[Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Fri Oct 16, 2015 2:07 pm

JQL wrote:Hi Tig, I've just noticed that the icon for extrude edges by vector is replaced by the icon from extrude edges by lathe.

Thanks again for the wonderful plugin!
It's not like that on my PC.
The two icons are similar, but the lathe one shows a blue back-face in the circular lathed form...
Both sized PNGs are also correct.
Perhaps you are noticing the similarity, but not an exact match ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby congellous » Thu Nov 05, 2015 4:34 pm

Apologies if this is already answered but my extrude to 3D lattice doesn't seem to work, it was working ?
0

congellous 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:07 pm

congellous wrote:Apologies if this is already answered but my extrude to 3D lattice doesn't seem to work, it was working ?
It does work OK.
What are you trying to do exactly ?
You need the curved paths and a 'profile' face, with an optional guide-point...
Perhaps you are making a simple oversight.
Have you reviewed the usage video ?
Are there any errors messages or anything printed out in the Ruby Console.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Jago25_98 » Wed Nov 25, 2015 9:05 am

This looks like an important plugin.

It seems one thing it could be used for (correct me if I'm wrong) is for fixing holes in a solid identified by SolidInspector... but which tool is appropriate...

Here I'm trying to plug holes in the underside of a surfboard... it has had the poly count reduced for testing. I want to smooth over those holes:

holedBoard.PNG
0

Jago25_98 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Wed Dec 16, 2015 6:24 pm

Here's v3.0

Download

There are no major changes, but it's now 'signed', and therefore as well as working as before in older SketchUp versions, it is compatible with SketchUp >= v2016, in all 'Extension Loading Policies' [i.e. 'future-proofed']...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby littldrummrboy » Thu Dec 17, 2015 5:11 pm

This is a great plugin! It contains a feature that would be AMAZING as a stand-alone tool: Orient Faces.

Do any of your plugins offer Orient Faces as a function that can be applied to free geometry, instead of just working on geometry created by using the plugin?

Is there another way to easily orient faces on a mixed-orientation mesh? Please create a stand-alone Orient Faces function to that we can easily fix mixed-face orientation geometry!
0

littldrummrboy 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 17, 2015 6:00 pm

"Orient" is already a built-in context-menu tool.

Select a correctly oriented face and choose the tool from the right-click context-menu.
All connected faces are now oriented to match that face.
Tip: Turn View > Hidden Geometry ON, so then you can select a single facet for the orientation, because otherwise if the mesh is smoothed it selects en mass...

Unfortunately a mesh can only be oriented successfully if every edge in it has only one or two faces.
If an edge has three or more faces, then no algorithm can determine what to do, because some faces will never be correctly oriented compared to their neighbors.

Because a mesh that is made with a EEby... tool is likely to be 'orientable' it works 'in-code', but it's not guaranteed to be effective on other meshes...
Unfortunately "Orient" is NOT accessible in the Ruby API, so I wrote my own.
But it's only needed if the orientation of code-generated faces cannot be guaranteed.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby arklandesign » Tue Jan 05, 2016 10:45 am

Icons for this extension are not showing up at all. This is on 2016 Pro version using windows 7. I can access all the tools via extensions but would like to see the icons as before. Used sketucation3.0 to install, tried deleting the rb file and install again but still no icons showing.

Any suggestions on what I can do to get the icons to appear again?
0

arklandesign 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:03 pm

Did you install it from a downloaded RBZ using Preferences > Extensions > Install Extension...
or the equivalent SketchUcation Archive Installer, or directly using the SketchUcation PluginStore dialog within SketchUp ?
Having reread your post I see it was the latter.

Your supposed problem...

If you mean the toolbar is not visible, then you probably need to activate it from its entry in the Toolbar list...

If you mean the toolbar appears, but it has blank buttons, then check that there are 22 PNG files in the subfolder - ..\Plugins\ExtrudeTools
This seems unlikely because all of the other files used by the tool to make the submenu items etc are also in that subfolder !

If there is no toolbar available something is weird... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby arklandesign » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:17 pm

Hi Trevor, Yes all the png's appear and yes it is activated with a check to enable it. But I still have no tool bars or icons whatsoever. I tried disabling it, open sketchup again, re enable, open again and still nothing. Something is weird

I guess it would be quicker to reinstall SketchUp 2016 and reload all my plugins with sketucation's brilliant plugin store.

Thank you for the assistance.

Rashad
0

arklandesign 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Rich O Brien » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:20 pm

Hi John!

Happy New Year
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Box » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:27 pm

Isn't there something about java or some such being up to date for some icons to work?
I'm probably wrong but it stuck in my mind.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby arklandesign » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:33 pm

Hi Brian happy new year to you too ;) Very funny
Box- that might be it as I was told not to update Java by a friend. Perhaps i need to ignore that advice

Quick questions. I've uninstalled 2016 version. Should I delete everything in my appdata roaming plugins folder? Is there anything there I should leave alone?

Thanks again for all the help.

Rashad
0

arklandesign 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Dave R » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:36 pm

Reinstalling SU2016 won't change the User/AppData/...SketchUp 2016/Plugins folder, though. Reinstalling SketchUp 2016 seems like a drastic step that's unlikely to fix the problem. Delete the Extrude Tools files from the Plugins folder and install anew with the SCF Plugin Store.

Edit: Too late. :o
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby arklandesign » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:53 pm

Hi Dave,I already tried deleting and then re installing the extrude tools several times to no avail.

Re install only takes a few minutes as does re installing all my extensions. So it is not too drastic in my opinion. But I'm still not sure if I should delete every single file in the plugins folder or if there is something I should keep there that might be needed or is it okay to simply leave them all as is?
0

arklandesign 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Dave R » Tue Jan 05, 2016 2:57 pm

I guess at this point I'd delete the entire Plugins folder from App Data/Roaming... Then install the SCF Plugin Store from a fresh download and use it to install TIG's Extrude Tools. Don't install anything else until testing for icons.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby arklandesign » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:04 pm

That sounds like great advise and a good way to go
Thank you Dave
0

arklandesign 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Dave R » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:06 pm

Good luck.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby arklandesign » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:26 pm

Darn Just did as per Dave's advice and still not showing toolbar for extrude tools.
I updated java too so completely stumped at the moment as to how to correct this.

Where is that head banging against a wall emoji Or is that on another forum :shock:
0

arklandesign 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby arklandesign » Tue Jan 05, 2016 3:41 pm

Yaaaaay... Got it working at last, Most likely operator error ( it always is) as when I went to toolbars and checked the box for extrude tools it came up. I had been checking the box under extensions.
Anyhooo feels so good to sort this out, even if it was just due to correcting operator error. :mrgreen:

Thank you all for the help
0

arklandesign 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Tue Jan 05, 2016 4:48 pm

:roll:

Many [but not all] Plugins are made as Extensions, and because of a glitch in v2016-M0's Loading Policy, when these are first installed they do no start off 'activated', even when the author specifies that they ought to, and the RBZ is properly signed, and the Loading Policy is set as 'Unrestricted' [the default]...
Therefore, you currently need to activate any installed Extensions manually from Preferences > Extensions, by placing a check-mark against their entry [you can also use the SketchUcation Extensions-Manager to do this by moving them into the left 'activated' column].
Thereafter, this activation should be remembered across sessions...

When an activated Plugin has a Toolbar, then that might not start off initially activated when its RBZ is installed [but its initial state depends of the author's coding, if the Extension has been deactivated etc].
You can activate that toolbar under the Toolbars list, by placing a check-mark against its entry.
By default, when first activated it will appear top-left of the SketchUp-window, floating and in one line.
You can reshape/relocate/dock it etc, all as you wish.
This now active-toolbar should reappear across sessions, remembering wherever you last left it [and floating or docked etc].
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby ntxdave » Fri Jan 29, 2016 7:05 pm

TIG, it appears I am seeing a problem with the Extrude Tools extension. Any time I use it if I use Ctrl-Z to undo something, I am winding up with a rectangle at the axis base point in my model. Please see this thread
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Fri Jan 29, 2016 8:42 pm

Which of the EEby... tools shows this ?
Initially I can't think of any that place a rectangle at the origin, outside of the main undo-loop ??
More details please...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby ntxdave » Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:15 am

TIG wrote:Which of the EEby... tools shows this ?
Initially I can't think of any that place a rectangle at the origin, outside of the main undo-loop ??
More details please...


The only one I have been using is the vector one. I have tried several times since I first read your reply and have not been able to reproduce it again. It did happen several time before in both 2015 and 2016 (Pro for both).
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby fergutierrezg » Wed Aug 03, 2016 12:57 am

Holaa ! Me podrías decir como descargo el plugin? por favor, no encuentro el link de descarga...
0

fergutierrezg 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Dave R » Mon Aug 08, 2016 5:40 pm

fergutierrezg wrote:Holaa ! Me podrías decir como descargo el plugin? por favor, no encuentro el link de descarga...


Look at the bottom of the first post.
Screenshot - 8_8_2016 , 11_41_30 AM.png
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby Extractor » Wed Nov 16, 2016 3:23 pm

Hi there,
I have problems with Extrude Tools and Sketchup 2017:
Even after disabling all other plugins I get the following results running for instance “Extrude Edges by Rails” or “Extrude Edges by Rails To Lattice”:
The tool only creates the control/construction points (no faces) and I get some information in the Ruby Console:
Extrude Tools_Lattice.jpg


Another example: “Extrude Edges by Loft” creates triangulated faces but no Quad Faces if I select this option.
(Some information: Extrude Tools 3.0 (I installed it using the SketchUcation Tool, no problems with Sketchup 2016, system: windows 7, 64 bit, Intel i7 3770, NVidia GTX 750 Ti, drivers: 375.57 and the newest 375.86)

Any ideas?
0

Extractor 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Wed Nov 16, 2016 4:00 pm

Thanks for the reports.
I see it too... investigating...
It's the way v2017 replaces an exploded entity with a duplicate, with another ID, and so you can no longer collect a reference to it before exploding, it must be done as part of the explode itself to get the correct reference...
Working on it - I suspect it affects many of the tools...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby CadFather » Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:23 pm

Hi TIG - if you can - have a look at the offset please, it seems the reading is slightly off (no pun!). didn't have time to look at the code myself
0
User avatar
CadFather 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Postby TIG » Thu Nov 17, 2016 1:55 pm

The whole ExtrudeToolset is foobar thanks to the way v2017 handles exploded entities and looses references but while keeping id's...

I'm working on a fix... :o
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa Bot, Jose Feitosa and 17 guests

Visit our sponsors: