[Plugin] Manifold v2.2

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby Jim » Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:38 pm

What does the word "manifold" mean in this context? I gather "water-tight", but is it more than that?
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby driven » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:05 pm

Jim wrote: but is it more than that?


Yes , and tons of info at wikipedia, but the way I described to my six year old if the computer trying to find the walls of a room from the inside and the window is open it will precede to circumnavigate the earth until it gets back to where it started and then panic... she believed me...
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:08 pm

Jim wrote:What does the word "manifold" mean in this context? I gather "water-tight", but is it more than that?

Manifold means 'many' or 'of many parts' - it's also a type of thin typing paper !

But in the sense of a 3D mesh it means 'whole', 'complete', 'imperforate', 'without holes, imperfections, complexities or sub-elements'... from the Mathematical term "Manifold: a Topological surface or space that is connected and locally Euclidean"...

Ironically its 'antonym' is 'simple or single', which is exactly what we are trying to achieve with the processed mesh !!!
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby driven » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:11 pm

TIG, no dialogs and I get this that I haven't had before,


27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] #<NoMethodError: undefined method `flattenUVQ' for #<Manifold:0x1e6005a4>>
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:580:in `triangulateFace'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:574:in `each'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:574:in `triangulateFace'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:621:in `triangulate_faces'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:619:in `each'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:619:in `triangulate_faces'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:112:in `activate'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:701:in `select_tool'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:701:in `manifold'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:716
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:15 pm

driven wrote:TIG, no dialogs and I get this that I haven't had before,
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] #<NoMethodError: undefined method `flattenUVQ' for #<Manifold:0x1e6005a4>>
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:580:in `triangulateFace'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:574:in `each'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:574:in `triangulateFace'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:621:in `triangulate_faces'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:619:in `each'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:619:in `triangulate_faces'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:112:in `activate'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:701:in `select_tool'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:701:in `manifold'
27/01/2010 16:26:58 [0x0-0x6f06f].com.google.sketchupfree7[925] /Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 7/SketchUp/Plugins/manifold.rb:716

I haven't changed that ? It's trying to map textures back onto triangulated faces properly ??? I'll investigate...
Avoid textured faces for now...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby driven » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:30 pm

TIG,

I have had it before, I just went back through the logs and buried in there is the same report, at least for 1.3, 1.4
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby driven » Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:55 pm

A re-start found the dialogs, so 1.3 would not pass this (which is correct) due to more then 2 faces per edge, also reversed faces made it through...
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby driven » Wed Jan 27, 2010 11:03 pm

d12dozr wrote:...easier than me starting over from scratch :)

Here's a semi complex one that sort of worked with 1.2, but on 1.3 it would only hang....

hanger_maybe.jpg


I'm about to re-test it on my Mac and a PC comparison would show up if some of the problems are me or not...

If it fails first try, manually orient the reversed faces, then remove the internal disc on the bottom run and try again.

it 'should' remove the internal overlap on the bottom 2/3 twists (1.2 left these intact)

it might still make a hash of the end, Fredo's bend tool can be unkind to meshes.
hanger_maybe.skp
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby hsjzyangbin » Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:24 am

HI,TIG,is there have some differece between trigulaer face .rb and Manifold v1.4?
0

hsjzyangbin 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:38 am

hsjzyangbin wrote:HI,TIG,is there have some difference between trigulate face .rb and Manifold v1.4?

If the read the notes in the first post... 'manifold' does triangulate faces at the end, BUT it does so much more - it tidies the shapes to remove faceless edges, remove flaps, remove disconnected geometry, heal holes and very small faces, orient faces and then triangulates, and finally 'reports' on what it's done.

It is an attempt to automate the making of a 'manifold' surfaced mesh that will work properly when it's exported for use in a 3D printer, and some other 3D apps...

It's still under development...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.4

Postby otb designworks » Thu Jan 28, 2010 3:20 pm

You are the Man, TIG!

This plug in is a great great idea.

Cheers, Chuck
0
Cheers, Chuck

OTB Designworks is on Youtube

6 core nMP, 32 gig RAM, (2) D700 GPU's, dual monitors

otb designworks 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.5

Postby TIG » Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:43 pm

Here's v1.5 viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691
Various adjustments on speed, reporting, lingvo etc...
Still need to sort out 'pretzels' better... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.5

Postby driven » Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:53 pm

Cheers TIG,
I was just logging in to say, I've set up one of my Macs, with a fresh instal and only a few basic rubies that I've triple checked are clean. Just to test Manifold. That way any log errors on my system console should be easily spotted, and you posted this, so excellent timing. I'll keep you informed. john
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.5

Postby driven » Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:17 pm

Manifold_1.4_1.5_Mac.jpg


Fresh off the press, No error messages in console, had lots of info zipping through, had Pass dialogs, so all seems to be functioning, but all passed have inner faces? john

EDIT: I did the first with Transparency ON, so just in case it wasn't see the faces I re-did with Trans OFF, but the faces are still inside and the orientation is different from first

Manifold1.5_Tran_on-off_Mac.jpg
0
Last edited by driven on Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.5

Postby TIG » Fri Jan 29, 2010 6:19 pm

driven

Can you PM that file so I can test it too... :?:
Don't bother - I made one like it and I see the problem :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.6

Postby TIG » Sat Jan 30, 2010 5:07 pm

Here's v1.6 viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691

Face making error fixed, 3-edge faces removal improved.
Sub-groups/Instances now within Group removed & reported.
Error reporting improved.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.6

Postby driven » Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:47 pm

Hi TIG,
I think it's working really nicely now, lot faster, plenty of info, it still passes inner faces that don't necessarily break the 1 edge, 2 face rule.
There are only two '4-faced' edges in the original drawing and if a BoolTool, VWS, or a manual delete is done first, (as it should be) than manifold does a speedy and detailed correction, orientation and triangulation. I'm wondering if a simple pre-flight check that states, "I'm not doing this-there are inner faces highlighted that you need to remove first" or something less long winded, might not be in order. I'll PM you some other screen shot's as well.

all-passed_1.6.jpg


Am I the only one testing this????
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:05 pm

Here's v1.7 viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691

It now does a quick initial 'Health-Check' on the group and a dialog reports - it also temporarily shows any probable 'internal faces' in Magenta and faces adjoining probable 'holes' in Cyan etc...
If it's a lot of errors you can answer 'No' to not continue and then attempt to fix them manually, before trying again - or answer Yes to continue if there are no problems identified, or answer Yes anyway to try and auto-fix any problems [with a final error report and red/green/.../-.- highlighting in an "error-group"]...
:geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:16 pm

TIG....do you sleep???
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby otb designworks » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:18 pm

any chance this can be adjusted to not triangulate all faces? It is very useful for me to be able to clean up a model that I have carefully constructed so that I have consistent quads everywhere, which is what I need for sending into ZBrush for further detail modeling.

I know that Cheetah, too, triangulates everything when performing boolean functions, which I also find annoying. It is this, more than anything, that keeps me away from automated solutions for ensuring manifold meshes.

Cheers, Chuck
0
Cheers, Chuck

OTB Designworks is on Youtube

6 core nMP, 32 gig RAM, (2) D700 GPU's, dual monitors

otb designworks 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:31 pm

OTB Designworks wrote:any chance this can be adjusted to not triangulate all faces? It is very useful for me to be able to clean up a model that I have carefully constructed so that I have consistent quads everywhere, which is what I need for sending into ZBrush for further detail modeling.

I know that Cheetah, too, triangulates everything when performing boolean functions, which I also find annoying. It is this, more than anything, that keeps me away from automated solutions for ensuring manifold meshes.

Cheers, Chuck

I'll add triangulation as a closing option ? :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby otb designworks » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:38 pm

That would be quite useful, for me.

Now, how about a plug-in that cuts a model up into beautifully perfect quads? I'd pay cold hard cash for that one, too.

Thanks TIG!
0
Cheers, Chuck

OTB Designworks is on Youtube

6 core nMP, 32 gig RAM, (2) D700 GPU's, dual monitors

otb designworks 
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.8

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:41 pm

Here's v1.8 viewtopic.php?p=218691#p218691

Triangulation is now an option near the end - Answer Yes to do it... :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 3:47 pm

TIG,
slight problem, when choosing Yes to continue after an 'initial health check' pass, it zapps everything even unselected groups.... both on badly grouped and clean booled groups, I'll do some more and send pics.

I'll see if it still happening in 1.8
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:03 pm

driven wrote:TIG,
slight problem, when choosing Yes to continue after an 'initial health check' pass, it zapps everything even unselected groups.... both on badly grouped and clean booled groups, I'll do some more and send pics.
I'll see if it still happening in 1.8


Odd - I can't get it to error at all... :? Please 'feedback'.............
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.7

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:18 pm

TIG wrote:Odd - I can't get it to error at all... :? Please 'feedback'.............


been trying to up load pics, site is slow, pics to follow

it's on both machines, 1.7 and 1.8

3 groups from Draw Shapes Menu, grouped, manifold_1.7and8, both give a pass
3 groups inside group_1.jpg

Yes to continue....zapppp


Same 3 groups, exploded then regrouped is running as predicted on other mac at the moment, this site is slow from this machine....
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.8

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:26 pm

working on 'un-grouped' group.jpg
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.8

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:28 pm

this should upload.jpg

something screwy going on with uploads, sorry it makes thing disjointed
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.8

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:33 pm

I get no problems... but can you PM me that model asap, so that I have exactly the same starting point... :?

The 'no problems found' report is on any geometry that hasn't already be relegated to 'red'... looks like everything is removed BEFORE we do the health check - it's not a group inside a group is it ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Manifold v1.8

Postby driven » Sun Jan 31, 2010 4:51 pm

TIG,

they were groups inside a group, and got a pass, (they are all manifold) it only zaps them if you say YES,
the same thing happened after I BoolTool'd all 3 groups into 1 group, initial pass (as it should), but zapped if you choose YES, I only got the RED on that one drawing, I'll re run the first set-up and post the if no red is shown again.

I have just set a Bool'd group run that Passed initial and didn't blitz the drawing when I hit YES

It's on a pair of torus + geodasic sphere bool group, and it is running.

original set ungrouped, but not booled

aaaPASS-1.jpg
0
learn from the mistakes of others, you may not live long enough to make them all yourself...

driven 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Bot, krammed, Pedrucci, thuckientruc and 10 guests

Visit our sponsors: