enhorning » Fri May 16, 2008 6:05 am

I installed, it showed up in the plugins menu, all seemed well. I draw a simple floor plan and when I select a face and run door by embasure it crashes SU instantly.

Any ideas?

marianne
0

enhorning 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby ilay7k » Fri May 16, 2008 8:09 am

Hello Marianne!
Try to catch messages from ruby-console(open console, do some actions with script and look at console, what happens...)
---
Will be nice to have bugsplat-log with ruby?
0

ilay7k 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel

Postby Didier Bur » Fri May 16, 2008 4:20 pm

Hi,

the problem seems to have been the fact that the faces were reversed for the script to work

Of course, because the script uses the normal vector of the selected face to decide in which direction it has to pushpull the lintel.
0
Didier Bur
Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Nancy (F)
http://rld.crai.archi.fr/rubylibrarydepot/
User avatar
Didier Bur 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

Postby enhorning » Sat May 17, 2008 2:11 am

I opened the console and ran the same little model to test lintel and nothing appeared in the console and no Bugsplat appeared. I did get a windows rash report. other than that i had about a 5 second wait before the first crash and then instant on subsequent crashes.


anything else I can do to help diagnose?

marianne
0

enhorning 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

Postby farukahmet » Sun May 18, 2008 1:54 pm

Didier,

Another excellent plugin. What a time saver!
But i have a problem with the window option (door option works flawlessly). It simply does nothing. I tried various "window height" and "sill height" combinations but no success. Do you have any idea what might be the problem?
0

farukahmet 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

Postby ilay7k » Sun May 18, 2008 2:19 pm

Hello Faruk, select face(red face, image-description from 1st message of topic) try by right click(context menu) and select "window by..."(for 1st if you define all options of window and sill in plug-ins menu)...

Didier thank you for update!
I got such error when i tried from "plug-ins"-menu
Code: Select all
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `wbe_by_embrasure' for #<Object:0x42c92d0>>
(eval):220
(eval):220:in `call'

from context - normal
0

ilay7k 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

Postby farukahmet » Sun May 18, 2008 2:32 pm

Thanks Ilya, it worked like a charm. I wonder why it doesn't work from the Plugins menu though.
0

farukahmet 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

Postby ilay7k » Sun May 18, 2008 2:37 pm

i think, Didier will fix it...
we are humans...not machines
0

ilay7k 
 

Re: [Plugin] Door-Lintel Update + Window-Sill

Postby Didier Bur » Sun May 18, 2008 5:14 pm

Done.
Was a typo, "w" instead of "d" in Plugins menu option :bounce:
(Note to french users: pas de probleme avec la version française)
0
Didier Bur
Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Nancy (F)
http://rld.crai.archi.fr/rubylibrarydepot/
User avatar
Didier Bur 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests

Visit our sponsors: