Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby gamore » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:23 am

Hey guys ,I find this "Test.time_display" is quite usefully . It can test our computer if works well for su.
I have a idea that we test our computer with a same su model ,and we paste the mark .

This is the model:
Test_Su7.zip



How to test?
Open the model with su7 and open windows-- Ruby console and type Test.time_display.

Now this is mine. :D

1.PNG


Graphiccard:
2.PNG


CPU:
3.PNG
0

gamore 
 

Re: Let's have a Hareware test for SU

Postby solo » Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:23 am

I'll bite....

i7 940, 12GB ddr3 Corsair dominator 1600 ram, gtx 280


0
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby tomsdesk » Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:46 am

My first and second tries (had several others after just below 5.**):
testtime.jpg


I love my new Dell.
0

tomsdesk 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby gamore » Tue Jun 23, 2009 5:32 am

I7 940 & GTX 280 OMG! :o
0

gamore 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby remus » Tue Jun 23, 2009 8:36 am

Could i suggest a more taxing scene? or perhaps a model with increasing levels of complexity in subsequent scenes?

I dont think your going to get anything very meaningful out of this scene as any modern computer will be able to run it at a reasonable framerate.

It also doesnt test shadows or large draw distances.
0

remus 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby Gaieus » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:12 am

With 2Gb DDR2 RAM and a 512 Mb nVidia 6800 GO video card.

TestTimeDisplay.png

Interesting however that the performance jumped up and down (it even showed some 14-15 seconds at times and jagging).
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby pilou » Tue Jun 23, 2009 11:22 am

:)
With a very old computer(7 years old) I make only twice than yours marvelous 8 cores :mrgreen:
Ati 9200 Amd XP 2600+ 1.91 GHZ
test.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby EscapeArtist » Tue Jun 23, 2009 1:53 pm

Looking at the results, it appears that SU is very graphics card dependent. I saw the 8 cores and thought it was going to stomp most everything, but no:

FPS.jpg


I only have a dual core, but the graphics cards are in SLi:

GPU.jpg

Proc.jpg


Just built this at the end of last year, 4 GB OCZ mem on WinXP, EVGA 780i FTW, nothing overclocked.
0
User avatar
EscapeArtist 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby solo » Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:05 pm

Remember, you can have a 64 core machine and SU will only use the first one, so the highest clockspeed single core machine in theory should be better, then again a good graphics card should also help matters as far as frame rates go.
Now if we had a scene with some taxing textures, shadows included too, that would be interesting.
0
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby Jim » Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:16 pm

A computer doesn't need to be any faster than you can type, I always say.

Update - this is without shadows, which are basically unusable for me.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby tomsdesk » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:39 pm

:roflmao:
0

tomsdesk 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby tomsdesk » Tue Jun 23, 2009 3:49 pm

Good point Remus...I turned "shadows" on and got this (pretty consistly):
0

tomsdesk 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby EscapeArtist » Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:15 pm

solo wrote:Remember, you can have a 64 core machine and SU will only use the first one...


Good point, I keep forgetting that SU will not take advantage of multiple cores. Must be the only program on my computer that will not.. :roll:
0
User avatar
EscapeArtist 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby gamore » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:20 am

Turned "shadows" on , I got it
1.PNG


I have a problem.

solo (i7 940, 12GB ram, gtx 280) he got 16.6 F/s
Gaieus ( 2Gb RAM and 6800 GO video card.) he got 12.6 F/s

Gaieus's performance is quite less than solo's , but Gaieus's mark is close to solo's. Why ?
0

gamore 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby solo » Wed Jun 24, 2009 8:27 am

I believe the answer lies in the fact that Gaieus has a single core clocked at 3.8Ghz verses a single core on mine at 2.93Ghz giving him superior performance on CPU usage but his let down is the weaker integrated GPU (video card). Had Gaieus had a new 1GB card he would kill my score, or if I was to overclock my CPU's to say 4.2Ghz my score would skyrocket.
0
http://www.solos-art.com

If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby Marian » Wed Jun 24, 2009 10:28 am

This is with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core 2.01 Ghz, 1 Gb of Ram, ATI Radeon ASUS X1550 512 Mb.
0
User avatar
Marian 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby Gaieus » Wed Jun 24, 2009 11:38 am

solo wrote:...Had Gaieus had a new 1GB card he would kill my score, or if I was to overclock my CPU's to say 4.2Ghz my score would skyrocket.

Well, it's unlikely that I'm going to upgrade this old lappy (quite good one for a laptop however!) but true,some more power on the video card end would probably help.

Although a single core, my processor is capable of hyperthreading - AFAIK an experimental technology that started along with multi cores and seem to "come back" with i7's and such (like Pete's) - so I'm quite satisfied with it as it has a good clock speed (not overclocked though) for SU but when it comes to rendering for instance, it's doing it on two (virtual) cores.

Certainly when doing such tests with heavy materials and shadows on, the drawbacks of the relatively weak video card are apparent.
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby ely862me » Wed Jun 24, 2009 12:27 pm

phoa..my computer is very slow.. i think my problem is memory i have only 1 gb(graphic card 1gb nvidia 8600gt,processor pentium dual core 2.8 ghz)

here is the test with shadow on..and with shadow off it was about 8.7 sec
0
Elisei (sketchupper)
____________________________________________________________
Before no life was done on Earth it was THE LIFE ITSELF...GOD
Come and See EliseiDesign
User avatar
ely862me 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby gamore » Wed Jun 24, 2009 12:30 pm

it seams that sketchup depends on cpu clock more than videocard performance and multicore cpu
0

gamore 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby Khai » Wed Jun 24, 2009 1:10 pm

here we go - Windows XP 32bit SR3 - I'll boot into Windows 7 64 later and post a test from there.
0

Khai 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby troyhome » Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:23 pm

A MacBook Pro weighs in...
0
IOviz.com
SU Pro 2017 PC
Thea: latest
vray4SU latest
User avatar
troyhome 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby dale » Wed Jun 24, 2009 5:00 pm

I'm at home today on my old G4 Mac Laptop.
Yikes ...I'd test with shadows on, but I can't afford to take a couple of hours off.
Have to try on my work machines tomorrow.
0
Just monkeying around....like Monsanto
User avatar
dale 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby caronte01 » Thu Jun 25, 2009 2:09 am

Ok, here,s mine, a 2.5 years white macbook:
Picture 1.png

Picture 2.png

Picture 3.png
0

caronte01 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby chango70 » Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:00 am

14.0 frames/sec

Which is annoying since i bought a £600 Quadro FX3700. Probably better off with a game card.

Rest of the system

CPU i7 720
6G Ram
0

chango70 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby gamore » Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:49 am

maybe Quadro or FireGl can get hight score
0

gamore 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby chango70 » Thu Jun 25, 2009 6:18 am

Gamore wrote:maybe Quadro or FireGl can get hight score


That IS the result with a Quadro card.
0

chango70 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby dylan » Fri Jun 26, 2009 10:34 am

My MacBook Pro has exactly the same spec as troyhome.
2.93 Duo
9600 GT

P.S I love this machine :D
0

dylan 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby TIG » Fri Jun 26, 2009 11:16 am

My PC is an Advent Intel Core2 Quad 2.4GHz with 4Mb RAM - Vista SP2, NVIDIA GeForce 8300 GS
Without's OK... but with shadows !
0
Last edited by TIG on Sat Jun 27, 2009 4:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby Gaieus » Fri Jun 26, 2009 12:50 pm

I think the best test would be to test something like this (with shadows and heavy textures and everything that taxes the GPU much) with different graphics cards but on the same system.

Something that we won't obviously do... :roll:
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: Let's have a Hardware speed test for SU

Postby EscapeArtist » Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:41 pm

Wow. I got 21 FPS in a previous post without turning shadows on, I figured I'd give it a shot with shadows to see what happens. SU shadows are nasty, apparently:

w_shad.jpg


That's a pretty serious hit.
0
User avatar
EscapeArtist 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Hardware, Software & Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Visit our sponsors: