[Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

[Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Sun Mar 07, 2010 9:47 pm

This Tool makes a classical 'Cyma' curve - see below for details...

Copyright 2010 (c) TIG
All Rights Reserved.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED
WARRANTIES,INCLUDING,WITHOUT LIMITATION,THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF
MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
###
CymaCurveTool.rb
###
Usage:
Choose 'Cyma Curve Tool' from the Plugins Menu;
or type 'cyma' in the Ruby Console...
###
Select parameters in the dialog, on OK the specified Cyma Curve
appears on the end of your cursor - place it where you wish...
The parameters are:
Overall Size X: The Horizontal size of the enclosing square -
default 100mm or 4" depending on model's units,
the last entered value is remembered with the model.
Overall Size Y: The Vertical size of the enclosing square -
default 100mm or 4" depending on model's units,
the last entered value is remembered with the model.
Chord Proportion:
The proportion of the Curve's Arc's Chord to its Radius.
There are two possibilities...
1: assuming a 'square form' [X==Y]...
For a basic Cyma it's sqrt(2) [1.4142136]
giving tangential springing points [90 degree].
For a "Palladian" Cyma it's 7/6 [1.1666666]
giving flattened arcs to the curve [the default].
The smaller the value the flatter the arcs, so 1 gives
equilateral arcs which can look too flat when viewed
from below; values <0.1 will given arcs so flat you
could have used straight lines! so 0.1 is the minimum.
You can enter values in decimal format [1.2345],
fractional format [7/6] or as 'sqrt' [sqrt(2)]
[note format with (nn) etc]
2: assuming a 'rectangular' form [X!=Y] the 90 degree
'tangential' form can be set by giving the
Chord to Radius proportion based on the formula
2*Y/sqrt(X*X+Y*Y)
so you can calculate this beforehand and enter it as
a decimal value, e.g. it's 0.8944 when X=200 & Y=100,
OR as it's also shown in the VCB prompt once the X & Y
values are set: to get it calculated for you, you make
a rectangular Cyma using the default value and then
immediately undo it, then rerun the tool - all of the
dialog's values are remembered, but the VCB prompt now
also shows the value that would give a tangential
90 degree form - so you can type that value into the
dialog and get 90 degree tangential springing points
for rectangular forms too.
Otherwise you can use the 7/6 or other values as
desired...
Curve Type: The two types of curve available are:
'Cyma Recta' - also called 'Gola'
[starts convex, ends concave] - it is the default type.
and
'Cyma Reversa' - also called 'Ogee'
[starts concave, ends convex]
Curve Format: You choose from the following:
'As Curve' - just the two arcs welded as a curve.
'As Curve with Face' - the two arcs welded as a curve
and their internal edges with a face -
useful for extrusions.
'As Curve with Guides' - the two arcs welded as a curve
with guide-lines and -points added to show the
arcs' centers etc.
Segments: Default is 36 - enter new value, must be 3 or more -
more segments give smoother curves BUT more geometry !
The geometry is in a Component named 'CymaCurve#1' or "CymaCurve#2"
etc for multiple versions...
Its description reflects its settings...
It is attached to your cursor by its bottom left corner
springing-point and it snaps to faces.
You can mirror it by using Scale -1 or Move/Copy it as desired,
or Explode as required...
###
Get latest version from the PluginStore

Download

0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby jason_maranto » Sun Mar 07, 2010 10:59 pm

Wow TIG, I feel dumb just reading the descriptions of your plugins -- I know it muct be usefull, probably very usefull but I for the life of me could not figure it out.

Guess I'll just have to download it and play ;)

Best,
Jason.
0
I create video tutorial series about several 2D & 3D graphics programs.
User avatar
jason_maranto 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby pilou » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:08 pm

For stones carvers :enlight:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby JClements » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:21 pm

From wikipedia:
"...The ogee curve is an analogue of a "cyma curve", the difference being that a cyma has horizontal rather than vertical ends..."

Not sure what is meant by horizontal v.s. vertical ends.
0
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby d12dozr » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:32 pm

This is an ogee(the leftmost part of the image):

So I imagine a cyma curve is rotated 90 degrees.

Also useful for woodworkers...thanks TIG!

@JClements: I was going to post that exact same sentence from Wikipedia :o
0
3D Printing with SketchUp Book
http://goo.gl/f7ooYh

d12dozr 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby JClements » Sun Mar 07, 2010 11:51 pm

If you use the option to produce faces, the face extrudes with one "seam" along the cyma surface where the two arcs touch one another (can there be an option to "auto-weld" the two arcs?).

============================================
Peculiar arcs are drawn.

?? BUG: If you click on the "lower" arc, it is a polyline. However, if you click on any portion of the "upper" arc, only a segment is selected (of a the 36 defining the arc), yet it can extrude a smoothed surface. How can this be?
0
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby d12dozr » Mon Mar 08, 2010 12:10 am

JClements wrote:?? BUG:... However, if you click on any portion of the "upper" arc, only a segment is selected (of a the 36 defining the arc), yet it can extrude a smoothed surface. How can this be?

I see that too...if you select one of the segments, actually 2 segments are selected - the one you chose as well as the segment at the end of the arc.
0
3D Printing with SketchUp Book
http://goo.gl/f7ooYh

d12dozr 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:28 am

Here's v1.1 viewtopic.php?p=230584#p230584
- FR lingvo by Pilou added.
- Faced option curves now welded as one so smooth extrusion without a mid-point join.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:31 am

I'm looking at this 'BUG' where one of the arcs is in bits but still an arc ???
Update soonest...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:41 am

Here's v1.2 viewtopic.php?p=230584#p230584
The buggy second arc formation has been fixed - I simply made it a different way that now works - I think the problem had something to do with the curves being drawn the opposite directions but whatever it was it's now sorted ? :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 08, 2010 10:51 am

Here's an explanation of the the 2 types of Cyma Curve...
cymas.png
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 08, 2010 4:40 pm

Here's v1.3 viewtopic.php?p=230584#p230584
Fixed a potential glitch from a missing 'require deB...' :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby MALAISE » Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:47 pm

Thx TIG

You've done a pretty good Job. I'm sure you enjoy coding :thumb:

MALAISE
0
La Connaissance n'a de valeur que partagée
User avatar
MALAISE 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby Gaieus » Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:39 pm

Thatnks TIG - again!

This will definitely be very handy for my ogee arches (which I would probably use more often than cymas)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:37 pm

Here's an update viewtopic.php?p=230584#p230584

v1.4 20100311
Non-square forms now possible and sizes entered, X & Y.
VCB prompt now shows the chord-proportion value needed to get tangential ends - useful if it's a non-square form.
The arcs' segments can now be set.
'Gola' and 'Ogee' added to type descriptions.
Notes and lingvo files updated to match changes.
:geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby dedmin » Thu Mar 11, 2010 1:52 pm

Clipboard-1.jpg
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:06 pm

I assume you refer to the 'broken curve' ?
It's down to how the arcs are drawn - I'll fix it :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 11, 2010 2:38 pm

Here's an update viewtopic.php?p=230584#p230584
v1.5 The 'broken' curve/arc glitch is fixed and the form is now a welded curve made from the two arcs...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby dedmin » Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:10 pm

:thumb: :thumb:
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby lapx » Thu Mar 11, 2010 4:45 pm

Thanks TIG!
0

lapx 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby troyhome » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:04 pm

i updated and now i get an error when starting su:
Error Loading File CymaCurveTool.rb
undefined method `deBabelizer' for main:Object

i'm on a mac
0
IOviz.com
SU Pro 2017 PC
Thea: latest
vray4SU latest
User avatar
troyhome 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 11, 2010 5:10 pm

There is a file in the zip file called 'deBabelizer.rb' - this goes into the Plugins folder ???
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby youemailme » Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:27 pm

Three cheers! You've saved me loads of time, this is a much needed tool! My (paypal) check's in the mail!
0

youemailme 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 11, 2010 6:29 pm

Thank, I have it already [£]... watch out for some other tools that are in the pipeline... :ugeek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby hebeijianke » Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:31 pm

TIG: Here's the Chinese lingvo file
0

hebeijianke 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 11, 2010 11:34 pm

Thanks. I'll add it to a future update - in the meanwhile any users wanting Chinese locale lingvo can extract this and put it into their ../Plugins/TIGtools/ folder... :D
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby troyhome » Fri Mar 12, 2010 1:50 am

I had used a different deBabelizer version instead of the one included with this plug, so simply replacing that with the one included... well, that fixed it! thanks :) :oops:
0
IOviz.com
SU Pro 2017 PC
Thea: latest
vray4SU latest
User avatar
troyhome 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 12, 2010 10:09 am

All current versions of deBabelizer.rb are identical so it shouldn't cause problems, as long as you have one - I distribute a copy of it with each tool that will use it in case you haven't already got a copy in Plugins...
It's the tool needed to translate the wording of prompts and dialogs etc to your 'locale' language, if there's a 'lingvo' file found to match it - most commonly these are EN-US [English - the base default], and FR[ench] and ES[panish], and sometimes ZH-CN [Chinese] or other 'locale' codes - but any 'locale' that's returned by the system is supported if you copy/rename a lingvo file and translate the phrases in it... If you are picky you could even 'translate' the base EN-US lingvo version so it says different things - e.g. 'colour' vs 'color' if you are not American but you have a EN-US locale - or even into 'Esperanto' phrases etc where that is not an official 'locale' !
:ugeek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby function » Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:01 am

Hi TIG - thanks for the great tool : I'm experiencing this glitch in 8 using 1.5 -
0

function 
 

Re: [Plugin] Cyma Curve Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 24, 2011 10:31 am

I tested it with exactly the same dialog and Units settings and it works fine for me - the only difference is I have Vista rather than XP, but that shouldn't make any difference :?
At first I thought it might be because you had units displayed and accuracy set to no dp's - 4" versus 4.000 BUT that makes no difference to me either...
Can you get it to work with other permutations of settings or Units ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 21 guests

Visit our sponsors: