[Plugin] Explode2Groups

[Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:06 pm

This script adds a context-menu if the 1st in a selection is a group - 'Explode to Groups'. All connected geometry within that group is grouped into separate sub-groups and the original group exploded...
Get the latest version from the here...

Download

0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby matt77 » Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:38 pm

Excellent script

many thanks

only just come across it..

all the best

matt
0

matt77 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby RayOchoa » Wed Jun 25, 2008 1:52 am

what do you mean by this?
0
CaR DeSiGnS bY mE
http://ray-ochoa.com
User avatar
RayOchoa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby cerevellum » Wed Jun 25, 2008 6:16 am

Hmm, I think this could come in handy on this model I'm currently working on. Checked it out at home and will probably DL it again tomorrow! Thanks!
0
User avatar
cerevellum 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby Mr S » Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:20 am

Looks like another handy tool to have.
Thanks.

Mr S
====
0

Mr S 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby bagatelo » Thu Feb 04, 2010 1:01 am

Does exist some plugin that just transforms components in groups and groups in components?
0
While the cat's away, the mice will play
User avatar
bagatelo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby Chris Fullmer » Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:25 am

Nope. What would need such a thing for?
0
Lately you've been tan, suspicious for the winter.
All my Plugins I've written
User avatar
Chris Fullmer 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby bagatelo » Thu Feb 04, 2010 2:48 am

Because at this time, I'm importing things from 3dsMAX to Sketchup, and all subobjects are components, always. I don't like that, I like groups for subobjects, because it doesn't pollute the components browser.
0
While the cat's away, the mice will play
User avatar
bagatelo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby pbacot » Tue Jul 05, 2011 12:42 am

Chris Fullmer wrote:Nope. What would need such a thing for?


To place multiple components then turn each instance into a group for different modifications, without having to select each one and explode, then group, separately? Still this tool can be used to help in that case.
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby yvani » Wed Sep 06, 2017 6:16 pm

does this plugin work with SU 2017? I don't succeed ....
0

yvani 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 06, 2017 10:12 pm

This tool does not work in v2017.
Trimble changed the way SketchUp keeps references to entities during exploding etc, so this tool now fails.

Sorry, but it is 10 years old. :(

Search for other similar tools which might have been update-able...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Wed Sep 06, 2017 11:05 pm

You are in luck !
I checked the code and it was a relatively simple fix to make it v2017 compatible !
Here's v2.0

Download

2
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby designerbursa » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:41 pm

Hi TIG
Thanks this plugin! ..
Selecting each group one by one detonates. Can the whole group or components make a single selection?

I want all drawings in the file to be a single group or component when I run the plug-in
0
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Thu Jun 06, 2019 12:52 pm

Why not just Explode everything that's selected [right-click context-menu], the results stay selected, now use context-menu Make Group or Make Component ?
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby designerbursa » Thu Jun 06, 2019 8:09 pm

Thank you for your interest in TIG.
I don't know if I got it right, but I haven't.
I am using Sketchup 2018 version
0
Last edited by designerbursa on Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Thu Jun 06, 2019 9:27 pm

I'm not sue that this plugin does what you want.
However, I am unclear about what it is you want to do exactly... :?

The way this tool works...
Select a group, it is exploded, and then any nested geometry within it is made into separate 'connected' groups.

From your earlier description you seemed to want to take selected groups, and then combine them into a new single group.
My description explained how to do that by using the native tools...

Pleas explain step by step what you want to do.
No video is needed [indeed yours just confused me!]
Just say what you start with and what you want to have at the end, with any intermediate steps for clarity...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby designerbursa » Fri Jun 07, 2019 9:28 am

It would be nice if there was a plug-in to create single groups when all nested groups explode.
0
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Fri Jun 07, 2019 1:41 pm

But as I said before...
If you select all of the required groups [and or component-instances] and use Explode from the built-in right-click context-menu item, the result remains selected, so then you can immediately use the built-in right-click context-menu again to Make Group...

Even if there were a tool to do what you wish you'd need to preselect the groups to process and then run the tool to group them and explode them, so the amount of work you'd have to do is about the same either way.
So making a script to do this is duplicating what's already available to you ??
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby designerbursa » Mon Jun 10, 2019 11:56 am

TIG wrote:But as I said before...
If you select all of the required groups [and or component-instances] and use Explode from the built-in right-click context-menu item, the result remains selected, so then you can immediately use the built-in right-click context-menu again to Make Group...

Even if there were a tool to do what you wish you'd need to preselect the groups to process and then run the tool to group them and explode them, so the amount of work you'd have to do is about the same either way.
So making a script to do this is duplicating what's already available to you ??



"expode2component"

Can you make such a plugin?
0
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Mon Jun 10, 2019 2:36 pm

designerbursa wrote:"expode2component"

Can you make such a plugin?

It's easy to do...
At the end of the part that make a group out of some entities you add something like -
compoi = group.to_component
You can then choose to use methods like compod=compoi.definition; compod.name="Compo#1" to rename the definition as desired.

But if this relates to the parallel question once you have all exploded entities, still selected, there is a right-click > context-menu native-item "Make Component...", which makes the Selection into a Component rather than into a Group like with "Make Group" - the resultant dialog lets you name the component etc...

If you already have a Group then the context-menu item "Make Component..." can also make that selected Group into a Component etc...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby designerbursa » Mon Jun 10, 2019 8:12 pm

It's easy to do...
At the end of the part that make a group out of some entities you add something like -
compoi = group.to_component
You can then choose to use methods like compod=compoi.definition; compod.name="Compo#1" to rename the definition as desired.

But if this relates to the parallel question once you have all exploded entities, still selected, there is a right-click > context-menu native-item "Make Component...", which makes the Selection into a Component rather than into a Group like with "Make Group" - the resultant dialog lets you name the component etc...

If you already have a Group then the context-menu item "Make Component..." can also make that selected Group into a Component etc...


This is very hard for amateurs like me :)
0
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Mon Jun 10, 2019 10:32 pm

The native methods are available to all - with no need for coding skills...

To simply edit ../Plugins/Explode2groups.rb to finally make components rather than groups...
Edit that RB file using a plain-text editor [e.g. Notepad++ on PC, or TextWrangler on MAC]
Find line #43
all.each{|a| aents.add_group(a) }
Change it to read
all.each{|a| gp=aents.add_group(a);ci=gp.to_component;ci.definition.name="Compo#1" }
The default component's name - Compo#1 - increments for each new definition...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby juju » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:55 am

at "designerbursa"

There are some paid extensions you might want to take a look at as well:
- nz_ConvertMe
- nz_EasyGroups
1
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby designerbursa » Tue Jun 11, 2019 11:15 am

TIG wrote:The native methods are available to all - with no need for coding skills...

To simply edit ../Plugins/Explode2groups.rb to finally make components rather than groups...
Edit that RB file using a plain-text editor [e.g. Notepad++ on PC, or TextWrangler on MAC]
Find line #43
all.each{|a| aents.add_group(a) }
Change it to read
all.each{|a| gp=aents.add_group(a);ci=gp.to_component;ci.definition.name="Compo#1" }
The default component's name - Compo#1 - increments for each new definition...


I tried, it works. But you misunderstood me. I want the components to use the same process. to separate nested components. or is there such a plugin? easy and simple plugin! ..
0
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 11, 2019 12:23 pm

If you explode a group [or component-instance] which contains nested groups or component-instances then these are then made separated things. Any geometry is then loose. Explode2Groups takes the loose geometry and regroups it depending on 'connected-ness', the other nested objects are then in the selected group's 'parent' context.

After using the tool you can use the Outliner to select any of these...

Another way to achieve your goal would be to use the Outliner, and within it select the nested instances and drag them, still within the Outliner, into another context other than their 'parent' - they will then 'move' into that context...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Explode2Groups

Postby designerbursa » Tue Jun 11, 2019 1:56 pm

Thank you TIG
0
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: msuadnan and 14 guests

Visit our sponsors: