[Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

[Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby TIG » Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:12 pm

Following a request I have corrected a hitherto unreported glitch in XrefManager.rb Make_Xref method... and so here's v5.0.

The v6 new Import methods could also mean that in the future importing DWG/DXFs is easier, more reliable and works on Macs - BUT that's NOT in this release - watch this space...


[Discussion]
-1
Last edited by TIG on Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:16 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Reason: Added link to the discussion
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Xref Manager v5.0

Postby TIG » Wed Mar 05, 2008 11:13 pm

Following a request I have corrected a hitherto unreported glitch in XrefManager.rb Make_Xref method... and so here's v4.0:

viewtopic.php?p=45935#p45935

The v6 new Import methods could also mean that in the future importing DWG/DXFs is easier, more reliable and works on Macs - BUT that's NOT in this release - watch this space...

.
0
Last edited by TIG on Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Xref Manager v4.0

Postby Mike Lucey » Thu Mar 06, 2008 12:51 am

Thanks TIG, I'II be watching this space for the Mac version.

Mike

PS: I like the Avatar!
0
User avatar
Mike Lucey 
Mayor
 

Re: Xref Manager v4.0

Postby dtrarch » Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:41 am

Hi TIG

Thanks again for another super script.
FYI I got error message using this download, but the 5-6 version on Didier's site works perfectly.
(latest version of GSU Pro 6)

Also seems more logical to me to have it show up in the [File] menu and easy to change if needed.

The [Plugin] spot gets Plugged up in hurry for we collectors.

Regards

dtr
0

dtrarch 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Xref Manager v4.0

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:10 am

dtrarch wrote:Hi TIG

Thanks again for another super script.
FYI I got error message using this download, but the 5-6 version on Didier's site works perfectly.
(latest version of GSU Pro 6)

Also seems more logical to me to have it show up in the [File] menu and easy to change if needed...
dtr

1. What 'error' exactly - please give more details or else I shall never be able to fix it ! press PrtScrn+Alt to capture error-message window, paste into something... then post here...

2. It's easy for you to move the Menu item. Edit it in Notepad.exe. Look near the end and replace any "Plugins" with "File" or "Tool" etc...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Xref Manager v4.0

Postby archtrot » Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:56 pm

TIG,

This is the error message that I get.
0

archtrot 
 

Re: Xref Manager v4.0

Postby dtrarch » Fri Mar 07, 2008 4:53 pm

TIG

I got the same message using the download posted here.

I had already moved the menu and just thought that the file location worked a little better as a suggestion.

dtr
0

dtrarch 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 07, 2008 5:42 pm

Fixed with v5.1 - sorry for the stupid glitch...


viewtopic.php?f=180&t=7329

...
0
Last edited by TIG on Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby cdubea » Tue Mar 18, 2008 7:54 pm

This is an awesome add-in!

It allows me to work with Sketchup in a way which is similar to the way SolidWorks manages files.

Thanks!

Can I ask an ENORMOUS favor? Can your menus be included in the right mouse button menus?

That would be a tremendous "click" saver.

Thanks again,

chris
0

cdubea 
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby cdubea » Mon Mar 24, 2008 5:21 pm

TIG,

I've been using the Xref Manager and it works well on small models. Larger models with more than one 'assembly' cause it to lock up when refreshing.

Please see the attached file

thanks for looking at this,

chris
0

cdubea 
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:28 pm

Unfortunately the xrefs are specific to your folder structure and report as 'unpathed' on mine !

You certainly have a lot of xrefs ! Surely a lot of your components are particular to that model and aren't used in other models so there is no advantage in having them 'external' ?

If you find that you need a compo for another assembly then save_as it then...

I recommend that you only use a handful of external 'xref' compos. For example you are making a housing estate... the model is the site and xrefs of each house type are use. IF they change then you can update the model to suit. It was never intended for you to split all of your model's compos to outside. Only externalise those things that are to be reused elsewhere and if they change need to be update-able...

.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby cdubea » Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:02 pm

The problem seems to stem from files made up of components which themselves are made up of components.

The file Folding Workbench file consists of 3 components each of which is made up of multiple components. If your process limited itself to the components actually in the file it would probably be okay. I played around in the manager and if I only allowed the components in the Folding Workbench file to refresh all was well.

Your tool allows me to work with files in the same manner I do in the other modeler I use, which is SolidWorks. Splitting files into multiple components allows me to dimension the components in a logical manner (at least for me) without using multiple scenes and such.

Thanks for looking at this. All the components are in the parent folder of the main file. This should make it easy to reconnect if you want to test your code on it.

Chris
0

cdubea 
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby Fletch » Wed Mar 26, 2008 3:58 pm

cdubea wrote:Can I ask an ENORMOUS favor? Can your menus be included in the right mouse button menus?


@Chris and TIG - PLEASE, TIG, NO! My R-Click menu is already WAYYY too long as it is.

Chris, simply set up a shortcut button to the xref options, Try 'x' if you didn't assign that to 'explode' already... No more stuff in our menus that isn't absolutely necessary, please!

That said,

Thanks for this, TIG! I have finally found the time/necessity to experiment with this thing. Seems ok so far with small stuff. I'm wondering if you have a tutorial explaining how it all works, as I'm a bit confused (I've been using AutoCAD for years and years, and am one of the office's 'CADMasters' (their word, not mine)... so I know xref-ing very well.

1) I need to know: I know I can choose to DELETE the xref in the xref manage... but I want to unload it, that is, I want to keep the info and path to the xref inside the SU model without completely deleting it. How do I 'unload' the file, so that my model is much smaller, but then I can reload the file quickly again to see the xref again next time I open my model to work. (I'm doing a hospital addition, I have a huge hospital/site/context model I want to xref into my 'addition building' model... I want the 'addition' model to stay 'small' in size... so I want to be able to quickly unload the context model, and reload it at will)

2) What is the advantage to/workflow suggestion of converting components to xrefs? Though I convert them to become xrefs, aren't they still making my file bigger? (hence why one may want an 'unload' option)

3) Is there a way we could have an option kind of like ACAD where you can define the automatic insertion point of the xref to be the origin of the current model? This is important because sometimes the origin is difficult to snap to, buried deep inside/under other geometry in your model, and you just want your context model to pop in with the same 0,0 origin.

TIG, one last thing... it would be really cool if you could tell me how I can move the xref manager to the Tools pulldown, as my plugins menu already drops down past the bottom of my screen... but I have lots of room under the tools menu... and I think of this as a great 'tool'. ;)

ps - if you get 'unload' working... then one more function would be very cool... 'unload all xrefs' and 'reload all xrefs'... these could then be a shortcut key and life is beautiful. :enlight:
0

Fletch 
Twilight Render
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby Fletch » Wed Mar 26, 2008 7:52 pm

"win32ole.so"
what the heck is that?! I tried to xref in a .dwg and it says
"This requires 'win32ole.so' to be in the Plugins folder! Exiting..."

any help?!
0

Fletch 
Twilight Render
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 27, 2008 6:05 pm

Fletch wrote:"win32ole.so"
what the heck is that?! I tried to xref in a .dwg and it says
"This requires 'win32ole.so' to be in the Plugins folder! Exiting..."

any help?!

If you got an earlier version of XrefManager it was in the zip file. It's a Windows only extension that 'scripts' keyboard actions into events in the script - e.g. open the dialog then press the down-arrow key 4 times, then TAB, then type "xxxxx", then hit <enter>. It's fairly crude but lets you access some functions that aren't accessible through Ruby...
win32ole.zip
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby Fletch » Thu Mar 27, 2008 7:37 pm

muchas gracias, amigo! ;)
0

Fletch 
Twilight Render
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby cdubea » Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:55 pm

TIG,

Any chance of getting the Xref Manager tweaked to show only the top level components in the Xref Manager dialog bog?

Thanks,

chris
0

cdubea 
 

Re: Xref Manager v5.0

Postby cdubea » Wed May 21, 2008 6:35 pm

cdubea wrote:TIG,

Any chance of getting the Xref Manager tweaked to show only the top level components in the Xref Manager dialog bog?

Thanks,

chris


Due to multiple issues, I've gotten to the point where this tool is no longer useful to me.

These are (in no particular order)

1) Inability to effectively deal with multiply nested parts. This is due to the fact that ALL xref'd components of ALL components are listed in the manager. This causes multiple rebuilding to be required and WILL go into an infinite loop requiring Sketchup to be shut down.

2) Issues with sub component names not being updated. A part that I renamed the components did not update properly. Some component names changed, some didn't.

3) Had issues with component names have #1... being added to them.

Any chance of getting some of these things rectified?

Please?

chris
0

cdubea 
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby dammerel » Sat May 31, 2008 12:41 pm

i get this error

Error Loading File XrefManager.rb
undefined method `add_submenu' for nil:NilClass


Andrew
0

dammerel 
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby plot-paris » Sun Jun 01, 2008 6:00 pm

same error message for me...
0
User avatar
plot-paris 
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:59 am

Try v5.1 that fixes this... see below or here:

viewtopic.php?f=180&t=7329
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby perk » Tue Jun 03, 2008 2:04 pm

When I try to click on the link I get a message saying "you are not authorised to read this forum"
0

perk 
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby juju » Tue Jun 03, 2008 2:56 pm

perk wrote:When I try to click on the link I get a message saying "you are not authorised to read this forum"

+1, get the tools out and fix it.
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby Jim » Tue Jun 03, 2008 9:43 pm

Ok, links are fixed.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby juju » Tue Jun 03, 2008 10:58 pm

Great response time, thanks!
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby perk » Wed Jun 04, 2008 2:05 pm

Thanks Jim

its working now
0

perk 
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby david_h » Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:05 pm

So does this work as XREF in autocad that it reduces model size and hence adds to speed cuz the model is referenced and not attached or bound, (inserted) into the mother model?
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 14, 2008 7:41 pm

David_H wrote:So does this work as XREF in AutoCAD that it reduces model size and hence adds to speed cuz the model is referenced and not attached or bound, (inserted) into the mother model?

No. You'll have all of the files inserted into the model. It only keeps track of external file changes and allows up to reload them as you want...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby david_h » Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:22 pm

Oh well . ..c'est la vie
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Xref Manager v5.0

Postby alz » Thu Jul 17, 2008 7:21 pm

Quick basic question --

What is the advantage of the XRef plugin over using the native "Reload" feature on a component?
1

alz 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anadbenaglia, PPI and 11 guests

Visit our sponsors: