[Plugin] follow me rotate

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 01, 2014 9:04 am

@pep

If you can't be bothered to read... :roll:
Here's a précis...

Delete the file FaR .rb, which has the 'en' suffix.
When SketchUp restarts the 'cn' version will load properly, giving you the ENglish version [perversely!]
The faulty 'en' version will not be there to load and so no more errors at startup. :D
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pep75 » Thu Jul 03, 2014 8:06 am

Oh no TIG, then you misunderstood me...I was actually very glad with your analysis :)..But I did what you wrote down and it still gave an error message(only deleting the cn version). I just removed the plugin, installed it again, removed the CN file...and again the error. Maybe my 'cocktail' of plugins doesn't match with this particular one! :)
Well please don't spend to much time on this as I'm, I guess, the only one with this problem...Thanks Tig!
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Fri Jul 04, 2014 11:09 am

@pep

NO !
You do NOT remove the CN suffixed version :roll:
Leave it where it is.
It is actually the ENglish version within the CN wrapper, owing to a code typo by the author.
So that CN version loads and works OK - giving ENglish menus rather than the ChiNese ones it was meant to make...

In v2014 the EN has some ChiNese text which causes failures...
So if you remove the EN version that error will stop appearing as SketchUp starts.

The CN one loads and works OK on its own...

BUT the EN one will always fail in v2014, so NOT having that EN one load just stops any related errors !
2
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pep75 » Fri Jul 04, 2014 11:47 am

Sorry, will try it! Thanks!
0
User avatar
pep75 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby myskp99 » Sun Sep 07, 2014 3:08 am

Hello mates, hope one can answer this:
installed the rbz file of follow me and rotate and it works, but at the begining of the program i get this message:
Error: c:/users/ivan/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2014/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/ivan/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2014/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/ivan/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2014/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: syntax error, unexpected end-of-input, expecting keyword_end
inp=Inputbox.new "±äÐθúËæ"
^
-e:1:in `eval'
hope some help, why does this happen?
thanks
0

myskp99 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Sun Sep 07, 2014 12:52 pm

myskp99 wrote:Hello mates, hope one can answer this:
installed the rbz file of follow me and rotate and it works, but at the begining of the program i get this message:
Error: c:/users/ivan/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2014/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/ivan/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2014/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/ivan/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2014/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: syntax error, unexpected end-of-input, expecting keyword_end
inp=Inputbox.new "±äÐθúËæ"
^
-e:1:in `eval'
hope some help, why does this happen?
thanks
See a few posts back viewtopic.php?p=530627#p530627 and then viewtopic.php?p=531322#p531322
One of the .RBS files inside the RBZ is wrongly encoded [in Chinese!], so if you delete it the other version will load and work OK... Note the error in the file naming that is confusing - remove the EN but keep the CN version...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby gonashvili » Thu Sep 03, 2015 4:19 pm

Seems super.

Does it work for a free v8?

Can't seem to install this.
0
User avatar
gonashvili 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Thu Sep 03, 2015 5:30 pm

gonashvili wrote:Seems super.

Does it work for a free v8?

Can't seem to install this.
Please [re]read the post immediately before your own...
viewtopic.php?p=537020#p537020
You need to access this plugin's folder inside Plugins, and then delete an RBS file - illogically the EN version is wrong! - keep the CN one... :roll:
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby gonashvili » Sun Sep 06, 2015 11:46 pm

Oh I had it working, just couldn't find it in the menu at first, then forgot to delete my post.

Cheers :D
0
User avatar
gonashvili 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby alnahrini » Wed Apr 13, 2016 9:08 am

Hi guys,,

i just installed it, but i have this error message
Note: am using sketchup 2016


Error: c:/users/wasseem grou/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2016/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/wasseem grou/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2016/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/wasseem grou/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2016/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: syntax error, unexpected end-of-input, expecting keyword_end
inp=Inputbox.new "±äÐθúËæ"
^
SketchUp:1:in `eval'



please can any one help me..

thanks in advance
0

alnahrini 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Wed Apr 13, 2016 3:37 pm

alnahrini wrote:Hi guys,,

i just installed it, but i have this error message
Note: am using sketchup 2016




please can any one help me..

thanks in advance



Read TIG's post just a few up from yours.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pipinek » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:39 pm

After installing the plugin on SU 2015 I have the following message on SU start:

Error: c:/users/ddd/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2015/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/artur/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2015/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: invalid multibyte char (UTF-8)
c:/users/ddd/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2015/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_en.rbs:49: syntax error, unexpected end-of-input, expecting keyword_end
inp=Inputbox.new "±äÐθúËæ"
^
SketchUp:1:in `eval'

I will be thankful for any solution to this issue.
Thank you in advance.
0

pipinek 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:44 pm

pipinek wrote:I will be thankful for any solution to this issue.
Thank you in advance.


You might do the same thing I suggested in the post just above yours in response to the post before that in which the poster reported the exact same problem.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby irminv » Sat Oct 15, 2016 11:23 am

I installed the plugin, but I get an error message whenever I start SU.
also the plugin is not visible as a toolbar.
I have SU15 pro...
0

irminv 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Sun Oct 16, 2016 3:26 pm

Reread this, about using the correct [but oddly named] version viewtopic.php?p=537020#p537020
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Mon Oct 17, 2016 12:04 am

irminv wrote:also the plugin is not visible as a toolbar.
I have SU15 pro...


What makes you think there is a toolbar button that is missing? If you watch the tutorial video in the first post, you see it tells you the tool is accessed through the Plugins menu which is now called the Extensions menu.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate for SU 2017

Postby Albert95 » Sat Feb 25, 2017 2:19 pm

Hello wikii Is it possible to update "follow me and rotate" for sketchup 2017 ?

console ruby
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `curve' for nil:NilClass>
c:/users/.../appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2017/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_cn.rbs:28:in `wikii_push_pull'
c:/users/.../appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2017/sketchup/plugins/followandrotate_cn.rbs:109:in `block in <main>'
SketchUp:1:in `call'


thank you
Albert
0

Albert95 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Albert95 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 2:28 pm

Hello,
I followed the advice of Tig : "Find the 'en' version and remove it from the v2014 Plugins folder [find that folder using the appropriate utility in the SketchUcation submenu]."

viewtopic.php?f=323&t=13014&start=120#p530627

But "FAR" does not work properly to model a rope.
Can I get help
thank in advance

Albert
0

Albert95 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby chri » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:36 am

hi

Same problem as Albert .
I had trying after removing the "en" file but the plugin still does not work !
The error message has disappeared but i don't see the plugin menu.
0
User avatar
chri 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:16 pm

@chri

You do not seem to have actually removed the ..._en,rbs file as the error-message relates to that !
To recap...
There are two version of the plugin installed by the RBZ.
The ..._en one loads in preference to the .._cn one,
Perversely the .._en one has issues because of Chinese characters etc - so that needs removing [..._en.rbs] and the other one [with ..._cn.rbs ending] will be used loaded successfully...
viewtopic.php?p=531322#p531322
Note how the author has misnamed the two files before encrypting them !
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Box » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:21 pm

I'm not sure the plugin works properly on 2017 anyway.
I installed it earlier and it was very flaky, (highly technical term).
1
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pilou » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:35 pm

Works in the 2016! :)
Seems not yet in 2017 (even remove en .... )

far.jpg
1
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:59 pm

I've not tested it in v2017 - but if it is "flaky" it will now be unfix-able because its code is encrypted !
:(
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby chri » Mon Mar 06, 2017 2:19 pm

TIG wrote:I've not tested it in v2017 - but if it is "flaky" it will now be unfix-able because its code is encrypted !
:(


Hi TIG

your are righ, i made a mistake during installation
it works fine with 2015 2016 but not 2017 version.

Thanks
0
User avatar
chri 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby CoreMaster110 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:48 pm

Doesn't work with 2017 version. I removed the en version of the file.
I made polyline and a face, selected both, clicked "Extensions/FollowAndRotate" but nothing happens, no dialog box.
0
User avatar
CoreMaster110 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Dave R » Thu Apr 06, 2017 1:21 pm

CoreMaster110 wrote:Doesn't work with 2017 version.


Yes, if you read the posts above yours, this has already been reported. Unless the author fixes it, the extension won't work, It doesn't seem likely that the author will fix it so it's probably a good idea to find other ways to manage what you did with this one.
1
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby pilou » Thu Apr 06, 2017 2:34 pm

...or use an old version of Su! ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby targetx » Fri Apr 07, 2017 3:34 pm

Hi guys!
Carefully had read everything, made every step as adviced. Installed, removed EN version. No errors, plugin appeared in the menu and everything seemed to be successful, but ... while clicking on the plugin there is NO input box ... Tried on SU 2016 ans 2013 - same result. Please help me to run the plugin :) Thanks!
0

targetx 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby duanekemp » Wed Sep 27, 2017 9:08 am

wikii wrote:It is still in developing, here is the current version.
Get the latest version as an RBZ from the PluginStore:



wikii, This is such a cool, useful and needed plugin. Alternatives to get similar results are tedious, time consuming and not always effective. If possible, I'd like to encourage the continued development of this plugin for SU2017 and SU2018.... resurrect this puppy so it can be used without reverting to SU 2015/16.

I hope you release a new version since this does what needs to be done. And again, thank you for making this!!!
0
Duane Kemp

Kemp Productions
Puidoux, Switzerland
Gallery:
https://duanekemp.artstation.com/
User avatar
duanekemp 
 

Re: [Plugin] follow me rotate

Postby Ahmed0007 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 2:54 am

Thanks For Plugin
Please Update for 2017/18
Thanks
0

Ahmed0007 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abgnokia, chanponleu, rendypradipta, tranhuuhung and 24 guests

Visit our sponsors: