[Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby Subsonic Mike » Mon Mar 07, 2011 6:56 pm

IT WORKS! :berserk: :ecstatic:
Thank you so much guys for helping me get it working! Thank you!
0
Design Crash Learn
User avatar
Subsonic Mike 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 07, 2011 9:48 pm

Hoooooooooray! :sketchstatic:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby Gaiv » Sun Apr 24, 2011 9:00 am

hi everybody, i study architecture and i really love this plugin, it's very very cool because it's help me a lot to makes paper craft :D ... thank you conceptor :sketchstatic: but i just have a little problem, i don't understand how to use the " index Edges" function :? and it's very important for me because i have a very complex modeling to do and it's impossible without this function... someone can help me?
0

Gaiv 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Sun Apr 24, 2011 11:09 am

As explained on the tools web-page
When your model is fully constructed, and you are about to unfold it, select the entire thing and press the Index Edges button. This marks all of the edges in your model so that later, when your model is unfolded, Flattery will know what used to be connected. This is critical for the Reunite Edges tool, and helpful for the Add Tabs tool.

So do it at the start and then unfold...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby Gaiv » Mon Apr 25, 2011 1:29 pm

it's what i do, but there is nothing :roll: when the volume is complete i select all the model and i press the index Edges button but nothing appear =s
maybe it's a bug?
0

Gaiv 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:58 am

I think you misunderstand.
The Index tool 'marks' all edges so that the tool knows which edges were common before unfolding and for tabbing etc. It doesn't add any 'text' at all ???

However, here's a way... once you have unfolded/tabbed the form as desired, then you select all of the flattened edges [faces , un-indexed edges etc are ignored so you don't need to be too careful]... now run this snippet of code in the Ruby Console - copy/paste it
Code: Select all
m=Sketchup.active_model;es=m.active_entities;ss=m.selection;ss.to_a.each{|e|next if e.class!=Sketchup::Edge;id=e.get_attribute("Unfold","edge_id",nil);next if !id;  pt=e.start.position.offset(e.line[1],e.length/2);es.add_text(id.to_s,pt,[0,0,0])}
Text representing the edges' id code will be added centrally to the pairs edges that share each code... 1, 2, 3 etc
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby Bep » Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:53 pm

Hello Tig,

I am getting this message in the ruby console.
Am i doing something wrong?
Code: Select all
m=Sketchup.active_model;es=m.active_entities;ss=m.selection;ss.to_a.each{|e|next if e.class!=Sketchup::Edge;id=e.get_attribute("Unfold","edge_id",nil);next if !id;  pt=e.start.position.offset(e.line[1],e.length/2);es.add_text(id.to_s,pt,[0,0,0])}
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `active_m' for Sketchup:Module>
(eval):184[/ruby]


Bep
0
"History is written by the winners"
User avatar
Bep 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:27 pm

Bep wrote:Hello Tig,

I am getting this message in the ruby console.
Am i doing something wrong?
Code: Select all
m=Sketchup.active_model;es=m.active_entities;ss=m.selection;ss.to_a.each{|e|next if e.class!=Sketchup::Edge;id=e.get_attribute("Unfold","edge_id",nil);next if !id;  pt=e.start.position.offset(e.line[1],e.length/2);es.add_text(id.to_s,pt,[0,0,0])}
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `active_m' for Sketchup:Module>
(eval):184[/ruby]


Bep

Sorry :oops:
A typo crept in between testing and posting...
The correct code 'm=Sketchup.active_model;' has now been edited in... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby Bep » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:32 pm

Thanks Tig ,

Now it works :thumb: (I just cant see the typo :?: )
The ruby also gives a number to the sides that are still connected.
Could it skip these sides ?

Greetings,

Bep
0
"History is written by the winners"
User avatar
Bep 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby Gaiv » Sun May 29, 2011 10:53 am

TIG wrote:
Bep wrote:Hello Tig,

I am getting this message in the ruby console.
Am i doing something wrong?
Code: Select all
m=Sketchup.active_model;es=m.active_entities;ss=m.selection;ss.to_a.each{|e|next if e.class!=Sketchup::Edge;id=e.get_attribute("Unfold","edge_id",nil);next if !id;  pt=e.start.position.offset(e.line[1],e.length/2);es.add_text(id.to_s,pt,[0,0,0])}
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `active_m' for Sketchup:Module>
(eval):184[/ruby]


Bep

Sorry :oops:
A typo crept in between testing and posting...
The correct code 'm=Sketchup.active_model;' has now been edited in... :roll:


hi i've tried the ruby console code but nothing happened and there is still no number on the faces =s when i write the code in the ruby i have this message :
m=Sketchup.active_model;es=m.active_entities;ss=m.selection;ss.to_a.each{|e|next if e.class!=Sketchup::Edge;id=e.get_attribute("Unfold","edge_id",nil);next if !id; pt=e.start.position.offset(e.line[1],e.length/2);es.add_text(id.to_s,pt,[0,0,0])}
[#<Sketchup::Group:0x1e45fad8>]

but no number is it normal ? i work on mac maybe it's the problem? i don't know but pleasee help meeeee :(
0

Gaiv 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Sun May 29, 2011 3:14 pm

You have selected one group.
You must select faces/edges - perhaps inside that group...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby bmike » Mon Sep 12, 2011 5:56 pm

no luck here, SU8 pro.

downloaded, extracted. copied the 'flattery' folder (left the MACOSx folder along) into plugins.
noticed there was no flattery.rb, found it inside the flattery folder, moved it to plugins.
shows up in my window>preference as being checked on, but can't seem to load it.
0
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:06 pm

If you reread the README file... it says to put flattery.rb and the flattery folder [with its contents intact] into the Plugins folder...
It needs activating from Preferences > Extensions and then View > Toolbar...
Capture.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby bmike » Mon Sep 12, 2011 6:13 pm

TIG wrote:If you reread the README file... it says to put flattery.rb and the flattery folder [with its contents intact] into the Plugins folder...
It needs activating from Preferences > Extensions and then View > Toolbar...


yeah, i did all that. :thumb:

upon investigation, the download folder isn't exactly clean. :thumbd:

took some doing, but i managed to clean up the nested nonsense and got it sorted. :thumb:

would be better, i think, to have 2 files to download, mac, and pc. then eliminate the nesting and the guesswork.

also, the font color in my folder lists is green for this. weirdness. and i don't like it. :?
0
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby nomeradona » Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:53 am

wow this is good for our students...thanks for sharing.
0

nomeradona 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby pmolsen » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:19 pm

If I am not mistaken I believe the zip file has been created incorrectly. Firstly as the other user pointed out it contains both the Mac and PC files, making it impossible to do a standard unzip without getting all of the files.

Secondly the directory structure is incorrect. To do a standard unzip on most plugins you simply tell winzip that the Extract-to folder is plugins and you tick the "use folder names" and everything works.

When you do that with Flattery.zip you get an incorrect directory structure set up. You get a high-level folder within the Plugins directory called Flattery (with a capital F). Within that folder you get the flattery.rb file and README.txt. The flattery.rb should be in plugins, not Flattery.

You also get two other folders, called flattery and .svn, within the Flattery directory.

If you open the zip file and look at the right hand column you will see the problem. The flattery.rb file has a path of "Flattery\". It should have no path at all if it is supposed to go in the Plugins directory. All the other files have a path of Flattery/flattery\. They should just say flattery\...

Another problem is that the README.txt is ends up in the high-level plugins directory. It should be in the flattery directory, or should be called "flatteryreadme.txt" or similar. Unzipping a file called readme.txt to the plugins directory, that may contain hundreds of plugins, is a bit meaningless.

I recognise that a user would normally only need the readme initially, but a standard user doing a standard unzip is going to end up with the readme.txt in the plugins folder, probably overwriting an existing file of that name from another plugin.

The way this zip file has been set up I presume it is designed to be unzipped to C:\. It would then create a directory called Flattery. The user would then have to move all its contents to Plugins, and then delete the Flattery directory. That is not intuitive and is not what the install instructions say.

The other issue is the .svn folder. What is it? The install instructions mention nothing about it but it seems that it has to go in the plugins root directory.
0

pmolsen 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Sun Sep 25, 2011 11:46 pm

Personally, I would NEVER extract the contents of an unknown zip file into the Plugins folder. Too reckless.
I'd always extract it into a temporary folder [named after the zip file] on my Desktop and look at what I have then got.
Then I'd read any README file [or other instructions supplied by the author] and move files or folders-of-files into the Plugins folder as directed.
If you read this tool's README file for PC or MAC, the files and folders you need to extract/move are clearly explained.
There are superfluous files/folders that the MAC system [stupidly] adds into the zip file - but because they start with a '.' they are probably invisible to a MAC user, so they are included in error by the originator...
... BUT now I think about it why are you bitching here and not complaining to the tool's author on the Flattery web-site :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby pmolsen » Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:01 am

I am not bitching. I am posting comments that may be useful to other users. I have installed lots of plugins and they have all installed directly. I do not do it blindly. I open the zip file and look at what it contains first.

I have also managed to generate a bug splat with the tool, by following the instructions like a dumb user. (Sketchup 7)

I created a simple cylinder. I then selected the entire model and clicked Index Edges. Nothing happened. I thought it had not worked. (A message is needed down the bottom saying it worked.)

With the entire model still selected I picked the Unfold tool and clicked on the model. BUG-SPLAT. Does it every time.

I finally did it properly and it works like a dream. I wanted to explode the cylinder so I could texture the curved surface with 4 separate textures. (UVTools only does one texture.)

Now what? How to I re-assemble the cylinder again? I can obviously do it manually but I was hoping for an option that would automatically put the model back together again.

One other minor issue. After install all of my toolbars were splattered all over the screen and I had to rearrange them. (I use the plugin that allows you to customise the toolbars. Can't remember what it is called.)
0
Last edited by pmolsen on Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

pmolsen 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby pmolsen » Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:25 am

A summary of my suggested improvements to what is a great plugin:

1. Separate the Mac and PC install files

2. Modify the paths within the zip file so it can be unzipped directly into Plugins directory like almost all other plugins.

3. When Index Edges is used, put a message down the bottom saying "Edges Indexed".

4. Fix the bug splat when model is clicked with the Unfold tool with entire model selected.

5. Fix a bug with unfolding multiple faces. I selected half a dozen faces of the cylinder with the select tool then changed to the unfold tool and clicked on the next un-highlighted face. They were unfolded but were not joined together. They were separated by an increasing amount of space between them. The first time I did it I clicked on one of the highlighted faces by mistake. They ended up spread all over the place.

6. Put tooltips down the bottom when a tool is selected and after each step telling dumb users like me what to do next. If the tool is used constantly it becomes intuitive but for a user who maybe uses the tool once a year they have to go back to the web site to find out how to use it.

7. Add an option to re-assemble the model back to its original state, either fully automatically or one step at a time similar to the unfold process. The tool is great for things other than metalwork and paper folding etc. It can also be used for texturing difficult surfaces, but re-assembly is then required.
0

pmolsen 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby krash88 » Mon Sep 26, 2011 6:20 pm

Awesome tool! I'll surely be using it to construct custom boxes at our factory. However, I am not seeing the previews during tab creation. Using SU7 and XP. It's not critical though and once again, great tool! :D
0

krash88 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby xrok1 » Wed Nov 09, 2011 7:46 pm

xrok1 wrote:very nice. it would be great if you could predefine the tab sizes or have all tabs after the first one be doubleclick to repeat size. :D

Any progress on this?
0
“There are three classes of people: those who see. Those who see when they are shown. Those who do not see.”

http://www.Twilightrender.com try it!

xrok1 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby amarino2010 » Wed May 16, 2012 8:16 pm

I am also having trouble getting flattery loaded. I have read all of your entries. Tried things. Still no luck. I have windows 7 and sk pro 8. I have downloaded, un ziped, and copied the rb folder into my plug in folder. I get this message "Destination Folder Access Denied - You'll need to provide administrator permission to copy this folder". Then the file appears in the folder but when I start up sketch up the plug in appears no where, not even on the extensions list. I changed the permission settings to allow everything. And restarted. Still nothing.
I don't want to use "Unfold", because I have heard that Flattery is better (accidental pun :), but I was able to get Unfold to load... Unlike with Flattery, when the permission window came up there was a box for me to check to give permission. Also I have tried loading it on to a different computer with no luck. If you can help me get Flattery to work I will owe you one...some how.
Thank you !
Amy jo
0

amarino2010 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Thu May 17, 2012 1:51 pm

amarino2010 wrote:I am also having trouble getting flattery loaded. I have read all of your entries. Tried things. Still no luck. I have windows 7 and sk pro 8. I have downloaded, un ziped, and copied the rb folder into my plug in folder. I get this message "Destination Folder Access Denied - You'll need to provide administrator permission to copy this folder". Then the file appears in the folder but when I start up sketch up the plug in appears no where, not even on the extensions list. I changed the permission settings to allow everything. And restarted. Still nothing.
I don't want to use "Unfold", because I have heard that Flattery is better (accidental pun :), but I was able to get Unfold to load... Unlike with Flattery, when the permission window came up there was a box for me to check to give permission. Also I have tried loading it on to a different computer with no luck. If you can help me get Flattery to work I will owe you one...some how.
Thank you !
Amy jo
Sounds like you don't have full access rights to the Plugins folder.
The system will then prevent you putting files/folders into it, or if you have slightly higher privileges it might look like it worked OK but it's really put then into a side 'compatibility files' folder, which messes you up too :roll:

To fix it...
As an Admin[istrator] right-click the Plugins folder's icon > Properties, then > Security.
Edit your/you+similar-others settings to be 'Full'; OK to save.
You should now be able to put things into the Plugins folder.
It's a good idea while you are at it to have 'Full' access rights to the other folders [and their contents] you might want to save to - Components, Materials, Styles...

When you do get Flattery in the right folder you restart Sketchup and you must activate the tool from Sketchup's Window > Preferences > Extensions menu. You might also then need to activate its toolbar from View > Toolbars...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby biagiodicarlo » Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:29 pm

Pumpkin Pirate wrote:Hello everyone!
A while ago, I made a plugin for designing papercraft patterns. It allows you to unfold models into flat patterns, add tabs, and export them as SVGs. Just recently, I finally got around to polishing it up and putting it online. I call it Flattery, and you can get it here.

It's got three main tools for designing patterns.

The Unfold tool unfolds models into flat patterns:


the Reunite Edges tool lets you adjust the layout of the patterns:


and the Add Tabs tool makes glue tabs:


It's also got an SVG export button so you can export your pattern to a program like Illustrator or Inkscape to color and print it.



Please, where I can find FLATTERY for a mac using SU2013?!
0

biagiodicarlo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby Dave R » Fri Nov 15, 2013 2:20 am

You copied and pasted the link in your post. :roll:
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 15, 2013 10:50 am

Your one line question is at the end of you pasted post. :roll:
"Flattery" ought to work on MACs too - did you read the instructions on its page it refers to MAC Plugins folders etc.
The examples given for its installation are for v8... BUT v2013 should also work using the equivalent folders.
In the Ruby Console: Sketchup.find_support_file('Plugins') will return the path to your v2013 Plugins folder [in v2013 it changes to the ../User/.. one?].
Then you can extract and install the contents of any ZIP you download.
To see that folder you will need the 'Show Lib' option checking in the Finder...
BUT remember that you can convert a ZIP into a .RBZ simply by changing its file suffix.
Then the Preferences > Extensions > Install... button will auto-install it for you anyway !
This auto-installation works in v2013 and the newer v8 SketchUp too...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby shafir_am » Sat Mar 01, 2014 4:27 pm

Does not work on 2014
0

shafir_am 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 01, 2014 7:28 pm

shafir_am wrote:Does not work on 2014
Have you told the author directly ?
If not, then it might never be corrected... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby shafir_am » Sun Mar 02, 2014 7:29 am

Hi Tig
His e-mail is not working
Do you know any other plugin like flattery
0

shafir_am 
 

Re: [Plugin] Flattery papercraft tools

Postby jiminy-billy-bob » Sun Mar 02, 2014 12:48 pm

As there seem to be no way to contact the author and the copyright allows it, I modified the plugin to make it work in SU2014. It should still work fine in older versions. Here it is:


Working version for SketchUp 2014:

EDIT : Download in the pluginstore: http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=Flattery

Maybe an admin can replace it in the pluginstore?

Modifications:
tabtool.rb line 238: if @active_edge: > if @active_edge
tabtool.rb line 276: if @active_edge && @dragging: > if @active_edge && @dragging
tabtool.rb line 287: if @active_edge: > if @active_edge
reunitetool.rb line 76: vertecies = Set.new > RUBY_VERSION.to_i < 2 ? vertecies = Set.new : vertecies = Sketchup::Set.new
2
Last edited by jiminy-billy-bob on Sun Mar 02, 2014 2:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
jiminy-billy-bob 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: reneschepers, stanley98 and 6 guests

Visit our sponsors: