by Pierreden » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:02 pm
After playing with "An Ivy Generator"(found here) I thhought about how awesome it would be to be able to play with something like this directly in Sketchup. I therefore started to port the ivy generator to ruby and Sketchup. As i now have working code with regards to the main parts of the algorithm, collition detection, adhesion and the growing of the ivy branches, i decided to post a proof of concept. Usage -Select "Sketchup Ivy..." in the Plugins sub-menu -Adjust Parameters in Menu -Every time you click your left mouse button, the ivy will grow -CTRL-Click for leafs (repeat as many times you want) -When you're happy with the ivy Shift-click to make it into actual volumes.  Please get the latest version's RBZ from the PluginStore Download Now suitable for all OSs and SketchUp versions from v8 through to v2015... VERSION 0.6UPDATE 12.05.2011 -Tooltip -Minor bug fixes -Additional parameters. VERSION 0.5UPDATE 09.05.2011 - Will now use components with "ivyleaf" in the name as leafs. 3 included by default. - Hopefully better mac support - Small algorithm changes  - ALT+click to make ivy grow towards pointer - Thea users: uncheck 'export as components' before exporting. (Thanks Solo) Fix 0.5.2 - Tool startup fix (maybe?) VERSION 0.3UPDATE 05.05.2011 - Simple gui. (More parameters to come) - Leaves - Speed and reliability - I know theres some issues with mac. As i haven't had the opportunity to debug on a mac, im not sure if its working now. Mac users with issues are very welcome to PM me or write here. (Guess this goes for everyone with issues, im sure there is lots  ). VERSION 0.1.5UPDATE 28.04.2011 [Uploaded buggy file !! Sorry] - Added Wind (comming from the position of the sun atm) -Bug fixes VERSION 0.1UPDATE 27.04.2011 - Faster Preview - Better Ivy "Resolution" - Faster and more reliable volume generation (less buggsplats?) - Face normals should now be oriented correctly - More reliable collision detection - A few bugs in the force algorithms fixed. - Works as before. Edit the values in Plugins/SketchupIvy/setup.rb TO COME- Leaves as Components - More Parameters and grow patterns. - Other Plugins. Fur, Cloth and Tree. Notes - Never shift-click when there is more than 150 branches (information in the ruby console). This will often cause a bugsplat (seems like sketchup realy, realy, realy doesn't like programmaticaly adding of entities or seemingly infinit loops :/ ) - For the adhesion to work, you have to be in the same scope (i made this to clearify (face.classify_point seems buggy) - This script has only been tested in SU8. As far as i know this script might cause bugsplat infernos and generally fuck shit up in other versions - If you find any bugs or problems please PM me  If you're extra awesome attach the error description from the ruby console. Any suggesions, comments or crits are very much welcome! Peace Pierre
Last edited by Pierreden on Fri May 13, 2011 10:35 am, edited 27 times in total.
-
Pierreden
-
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:40 pm
by Mike Lucey » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:30 pm
Thanks Pierre, Could this be the new 'Fur'?
-

Mike Lucey
- Mayor
-
- Posts: 7600
- Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 1:22 pm
- Location: Co. Clare, Ireland
- Name: Mike Lucey
- Operating system: Mac
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by Pierreden » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:38 pm
Mike Lucey wrote:Thanks Pierre, Could this be the new 'Fur'?
I havent realy seen the connections before now, but i guess this algorithm is sort of like "fur branching of furs". I believe tha changes needed for this to behave as fur is minimal! brb
-
Pierreden
-
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:40 pm
by dbalex » Mon Apr 25, 2011 2:51 pm
nice! thanks for this! finally an ivy generator inside sketchup!
-
dbalex
-
- Posts: 82
- Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 2:15 am
- Name: dbalex
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2020
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by Pixero » Mon Apr 25, 2011 6:53 pm
Great. I will surely be following this thread. 
-

Pixero
-
- Posts: 2597
- Joined: Thu May 24, 2018 12:49 pm
- Location: Halmstad, Sweden
- Name: Pixero
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2019
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by rombout » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:21 pm
hi,
im working on a mac, the plugin doesnt seem to work at all in niether Su 6,7 nor 8
-

rombout
-
- Posts: 190
- Joined: Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:23 am
- Location: Willemstad, Netherlands Antilles
- Name: rombout
- Operating system: Mac
- SketchUp version: 2015
- License type: Free/Make
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Intermediate
by solo » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:47 pm
Download link sends my virus software into a tizzy, anyway to host it elsewhere?
If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
-

solo
- Global Moderator
-
- Posts: 12375
- Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:46 pm
- Location: The Colony, Texas
- Name: solo
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2018
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Intermediate
by Pierreden » Mon Apr 25, 2011 9:58 pm
rombout wrote:hi,
im working on a mac, the plugin doesnt seem to work at all in niether Su 6,7 nor 8
Thats not good. I would really appreciate it if you could PM me the error message you get in the ruby console (Window - Ruby Console) Regards
-
Pierreden
-
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:40 pm
by Rich O Brien » Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:06 pm
Hi Pierre, Great plugin. We normally add the [Plugin] tag to the title to help search/identify plugins. Just edit your original post. You can also edit the original when you update version numbers so members can see it's been tweaked. Great to have you around SCF 
I never know where I'm headed, just make it up as I go - Box 22:4
-

Rich O Brien
- Administrator
-
- Posts: 13672
- Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:05 am
- Location: Ireland
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2023
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: engineering and mechanical design
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by solo » Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:15 pm
Thanks. Okay it works fine. I will wait for the leaves however as at moment it looks like a growing spider. A GUI would be awesome and if qnything like Ivy generator which can follow a profile like an arch would also be brilliant, as well as gravity/adhesive controls Great start.
If you see a toilet in your dreams do not use it.
-

solo
- Global Moderator
-
- Posts: 12375
- Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 1:46 pm
- Location: The Colony, Texas
- Name: solo
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2018
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Intermediate
by thomthom » Mon Apr 25, 2011 10:41 pm
Very interesting project.  I'll give it a whirl when I get time and maybe poke about in the code. Ivy generator is something I've wished I had on several projects.
-

thomthom
- PluginStore Author

-
- Posts: 19457
- Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:47 pm
- Location: Trondheim, Norway
- Name: Thomas Thomassen
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2019
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by Gaieus » Mon Apr 25, 2011 11:11 pm
Hi Pierre and indeed it seems to be a very exciting project. I've been making ivy with the fur plugin so far but a more straightforward and "real" ivy generator would be much better of course! Any chance to attaching the file straight to the first post though? Some member have issues with this, others with that file hosting services (some are not accessible in certain countries) etc. (Surely I cannot tell a script author where to host his plugin - just suggestions for easier use)
-

Gaieus
-
- Posts: 26832
- Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:24 am
- Location: Pécs, Hungary
- Name: Csaba Pozsárkó
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2013
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: historical reconstruction
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by tomislavm » Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:38 am
Thank You!
-
tomislavm
-
- Posts: 430
- Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 9:35 am
- Location: Croatia,Osijek
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: pre-2013
- License type: Free/Make
- SketchUp use: historical reconstruction
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by Alan Fraser » Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:14 am
Very interesting start. Just to get the coder's cog wheel whirring; you realise of course that a random growth generator has implications way beyond just ivy? Especially if it has a GUI that allows you to control variables like the upper limit of vector change, the amount of branching and taper, number of segments per limb etc. Obviously, Follow Me won't follow a branching path...but there is a Max plugin called Branches that generates a single, random, tapering limb. What you then do is click on a joint higher up; and it shoots off another branch, taking the overall scale of this offshoot to be based on the now (reduced) diameter of the original limb at that point. Now that would be really something.  [Edit} 20 minutes, 1 cup of coffee and 1 V-Ray render later. This is a very useful plugin, even in it's early stages. ivy.jpg
FormFontsWere you required to walk 500 miles? Were you advised to walk 500 more? You could be entitled to compensation. Call the Pro Claimers now!
-

Alan Fraser
- Top SketchUcator
-
- Posts: 2776
- Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:17 pm
- Location: Formby UK
- Name: that tune
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2016
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by Pierreden » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:24 am
Wow. Thanks for all the replies! @Gaieus: Of course. But is it possible to attach a rar file directly to the post? @Alan: Yes. That seems brilliant! (one day  It really seems like this Ivy algorithm has a lot of potential (way beyond ivy). And in regards to what you said about gui, this is what i have in mind.It is scene-aware and quite easy to customize. Last night I rewrote a chunk of it , added an external force (wind, comming from the sun) and tried to make it a bit more aware of the scene. After some tweaking it realy looks like a good Fur plugin - (screenshots below). I guess it wouldnt be too hard to make it in to a tree growing algorithm og even combine these into a powerpack of branching awesomeness. 
Regards Pierre
-
Pierreden
-
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:40 pm
by thomthom » Tue Apr 26, 2011 10:47 am
Pierreden wrote:@Gaieus: Of course. But is it possible to attach a rar file directly to the post?
Yes - under the textbox when you write a post there is an "Upload attachment" tab where you can upload files.
-

thomthom
- PluginStore Author

-
- Posts: 19457
- Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:47 pm
- Location: Trondheim, Norway
- Name: Thomas Thomassen
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2019
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by Pierreden » Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:06 am
thomthom wrote:Pierreden wrote:@Gaieus: Of course. But is it possible to attach a rar file directly to the post?
Yes - under the textbox when you write a post there is an "Upload attachment" tab where you can upload files.
Hehe, sorry about that. Latskap.
-
Pierreden
-
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:40 pm
by Gaieus » Tue Apr 26, 2011 1:11 pm
And I have just checked; the extension "rar" is also allowed (I thought maybe that's the problem).
-

Gaieus
-
- Posts: 26832
- Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2007 8:24 am
- Location: Pécs, Hungary
- Name: Csaba Pozsárkó
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2013
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: historical reconstruction
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by Sergio Morera » Tue Apr 26, 2011 5:05 pm
Thank you for your generosity. I look forward to give it a try 
-
Sergio Morera
-
- Posts: 19
- Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 10:03 am
- Location: London, UK
- Name: Sergio
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: pre-2013
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: product design
- Level of SketchUp: Intermediate
by Didier Bur » Tue Apr 26, 2011 6:27 pm
Hi, Very interesting. Two remarks/questions: lots of branches have their faces reversed. Do you think this will be fixed in a future release ? Do I have to play with the parameters to make it 'grow', as it seems to 'fall' more than to climb ? Regards, ivy.jpg
Didier Bur
-

Didier Bur
-
- Posts: 1435
- Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2007 10:07 pm
- Location: Nancy, France
- Name: Didier Bur
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2020
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by Oxer » Tue Apr 26, 2011 8:29 pm
Hi, A very interesting plugin, i have used Ivy Generator by Thomas Luft but it's better if you can make ivy into Sketchup directly. I use Mac and the plugin don't works on OSX, i hope that you can solved this problem. Bye and congratulations for this promising plugin.  This is a unfinished old project, i would like make this into SU directly. Hiedra.png
-

Oxer
-
- Posts: 474
- Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:13 am
- Location: Benavente, Spain
- Name: Oscar
- Operating system: Mac
- SketchUp version: 2017
- License type: Free/Make
- SketchUp use: illustration, cartoons
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by robert111 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 9:15 pm
can anyone make tuto for this nice plugin plzzzzzzzzzzz
thanks robert
-
robert111
-
- Posts: 108
- Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2008 11:25 pm
by andre51 » Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:38 pm
Great plugin! Thanks a lot ivy.jpg
-
andre51
-
- Posts: 138
- Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 9:16 am
- Name: andre51
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: pre-2013
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by Pierreden » Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:41 pm
Didier Bur wrote:Hi,
Very interesting. Two remarks/questions: lots of branches have their faces reversed. Do you think this will be fixed in a future release ? Do I have to play with the parameters to make it 'grow', as it seems to 'fall' more than to climb ? Regards,
I think both off these issues have been fixed in the v.0.1 release @Oxer: I can take a look at it. If you could PM me the error output in the ruby console it would be of great help! ("windows" > "Ruby console" inside sketchup and then try to make a new Ivy with this window open and copy the error message)
-
Pierreden
-
- Posts: 40
- Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 12:40 pm
by Oxer » Wed Apr 27, 2011 12:12 am
I probe the plugin again and don't works, the Console window appears blank and happens nothing. Captura de pantalla 2011-04-27 a las 00.59.52.JPG Sorry Pierreden but i would like help you more, if there are another mac users please comment about the use of the plugin on Mac OSX.
-

Oxer
-
- Posts: 474
- Joined: Thu Sep 10, 2009 1:13 am
- Location: Benavente, Spain
- Name: Oscar
- Operating system: Mac
- SketchUp version: 2017
- License type: Free/Make
- SketchUp use: illustration, cartoons
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by Alan Fraser » Wed Apr 27, 2011 7:42 am
Some great improvements there...and pretty easy to customise (I doubled the float length). One issue I have on my system is that when the progress meter hits 100% I still can't see the red latent growth path. It's only visible from certain very specific angles, so I have to keep constantly orbiting to a new position to see where it's up to. I have the latest graphic drivers. It's no biggee, but I thought I'd mention it.
FormFontsWere you required to walk 500 miles? Were you advised to walk 500 more? You could be entitled to compensation. Call the Pro Claimers now!
-

Alan Fraser
- Top SketchUcator
-
- Posts: 2776
- Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:17 pm
- Location: Formby UK
- Name: that tune
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2016
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by notareal » Wed Apr 27, 2011 8:39 am
Interesting project. I am sure that this has more potent than just to grow a ivy. 
-
notareal
- Thea Render Support

-
- Posts: 1064
- Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 9:54 pm
- Location: Oulu, Finland
- Name: notareal
-
by thomthom » Wed Apr 27, 2011 9:14 am
Alan Fraser wrote:Some great improvements there...and pretty easy to customise (I doubled the float length). One issue I have on my system is that when the progress meter hits 100% I still can't see the red latent growth path. It's only visible from certain very specific angles, so I have to keep constantly orbiting to a new position to see where it's up to. I have the latest graphic drivers. It's no biggee, but I thought I'd mention it.
That's probably because the tool doesn't implement the Tool.get_extent method: http://code.google.com/apis/sketchup/do ... getExtents@Pierreden: Beware that adding methods into the base classes risk running into conflicts with other plugins. It's the same as adding methods to the root namespace - everything is shared. Method names such as .to_v, .to_p, .all_faces could potentially be used by other plugins authors. Even though it looks nicer to extend the base classes there always is a risk of clashes. I always advice people to void it just to be on the safe side.
-

thomthom
- PluginStore Author

-
- Posts: 19457
- Joined: Tue Nov 13, 2007 12:47 pm
- Location: Trondheim, Norway
- Name: Thomas Thomassen
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2019
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by Lobster » Wed Apr 27, 2011 11:38 am
Hi,
Looks really interesting but I too have a problem on a Mac OSX 10.6.6. Sketchup 8.
There is no output in the console window showing fault after choosing/ticking in the plugin list and clicking on a surface.
The extraction of the .rar seemed fine and i have the folder and .rb file in the correct directory. I presume that the files remain in the Sketchupivy folder?
Regards
Sam
-
Lobster
-
- Posts: 58
- Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2010 4:34 pm
- Name: Sam Kent
- Operating system: Mac
- SketchUp version: pre-2013
- License type: Free/Make
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Intermediate
by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago
-
Ad Machine
- Robot
-
- Posts: 2012
-
Return to Plugins
|