[Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

[Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby Howard leslie » Wed Nov 28, 2007 11:18 am

Does anybody know of a ruby that will mine down into all groups / components and then Unhide ALL - (especially edges) ???
...
See attached file - a VERY small sample from a huge file.
...
As you can see, all the edges are hidden.
...
All geometry is inside groups / components - some groups / components are nested.
(although not in this small sample).
...
What I would like to do is Unhide ALL edges - without having to edit each group / component manually one by one.
...
Any help much appreciated
Regards
Howard L'
1

Howard leslie 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby tomasz » Wed Nov 28, 2007 6:53 pm

Hello Howard,
I am glad I am the first who has come with rescue (there are plenty of experienced Ruby masters over here :) ).
Here is my small script. I have tested it and it works fine. It un-hides all drawing elements (not only edges but also faces, groups and components).

Cheers
Tomasz


Please get the latest version from the PluginStore

Download

2

tomasz 
SU2TH & SU2KT Developer
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby Howard leslie » Thu Nov 29, 2007 10:02 am

Tomasz,
Thank you so much for producing this script.
For the task I am currently working on, it works really well.
...
May I suggest a refinement to make this script much more useful (V 1.1) ?

If a user has some geometry selected eg just a few groups and components - then the script will only "unhide all" from the users selection. (ie "unhides all" from the groups / components selected).
Otherwise, if no selection is made (default mode) - then the script "unhides all" from the whole model (as now).
...
Thanks once again for producing this wonderful script
Regards
Howard Leslie
0

Howard leslie 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby Gaieus » Thu Nov 29, 2007 11:19 am

I'm sure Tomasz could do that - the kerky exporter works the same way if geometry is selected... :roll:
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby tbd » Thu Nov 29, 2007 3:10 pm

here ya go unhide from groups/components on selection or all if no selection
0
SketchUp Ruby Consultant | Podium 1.x developer
http://plugins.ro
User avatar
tbd 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby tomasz » Thu Nov 29, 2007 8:42 pm

Thanks TBD,
'Case' looks much nicer :)

Tomasz
0

tomasz 
SU2TH & SU2KT Developer
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby JClements » Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:53 am

Try using the last posted script on this file.
0
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby Howard leslie » Fri Nov 30, 2007 1:55 pm

Tomasz / TBD,
I've noticed some strange results with the last script that was posted (TBD)
Or maybe its just my misunderstanding of how GROUPS work ???
...
See attached file

All Geometry are Groups - NO Components.
See what happens when 1 group is copied several times eg the blue cube.
When selected and the script is run - ALL instances of that group are edited. (edges are unhidden)
I might expect this to happen with Components but not Groups.

Is it possible to get the script to run on selected geometry only ???
...
Regards
Howard L'
0

Howard leslie 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby azuby » Fri Nov 30, 2007 5:51 pm

I've written an extension, unfortunately my web provider had a problem and my website has old content :( (I'll fix this).

azuby
0
error initus :: Blocks | CurrentDate | d/Code | extensionmanager | FFlipper | HideEdges | MeasuredArea | ModelHistory* | PluginsHelp | PronButton | SAWSO | SCP | SU²CATT

Bad English? PM me, correct me. :)

azuby 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby tbd » Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:09 pm

azuby: unfortunately it suffers from the same problem - somehow duplicated groups have the same entities as in a component
0
SketchUp Ruby Consultant | Podium 1.x developer
http://plugins.ro
User avatar
tbd 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 30, 2007 9:42 pm

I wrote this 'group_miner' script some time ago. It mines down through into any groups and makes sure that all groups are unique... Put it into your Plugins folder and it auto-runs at start up to ensure that the model is initially 'fixed'. You can invoke it in any script (remember to 'require' it if needed BUT it's a short bit of code to copy/paste inside any script anyway)... OR just type 'group_miner(Sketchup.active_model.entities)' to repeat the process 'live'...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby tbd » Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:06 pm

and here is the fix (thanks TIG) - works with both .skp from JClements & Howard L' (for the cube in JClements .skp you need to triple click to select all connected as it is not a group)
0
SketchUp Ruby Consultant | Podium 1.x developer
http://plugins.ro
User avatar
tbd 
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby JClements » Fri Nov 30, 2007 10:42 pm

Thank you TBD and TIG.

This will be useful.
0
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby Howard leslie » Mon Dec 03, 2007 10:06 am

Tomasz / TBD / TIG,
Thanks to all of you for working on this script.
Now works really well.
Regards
Howard L'
0

Howard leslie 
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby Jim » Thu Jan 07, 2010 4:02 pm

Is the fix posted in this thread still needed for the latest SketchUp versions?
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 07, 2010 5:22 pm

Jim wrote:Is the fix posted in this thread still needed for the latest SketchUp versions?

Currently the failure to ensure that copies of a group become single instances of a definition is not fixed - group.make_unique still reports as being deprecated, but it is needed - it is possible to have several copies made of a group definition where they act like component instances, and so changing one instance changes the lot - it's what Components are supposed to do BUT that's NOT what groups are supposed to do... When you copy a group it should automatically become a single instance of its definition - there should never be the equivalent of group.definition.instances[1]. It doesn't currently work properly - either manually or scripted... :roll:
0
Last edited by TIG on Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components ???

Postby Pout » Fri Jan 22, 2010 12:53 pm

Jim wrote:Is the fix posted in this thread still needed for the latest SketchUp versions?


i just did the test, and yes it is still needed
0

Pout 
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby hygicell » Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:28 am

yesterday and today sketchup 2013 completely froze when using the unhide plugin (which I have used many times before witout problems)
the only difference I can see is that I twice had the outliner and components windows open, which I didn't before
both these windows were on a second monitor which I didn't have before either
anybody else had this experience?
Frank
0

hygicell 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby mitcorb » Tue Sep 10, 2013 6:08 pm

I have seen it discussed before, quite a while back, that Outliner especially, and Component windows can cause issues with your work when they are fully open. If you click on the top bar of each, they will "roll up". This, I have read, will reduce the problem.
Hope this helps.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby michaelhund » Mon Oct 07, 2013 3:46 am

Alas, I too have found this plugin freezes in Sketchup 2013. I tried closing all dialogs, particularly the outliner, scenes and layers, and no luck. Pity.
0

michaelhund 
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby AirWindSolar » Fri Feb 21, 2014 4:40 pm

michaelhund wrote:Alas, I too have found this plugin freezes in Sketchup 2013. I tried closing all dialogs, particularly the outliner, scenes and layers, and no luck. Pity.


No freeze here, just doesn't appear to do anything at all. Won't even unhide elements within the currently open component, even after view>hidden and Ctrl-A.

Will fiddle with it a bit more when I have time.
0

AirWindSolar 
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby TIG » Sat Feb 22, 2014 10:59 am

Here's v2.0 - I tweaked it to unhide from the active_context downwards - unhiding everything, even in deeply nested sub-containers...
If you start in the model it unhides 'all' entities.
If you start in a group it unhides 'all' entities inside that group etc...
It is one step undo-able.

Download

1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby AirWindSolar » Mon Mar 03, 2014 4:46 pm

Latest update seems to be working.

This should save a lot of time when I'm having to shuffle stuff around and hide/unhide a lot to clarify something for the fabrication crews.
0

AirWindSolar 
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby peebo22 » Mon Dec 14, 2015 10:24 am

TIG, your plugin makes Sketchup 2015 crash when there's lots of edges.
0

peebo22 
 

Re: [Plugin] Unhide ALL (Edges) - Inside Groups / Components

Postby TIG » Mon Dec 14, 2015 12:16 pm

peebo22 wrote:TIG, your plugin makes Sketchup 2015 crash when there's lots of edges.
If you do it in smaller batches, does it succeed ?
Also have you tried Model Info > Statistics > Fix Problems... in case there's some corrupted geometry ?
Also, when you say 'crash' do you mean a BugSplat!, or does SketchUp just become unresponsive ?
In the latter case it should still complete, even if it takes a while...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests

Visit our sponsors: