[Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (Sep 12, 2011)

[Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (Sep 12, 2011)

Postby Jim » Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:21 am

Adds some random height (Z Axis) to an existing Sandbox-created TIN (Group).

To use, select a Group (don't "open" the Group) then select "Randomize TIN" item in the Plugins menu. It should work on any triangulated mesh.

A dialog prompts for the Height (h). Mesh vertices are randomized between the range -h to h along the Z axis.

The original Group is not modified, but a new Group is added in the same location as the original Group.

2011-09-10
  • Keeps perimeter edges.
2011-09-12
  • Works in Model units.
  • Added option to Keep/Randomize the perimeter.
    0082.png

0078.png
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Plugin: Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby juju » Thu Nov 29, 2007 12:22 am

Thx for the heads-up Jim. This will make creating a water surface (amongst other things) much easier and more natural looking.
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby gr8fzy1 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:29 pm

I downloaded this plugin, but I can't get it to function. Also, the tutorial on the site isn't working, is it hosted anywhere else?
0

gr8fzy1 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby numbthumb » Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:06 pm

What exactly doesn´t work? Do you have Sandbox tools enabled?
0
Comfortably numb...
User avatar
numbthumb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby wyatt » Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:15 pm

You need to select the terrain group and then run the plugin.
0

wyatt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby erikB » Wed Sep 07, 2011 9:24 am

Thank you,
this will come very handy for water surfaces.
erikB
0
User avatar
erikB 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby lapx » Thu Sep 08, 2011 3:29 pm

This is a great plugin. Is there something like randomize tin that will work on surfaces that have been subdivide or subdivided and smooth. I have a sculpture of a dolphin and would like it to look more rough like it has been carved out of rock. Any such ruby?
0

lapx 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby Panga » Fri Sep 09, 2011 8:40 am

Nice One Jim. But I got a request if you don't mind... Would it be possible to keep the perimeter "untouched" in order to be able to randomize a TIN without modifying its limits ?!

Thanks.
0

Panga 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby Jim » Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:32 pm

Panga wrote:Nice One Jim. But I got a request if you don't mind... Would it be possible to keep the perimeter "untouched" in order to be able to randomize a TIN without modifying its limits ?!

Thanks.


I can try.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby TIG » Sat Sep 10, 2011 6:46 pm

Perhaps if you exclude all vertices from the randomization set if they have fewer than 6 edges [that are in the selection to allow for 'island randomization'] OR perhaps if they have any edges that are not 'smooth?'...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN

Postby Jim » Sat Sep 10, 2011 8:24 pm

Updated to exclude outer edges when randomizing.

viewtopic.php?p=10503#p10503
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby TIG » Sat Sep 10, 2011 9:38 pm

:thumb: Thanks!
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby Gaieus » Sun Sep 11, 2011 7:54 am

:thumb: Thanks Jim - I have also had this on the wish list!

Jim wrote:2011-09-10
  • Retains original edges.

Should it not read as "retains original perimeter edges"? If "all" edges are retained, there is no randomization.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby Jim » Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:27 am

Everyone who wrote:Thanks!


You're welcome.

Gaieus wrote:Should it not read as "retains original perimeter edges"? If "all" edges are retained, there is no randomization.


Yup. Fixed. Thanks.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby Jim » Sun Sep 11, 2011 9:58 am

Here's something I'm playing with: Drop TIN.

0079.png
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby TIG » Sun Sep 11, 2011 1:25 pm

Looks similar to my DropVertices - what will it do exactly ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby Jim » Sun Sep 11, 2011 1:35 pm

TIG wrote:what will it do exactly ?


Satisfy my curiosity for a short time.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby erikB » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:52 am

Jim,
Sorry to bother you, but is it possible to let you choose if you want to keep the perimeter or let it be randomized (as it was in the first version).
As I stated it is a wonderful tool to create water (for instance in swimming pools)but of course, in that case, the perimeter needs to be randomized as well.
greetings, erikB
0
User avatar
erikB 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby Jim » Mon Sep 12, 2011 9:03 pm

Updated with an option to Keep or Randomize the perimeter.


See first post: viewtopic.php?p=10503#p10503
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (Sep 12, 2011)

Postby erikB » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:02 am

Thnx Jim. It is a really useful plugin.
erikB
0
User avatar
erikB 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (Sep 12, 2011)

Postby Panga » Sat Sep 24, 2011 8:41 am

Thanks Jim for updating the plugin !! :thumb: :thumb:
0

Panga 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (2011-09-10)

Postby AcesHigh » Wed Oct 26, 2011 9:28 pm

Jim wrote:Here's something I'm playing with: Drop TIN.

0079.png



interesting, looks kinda like a mixture of DRAPE + STAMP... or a STAMP with variable height?
0

AcesHigh 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (Sep 12, 2011)

Postby AcesHigh » Wed Jul 23, 2014 11:53 pm

Could this plugin be updated, (or in the case another plugin exists, please point me out)in order for a more smooth randomization to be possible? Right now, the plugin simply changes the vertical distance of every vertex in the TIN by the amount set by the user.

However, it creates some artifacts often due to the normals, and even not counting the artifacts, you just can´t get a smooth random terrain, specially if you want bigger random elevation...

Only way I found to achieve that was repeat the process inumerous times...

Create a TIN with Soap Box and Bubble in a way the squares will be like let's say 2x2 meters. Apply randomize TIN with 0,7 meters of vertical displacement.

Notice this is a low resolution terrain... but if you want high displacement with Random TIN, you need a low res terrain, otherwise you might have two points 20cm apart, one of them 1 meter high, and the other -1m!!

After randomizing with high displacement a low-res terrain, then you ADD DETAIL... run Randomize TIN again, this time with smaller vertical displacement (say, 0,3 meters), add detail again, run Randomize TIN again this time with 5cm only.
0

AcesHigh 
 

Re: [Plugin] Randomize Sandbox TIN (Sep 12, 2011)

Postby AcesHigh » Thu Jul 24, 2014 12:21 am

worth mentioning however that if you create a low resolution TIN and it has a complex shape (like you made it with Soap Skin Bubble, or you have cut it after stamping) you might get some problems. Therefore if the plugin had automatic smoothing either after or before creating it, it would be very good.

Example... only move in the vertical vertexes that are at least 5 vertex from each other (or set a distance in meters instead of number of vertexes) and then the ones in the middle have their height calculate based on average/medians?
0

AcesHigh 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: daaniisan and 5 guests

Visit our sponsors: