[Plugin] Dims/Text/2dText Visibility [dimvis.rb]

[Plugin] Dims/Text/2dText Visibility [dimvis.rb]

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 05, 2011 11:30 am

This is a version or my golden-oldie 'dimsvis.rb' that Defisto has recently reworked to have several more functions, a proper menu etc... and which I then further updated and re-streamlined...

It adds a new sub-menu to View with items to toggle the visibility of Dims and Text - both separately and together, and also isolate Dims and Text onto their own layers in one step... The current settings are now remembered with the saved model as attributes as simple on/off toggles... as of v1.3 layering of Dims/Text can be limited to active_entities or to ALL...

Copyright 2009-2014, TIG & Defisto
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for
any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided the above
copyright notice appear in all copies.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR
IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THE IMPLIED
WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
#--------------------------------------------------------------------------
Name : dimsvis.rb
Description : Toggles dimensions on/off [hidden/shown]
Menu Item : View -> "Show|Hide|Isolate Text|2dText|Dims"
Can be shortcut keyed for ease of use...
Author : TIG & Defisto
Usage : Pick off sub-menu items...
ALL dimensions/text are either be shown or hidden [including
those inside groups/components].
The 'isolate' onto a special layer for dims/text can be
applied to either dims/text in the 'active_entities' OR to
'all' [which will include those inside groups/components].
Note: if the number of dims/text entities found and the
number put onto the layer are not the same it will be because
some of them are already on that layer.
It is one step undo-able...
Version : 1.0 First draft. 20090404
1.1 Undo added. Mining groups/definitions. 20090405
1.2 Several 'Defisto led' changes including text, layers, menu
etc. Toggle now saved with model [by TIG].
Idioms fixes and some .typename > .class tests [by TIG]
20110105
1.3 New option for ALL Text/Dims to get layered within groups
etc [TIG] 20110105
1.4 Wrapped in a TIG_DEFISTO_DIMVIS class [TIG] 20110116
1.5 New Options added by Defisto & minor adjustments by TIG.
20110212 Tools support Groups/Components =
- Delete Text: In the Selection/Model.
- Delete Dimensions: In the Selection/Model.
- Delete Text AND Dimensions: In the Selection/Model.
1.6 Future-proofed 20131205
1.7 Now also processes "2dText" [made in 2dTools]. 20141023

Download

1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty

Postby JClements » Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:18 pm

Hi TIG, Happy New Year.

I just tried this updated plugin. Running Windows7 and SU8.

All but two options worked for me. The last two options to put text and dimensions into their own layers does not move the text nor the dimensions to their newly created layers IF they are associated with geometry INSIDE of a GROUP.

Regards, John
1
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:34 pm

JClements wrote:Hi TIG, Happy New Year.

I just tried this updated plugin. Running Windows7 and SU8.

All but two options worked for me. The last two options to put text and dimensions into their own layers does not move the text nor the dimensions to their newly created layers IF they are associated with geometry INSIDE of a GROUP.

Regards, John

I didn't test it - it's Defisto's tweaks... I'll revisit it... :roll:
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:19 pm

JClements wrote:...The last two options to put text and dimensions into their own layers does not move the text nor the dimensions to their newly created layers IF they are associated with geometry INSIDE of a GROUP...

viewtopic.php?p=298596#p298596 is the link to v1.3 which now has two types of dims/text isolate onto layer - on for 'active_entities' and the other for 'ALL entities'. So the first one only puts active text/dims onto their layers and the second moves ALL onto the layer even when inside groups or components... :ugeek:
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty [dimvis.rb] v1.3 20110105

Postby JClements » Wed Jan 05, 2011 5:36 pm

:)
Works.
Thank you, sir.
1
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty [dimvis.rb] v1.4 20110116

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 16, 2011 3:04 pm

Here's v1.4 viewtopic.php?p=298596#p298596
It's wrapped into a class for robustness and clash avoidance...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty [dimvis.rb] v1.5 20110213

Postby TIG » Sun Feb 13, 2011 4:43 pm

Here's v1.5 viewtopic.php?p=298596#p298596
Defisto has added options to delete Text|Dims|Text+Dims in a Selection|Model including those within Groups/Components...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty [dimvis.rb] v1.5 20110213

Postby SnowTiger » Fri May 25, 2012 8:30 pm

Hi
Is it safe for me to assume that this plugin goes directly into SU's Plugins Folder ?

I have read this thread but didn't notice if:
a) any other plugins required ?
b) will this plugin work in either SU v7 and/or v8 ?

This looks like a great plugin and I can't wait to try it out.
Thanks very much for your efforts re: creating this plugin and for sharing it.
And thanks in advance for any further information regarding my questions above.

Chris Mowat aka SnowTiger
PS> Thanks also to Catamountain for sharing this link in the following Forum.
https://productforums.google.com/d/topi ... discussion
1

SnowTiger 
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text Visibilty [dimvis.rb] v1.5 20110213

Postby TIG » Fri May 25, 2012 8:59 pm

Just put a .rb file into your Plugins folder and restart Sketchup for it to auto-load.
This script needs no other scripts to run.
It should work in v7 or v8, but it'd probably work in v5 or v6 too - it is fairly simplistic...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Dims/Text/2dText Visibility [dimvis.rb]

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 23, 2014 1:13 pm

There's an update to this Plugin in the PluginStore [user requested].
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=dimsvis
v1.7 will now Hide|Show|Isolate[Layer]|Delete Selected|All Text|2dText|Dims
I.E. It now processes "2dText" which has been made with my 2dTools, just as can native Text and Dimensions...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests

Visit our sponsors: