[Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.9

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:59 pm

Here's v1.9 viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691

It now traps for 'No Geometry' inside the Group... :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.9

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 5:28 pm

NO Zapping with 1.9... is it possible for the health check to report 'NO geometry to Check because the selection contains sub-groups'?

I'll try some other breakers I've been working on...

cheers john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.9

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 5:48 pm

TIG,
I've got a couple of test on the go, I'll report on them when they're cooked.

some additional ?'s

which should be faster for manifold, simply continuing after fail or a manual repair than re-test continue

would it be possible to choose bothquad's and tri's as two separate groups, if you have two different post destinations for the object?

or would EraseCoplanar on a copy of a Tri'd group give identical mesh results?
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.9

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 31, 2010 6:52 pm

driven wrote:TIG,
I've got a couple of test on the go, I'll report on them when they're cooked.
some additional ?'s
which should be faster for manifold, simply continuing after fail or a manual repair than re-test continue
would it be possible to choose bothquad's and tri's as two separate groups, if you have two different post destinations for the object?
or would EraseCoplanar on a copy of a Tri'd group give identical mesh results?

Manual fix versus Auto-fix depends on what needs fixing - making it right in the first place is the best bet ;)
If you choose NOT to triangulate but then want a triangulated version then copy it and simply select all faces and run my [+tt's] tool triangulate_faces and you'll have the same result - uses the same code... :geek:
0
Last edited by TIG on Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.9

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:12 pm

TIG- found the problem with the Bool'd groups -BT can create a group inside a group when bool-ing more than two groups, which I should have spotted in Outliner.

When manifold highlighted RED and said 'NO' I simply exploded the extra group and answered my earlier ?, it was much faster on the bool'd group and I assume would be the similar on a manually repaired group.

Note for users: The manual option also gives more control over the mesh shape at the torus/box intersection.

Basically TIG you've done a fantastic job on this, thank you

I'm convinced you, Chuck, and I won't be the only end-user's for this, it has soo many uses.

for now I'll keep putting up images that help or hinder, and get back to some bent text testing....

do you think it's ready for a wider audience yet, I'm planing on trying to do a tutorial when your happy?
aa-success_1.jpg
aaa_success on bool'd GROUP.jpg


ADD: it's what I thought re: tri/quads, just thought I'd ask
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.9

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 7:21 pm

Even Likes Curves, but they will slow it down.

even likes curves.jpg
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.0

Postby TIG » Mon Feb 01, 2010 7:37 pm

Here's v2.0 viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691

Glitch in health-check if very small edges in faces fixed...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.0

Postby thomthom » Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:23 pm

v2 ? is this a major or minor update?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.0

Postby TIG » Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:25 pm

thomthom wrote:v2 ? is this a major or minor update?

The tweaks were relatively minor - BUT as I am unlikely to make many more changes in the short-term I thought I'd mark it with '2.0'... ;)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.0

Postby pilou » Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:16 am

I have missed this new true gem! :oops:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.0

Postby pilou » Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:40 am

When I use Manifold I obtain that ok
But When I kill or move the group red repair
I have the original copy with killed internal faces Yes ok :enlight: , but always segments on the faces! :o
Does it normal? A simple box with 6 faces must be result ? No clean selection?
bug.png
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.0

Postby TIG » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:03 pm

Pilou wrote:When I use Manifold I obtain that ok
But When I kill or move the group red repair
I have the original copy with killed internal faces Yes ok :enlight: , but always segments on the faces! :o
Does it normal? A simple box with 6 faces must be result ? No clean selection?
bug.png

This is correct.
The internal faces are removed by any edges they has forming part of the external envelope are kept.
If you want rid of then use one of the tools that removes coplanar edges...
It could seek to remove coplanar edges too ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.1

Postby TIG » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:25 pm

Here's v2.1
viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691

It now has the option to remove coplanar edges before triangulation, this will minimize the number of faces -useful if for example internal faces have been removed and their old edges are not needed to keep the external 'manifold' skin intact...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.1

Postby pilou » Tue Feb 09, 2010 1:39 pm

Cool now we have possibility or not to "clean" the model in the same time ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.1

Postby pilou » Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:35 am

2 volumes
copy move

for each selected (2 volumes) Intersect Selected
Group

for each "group" apply Manifold
with same answers : Yes for the first question (of course)
and No for the others questions

Curious result is not the same! :o
Is that normal?
test.png
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.1

Postby driven » Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:51 am

@Pilou,

tested your .skp on mac and got two different results? first time I opened SU from your download file, 2nd time I opened it from inside SU, but that was the only thing I changed, something odd??
double check manifold.jpeg
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.1

Postby TIG » Wed Feb 10, 2010 11:26 am

Manifold has to start somewhere in its checking - the first entity it encounters might not always be the same so you get differing results if there's a big mess...

Manifold was written to do specific job - check that a group is 'manifold' and if not try to fix it - it is so that when you export your model - e.g. to 3D-printer software - it will work. As it says at the start 'give us break' and try and at least offer it a set of geometry you hope might be manifold - it is NOT a boolean tool to merge volumes - it tries to decide which is the face to keep but sometimes removing or healing something changes the form - hence the colored 'report' group.

Before using 'manifold' try manually to get rid of at least a few known internal faces etc [x-ray mode + hide is good for this] - then the processing is quicker and more consistent...

:roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.1

Postby pilou » Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:55 pm

I well understand :)
The only curious thing is that it not the same result for 2 similar groups inspected ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.1

Postby make.GQ.china » Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:29 pm

Thank you for your plug-ins! :fro: :berserk: :ecstatic:
0

make.GQ.china 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby TIG » Mon Feb 22, 2010 11:34 am

Here's v2.2 - updated FR lingvo file [thanks to Didier Bur] and glitches with Tooltips and other strings deBabelizing now sorted...
viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby pdwyer » Sun Dec 12, 2010 11:54 am

Does/should this work with SU 8?

I'm not seeing any colours or new models created, even with the downloaded example but the example skp file is v7.

I suspect v8 needs a plugin like this too. If there is some other way to find doubles/duplicates/manifolds etc I'd love to know

Cheers
0

pdwyer 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby TIG » Sun Dec 12, 2010 2:01 pm

pdwyer wrote:Does/should this work with SU 8?

I'm not seeing any colours or new models created, even with the downloaded example but the example skp file is v7.

I suspect v8 needs a plugin like this too. If there is some other way to find doubles/duplicates/manifolds etc I'd love to know

Cheers

In v8 there are 'manifold' functions built in...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby pdwyer » Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:25 pm

Really? :shock:

What are they called?
0

pdwyer 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby Jim » Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:36 pm

Solid Tools. The Entity Info window will indicate "Solid Group" when a Group is manifold.



And here's a great plugin for trouble-shooting non-manifold Groups that should be:

Solid Inspector by thomthom
0
Last edited by Jim on Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:41 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby Gaieus » Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:36 pm

The new solid tools. Outer shell (available in the free version, too), should do (more or less) what manifold plugin would (unless I am completely mistaken as I have never used this plugin yet)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby pdwyer » Sun Dec 12, 2010 4:27 pm

Cheers! I found a tool called solid Inspector which shows some red and orange lines. I'm not 100% sure what the problem is in some cases (although in others it's obvious). I'll see if I can track down where to ask about those tools :)

Thanks again
0

pdwyer 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby thomthom » Sun Dec 12, 2010 5:27 pm

pdwyer wrote:Cheers! I found a tool called solid Inspector which shows some red and orange lines. I'm not 100% sure what the problem is in some cases (although in others it's obvious). I'll see if I can track down where to ask about those tools :)

Thanks again

You can ask about Solid Inspector here: viewtopic.php?f=323&t=30504&p=267832#p267832

IT circles red/orange around edges where there is a hole, or the edge connect to internal faces. In a solid all edges should have two connected faces - if there are more or less it means it's not a solid. These are the areas which the inspector highlights. So check if the faces are connected to internal faces, or if it's a hole. Note that the whole could be very small and you'd have to zoom a lot to see it.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby sellberg » Fri May 25, 2012 10:01 am

Hi!

Thanx for creating this awsome plugin! I have been working on converting 3D objects from some GIS application and it has been so difficult, until now, that is.

I just have one small and kind of silly question but please bear with me:
After running Manifold a copy of the selected group is created. Wich one is the fixed one? Are both fixed? The way i interpret what happens right now is that the one created is just a "showcase" of what changes have been made and that it should be removed.

/ KJ
0

sellberg 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri May 25, 2012 10:23 am

It then processes the group, making a modified copy of it set off to
one side.
If it has errors then a nested group is overlaid that has these
errors highlighted - red for removals, green for healing.
This error-group has a 'text-handle' so you can easily select it to
move it away or erase it later...
There is a closing dialog which either tells there were no major
errors [although it might have removed non-face/edge entities or
oriented faces and done some triangulation] or it reports the number
of errors.
If X-ray mode is off it asks you if you want to change to X-ray Mode
to look inside the group to see what has been affected.
On Yes/No the tool closes, with the new 'manifold' group now selected.
Otherwise OK to end, with the new 'manifold' group now selected.


Does this answer your query?
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Postby sellberg » Fri May 25, 2012 11:06 am

Thanx for the quick reply!

Sadly the answer is no. This quoted text is the reason I wrote this post in the first place. And no: I am not trying to be a pain in the ass, I just don´t get it. :?

"It then processes the group, making a modified copy of it set off to
one side."
This sentence kind of implies that the first "original" group has not been modified but that the generated one has.

"This error-group has a 'text-handle' so you can easily select it to
move it away or erase it later..."
This implies both groups have changed, but in different ways.

So I am thinking the logic could be that the program leaves the original group unchanged for comparison, as that seems to be a big deal further down the text, or that the original group is fixed along with the generated group but that the latter one is just a showcase.

/ KJ
0

sellberg 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: masaki31, Rossanacheck and 10 guests

Visit our sponsors: