[Plugin] Google's Bezier

[Plugin] Google's Bezier

Postby thomthom » Sat Sep 18, 2010 1:43 pm

Here's a patch to Google's Bezier plugin which broke the editing capabilities in SU8 due to a new SU8 bug.

Download

1
Last edited by thomthom on Fri Nov 29, 2013 12:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sat Sep 18, 2010 1:47 pm

There! Fixed the fix!
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Dave R » Sat Sep 18, 2010 1:52 pm

Wow! That was fast Thomas. Thank you. It is perfect.

I managed to download the first fix and was about to write it didn't work and you had already fixed that one. :thumb:

Imagine how fast you'll be at this stuff when you don't have to actually type. You'll be able to think what you want and your fingers won't have to be the go-between. :D
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sat Sep 18, 2010 1:54 pm

That'd be good - cause my finger attempts to sabotage my brain's instructions by repeatedly hitting the wrong buttons on the keyboard. And they are way to slow anyway! :D
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Dave R » Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:34 pm

I know what you mean. Hitting your keyboard directly with your head doesn't seem to be much better.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:48 pm

hnhnhj
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:49 pm

hm... my face only triggered three letters... :shock:
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby mitcorb » Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:56 pm

Whoa, boy. Sit down. Relax. Get away from the stimulant drinks. :lol:
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Dave R » Sat Sep 18, 2010 2:56 pm

:roflmao:

Did it leave a mark on your forehead?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Rich O Brien » Sat Sep 18, 2010 3:03 pm

A Punchuation Mark?
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Krisidious » Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:52 pm

Imagine how fast you'll be at this stuff when you don't have to actually type. You'll be able to think what you want and your fingers won't have to be the go-between.


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6826100006

OCZ OCZMSNIA Neural Impulse Actuator $99.99

"There are a number of sensors installed in the headband to read your brain wave signal, and convert them into control signals. Working with the nia’s calibration program, the Actuator captures a variety of signals, such as facial muscle movement, eye movement, brain Alpha waves and Beta waves to control the game. So you can launch the desired behavior and shoot with the "blink of an eye", without lifting a finger."
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby pilou » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:43 pm

Sorry what is the "Google's Bezier" ? :oops:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Dave R » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:50 pm

It's the one that ThomThom fixed. :D
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Rich O Brien » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:54 pm

Or the one Google broke.... :?
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby pilou » Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:56 pm

Surely but... :mrgreen:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby jeff hammond » Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:09 pm

Pilou wrote:Sorry what is the "Google's Bezier" ? :oops:


it's one of google's sample ruby scripts:
http://sketchup.google.com/intl/en/down ... ripts.html
0
dotdotdot
User avatar
jeff hammond 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby pilou » Sat Sep 25, 2010 9:56 pm

AAAAAAh ! Ok but that was not "Google Bezier" but "Bezier" short :mrgreen:
Never used from Beziers by Fredo 6 exist ;)
here Pierre Bézier the French guy who create the Bezier curves ;)
It was a very cool guy! :fro:

@ Jeff Look this file . (you can use Google Translator if you want :)
You will see some affinity with your drawing ;)

Here ch 4.1 two letters in Englih ;)On Pierre Bézier's life and motivations :geek:
0
Last edited by pilou on Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:50 am, edited 1 time in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:21 am

Pilou wrote:AAAAAAh ! Ok but that was not "Google Bezier" but "Bezier" short :mrgreen:

Yes - but since there was other bezier tools out there I added "Google's" to the title, so there would be no confusion... :roll:
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Edson » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:30 am

thomas,

would you mind explaining a bit more what this is all about? what google bezier plugin? where is it? what is the problem with it? etc.

thanks.

EDIT: sorry, I jumped from the first page to here without looking at the intervening posts. is this "official" plugin any good?
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:38 am

Edson wrote:thom,

would you mind explaining a bit more what this is all about? what google bezier plugin? where is it? what is the problem with it? etc.

thanks.


One of the plugins Google has had available for download is a Bezier tool - let you draw Bezier curves. It came before Fredo made his excellent collection of Spline tools.
Googles plugin is availible from the link Jeff linked to: viewtopic.php?f=323&t=30973&start=15#p274374

The problem was that due to a SU8 bug in the API you could not edit the curves any more. I simply added a small workaround to make it function again.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Edson » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:55 am

thomthom wrote:One of the plugins Google has had available for download is a Bezier tool - let you draw Bezier curves. It came before Fredo made his excellent collection of Spline tools.
Googles plugin is availible from the link Jeff linked to: viewtopic.php?f=323&t=30973&start=15#p274374

The problem was that due to a SU8 bug in the API you could not edit the curves any more. I simply added a small workaround to make it function again.


thanks, thomas. but what is the correct procedure: to have both installed or just your fix?
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sun Sep 26, 2010 11:57 am

Overwrite the old file - if you have it.
Though only needed if you are using SU8. (And not using Fredo's power pack... :roll: )
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Dave R » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:50 pm

Thomas, I apologize for creating such a mess for you. I didn't realize there were so many people who had no idea of Bezier.rb. I've had it for so long I don't remember where I downloaded it from. I still use it along with Fredo's excellent BZ tools.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sun Sep 26, 2010 12:52 pm

No worries!
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Jim » Sun May 15, 2011 10:36 am

I think the bug which caused the original bezier.rb to fail has been fixed in the SketchUp 8 M1 (8.0.4811) release.

Although this (Thom's) version will still work in version 8 M1, and the original should work again.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Sun May 15, 2011 11:11 am

Jim wrote:I think the bug which caused the original bezier.rb to fail has been fixed in the SketchUp 8 M1 (8.0.4811) release.

Although this version, as well as the original should both work now.

Correct.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby irwanwr » Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:30 pm

thank you both Jim and Thomas,
so that's why i still can use bezier.rb normally
because i use SketchUp 8.0.4811
i was thinking to erase the one that i already have after reading this topic
0
User avatar
irwanwr 
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby thomthom » Fri Jan 13, 2012 4:53 pm

Why aren't you updating?

Updating SketchUp would eliminate the need for this plugin. It's always advisable to keep your software up to date so you have the latest fixes.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby irwanwr » Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:42 pm

thomthom wrote:Why aren't you updating?

Updating SketchUp would eliminate the need for this plugin. It's always advisable to keep your software up to date so you have the latest fixes.

updating SketchUp to M2, Thomas?
well, that's a good idea perhaps. but, i usually wait for bugs fix in anything. including SketchUp.
i always keep my SketchUp 6. because that was the last version that i know works well and with a lot of bonus packs available to download back then. nowadays SketchUp would only gives you Component Sampler :P
if God will, i'll keep it forever ;)
0
User avatar
irwanwr 
 

Re: [Plugin] Google's Bezier (1.0.2) — 18 September 2010

Postby Dave R » Fri Jan 13, 2012 5:51 pm

M2 is mostly for bug fixes and there's no reason you can make your component bonus packs available in the V8 components libraries. Just copy the folders over to the V8 components folder.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AntBM, Bing [Bot], Debora Macedo, Google Bot, ljus, ngoctung0211, userid7 and 11 guests

Visit our sponsors: