[Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:24 pm

Karen, can you post a screen shot that shows the problem?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 7:46 pm

Dave R wrote:Karen, can you post a screen shot that shows the problem?


Here is the screen shot. I pressed print screen then pasted it on paint, but the mouse was did not appear on paint, so i took another photo that shows it on close-up. The construction line isnt showing as i move my pointer away from the initial point. I tried specifying a diameter/distance, but nothing happened.
0

kdrr1607 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:00 pm

Do you get guidelines if you use the yellow Tape measure tool? I'm wondering if this is an OpenGL setting issue.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:03 pm

Dave R wrote:Do you get guidelines if you use the yellow Tape measure tool? I'm wondering if this is an OpenGL setting issue.


Yes, everything works fine but my tools on surface plugin.
0

kdrr1607 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:38 pm

Is it possible the construction lines are inside your cylinder? What do you see if you switch to X-ray face style?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:43 pm

Yes, Ive done that, still no lines showing.
0

kdrr1607 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Tue Oct 08, 2013 8:51 pm

Weird.

I'm on my Mac right now but it is playing fine for me. I'll check on my PC when I get home. Have you installed the most recent version?
2013-10-08_14-48-51.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:11 pm

Ive installed the ToolsOnSurface16c found on Ruby library depot. Ive tried installing the one uploaded in this website, but it doesn't start. All it says on the command line is "Loading all Ruby files for plugin Tools on Surface", tried waiting to load, but still nothing.
0

kdrr1607 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:18 pm

Oh, what I meant by it doesnt start is Tools on surface appears, but when I click it, it doesnt do anything, all it shows in the command line is "Loading all Ruby files for plugin Tools on Surface"
0

kdrr1607 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:20 pm

That makes me think you have either a plugin installation problem or perhaps incorrectly set permissions for the Plugins folder. Perhaps you could make a screen shot of Windows Explorer showing the Plugins folder and its contents as well as a screen shot of the Security tab under Properties for the Plugins folder.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:33 pm

Hi Dave, here it is.
0

kdrr1607 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Tue Oct 08, 2013 10:00 pm

Maybe we're onto something. Or just on something. :D

The fact that 'Compatibility files' shows in the top row of buttons in your screenshot of the Plugins folder indicates insufficient privileges for you. And in the second screenshot it appears you don't have full permissions to the folder. Click on Compatibility files and restart SketchUp. See if that changes anything. You might as well change your permissions to Full for the Plugins folder which you would do by clicking the Edit button under the Security tab.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby kdrr1607 » Tue Oct 08, 2013 11:40 pm

Hi Dave! Thanks for the help. It's working now. :)
0

kdrr1607 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby Dave R » Wed Oct 09, 2013 2:26 am

Excellent! Thanks for letting me know.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby AirPlaneFreakMaster » Sat Nov 02, 2013 3:19 am

Hey fredo, I need a little bit of help installing the tool, I can't open the zip folder because it says it's some archive or it's invalid, could you change the extension for it?
0

AirPlaneFreakMaster 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v1.8a - 12 Jan 11

Postby fredo6 » Sat Nov 02, 2013 9:23 am

AirPlaneFreakMaster wrote:Hey fredo, I need a little bit of help installing the tool, I can't open the zip folder because it says it's some archive or it's invalid, could you change the extension for it?

I would suggest you install via the SCF Plugin Store tool. This is really the safest way.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby fredo6 » Tue Nov 12, 2013 3:35 pm

NEW RELEASE: Tools on Surface 2.0a - 12 Nov 13

This release is mainly for future Sketchup compatibility. No functional change.

You will need to migrate to LibFredo6 5.4 or higher

Please see main post for download

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby suHappyPills » Sun Nov 17, 2013 11:29 am

Very useful,thanks a lot!
0

suHappyPills 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby archigokce » Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:17 pm

thank you so much ...
0

archigokce 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby mdfahd » Thu Dec 19, 2013 5:16 pm

hey when i try instlling this plug it says i need 5.2 or higher version. plz suggest wat to do..using sketchup 7
0

mdfahd 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby massimo » Thu Dec 19, 2013 6:08 pm

From the very first post of this thread...
Cattura.JPG
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby wyoung221 » Fri Jan 10, 2014 10:36 pm

I have looked around and I haven't seen this mentioned anywhere else. When I try to draw shapes on a sphere (smooth or not), faces get deleted randomly. Sometimes I can get it to come back with the line tool, but sometimes I can't. Am I missing something?
0

wyoung221 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:09 pm

How big is the sphere?
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby wyoung221 » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:05 pm



This example is 2" wide, the one I was working on is 4". Is that the issue? It just needs to be bigger?
0

wyoung221 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Dave R » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:23 pm

Yep. Try scaling up by 100x.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Box » Mon Jan 13, 2014 8:04 pm

Not that it matter here but you are working inside out. You should work with the faces orientated correctly or you will run into problems. The Default front face is white and back face bluegray.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby jgb » Tue Jan 14, 2014 4:17 pm

Before using any "surface" tools (tools-on-surface, Joint-push-pull, etc) do an Orient Faces first.
It really does not matter which face is outside, although standard practice is "white outside - blue inside" as Box noted.

The missing faces is an SU quirk when 1 side is tiny. Scaling up does solve that problem, but sometimes scaling up then back down creates a placement problem.

So to prevent that, I make the overall object, or just a piece of it a temporary component, and copy it away in free space. Then I do an OUTSIDE of box scale up, edit that and do the surface operation. It will be duplicated on the original, intact. Then delete the scaled up working copy and explode the original comp.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Dave R » Tue Jan 14, 2014 4:51 pm

In some cases it does matter which faces are out. It's good practice to do housekeeping as you go along and correct reversed faces and otherwise keep the model clean. It can pay off big later on. As with anything computer related, GIGO applies.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby TightLines » Mon Mar 24, 2014 3:11 pm

I'm having trouble finding an active link to download this plugin. Can anyone point me in a direction?

Thanks
0

TightLines 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.0a - 12 Nov 13

Postby Dave R » Mon Mar 24, 2014 7:55 pm

It's amazing what you can find if you look at the first post in a thread.
2014-03-24_13-50-43.png


2014-03-24_13-51-09.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abrarulhaq2013, AXE99, gaaf99, Nguyen Thanh Huy, Slon22 and 18 guests

Visit our sponsors: