[Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector

[Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector

Postby TIG » Tue Jan 19, 2010 5:48 pm

This is a new Plugin to complement the Extrusion Toolset.
    Copyright 2010 (c), TIG
    [Based on Didier Bur's original ideas in 'extrudelinetool']
    All Rights Reserved.
    THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR IMPLIED
    WARRANTIES,INCLUDING,WITHOUT LIMITATION,THE IMPLIED WARRANTIES OF
    MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
    ###
    extrudeEdgesByVector.rb
    ###
    A Tool that Extrudes Selected Edges along a Picked Vector,
    similar to Sketchup's PushPull for a Face, BUT it extrudes only the
    Edges, AND these Edges need not be connected to each other or
    coplanar, and the Vector can be in any direction.
    ###
    Usage:
    Select any number of Edges, Curves etc to be Extruded -
    Anything else in the Selection, such as Faces, will be ignored.

    Run the Tool from Plugins > 'Extrude Edges'.
    or click on 'Extrude Edges' in the 'Extrusion Tools' Toolbar.
    [Activate this Toolbar from View > Toolbars if it's not loaded]

    Now follow the prompts on the VCB.
    Firstly: Pick any Point that will be the 'Start of the Vector' -
    it need NOT be connected to any of the selected Edges.
    Secondly: Pick any Point that will be the 'End of the Vector' -
    again this can be anywhere.
    As you move the mouse to Pick this Second Point you will see a
    'ghost' outline of the Edges that will be extruded.

    Result:
    When you Pick this Second Point the Edges will extrude and make
    new Edges and Faces.
    Any Smoothed Edges in the selection will give Smoothed Edges to
    the new Faces.
    Any Curves in the selection will also give Smoothed Edges to the new
    Faces.
    The new Faces are consistently Oriented.
    The extrusion's new Geometry - Edges and Faces - and a copy of
    the original selected Edges is made inside a Group.

    Next:
    The newly extruded Edges are now 'Selected' [highlighted] and you
    can continue using the tool to Pick the Points for a new Vector and
    make additional extrusions based on these.
    These additional extrusions will also be created within of the same
    Group.
    Note that once several extrusions have been made inside the
    Group some newly extruded Edges could merge with existing ones
    and thereby be 'split' and might be lost from the highlighted set.
    If this happens Exit and re-select the Edges and use the Tool again.
    To Exit the Tool press <Esc> or Choose another Tool e.g. 'Select'.
    OR double-click the mouse.
    On Exit there are two dialogs offering Yes/No Options-
    Firstly: 'Reverse the Extrusion's Faces'
    - if you answer 'Yes' then all of the Faces are Reversed.
    Secondly: 'Explode the Extrusion's Group' -
    if you answer 'Yes' then the newly made Geometry will merge into
    the main Geometry.
    The Extrusions 'undo' backwards, in individual steps...

    Donations:
    Are welcome [by PayPal], please use 'TIGdonations.htm' in the
    ../Plugins/TIGtools/ folder.
    OR

    Version:
    1.0 20100114 First release.
    1.1 20100120 ES lingvo updated thanks to Defisto.
    1.2 20100121 Typo preventing Plugin Menu item working corrected.
    1.3 20100123 FR lingvo file updated by Pilou.
    1.4 20100124 Menu typo fixed.
    1.5 20100216 Now in own sub-menu 'Extrusion Tools...' in Plugins menu.
    1.6 20100222 Tooltips now deBabelize properly.
    1.7 20101027 You can now end extrusion with a 'double-click'.


NOTE: from 20100212 the latest versions of these files is in the zipped set downloaded from here http://forums.sketchucation.com/viewtop ... 63#p217663
1
Last edited by TIG on Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:57 pm, edited 4 times in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.0

Postby dedmin » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:01 pm

I'm really sure, that under TIG's nickname are hiding at least three very talented ruby masters!!!
:berserk: :berserk: :berserk:
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.0

Postby pilou » Tue Jan 19, 2010 6:49 pm

Cool add to the tool extrusion set :enlight:
Curious, that works with the icone but not by menu Plugins/ Extrude Edges by Vector :shock:

you write
Run the Tool from Plugins > 'Extrude Edges'.
or click on 'Extrude Edges' in the 'Extrusion Tools' Toolbar.

I's not Extrude Edges by Vector ?

Can you put an image of what must be
Extract the zipped files into Plugins and their sub-folders...

because folder Tigtool or file debabeliser.rb will not erase old one? (extrude edges by rails?

Can we have an option for drawing only with edges at the screen?
edges.png


And seems there is not this very useful function ;)
(here from the Didier Bur tool bar projection plug who has not this function too) ;)
0
Last edited by pilou on Wed Jan 20, 2010 9:57 am, edited 10 times in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.0

Postby chrisjk » Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:17 pm

Tig,

You have been a busy bee - I felt compelled to donate! :)
0
Chris

chrisjk 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.0

Postby mitcorb » Tue Jan 19, 2010 9:43 pm

I want to test this for sure. Thank you TIG
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.0

Postby pilou » Tue Jan 19, 2010 11:22 pm

works but only by icone! ;)

0
Last edited by pilou on Wed Jan 20, 2010 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.0

Postby mitcorb » Wed Jan 20, 2010 12:05 am

I have loaded it in SU6. And I updated lathe and rails. I have a 3button toolbar for 3 functions.
It just so happens that the other toolbars got scrambled at the top of the window.
However, extrude by vector and extrude by lathe toolbar buttons work fine.
I will test extrude by rails later and comment if anything unusual occurs.

Extrude by vector is sweeeeeeeeet.
Thank you, sir.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.0

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 20, 2010 11:34 am

Pilou

If you extract [NOT drag/drop] the contents of this zip you should get three .rb files, which are the script itself, the deBabelizer script and the toolbar maker script. Also there should be a folder [TIGtools] containing the lingvo files and pngs for the buttons and an htm donation link, with a folder of its images too.

The three rb files go into Plugins folder and the TIGtools folder goes into Plugins folder too. The script looks for the pngs to form the toolbar icons in there - so apparently you have messed up the folders as it's not finding them...

If you extract a zip file any decent zip-application will keep the file/folder structure - you can either extract the contents directly into the Plugins folder where everything will be in the right place OR into a tempoarry folder on your desktop - and then move its contents to the Plugins folder later...

Since some of the TIGtools folder's contents and also the other add-on .rb files might already exist answer Yes to overwrite them with these new versions...

Hope this helps...

PS: It is quite similar to Didier's tool which I completely rewrote for this and added to my toolset...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:22 am

v1.1 is here with a new improved ES lingvo file thanks to Defisto...
viewtopic.php?p=216977#p216977
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby Edson » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:52 am

tig,
one of your fantastic plugins also includes a folder named TIGtools (extrude..byLathe). won't there be some confusion between the two? if i just replace the previous one all the pngs and other plugin-specific files will go away, will they not?

please advise us on what to do.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby pilou » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:57 am

for next version a radial move and /or scale will be very cool :)
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:00 am, edited 2 times in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby driven » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:36 am

Edson wrote:tig,
one of your fantastic plugins also includes a folder named TIGtools (extrude..byLathe). won't there be some confusion between the two? if i just replace the previous one all the pngs and other plugin-specific files will go away, will they not?

please advise us on what to do.


theres an explanation from TIG over at EEbyRailv2.2, you need to combine all 4 TIGtool folder if you want all 4, there a screenshot from my Mac

see if you have the same problem and report back to TIG

john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:08 am

Edson

There should only be one TIGtools folder - ALL of the files - i.e. the lingvo and pngs, htm etc go in there en mass. [BUT the .rb files all go directly into Plugins !]
As you install more of my updated plugins that have button pngs etc I'll put them in there just add to it...

Any advice on this 'blank button' issue ?
0
Last edited by TIG on Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:13 pm, edited 2 times in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby Edson » Thu Jan 21, 2010 11:28 am

TIG wrote:Edson

There should only be one TIGtools folder ALL of the files - i.e. the lingvo and pngs, htm etc go in there en mass.
As you install more of my updated plugins that have button pngs etc I'll put them in there just add to it...

Any advice on this 'blank button' issue ?


thanks, tig. i had already done so after john's suggestion. i must have done it well as i get a nice toolbar with 3 icons (no blank icon spot) and the 3 tools appear on my plugins menu.

i am afraid i have no clue about the 'blank button' issue. i am the quintessential mac user: i do not know much of what goes on underneath the screen.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby simon le bon » Thu Jan 21, 2010 8:01 pm

Thank you so much TIG,

But you produce so quick than it is difficult to follow you. I was still working around and making some tries with "Extrude Edges by RailsV2" while you are outing extrudeEdgesByLathe v2.1, then v2.2, then v2.3!! Oups I succeed to jump on this one but "Platch!" extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1 come in!! I am desesperate , I'm crying mercy.. :roflmao:

total respect,, simon.
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.1

Postby TIG » Fri Jan 22, 2010 10:30 am

Rather than update the whole set for one file here's an updated FR lingvo file that Pilou has sent me - it'll be included in the next major update too, but in case any French users would like it now please unzip it and put it into the ../Plugins/TIGtools/ folder and replace the earlier one.
extrudeEdgesByVectorFR.zip

A tip for general lingvo use:
If you have downloaded [or even made] a lingvo file for your language, then to find your current locale id simply type or copy/paste this line into the Ruby Console Sketchup.get_locale.upcase
It will return EN-US=English, FR=French, ES=Spanish etc...
The lingvo file needs to have that id as a suffix if it is to be found and used instead of the default EN-US English version - e.g. extrudeEdgesByVectorFR.lingvo would be the French version.
Some users - like Pilou - have their locale set to be EN-US even though they are French... they trick the deBabelizer into using the FR lingvo file by making a copy of the extrudeEdgesByVectorEN-US.lingvo file as say extrudeEdgesByVectorEN-US Copy.lingvo, and a copy of the extrudeEdgesByVectFR.lingvo file renamed as extrudeEdgesByVectorEN-US.lingvo to overwrite the original - that way the locale tester finds it to be EN-US and so it uses that file which has been cunningly remade as a French translation ! :idea:
If there are no lingvo files [e.g. you have deleted them] then the default language that's built into the script (EN-US) is used anyway...
This way you can have your tool's prompts and dialogs in any language you like - just make the file as XxxxEN-US.lingvo and it'll get used - so Esperanto [EO] is even possible... :ugeek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.3

Postby TIG » Sat Jan 23, 2010 5:49 pm

Here's v1.3 - Menu typo corrected and FR lingvo file updated.
viewtopic.php?p=216977#p216977
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.3

Postby driven » Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:11 pm

just the fn file???
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector v1.3

Postby TIG » Sat Jan 23, 2010 6:43 pm

driven wrote:just the fn file???

Yes - I now have the individual tools and the combo pack to keep synchronized so minor changes affect both.
There were more important changes to the EEbyRails tool...
I'm thinking of stopping the updates of each tool individually and doing the combo only ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] extrudeEdgesByVector

Postby Brodie » Wed Apr 09, 2014 10:51 pm

TIG,

Would it be possible to get a slight tweak on this? The extrusion works great but I use it pretty often and the dialogs sort of break up the flow a bit for me. I wonder if it would be a big deal to have a version that doesn't ask you about reversing the faces and automatically explodes the resulting geometry.

-Brodie

Edit: Nevermind. I just found your post on Didier's ExtrudeLineTool thread. With your modification to get it to work in 2014, that's exactly what I needed. Thanks!

viewtopic.php?f=323&t=1523&start=30
0
User avatar
Brodie 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AntBM, Debora Macedo, Google Bot, ljus, ngoctung0211 and 13 guests

Visit our sponsors: