[Plugin] DrawHelix14

[Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Jim » Sat Dec 04, 2010 6:43 pm

This is a enhanced version of Peter Brown's DrawHelix13 script.

Main improvements are:

* Input box now uses the current model units.
* Previous values are saved between each use.

It is meant to replace the drawhelix13.rb file, but both can be installed without conflict.

Download (right-click, select Save As)
drawhelix14.rb
2
Last edited by Jim on Thu Dec 09, 2010 3:27 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby dedmin » Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:16 pm

:bounce: :bounce: :bounce:
Works fine - thanks, Jim!
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Rich O Brien » Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:22 pm

Thanks Jim!
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby shura » Sat Dec 04, 2010 7:28 pm

Thank you Jim, useful improvement!
0
User avatar
shura 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Bob James » Sat Dec 04, 2010 10:38 pm

Thanks for the improvement!
0
i7-4930K 3.4Ghz, 2x GTX780 6GB, 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC, OCZ Vertex 4 500GB, WD Black 3TB, 32TB NAS, 4x 27" Monitors, SpaceMouse Pro, X-keys XK-60
User avatar
Bob James 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby utiler » Sun Dec 05, 2010 4:28 am

+1 Jim... simple is best!!!!!!
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Jim » Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:26 pm

You're welcome. The small things can make all the difference.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Gaieus » Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:29 pm

Jim wrote:The small things can make all the difference.

True. Thanks Jim! :thumb:
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby pilou » Sun Dec 05, 2010 1:34 pm

Small is beautiful ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby PeterCharles » Fri Dec 31, 2010 2:10 pm

Jim wrote:This is a enhanced version of Peter Brown's DrawHelix13 script.

Main improvements are:

* Input box now uses the current model units.
* Previous values are saved between each use.

It is meant to replace the drawhelix13.rb file, but both can be installed without conflict.

Download (right-click, select Save As)
drawhelix14.rb

There must be life in my old dog yet if someone thought to improve it. :D
0

PeterCharles 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Jim » Fri Dec 31, 2010 8:25 pm

Hi Peter,

Sure, it has plenty of life - I just made it a bit more friendly. Hope you don't mind the update.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby mitcorb » Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:19 pm

Thanks, Jim.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby PeterCharles » Sun Jan 02, 2011 12:46 pm

Jim wrote:Hi Peter,

Sure, it has plenty of life - I just made it a bit more friendly. Hope you don't mind the update.

You have my blessing to improve it in what ever way you can. :)
0

PeterCharles 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby simon le bon » Sun Jan 02, 2011 1:20 pm

Excellent!
Thank you Jim (and also for your revisited Didier's Double Line :thumb: )

:scale: :thumb: simon
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby ATYRAUTONY » Thu Jan 06, 2011 8:43 am

Hi nice tool but is it possible to draw a helix that is not a whole number of turns for example 1.5 I have tried and nothing is drawn.
0

ATYRAUTONY 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby pilou » Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:44 am

Yes you must enter an "Integer" number :)
So cut your volume at the end of the process ;)

Make 3 turns and cut at the middle ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 06, 2011 10:50 am

Pilou wrote:Yes you must enter an "Integer" number :)
So cut your volume at the end of the process ;)

Make 3 turns and cut at the middle ;)

It's easily fixed by adjusting the code in the .rb file... on line #23 [edit with Notepad.exe or equivalent plain-text editor - NOT a wrodprocessor]
change
values = [300.mm, 300.mm, 100.mm, 5, 24]
into
values = [300.mm, 300.mm, 100.mm, 5.0, 24]
then save.
Now you can enter decimal values like 1.5 ...
The original code froze it as an 'integer' [default=5] and therefore prevented 'partial turn' values being entered... BUT since the rest of the code doesn't rely on it being an 'integer' there's no problems with making it a 'float'...
I already had that tweaked in the previous version in my installation...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby pilou » Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:11 am

Better and more generalist indeed :fro:
And always amazing as just 2 signs can change something! :enlight:

We are few things in the univers, all is inside decimals :mrgreen:

By Francesco de Comité :thumb:
pi.jpg
1
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby pilou » Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:48 pm

@ TIG
I am in V6
Curious
I have an old version Draw Helix 13
make your 5.0 changment inside : works fine :fro:

I load the new DrawHelix14
nothing is drawing :o (same result with your changment) :o
I have this in the Ruby console
Code: Select all
Error: #<ArgumentError: wrong number of arguments(2 for 1)>
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:68:in `start_operation'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:68:in `drawhelix'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:78
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:78:in `call'
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby simon le bon » Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:50 pm

TIG wrote:It's easily fixed by adjusting the code in the .rb file... on line #23 [edit with Notepad.exe or equivalent plain-text editor - NOT a wrodprocessor]
change
values = [300.mm, 300.mm, 100.mm, 5, 24]
into
values = [300.mm, 300.mm, 100.mm, 5.0, 24]
then save.
Now you can enter decimal values like 1.5 ...


I'm very proud to annouce that this
Code: Select all
.0
added, is my very first rubby scripting :lol: (and may be also the last 8-) )
And then Oh! the problems begin :roflmao:

1)With or without this new code, I discover that DrawHelix14 doesn't work with my Su6
2)DrawHelix14 works fine with my Su7 but the new code (
Code: Select all
.0
) doesn't work! (if a decimal value is entered, no helix is drawn_ if an Integer value is entered: works fine)
3)If I come back in Su6 to DawHelix13_fr and add the (
Code: Select all
.0
)code, this time the helix is drawn.

4.5 rotations


Ouf! Hard time for new developper 8-)

simon
1
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby pilou » Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:52 pm

Cool to see that is the same problem :mrgreen:

PS It's the same for the New Double Line!
Don't work inside the V6 :o
When press Enter walls are not drawn !

same error message in the Ruby console
Code: Select all
Error: #<ArgumentError: wrong number of arguments(2 for 1)>
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/dline2.rb:157:in `start_operation'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/dline2.rb:157:in `onReturn'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/dline2.rb:157
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:10 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby derei » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:02 pm

can't you filter that ? the script to catch the vcb value and remove the leading zero in incompatible version of SU ?
0
DESIGNER AND ARTIST DEREI.UK
User avatar
derei 
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:08 pm

Pilou wrote:@ TIG
I am in V6
Curious
I have an old version Draw Helix 13
make your 5.0 changment inside : works fine :fro:

I load the new DrawHelix14
nothing is drawing :o (same result with your changment) :o
I have this in the Ruby console
Code: Select all
Error: #<ArgumentError: wrong number of arguments(2 for 1)>
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:68:in `start_operation'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:68:in `drawhelix'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:78
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:78:in `call'

Line #65
if Sketchup.version_number.to_i < 7
changed to
if Sketchup.version.to_i < 7
will work in SUp v6 too !
Simple typo by Jim meant that you always got a version number in the tens of thousands and not a simple 6, 7 or 8 etc so it would always be > 7 and then try to start_operation with an extra argument and break the tool :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby pilou » Thu Jan 06, 2011 1:17 pm

Works now for the Draw Helix 14 in the V6 :enlight:
but now it's your modification 5.0 who don't works in the Draw Helix 14 ! (V6) :mrgreen:
I have that
Code: Select all
values = [300.mm, 300.mm, 100.mm, 5.0, 24]

Code: Select all
Error: #<ArgumentError: invalid value for Integer: "5.5">
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:31:in `inputbox'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:31:in `drawhelix'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:78
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 6/Plugins/drawhelix14.rb:78:in `call'
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:17 pm

OK looks like float and string clash ?
I assume the edited line #23 is clearly values = [300.mm, 300.mm, 100.mm, 5.0, 24] with no string delimter "" or '' around anything...
Perhaps your JLF::DrawHelix Registry entry is screwed or locked on the last used 'intger' values?
You could delete it...
BUT unless you are confident about messing around within a PC's Registry and risking disaster... then I suggest this safer fix...
Temporarily disable reading the Registry - go to line #24
v = Sketchup.read_default(reg_key, "values")
and add a leading # so it doesn't load at all
#v = Sketchup.read_default(reg_key, "values")
If you get an error also add a temporary line after it
v=nil
Run the tool once and close SUp, then remove that # etc from the .rb and retry - it should now be using the last entered values you used which are 'float'...

Also - in passing I now note that in line #36 there is
angle = 2*3.14159/sections
it would be better as
angle = 360.degrees/sections
as the over approximated value of 'pi' could produce minor inaccuracies otherwise...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Jim » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:20 pm

Thanks. I've made the changes and updated the download. The version works on SketchUp 6, 7, and 8 for me.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:33 pm

Thinking about the earlier registry entry potentially messing integer and float, to be on the safe side you could add this
Code: Select all
        unless v.nil?
            values = eval(v)
            values[0] = values[0].to_l
            values[1] = values[1].to_l
            values[2] = values[2].to_l
            values[3] = values[3].to_f
            values[4] = values[4].to_i
        end
so that older values' classes are always correctly set?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby Jim » Thu Jan 06, 2011 2:36 pm

Had the same thought... thanks.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby pilou » Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:11 pm

Ok now that works like a charm in V6! :fro:
Bravo! :thumb:
And sorry for the inconvenience ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] DrawHelix14

Postby simon le bon » Thu Jan 06, 2011 9:09 pm

Ok now that works like a charm in V6! :fro:
Bravo! :thumb:

(it is better if I don't touch even one line of code :lol: )

simon
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: coconm, temppiz, thalamix and 9 guests

Visit our sponsors: