[Plugin] AreaTextTag

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby jeff2047 » Mon Jan 14, 2013 11:13 am

got it, thanks share
0

jeff2047 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby Bokkie » Sat Apr 20, 2013 5:37 pm

hi, was wondering if this plugin will / could, extract or copy an atrribute's value, when inserted into a block with attributes?
0

Bokkie 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby TIG » Sat Apr 20, 2013 6:10 pm

It reports the area of the face it's 'attached' to.
The face/tag need to be in the same context.
It doesn't 'report attributes'.
There are other tools that do that, but you need to be somewhat clearer in your question...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby ffox » Tue May 07, 2013 9:38 pm

Thank you, I am finding all of this really helpful.

I searched through the chain and don't think that this has been addressed yet. I am wondering if it is possible to input two text entries per tag. For example, "room #" and "department" both associated with the same square footage, so when exported, you have two text columns per sf which can be sorted accordingly.

Thanks in advance!
0

ffox 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby gclyde » Thu May 30, 2013 12:30 am

Hi,
Would it be possible to select and group a number of faces and give a tag that relates to the total surface area of all selected faces?

In addition, would it be possible to produce a similar ruby that totals up the lengths of selected lines/junctions? (not necessarily the perimeter of a face)...this would be icing on the cake for me :ecstatic:

Thanks

Graham
0

gclyde 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby atelierpaar » Sun Mar 15, 2015 8:07 pm

Hello TIG
Great script !!
Since I am always short in space it would be of great help if it would we possible to have 2-line Text-Tags for instance :

Entrance
30 m²

alignment options
  • Left
    Right
    Center
Thanks for looking into it
Uli
1
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby billmorr » Mon Oct 12, 2015 9:21 pm

Hi TIG

Firstly, great plug in - thank you for that :-)

It seems to crash my SU 2015 (Mac version)when installed alongside Twilight renderer.
I have just uninstalled Twilight and everything is cool again.

Just thought i'd report the clash in case anyone else has the same problem or if you can fix?

Bill
0

billmorr 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby billmorr » Tue Oct 13, 2015 8:24 am

Hi TIG

Firstly - great plugin - thank you for this :-)

Just discovered on SU 2015 on my Mac, that it crashed SU if Twilight is installed at the same time

Don't know if you can fix?
0

billmorr 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby mcmcxlxl » Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:37 am

Hi tig,
Thank you for this Tag plugin.

I modified it quite deeply to make it easier.
Could you give me your mail so that i can send it to you.

I would appreciate some critics because i'm not a programmer (but architect) and the way i program is dirty.

Michael
0

mcmcxlxl 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby TIG » Mon Nov 23, 2015 7:13 pm

Please use the "Private Message" option here to exchange non-public info...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby mcmcxlxl » Thu Dec 10, 2015 9:49 am

Sorry
hmm. I have no access to private messages...

Michaël
0

mcmcxlxl 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby TIG » Sat Dec 12, 2015 7:39 pm

New members get access to PM-ing after a few valid posts - so try again...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] [Plugin] AreaTextTag v1.5 20120322

Postby atelierpaar » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:13 pm

Hello Tig,
these Area Tex Tags are great - thanks for offering this plugin.
After installing SU 2017 they won`t work anymore and I am in trouble.
Do you have a chance to look into this ?
Thanks already
Ulrich
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:31 pm

The error in the Ruby Console tells the story.
Unfortunately v2017 looses earlier references set to the contents of a group, e.g. when it's exploded, so the code fails, I'm currently fixing this weirdness in my ExtrudeTools...
However, it might be some other Ruby2.2 foible...
I'll look into this tool asap...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby atelierpaar » Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:49 pm

Hello Tig
thanks so much for your fast response
I which I could help but unfortunately this is not my Cup of tea.
Anyways, thanks a lot
Ulrich
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 22, 2016 4:43 pm

Here's v2.0.

Download


It is now compatible with v2017's newest Ruby.
Users with unsupported versions like v8 are advised not to update as it might now cause issues...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby atelierpaar » Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:33 pm

everything is shiny again
Thanks Tig,I appreciate
Ulrich
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby atelierpaar » Sat Nov 26, 2016 12:17 pm

Hello TIG
I am in need of some additional Information on my plans. So I come back to my question from 2015:
Is it possible to have a multi line Text-Tag, possibly with alignment Options (left/right/center) ?
For instance :

Name 1 Entrance
Name 2 Tiles
Area 25 m²
Circumference 20 m

Thanks for looking into it
Uli
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby TIG » Sat Nov 26, 2016 3:32 pm

Text is always centered. it could have options but that needs considerable recoding...

You need to include a new-line marker in the string to get multiple lines.
So in the example you offered...
Entrance
Tiles
25 m²
Perimeter 20 m

needs to be entered thus:

Entrance\nTiles\n<>\nPerimeter 20 m

The \n tells it where to add a new-line.
The <> is the formatted current area part.
Note that using <-> would add the area without a units suffix.

It's not possible to report the perimeter [easily] without major recoding, but it's easy enough to manually select the face+edges by a double-click on it, then immediately Ctrl+Shift+click it again to leave only the edges selected, when Entity Info will report the length in current units.
This 'perimeter' can then be added to the text by an edit...

PS: I assume you mean 'perimeter' - as that's the edge length of any face, in English a 'circumference' only applies to circular [and perhaps oval] faces...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby TIG » Sat Nov 26, 2016 6:14 pm

Here's v3.0

Download



It includes the following enhancements.

a. The settings dialog now allows you to specify the Text's Alignment:
Center [default]
Left
Right
These only affect multi-line entries which have used \n to signify a newline.

b. The reserved character combinations to locate a formatted area for the face:
<> with units & <-> without units
are now complemented with character combos to locate a formatted perimeter length for the face:
|| with units & |-| without units

The associated perimeter length is displayed using the same units as the area [using the same dp].
For Acres it uses ft, and Hectares m.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby atelierpaar » Sat Nov 26, 2016 9:53 pm

Hello TIG, thanks so much for such good work.
You're right - I mean 'perimeter', not 'circumference'
I tried your advice using a new-line marker and I got what I was looking for.
A small drawback seems to be, that the editing-textbox is very small and one can`t see the hole text string.
Another issue is that the 'perimeter' doesn't get updated if the area changes (which happens quite frequently).

How could I help to recode this? - let me know if there way.

Anyways, thanks a lot for your work
I really appreciate
Ulrich
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby TIG » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:40 pm

At the moment the Area ONLY update does the area ?

The text-box is the width that SketchUp gives us...
You can pick in it and drag left/right or use the arrow keys <- -> to get to the start/end ?

I'll look at a tweak...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby TIG » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:50 pm

I rechecked everything.
If I update a tag and its face's area has changed, then it does update the <> area. AND the || perimeter ???

Can you provide an example where it fails ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby atelierpaar » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:33 am

Hello TIG, oh yes, the perimeter does work superb now
I just didn't get it right the first time - my fault- I`am awfully sorry
in Terms of changing the texblock it's not too much work either if one copy /paste the text string and then just change the names
Entrance\nTile\n<>\n||

using arrow keys to move inside the editing-textbox works fine

thanks a lot for your great work and support
Ulrich
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby Ben Ritter » Fri Dec 02, 2016 3:56 pm

TIG,

Thank you so much for your work in writing this and sharing.

Is there a way to update the text to an new text height, or would I have to re-do each one with new text height settings?

Thanks.
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby srx » Fri Dec 02, 2016 8:14 pm

Thanks for the another useful plugin. My question would be - Is it possible not to hide lines? What to change? My problem is that Scalp section style "doesn't see" tags.
0
www.saurus.rs
User avatar
srx 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby Oxer » Sun Jan 29, 2017 7:42 pm

When I try to make the Report it appears this message in Ruby Console:

Code: Select all
Error: #<NameError: undefined local variable or method `area2ever' for TIG::AreaTextTag:Module>
/Users/Oxer/Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins/TIG-AreaTextTag/TIG-AreaTextTag.rb:1537:in `report'
/Users/Oxer/Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins/TIG-AreaTextTag/TIG-AreaTextTag.rb:254:in `block in <module:AreaTextTag>'
SketchUp:1:in `call'


OSX 10.11.6 & Sketchup 2017
0
"The result is the end what is important is the process" by Oxer
http://www.oxervision.blogspot.com/
User avatar
Oxer 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby TIG » Sun Jan 29, 2017 9:19 pm

@Oxer
Thanks for the error report.
Seems that that variable 'area2ever' was declared inside a {} block and not accessible later on in several circumstances !
So it was an error waiting for a disaster for ~six years ! ...
Anyway here is a corrected version 4.0

Download


PS: @srx
Also added an extra option in the Settings to hide the Tag's text's edges [Yes|No]: defaults Yes - choosing No will show the edges [remember that if there are any existing Tags you will to use Update...]. That new Setting is remembered with each model...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby srx » Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:16 pm

Thank you very much TIG. :)
0
www.saurus.rs
User avatar
srx 
 

Re: [Plugin] AreaTextTag

Postby BarbaraD » Sat Mar 18, 2017 7:14 pm

Thank you so much TIG, it makes me beleave in SU again.
Great job.
0
User avatar
BarbaraD 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Edge3D, ferdisandri, medeek, zoner and 9 guests

Visit our sponsors: