[Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill

[Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill

Postby TIG » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:01 pm

EVAL version of TIG's CutNfill Pro-only toolset.
You get 10 free uses, then it needs licensing.
You can buy a pre-licensed RBZ version direct from the SketchUcation Shop for $20 [Prem=$16]. http://sketchucation.com/shop/plugins/761-cutnfill-v1-0
Alternatively license the EVAL version using the PayPal-$20 link in the Help pages...

TIG-CutNfill.png

Usage: Plugins submenu or Toolbar... 'TIG-CutNfill'

Tool: Calculates Cut and Fill from 2 overlaid terrain-mesh groups: EXTG & Proposed.

Skirt-Tool: Adds Skirts to meshes etc...

Help: Extensive documentation is provided...

Download

image021.png
4
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby JQL » Thu Nov 28, 2013 2:24 pm

Seems very useful TIG! Thanks a lot!

I'll try it as soon as I can and will give feedback!

JQL
1
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby utiler » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:46 am

Looks very promising, TIG!! :thumb: :thumb:
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby Box » Fri Nov 29, 2013 5:00 am

An extremely useful tool, however my struggle with dyslexic transposition makes the name somewhat disturbing.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby Krisidious » Fri Nov 29, 2013 5:15 am

This will be great for architects wanting to show the amount of dirt fill to dig out and add to grades. Nice work Tig. Is this your first ever commercial plugin? It's about time you charge for some your fantastic work.
1
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:15 am

Krisidious wrote:This will be great for architects wanting to show the amount of dirt fill to dig out and add to grades. Nice work Tig. Is this your first ever commercial plugin? It's about time you charge for some your fantastic work.
I write many commercial bespoke plugins every year. You just see the ones that I 'give away' - although donations are always welcome...
This one seem a bit more commercially useful than mostm so I thought I'd see how it goes as EVAL+modest$... It's also a chance to try out the SCF Shop...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 29, 2013 11:18 am

Box wrote:An extremely useful tool, however my struggle with dyslexic transposition makes the name somewhat disturbing.
The anagrammatic possibilities were realized early on ;)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby jgbrock1 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 2:37 pm

This is the plugin I have been waiting for! I am a designer/builder and use cut/fill analysis on all my jobs (I have been creating complex terrain groups, painstakingly making them SOLIDs and noting the differences in volume). I downloaded the plugin and cannot seem to make it work. I used an existing file, named the existing site EXTG, chose both groups (which perfectly align) and chose the command, but nothing happens - no error messages, nothing. I even recreated the existing site mesh without the skirt (that I added to previous) and chose the "Add Skirt" command, but nothing happened. Could it have not installed properly? (the menu shows up when I open SU and the folders/files are in my SU Plugins folder. Thanks! Anxious to make this work
0
User avatar
jgbrock1 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 29, 2013 4:48 pm

@John

If you run it with the Ruby Console open any messages.
Any text in the Status-Bar ?

If it's very complex it might take some time to process...

Can you PM me the SKP so I can test it directly ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby KrisM » Fri Nov 29, 2013 5:23 pm

TIG,

This will be very useful. I also do a lot of cut & fill and this is not a foolproof process in Sketchup. I presently use other programs for this work but it's great to see the capability introduced to SketchUp. You've will save me more than the cost of the plugin on the next job I use this for. Thanks.

Kris
1

KrisM 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby jgbrock1 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 8:38 pm

@TIG

I tried to send you a private message but it says I do not have authority to do so - I have been a member for a while, but not premium yet (does that matter). This is the error I received - think it has something to do with file locations but not sure. The proper .rb file and folders are in my Plugins folder??:

Error: #<Errno::ENOENT: No such file or directory - C:/xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx>
(eval):100:in `readlines'
(eval):100:in `read_counter'
(eval):137:in `new'
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/TIG-CutNfill/TIG-CutNfill_loader.rb:25
(eval):100:in `call'
(eval):100

I would be glad to send you the file to check it or perhaps these lines above explain it all - probably very obvious, just not to me:) I'd appreciate your help and more than happy to upgrade to premium membership if it allows me to participate more.
0
User avatar
jgbrock1 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:02 pm

You can't PM because you have not more than 3 posts. It's an anti trolling measure.


.
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby Box » Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:03 pm

You don't need to upgrade to premium, just make another post which will be the 3rd that needs to be moderated and your PM's should work after that.

Edit. I see the big man got in there while I was typing.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby jgbrock1 » Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:08 pm

Thank you for clarifying
0
User avatar
jgbrock1 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri Nov 29, 2013 10:10 pm

Although that 666 in your ruby message does suggest some evil is at work!

Try saying TIG x 3 while touching your elbow off your nose. Should fix it.


.
2
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.0 20131128

Postby TIG » Sat Nov 30, 2013 12:27 pm

I'm onto the issue...

There's a stupid typo in the code that throws up an error message once - the first run of the tool - it's now fixed in v1.1***

The SKP you PM'd to me threw up three or four immediate things.
The EXTG & Proposed meshes do not have a common bounding box.
Select each in turn [use the Outliner] to show this.
Explode them and regroup [in turn] and then recheck they overlay properly too.

The site is very large, most of ot is unaffected and EXTG & Proposed are the same.
However, ever facets needs inspecting - cutting the site down to just the part that's changed will be much faster

An issue that could affect things is also the vertical faces in the Proposed - I'll trap for those... watch out for v1.1...***
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby TIG » Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:16 pm

An updated v1.1 is now available in the PluginStore.
http://sketchucation.com/resources/plug ... Nfill-v1.0
http://sketchucation.com/plugin/760-TIG-CutNfill-v1.0
It will also be available shortly in the Shop...

It is now faster and less likely to failure - it tries to mend non-Solid Cut/Fill results that can occasionally occur when two Solids are intersected.

Note that if you have previously purchased a license you do not need to buy a new one.
Just download/install the latest EVAL version and it will find and use the license-file already in the Tool's subfolder...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby TIG » Sun Dec 01, 2013 2:17 pm

An updated v1.1 is now available in the PluginStore.

Download

It is also be available as a pre-licensed version in the SketchUcation Shop...
http://sketchucation.com/shop/plugins/767-cutnfill-v1-1

It is now faster and less likely to failure - it tries to mend non-Solid Cut/Fill results that can occasionally occur when two Solids are intersected.

Note that if you have previously purchased a license you do not need to buy a new one.
Just download/install the latest EVAL version and it will find and use the license-file already in the Tool's subfolder...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby unearthed » Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:00 pm

Thank you TIG, that's one amazing plugin, even gives me a nice little solid cut/fill object, SU just became a whole lot more useful.
0
Growplan - People ∩ Plants ∩ Place

windows 7 64b, 4GB RAM, SU 8.0.16846
Gimp, QGIS, Vectorworks 12, Bricscad 11

unearthed 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby fantoosh420 » Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:32 pm

I had done this in a project manualy... and surprisengly using same color code :lol: :lol: . this was done almost 1 year back... good to see that there is a plugin though.
0
-------------------------------------------------
Sketchup 14.0.4900
Core i5 760 @ 3.00 Ghz. 8 GB RAM windows 7 SP1 X64

fantoosh420 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 19, 2014 11:17 pm

@Amit

Great minds think alike... :D

Or perhaps the SCF PluginStore collects more data about you than we admit to ;)
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby pillarpom » Tue Oct 14, 2014 11:46 am

This is the very useful plugins for me. Unfortunately I can't get it done for me. It keeps showing that I have to align the corner of the two groups although I've done so.
Can someone tells me what I was wrong.
0

pillarpom 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 16, 2014 5:00 pm

Because the two 'solid' groups are subtracted to get the two cut and fill volumes in the Z/blue direction, then the XY/red-green dimensions and outline of the 'skirt' need to be identical and overlaid exactly.
The 'bounding-box' of both groups should appear the same and at the same point at bounds.min...
It see your Red axis but where is the green/blue ?
It's wise to always model near the origin 0,0,0 (0;0;0 if you use ',' as your decimal separator)
To see the 'origin' of the groups switch on Model > Components > Show axes.
You can always explode and regroup each of these groups IN TURN to ensure they coincide.
To Move exactly to the origin, preselect a group and click a bottom minimal corner on the 'skirt' as the start point, then type [0,0,0] ( OR [0;0;0] ) plus <enter> - repeat the Move for the other group, starting with the exact same point on the 'skirt'...
They should now be overlaid exactly.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.2 20141017

Postby TIG » Fri Oct 17, 2014 1:47 pm

An updated v1.2 is now available in the PluginStore.

Download

It is also be available as a pre-licensed version in the SketchUcation Shop... ***


It is now faster and less likely to failure - it tries to mend non-Solid Cut/Fill results that can occasionally occur when two Solids are intersected.

*** Note that if you have previously purchased a license you do not need to buy a new one.
Just download/install the latest EVAL version and it will find and use the license-file already in the Tool's subfolder...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.2 20141017

Postby Krisidious » Fri Oct 17, 2014 10:11 pm

Thank you sir...
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby pillarpom » Sat Oct 18, 2014 12:10 pm

TIG wrote:Because the two 'solid' groups are subtracted to get the two cut and fill volumes in the Z/blue direction, then the XY/red-green dimensions and outline of the 'skirt' need to be identical and overlaid exactly.
The 'bounding-box' of both groups should appear the same and at the same point at bounds.min...
It see your Red axis but where is the green/blue ?
It's wise to always model near the origin 0,0,0 (0;0;0 if you use ',' as your decimal separator)
To see the 'origin' of the groups switch on Model > Components > Show axes.
You can always explode and regroup each of these groups IN TURN to ensure they coincide.
To Move exactly to the origin, preselect a group and click a bottom minimal corner on the 'skirt' as the start point, then type [0,0,0] ( OR [0;0;0] ) plus <enter> - repeat the Move for the other group, starting with the exact same point on the 'skirt'...
They should now be overlaid exactly.


Thank you very much for your comment. I'll try again.
0

pillarpom 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.1 20131201

Postby pillarpom » Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:12 am

pillarpom wrote:
TIG wrote:Because the two 'solid' groups are subtracted to get the two cut and fill volumes in the Z/blue direction, then the XY/red-green dimensions and outline of the 'skirt' need to be identical and overlaid exactly.
The 'bounding-box' of both groups should appear the same and at the same point at bounds.min...
It see your Red axis but where is the green/blue ?
It's wise to always model near the origin 0,0,0 (0;0;0 if you use ',' as your decimal separator)
To see the 'origin' of the groups switch on Model > Components > Show axes.
You can always explode and regroup each of these groups IN TURN to ensure they coincide.
To Move exactly to the origin, preselect a group and click a bottom minimal corner on the 'skirt' as the start point, then type [0,0,0] ( OR [0;0;0] ) plus <enter> - repeat the Move for the other group, starting with the exact same point on the 'skirt'...
They should now be overlaid exactly.


Thank you very much for your comment. I'll try again.


Still can't get it done,used v1.2 . I've also attached the skp. file for you to review. Please check it out, thank you in advance.
0

pillarpom 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.2 20141017

Postby TIG » Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:58 am

@pillarpom

If you look at the EXTG and Proposed groups [with Hidden Gemomtry ON] you can see that they do not have the same 'skirt', so when one is subtracted from the other weird volumes result.
The differences should be in the blue Z direction.
Making the below ground parts with a different outline is a recipe for a failure...
Capture.PNG

Because the bottom left most vertex [minX, minY, 0] does not align, the the pair are not considered as being properly overlaid - hence the message.
However, relocating the single vertex to be coincident will not resolve the matter.
You need to ensure that the two 'skirts' are wholly coincident, otherwise when they are subtracted there will be left over slivers of volume making the CutNfill result invalid, even if you do manage to make one !
Capture2.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.2 20141017

Postby pillarpom » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:36 am

@TIG
Thank you for your suggestion. The hard part then is how to make the skirt identical. My contour lines were made in Autocad with the same identical property line and then moved to the actual Z value of each contour. The contour lines were imported to Sketchup and transformed to surface by Sandbox. I could not control the boundary afterwards, but they looked almost identical. After the surfaces were made I then used your plugin to make the skirts for each terrain. That was what the result came out. Any suggestion please. Thank you.
0

pillarpom 
 

Re: [Plugin][EVAL] TIG-CutNfill v1.2 20141017

Postby TIG » Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:06 pm

Work on a copy as it might get messy !

View > Hidden Geometry ON so you can see all edges and vertices.
Use a Style [temporarily] that makes end-points very noticeable.
Edit the EXTG group.
Select all of the 'skirt' by fence - i.e. leave out the top surface.
Use Edit > Copy to put it onto the clipboard.
No exit that edit.
Edit the Proposed group.
Select all of the 'skirt' by fence - i.e. leave off the top surface.
Press <delete> to remove it.
The top surface should be unaffected.
Now immediately use Edit > Paste-In-Place to insert the clipboard's 'skirt' copy.
Immediately use the context-menu to Group that - we need to temporarily separate it from the other geometry we will be editing.
The Proposed group will no longer be 'solid', since we know that the two surfaces do not overlay exactly in plan, and of course the temporary skirt-group will also lead to non-solidity in any case...
Now deselect everything inside the edit, and use the Move tool to relocate the misplaced vertices on the top-surface's perimeter to snap them in turn onto the temporarily grouped skirt's equivalent top edge vertices, or in some cases an edge [if there is no vertex at the desired location].
The perimeter of the Proposed top-surface should align exactly in level [Z] with the equivalent edges in the EXTG, since you have no cut/fill beyond the edges ??
Once you are happy that you have 'healed' the Proposed top-surface's vertices onto the grouped-skirt test for solidity...
Explode the skirt-group so it merges with the top geometry.
No exit the edit and Entity Info should report 'solid'...
If so you can try CutNfill again...
If still bot solid Undo until the skirt-group exists again... repeat fixing the vertices until it is a solid ...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Deen0X, yılal and 11 guests

Visit our sponsors: