Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

The ideal place for beginners to get help using SketchUp

Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby cjc0306 » Thu Oct 10, 2013 8:39 pm

I just installed v5.11 and cant get the plugin to slice anything. I checked the folder locations of all the files and everything is in order. I have SU v8, and tried slicing a simple solid box as a test, but no success. The Slicer menu shows up with all the commands but it doesnt work. Any help would be appreciated.
0

cjc0306 
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby Dave R » Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:23 pm

Is your box a group or component?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 10, 2013 9:51 pm

It is downloadable as v5.14 in the SCF PluginStore.
Where did you get your seemingly older version from ?

Note how it explains in the 'More Info' page [first in its thread] that you must download/install the special ttf font file on a MAC, otherwise it will fail to work properly [PCs are more forgiving].
It works on MAC & PC - the ttf font is recommended for both OSs, but it is mandatory for the MAC.
This might be one of your issues...

It only slices 'solid' objects [e.g. a grouped box].
What does Entity Info report when it's selected?

What happens when you try to use Slicer?
Any error message-boxes?
If the Ruby Console is open what do you see in it?

How big is this object?

There are many questions...
Please provide us with some more clues...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby herr_dk » Mon Dec 30, 2013 7:09 pm

Hello TIG,

first: a great plugin, indeed!

despite that, i have a similar problem,
0

herr_dk 
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby TIG » Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:24 am

herr_dk wrote:Hello TIG,

first: a great plugin, indeed!

despite that, i have a similar problem,
Firstly... can you answer all of the question raised in the post immediately before yours...
Saying you have a problem is not what you tell the doctor... you need to give us some help to help you...
My preceding post listed several possible MAC issues.
A main one is MAC users failing to install the txt.ttf from the download-able zip file - which then breaks the toolset - unlike a PC which skips over the potential issue and uses the last used/available font ??
If you have none of those problems, then explain clearly what your problem is...
Use the Ruby Console to see errors, and then report them etc...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby herr_dk » Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:45 pm

TIG wrote:
herr_dk wrote:Hello TIG,

first: a great plugin, indeed!

despite that, i have a similar problem,
Firstly... can you answer all of the question raised in the post immediately before yours...
Saying you have a problem is not what you tell the doctor... you need to give us some help to help you...
My preceding post listed several possible MAC issues.
A main one is MAC users failing to install the txt.ttf from the download-able zip file - which then breaks the toolset - unlike a PC which skips over the potential issue and uses the last used/available font ??
If you have none of those problems, then explain clearly what your problem is...
Use the Ruby Console to see errors, and then report them etc...


i´m sorry, i accidently released the question before it was finished...
in the meantime, i could answer most questions myself, but one remains:

if i have a cube (40x40x40cm) and want to slice it evenly into 10 pieces, 4cm thick,
without any space in between, i always get 11 pieces, first and last overlapping by half the thickness, of course because the spacing starts in the middle, i can´t figure out how to fix this. (please also see the attachment)
one more thing: what hides behind the last 3 buttons in the toolbar?
(for the failure report also see the attachments)

thank you again for this great script and your engagement in helping!
0

herr_dk 
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby TIG » Wed Jan 01, 2014 4:09 pm

The 'fixed-spacing' slicing currently always starts with a 'centered slice' so you can only have an 'uneven' number of slices - hence 11 ? ***

BUT: If you enter 0 as a Spacing, and then in the consequent additional dialog you enter the number of Spaces you have control over the number of slices - because they are ALL spaced evenly throughout the object, and then an odd number of Spaces makes an even number of slices... :idea:

To export slices' data you need to have sliced something, and then selected a 'flattened' set...

***I'll look at an update to optionally centralize on a 'slice' or a 'gap' - so you can then have 'even' numbers of slices with a fixed-spacing...
Watch the tool's main thread, for the update...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby TIG » Thu Jan 02, 2014 3:24 pm

A new version of Slicer 5.22 is now available and has an option to Centralize on a Slice or a Gap .
This new option, taken with the alternative entering 0 as a spacing and then entering the number of spaces, should cover most bases ?
http://sketchucation.com/plugin/781-tig_slicer
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby cjc0306 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 8:31 pm

The item is a group.
0

cjc0306 
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby cjc0306 » Fri Jan 17, 2014 9:11 pm

Thanks Tig, adding the Font took care of the problem.
0

cjc0306 
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby BAsso695 » Thu Feb 21, 2019 8:39 pm

I also have this problem with not slicing on mac. Can someone link me directly to the font download please? I can't seem to find it...
0

BAsso695 
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby TIG » Fri Feb 22, 2019 1:48 pm

You get the required TXT.ttf font-file from the link on the Slicer Document pages in the PluginStore - linking to the main Slicer 'feedback' thread's first post...
http://sketchucation.com/forums/viewtop ... 69#p374969
The download is actually this:
http://sketchucation.com/forums/downloa ... p?id=81087

Download it, then UnZip it and install the Font's ttf file...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Slicer v5.11 Not slicing on Mac

Postby BAsso695 » Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:33 pm

It worked. Thank you!
0

BAsso695 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 



 

Return to Newbie Forum

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Bot and 7 guests

Visit our sponsors: