[Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20130203)

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated Aug 22, 2009)

Postby Davi Melo » Tue May 17, 2011 11:53 am

Rich O'Brien wrote:Try this...

viewtopic.php?t=25801

It works for me on v8


I downloaded this file

hmmmmm...
Stopped working again

I do not understand, it works when it want!
:x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x :x

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MNc2aT8UFDc
0
Davi Melo
http://dm2projetos.blogspot.com/
-----------------------------------------------
SKP8 - Vray 1.48
WIN 7 ULTIMATE 64x
INTEL CORE 2 QUAD 2.33GHz
RAM 8GB
NVIDIA GEFORCE 9600 GT

Davi Melo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated Aug 22, 2009)

Postby Rich O Brien » Tue May 17, 2011 12:01 pm

Works fine for me?

0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated Aug 22, 2009)

Postby Davi Melo » Tue May 17, 2011 12:07 pm

I do not understand, sometimes works, sometimes does not work

:cry:
0
Davi Melo
http://dm2projetos.blogspot.com/
-----------------------------------------------
SKP8 - Vray 1.48
WIN 7 ULTIMATE 64x
INTEL CORE 2 QUAD 2.33GHz
RAM 8GB
NVIDIA GEFORCE 9600 GT

Davi Melo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated Aug 22, 2009)

Postby andeciuala » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:49 pm

Rich O'Brien wrote:Works fine for me?




You need a subdivided mesh man.
0

andeciuala 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated Aug 22, 2009)

Postby Rich O Brien » Sat Jun 25, 2011 10:38 pm

Not neccessarily. On undivided meshes it works like the standard move tool shifting vertices. Or if you divide an edge it'll also work.

It's a cool plugin but I understand what you mean. It works best on subdivision.
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated Aug 22, 2009)

Postby pairpc » Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:59 pm

Thank you :D
0

pairpc 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby TIG » Wed Aug 10, 2011 12:06 pm

Here is an updated version viewtopic.php?p=36127#p36127
Some issues with it not being in a module, use of $ variables and a flaky observer have been fixed [I hope]... :ugeek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby sosegon » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:45 pm

Hi,

I'd like to know if anyone has information about the algorithm used in this plugin.

Cheers.
0

sosegon 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby TIG » Fri Aug 26, 2011 3:51 pm

sosegon wrote:Hi, I'd like to know if anyone has information about the algorithm used in this plugin. Cheers.
Get it and read it - it's a .rb file...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby sosegon » Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:18 pm

TIG wrote:
sosegon wrote:Hi, I'd like to know if anyone has information about the algorithm used in this plugin. Cheers.
Get it and read it - it a .rb file...


Thanks, I tried that, but since I don't speak ruby, it's been very hard to understand what the plugin is doing. That's why I asked for info about the algorithm used in the plugin. I don't necessarily need a piece of code, a brief explanation would be enough.
0

sosegon 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 30, 2011 2:28 pm

You make a series of grouped 'control-points' [guide-points] in a 3d grid around the selected group's bounding box, these are given special attributes so they can be 'observed' later.
Now later on when you change any of them [e.g. you might edit the group that contains them and 'move' some] an 'observer' kicks in, and it runs code that adjusts the geometry within the group by distorting all of the vertices relative to the 'control-points' current locations. Thus you can distort a grouped form by changing the 3d grid of 'control-points'.
The rules for determining the amount of the adjustment for each vertex is done by finding the changes in the vectors between the vertices and the 'control-points' and transforming each of the vertices accordingly...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby sosegon » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:49 pm

TIG wrote:The rules for determining the amount of the adjustment for each vertex is done by finding the changes in the vectors between the vertices and the 'control-points' and transforming each of the vertices accordingly...


That part is the most important for what I need. Now I have a better idea, thanks. If you have any link to other resources about the algorithm, it would be great.
0

sosegon 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby charly2008 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 2:02 pm

Hi,

I installed the latest Ruby in the plugins folder in Sketchup 8. I do not get it to work. In the context menu the functions are all grayed out.

Charly
0
He who makes no mistakes, makes nothing
User avatar
charly2008 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby TIG » Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:50 pm

Charly

Not a tool specific issue...
The context-menu gray-out is a known Sketchup issue.
There is a finite number of 'commands' that can be added to the context-menu/toolbars.
If you exceed this some items become 'disabled'.
This was discovered a while ago as more and more scripts were added.
Some scripts were found to add multiple entries, these were quickly found and fixed [e.g. all Fredo's tools latest versions are no longer implicated].
I didn't write the original version of this tool but I can't see it makes more that it has too...
However, having a lot of scripts loading - even if they are optimized - you can still eventually reach the limit in any case... and get the 'graying'.
I suggest you decide which scripts you don't often need and disable them by renaming the with .TXT on the end. They won't then auto-load and you should thereby avoid the 'graying' issue. If you want to change them to auto-load again simply remove the .TXT from the tool's name so the .rb file auto-loads. If you want to occasionally load a .TXT file just load it from the Ruby Console with load "xxxx.rb.TXT" - where 'xxxx' is the original scripts name... it's then loaded for that session only.
There is also an 'optimizer' you could try [ viewtopic.php?p=252413#p252413 ] - but it will still fail if you clog up the 'auto-loading set' too much... It also has further reading on this whole issue :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby pilou » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:05 pm

@TIG That's explain why this arrives with my numerous collections of plugins :oops:
Thx for for this enlighting explanation :thumb:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby charly2008 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:35 pm

Dear TIG,

You have given me and many others, again very helpful tips with your expert explanations.

That was a good time to cleanup my plugin directory. I had so many plugins that I have never used or very rarely. With many more I knew not what function they have. I've promised myself that from now I install plugins only when I need it really.

In my context menu, all functions are now active again and SketchyFFD works fine now and Sketchup boots faster.

Many Thanks again TIG.

Charly
0
He who makes no mistakes, makes nothing
User avatar
charly2008 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby TIG » Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:40 pm

Charly

Please be aware that there are some helper files that are 'required' by other files - e.g. 'progressbar.rb' is needed by Chris Fullmer's 'ShapeBender' and others, and 'deBabelizer.rb' by several of my own 'toolsets'.
So if you remove/rename_with_.TXT any of those and there are other files that need them, then you will get error messages, either at startup or more rarely when the tool activates.
If that happens the error-message is usually quite clear - telling you the missing file's name so it can readily find it and it can be reverted to as it was...

However, so far it sounds like your 'tidy-up' has been problem free... but just in case of future oddities please bear in mind what I've just said above... ;)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: SketchyFFD Great

Postby Lorelalala » Fri Sep 02, 2011 12:12 am

Great tool, CPhillips!

It has amazing results. I shall definitely try it.

Thanks for sharing this.
0

Lorelalala 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby mandinga2006 » Tue Nov 29, 2011 12:34 pm

THX!! :) ...good job! :thumb:
0

mandinga2006 
 

Re: Zipped Plugins -- A Guide to Installing Them

Postby congellous » Fri Jan 27, 2012 10:58 pm

Thanks for the help TIG, but I have got the sketchy FFD on my right click but it still doesn't work, move the control points nothing happens and no update in the menu. If it's so simple how come there are pages and pages of conflicts on this web site. I know how to do the root installation but the Fredo set with the lib for instance, version compatibility and the folder set up is a bit cryptic. I'm sure there great tools but this is open programing without quality control.
Also, you can read updates and instal instructions for outdated versions, PC versions etc ad nauseum or just ask someone to help which I'm sure is frustrating.
0

congellous 
 

Re: Zipped Plugins -- A Guide to Installing Them

Postby TIG » Fri Jan 27, 2012 11:39 pm

OK... you have now got the tool loading, and it's in the right-click context-menu...
:D
If you run it with the Ruby Console open what error message [if any] do you get ?
What doesn't 'work' exactly ??

There were many issues with early the versions... but I took it upon myself to [try to] fix the original author's code [with his permission!]... so that these were then hopefully resolved... [Q: You did download/install the most recent version, didn't you ??] - so if you are now saying that there are new issues we need to know about them... so, whatever details you have [beyond, 'It doesn't work!'], would be very useful :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Zipped Plugins -- A Guide to Installing Them

Postby congellous » Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:00 am

as I said move the control points and nothing happens
it took 20 minutes to 'weigh' a panel
can you point me to the latest one maybe it's that
0

congellous 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810) [merged]

Postby TIG » Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:11 am

Did you get it from viewtopic.php?p=36127#p36127 - the 20110810 version by me [TIG] downloaded 1385 times, and with few issues reported over the intervening five months [note that the two more flaky earlier versions were downloaded over 9000 times in total and even they had relatively few issues, when used as intended !]

Do you get anything in the [all ready opened] Ruby Console when you are using it ?
Are you following the usage notes carefully ?
Screen-shot [or even post] your 'panel' SKP - is it incredibly complex ??
:?

Can I also suggest that as this is no longer a unzip/install issue you post in the tool's own thread [as linked above]... I'll think about splitting the last few posts off into it too... MERGED!
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby congellous » Sat Jan 28, 2012 5:33 pm

Worked instantly from that link, I must of downloaded it from somewhere else ???
Exactly what I needed, Thanks
0

congellous 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby Hogwarts » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:46 am

I can't get this plugin to work and I need to use it desperately for some artificial snow I'm making for a building roof top.

I put it into plugins folder and then I tried tools but no luck.

An Install guide would be helpful.
Thank you
0

Hogwarts 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby Rich O Brien » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:55 am

Hogwarts wrote:I can't get this plugin to work and I need to use it desperately for some artificial snow I'm making for a building roof top.

I put it into plugins folder and then I tried tools but no luck.

An Install guide would be helpful.
Thank you


Install by putting the script in your plugins directory.

As it says on the first post
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 18, 2012 11:59 am

Hogwarts wrote:I put it into plugins folder and then I tried tools but no luck.

The plugin description only mentions a right-click menu .. no Tools menu.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby Hogwarts » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:46 pm

Rich O'Brien wrote:
Hogwarts wrote:I can't get this plugin to work and I need to use it desperately for some artificial snow I'm making for a building roof top.

I put it into plugins folder and then I tried tools but no luck.

An Install guide would be helpful.
Thank you


Install by putting the script in your plugins directory.

As it says on the first post


Edit, I see it's on right click menu FFD now but I only have 3 commands?
Lock, unlock and make patch. None of them seem to do anything?

Could someone direct me to a guide to using this plugin. Thank you.
0
Last edited by Hogwarts on Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Hogwarts 
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby Rich O Brien » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:48 pm

No, it should appear when you right click a group.
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] SketchyFFD (Updated 20110810)

Postby Rich O Brien » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:56 pm

FFD won't allow you to create a N x N cage if it's raw geometry or a component
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amywaroon, buggerbugger, federebe, James Robinson, NARKOZA, princedesign88, siripong2540, xdada and 12 guests

Visit our sponsors: