[Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

[Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:30 pm

EEbyRailsByFaceExamples.jpg

    Copyright 2010 (c), TIG
    All Rights Reserved.
    THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED
    WARRANTIES,INCLUDING,WITHOUT LIMITATION,THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF
    MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
    ###
    extrudeEdgesByRailsByFace.rb
    ###
    Extrudes a Face along a set of curves to form a FollowMe-like
    extrusions groups within a group: the curves are formed using a
    preselected face.
    ###
    Usage:
    Preselect a Face and Run this Tool, 'Extrude Edges by Rails By Face',
    from the Plugins Menu, or the Extrusions Toolbar...
    Note that the Face's rotation is also reflected in the extruded forms.
    Some forms like circles will always extrude similarly - others not.
    The path ends nearest to the face will be used, so asymmetrical faces
    should be placed nearest to the side requiring that orientation.
    See EEbyFace for more details on this...
    You are then prompted to pick some curves to be used in forming the
    'mesh' - a Profile, Rail1, Rail2 and a Melding-Profile -
    please see EEbyRails for more details on this...
    You are then prompted to choose 'Ribs from Profile', 'Ribs from Rail'
    or 'Ribs from Profile and Rails' [i.e. a 'grid'] - 'Choose option,
    Cancel' exits the tool, OK starts making the 'ribs'...
    A copy of the Face is added to each Rib's Path end, rotated so that
    its normal is parallel to the vector of the first edge in each Path.
    The Path can be looped, but it might give unexpected results.
    The Face's bounding-box center is used as the 'snap-point' at each
    path's end, unless was a Cpoint [GuidePoint] in the selection - if so
    then that is used as the Face's 'snap-point' instead...
    Note that Cpoints placed non-planar with the Face or remote from it
    may give unexpected extrusions - perhaps even Bugsplats !
    Ribs are then extruded based on the nodes of the profiles/rails...
    The VCB message ticks as each is made - note that complex faces and
    profile/rail curves might take sometime to complete all of the ribs.
    Each rib's geometry is individually grouped and all ribs are also
    grouped together.
    A closing dialog asks if you want to delete the originally selected
    curves.
    Note that the ribs are made in a single step so if the Face is not
    oriented so as to make ribs as desired, simply undo and rotate the
    Face/add cpoint as desired and re-run...

    Donations:
    Are welcome [by PayPal], please use 'TIGdonations.htm' in the
    ../Plugins/TIGtools/ folder.
    OR

    Version:
    1.0 20100211 First release.
    1.1 20100215 Extrusion form now consistent, Pilou updated FR lingvo.
    1.2 20100216 Now in own sub-menu 'Extrusion Tools...' in Plugins menu.
    1.3 20100218 Rare glitch with helical rails fixed.
    1.4 20100220 Glitch on some text in db fixed.
    1.5 20100220 Glitch with number of Rail-Ribs fixed.
    Color coding of picked curves added.
    Profile=Cyan
    Rail1=Magenta
    Rail2=DarkVioletRed
    MeldingProfile=DarkCyan
    FaceEdges=Orange
    1.6 20100221 Glitch with selections and color-coding location fixed.
    1.7 20100222 Tooltips now deBabelize properly.
    1.8 20100312 Erasure of original curves glitch fixed.
    1.9 20100330 Rare glitch with self.xxx fixed.
    2.0 20101030 Non-flat face now trapped.
    2.1 20101102 No face in selection trapped.

To download the files for this tool go to this thread http://forums.sketchucation.com/viewtop ... 63#p217663
0
Last edited by TIG on Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:46 pm, edited 3 times in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby kristinefair » Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:22 pm

Wow! thnx for this,can u put a video instruction on how did u do it.. :D
0

kristinefair 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Thu Feb 18, 2010 1:45 pm

This script has been updated to avoid rare glitches with helical rails and can be downloaded from here viewtopic.php?p=217663#p217663 in the toolset...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Fri Feb 19, 2010 3:24 pm

Here's another example of making ribs with the tool...
EEbyRailsByFace_Helix.png
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby d12dozr » Fri Feb 19, 2010 5:47 pm

:shock: That's friggin' awesome TIG...you're a genius. That 'Profiles only' model reminds me of a dinosaur ribcage skeleton :)

I'd love to see what people use this for
0
3D Printing with SketchUp Book
http://goo.gl/f7ooYh

d12dozr 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:41 am

File updated - see here for download link viewtopic.php?p=224219#p224219
1.6 20100221 Glitch with selections and color-coding location fixed.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby the.pjt » Fri Feb 26, 2010 10:24 pm

:fecstatic: :berserk: :sketchstatic: :family:
tanx tanx tanx TIG

coul you put all extrude tools in a sup menu in Plugins ?
0

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby d12dozr » Sat Feb 27, 2010 6:43 am

the.pjt wrote::coul you put all extrude tools in a sup menu in Plugins ?

That's exactly how they already are, at least for me
0
3D Printing with SketchUp Book
http://goo.gl/f7ooYh

d12dozr 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:07 am

the.pjt wrote::fecstatic: :berserk: :sketchstatic: :family:
tanx tanx tanx TIG

coul you put all extrude tools in a sup menu in Plugins ?

If you download the zipped plugin set they should all then be in one pop-out menu 'Extrusion Tools' ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby majid » Sat Feb 27, 2010 11:08 am

:berserk: Tig, the one!
0
My V-Ray book for architects: https://goo.gl/cz1oRc
User avatar
majid 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby the.pjt » Sat Feb 27, 2010 10:54 pm

TIG wrote:
the.pjt wrote::fecstatic: :berserk: :sketchstatic: :family:
tanx tanx tanx TIG

coul you put all extrude tools in a sup menu in Plugins ?

If you download the zipped plugin set they should all then be in one pop-out menu 'Extrusion Tools' ?


no no no . for me they were some in sub menu but some were Pliugins . but myself chaged the code UI.menu ... etc and did it maually . I think that's becouse some .rb files loads firt .... and then others loads . I'm not sure .
but I think scripts should move into a Folder and a loader.rb script loads them .
0

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Sun Feb 28, 2010 9:39 pm

There is a file 'extrusionTools.rb that loads first and makes the submenu and toolbar. When the other files load they populate these ?
Unless you have some old files they should all be in the submenu...
If you are on Vista check that it hasn't hijacked the latest ones into a 'compatibility files folder' ???
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby mitcorb » Mon Mar 01, 2010 4:46 am

Hi, TIG:
I was testing this new tool based on some exercises that you showed in images above.
I used four Bezier curves with 20s. After making them I stood them up and then joined their ends so that from above they described a rectangular projection on the ground plane. I used a small square as the face. I then ran the process first on rails, then on profiles. Each time, at the end of the process, the original curves became fragmented but in the same orientation, as if the process was discarding the segments. Maybe the code could not allow the segment to interfere with the formation of the group--I don't know.

I would just suggest saving a copy of the profiles and rails for further use prior to running the desired process, because I had to reconstruct the curves after the first run, and when two consecutive segments were missing, I had to fake these in.

Otherwise, this is a very powerful tool and you are to be congratulated on your talent.
mitcorb
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 01, 2010 9:28 am

mitcorb wrote:Hi, TIG:
I was testing this new tool based on some exercises that you showed in images above.
I used four Bezier curves with 20s. After making them I stood them up and then joined their ends so that from above they described a rectangular projection on the ground plane. I used a small square as the face. I then ran the process first on rails, then on profiles. Each time, at the end of the process, the original curves became fragmented but in the same orientation, as if the process was discarding the segments. Maybe the code could not allow the segment to interfere with the formation of the group--I don't know.

I would just suggest saving a copy of the profiles and rails for further use prior to running the desired process, because I had to reconstruct the curves after the first run, and when two consecutive segments were missing, I had to fake these in.

Otherwise, this is a very powerful tool and you are to be congratulated on your talent.
mitcorb

This Tool shouldn't interfere with the original curves - indeed it clones them at the beginning to avoid this issue... Can you post or PM an example of the problem ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby mitcorb » Mon Mar 01, 2010 1:23 pm

TIG:
This skp should show the degenerated profiles and rails I mentioned.
I also observe that the extruded results are nested groups, which can be very handy.
Also, the results are slightly distorted or displaced from the original Beziers.
Incidentally, the starting profile appears to have been pulled from its vertical orientation and leaned over.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 01, 2010 2:10 pm

Can you post the unbroken curves 'before' EEing ?
I see they are broken but I need the good set too...
The profile face will start square to the path at the end nearest to it, however, 'followme' can twist extrusions as we know.
The profile face is turned so its flat Y axis is 'vertical' at the path start...
:?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby mitcorb » Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:23 pm

TIG said:
"Can you post the unbroken curves 'before' EEing ?
I see they are broken but I need the good set too..."

mitcorb says: Unfortunately, I did not save the originating curves, sorry. That's why I suggested people might want to save them.
However, I will see if I can reproduce the conditions, if you like.
And thank you for your attention to this anomaly.
I will have to post a new skp later.
Thanks, again.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby mitcorb » Tue Mar 02, 2010 3:10 am

TIG:
Please see attached skp of a new series using EExRxF.
First panel: 4 Bezier curves.
Second panel: Curves repositioned. Ends touching.
Third, fourth and fifth panels show profiles, then rails then both.
Groups were moved away from the originating curves along the Y axis with Select, Move. Note degradation of curves.
Also, on the fifth panel the prompt was something like "Error: Cannot perform extrusion", then it proceeded, and that is what you see.
EDIT:
What I forgot to tell you on the previous post was that the same error comment occurred on that model in each case. But it proceeded anyway.
I hope this example will help. And thanks again.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Tue Mar 02, 2010 12:46 pm

Thanks [?]
I see the problem - I can even get different results each time I run it !
It shouldn't affect existing curves and it should either make the extrusions OR not - the error message appears when it has failed to make an extrusion - which it does on say the first profile but succeeds thereafter !
This is all a mess !
Until I track down the cause of this I recommend to users - as you have already - to save your work and always use a copy of the curves with EEbyRbyFace as they might be lost/messed with inadvertently - I'm bogged down in other stuff at the moment but I'll look at a fix asap... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby mitcorb » Tue Mar 02, 2010 1:16 pm

Thanks[?] Yes, thanks for the fact that you have opened up new possibilities and perspectives with this suite of tools. Even if they need to be fine tuned.
Again, I applaud your talent.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby ken28875 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 7:02 pm

WOW, amazing plugin! :thumb: :thumb:

Thank you so much, TIG!

Have a wonderful day!

_KN
0
Follow Your Dreams.
User avatar
ken28875 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby ken28875 » Thu Mar 04, 2010 10:07 pm

Hi TIG,

The plug is working, but I get that error message.



Thanks,

_KN
0
Follow Your Dreams.
User avatar
ken28875 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby pilou » Sat Mar 06, 2010 12:46 am

@TIG
A suggestion : does it possible to have an option for have "surfaces" (inwards & outwards) for use the Windowizer for exemple!
An automatic EEbR in the same time?
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 06, 2010 1:32 pm

Pilou

I the first example I made I explained a process...
Use the curves twice - as profiles/rails and make a smooth mesh with EEbyRails, and give its group a 'glass' material.
Then make the 'frames' using this tool - EEbyRailsByFace; give its group the 'frame' material.
Edit the glass-mesh group and select the faces and intersect with model - the glass panels will now get edges coincident with the frames...
You can explode the frames' groups and intersect them too...
Here's an example...
EEbyXXX.png
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby pilou » Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:07 pm

yes you right, it's the more simple! :enlight:

Suggestion : a different "surface" for the borders

(click image if scrollbarr)
test.png
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby mitcorb » Tue Mar 09, 2010 3:14 am

Hi, TIG:
I see the problem - I can even get different results each time I run it !
It shouldn't affect existing curves and it should either make the extrusions OR not - the error message appears when it has failed to make an extrusion - which it does on say the first profile but succeeds thereafter !

Regarding your above reply, I was contemplating the action of the plugin from a purely qualitative point of view, as I am no coder. I was just wondering if- perhaps- disabling the minimum length default and the minimum angle default as part of the process would help. I really am just guessing.
I have noticed that the resultant construction tends to drift away from the original curves, even some features of FredoScale do this. So, maybe somehow the length and angle have something to do with it?
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Tue Mar 09, 2010 10:00 am

I haven't had a chance to investigate this yet... Since each form is an iteration of the last I suspect that there's some cumulative errors creeping in ? TBC...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby mitcorb » Tue Mar 09, 2010 12:41 pm

Ok.
Your reply makes more sense.
I was really just throwing out some kind of idea if it would help.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 12, 2010 2:34 pm

Here's an update viewtopic.php?p=224219#p224219

1.8 20100312 Erasure of original curves glitch fixed.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby tald311 » Wed Mar 17, 2010 3:22 am

That is amazing!
0

tald311 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 28 guests

Visit our sponsors: