Newbie - OS X Interface Question

General discussion on Thea Render for SketchUp

Moderator: Frederik

Newbie - OS X Interface Question

Postby lilchaka » Fri Nov 25, 2016 6:10 am

Hi everyone;

I'm new to Thea for Sketchup. I'm doing some test renders and I'm proceeding through the manual and several of the tutorial videos as well. My problem? As an OS X user I'm understanding that everything seems to be geared toward the Windows interface as far as education. So, I'm stuck on the Environment panel – I inserted a test image from the Thea browser as a background sky image (by double-clicking on it in the Browser). Now, I want to take it OUT. I can see how (I assume) you would do that on the Windows interface of the panel, but I can't figure out how to REMOVE the image permanently on my OS X version.

I finally figured out that I can right-click on the "EXT" buttons on each of the four sub-panels (Illumination, Background, Reflection, Refraction) and get a dropdown menu with an option to "Clear Path". So I used that option in each sub-panel, and the image & information was removed. Then I saved changes to the scene. Then, after checking settings in other parts of the Rendering Window (Display, Rendering, etc.) when I go back to the Environment panel the image and info for each sub-panel is BACK. No matter what I do, I can't get rid of this sucker for good.

I realize, as a new user, I could be missing something obvious (especially since the OS X and Windows panels differ in design) but hopefully I won't feel too bad once one of you more experienced users point out what I may be doing wrong. Any help appreciated.

OS X El Capitan. Thea 1.5.06.423.1434 x64

Thanks much.
"I am a rooster illusion."
lilchaka 
Premium Member
Premium Member

Re: Newbie - OS X Interface Question

Postby NigeC » Fri Nov 25, 2016 3:13 pm

the tuts/manual should be the same for both, however the version you have is out of date so maybe something has been fixed