[Plugin] Radial Lines

[Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 23, 2010 12:49 pm

(c) TIG 2010
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for
any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above
copyright notice appear in all copies.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR
IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THE IMPLIED
WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
___________________________________________________________________________

radiallines.rb >>> ../Plugins/ folder
___________________________________________________________________________
Usage:
Select one guide-point [cpoint] and some edges and/or faces
then run Plugins menu 'Radial Lines...' sub-menu items...
    Lines- draws a line from the cpoint to each vertex.
    Lines [layered]- draws a line from the cpoint to each vertex, on Layer.
    Guides- draws a guide-line from the cpoint to each vertex.
    Guides with Lengths - draws a guide-line from the cpoint to each vertex,
      and adds central text to it showing its length,
      in current units.
___________________________________________________________________________
Donations:
by PayPal to info @ revitrev.org
___________________________________________________________________________
Version:
1.0 20100923 First release.
1.1 20100923 Line [layered] option added.
___________________________________________________________________________
radiallines.rb
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:09 pm

Like this works like a charm ;) :thumb:

What about for have lines with a same lenght given on each lines? (say 2.23 m )
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:14 pm

Pilou wrote:Like this works like a charm ;) :thumb:
What about for have lines with a same lenght given on each lines? (say 2.23 m )

Explain better... please
Mieux expliquer...SVP
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:23 pm

I wish the red lines ;)
They will have all the same length!(2.23 m)
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:25 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby davidlouis » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:24 pm

Working great but i see that is no layer functionality on the line only option :(

Please can you put it in so that one could have control over the generated entities for easy selection, visibility switches and deletion etc etc...

Otherwise great work.... as always :thumb:

Dave
0

davidlouis 
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:33 pm

Here's v1.1 viewtopic.php?p=273614#p273614
It now has an additional option 'Lines [layered]' - with this the Lines are put on their own layer rather than Layer0...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:35 pm

Pilou wrote:I wish the red lines ;)
They will have all the same length!(2.23 m)

I think I see...
So if you used the 'Line' option the line would stop at a set length...
I'll think about it... :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:40 pm

Many thx by advance :enlight: :thumb:
Ps It's not possible to select also extremity points (like faces and segments)
extremity.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:50 pm

It will draw lines to both ends of any selected edges - you'll need to erase the unwanted lines...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 23, 2010 1:55 pm

There's now a separate script for drawing fixed length radial lines viewtopic.php?p=273654#p273654
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 23, 2010 2:23 pm

Damned you have a speedy coding method ! :fro:

(I will use :eraser: for the extremities not wanted if not too numerous :mrgreen:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby mitcorb » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:39 pm

How do you place the cpoint or guide point?
Error message keeps asking for this.
I thought by using measuring tape you could get a guide point.
Something I am not doing? Can't get this script to acknowledge the guide point, because it then wants a vertex?
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:43 pm

How do you place the cpoint or guide point?

Use the tools bar Projection by Didier Bur
There is a CPoint inside and some very useful tools!
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby Dave R » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:45 pm

mitcorb, the Tape Measure tool is the way to set a guidepoint or at least one way. After setting the guidepoint, select it and edges with vertices or ends and run the tool.

TIG, thank you for this. I'm not sure where I'll use it but I wouldn't be surprised if it comes in handy one day.
0
Last edited by Dave R on Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:47 pm

then a vertex

How dow you select one vertex from a single segment in the space? (extremity)
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby mitcorb » Thu Sep 23, 2010 5:52 pm

Thanks, Dave.
But I do not understand the conditions for guidepoint only. I usually get guidelines.

Thanks Pilou, I forgot about Didier's Projections. I have it on my home computer, but not here.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby Dave R » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:00 pm

A guide point is created when you measure off a point, vertex, intersection, etc. A guideline is created when you click on a line, edge or axis first.

There are also some plugins like Point at Center and the Point cloud plugin that create guidepoints.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby jeff hammond » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:04 pm

re: construction point

pay four bucks for the privilege of placing one
http://www.smustard.com/script/AddConstructionPoint
:roflmao:

personally, i use projections and keep only the CPoint icon in my toolbar (next to draw construction lines which is another way to get a cpoint)

screen1.png


with :tape:, start the measurement on an entity then click in blank space and you'll get a cpoint as well.

[edit]- another way to get one without adding any rubies is to turn on 'ruby script examples' in the extensions preferences.. draw an arc the right-click on it and you'll have the option "Point at Center" in the context menu.. that will give a cpoint that can be moved around.
0
Last edited by jeff hammond on Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby Ben Ritter » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:06 pm

Dave R wrote:I'm not sure where I'll use it but I wouldn't be surprised if it comes in handy one day.


Dave, you hit the nail on the head. Remembering that when the time comes, you have such a helpful tool available.

How do you all keep track of all the tools available in your SU arsenal, if they're not used on a regular basis?

Ben
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby Ben Ritter » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:07 pm

TIG, thank you very much. Again.
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby Dave R » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:09 pm

Ben Ritter wrote:How do you all keep track of all the tools available in your SU arsenal, if they're not used on a regular basis?

Ben


I gave up a long time ago, Ben. Periodically I look through my Plugins folder to see what treasures I've forgotten about. :roll: :lol:
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby pilou » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:09 pm

i use projections and keep only the CPoint icon

You have no keep The icone Extrude lines along a vector? :enlight:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby Krisidious » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:11 pm

do you ever sleep?
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Radial Lines

Postby jeff hammond » Thu Sep 23, 2010 6:12 pm

Pilou wrote:
i use projections and keep only the CPoint icon

You have no keep Extrude lines along a vector?


i use TIG's version in the extrude edges suite.. i keep that entire toolbar turned on.
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: thinga, zul6041 and 25 guests

Visit our sponsors: