[Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby bitslapped » Mon Jun 02, 2014 8:25 am

It was a compromise between VRay and Sketchup.
I ended up exporting the transparency selection path from photoshop to illustrator to dwg then overlaying the outline onto the image in sketchup. It meant I could use the antialiasing in the images for vray renders (where they do catch shadows) and produce quite smooth shadows in sketchup.
The hope is that in future versions of sketchup, png with alpha will catch shadows.
https://3dwarehouse.sketchup.com/model. ... 3c1e197243

Thanks for your work TIG. I will keep trying this one as new releases come out.
0

bitslapped 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby rv1974 » Mon Jun 02, 2014 12:47 pm

:?: Nothing happens after 'making edges' stage.
Ruby console message:
Error: #<Errno::ENOENT: No such file or directory - C:\autosave\TrimmedImages\uuu[Edges].dat>
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:264:in `readlines'
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:264:in `make_edges'
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:196:in `process_image'
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:165:in `initialize'
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:818:in `new'
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:818
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:264:in `call'
C:/Program Files (x86)/SketchUp/SketchUp 2013/Plugins/SKMtools/ImageTrimmer.rb:264
----
P.S. If I run che check mentioned above I have this:
UI.openURL("file:///"+"../full/path/to/EdgeDetector.jar")
false
0

rv1974 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby TIG » Mon Jun 02, 2014 4:37 pm

Here's a PNG I reprocessed... BUT the original works as it uploaded anyway, and a v8 SKP showing that Image and ImageTrimmed Cutout...
SSO it works fine for me. :?
Do you have Java installed/enabled and .jar files set to open with Java ?
Some decompression apps hijack that file suffix and stop them executing properly...
As outlined more fully here... viewtopic.php?p=518232#p518232
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby manifestphoto » Mon Sep 29, 2014 7:10 am

Hi there, I'm new to sketchup and glad I found your plugin, however it keeps crashing the application when I try to trim an image. If I do anything else with my computer at all, even resizing the Sketchup window or typing in this box, while it is running, the program hangs. If I leave it focused on Sketchup and do not use my PC at all, it gets through the "scanning pixels" function, but hangs during the "processing edges" operation, never getting past about 15%.

My PC is not brand new, but it's also not that old and is fairly capable . . . so I don't think it's a processing issue. Are other people experiencing this? Is there a fix?

Thanks.
0

manifestphoto 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby TIG » Tue Sep 30, 2014 9:41 am

Read back through the posts...

Sticking at around 15% is indicative of a failure in the image-processing...
It is hanging not crashing, as it never completes its processing.

ImageTrimmer uses .jar files to process some aspects of its image-files etc.
These are small executable Java apps that come with the toolset.
Sometimes a compression exe will hijack that .jar file-type suffix and thereby prevent them 'running'.
So ensure that you have Java installed and activated, and that .jar is a file-type which will 'open' with Java etc...
Also the PNG file needs to be a reasonable size - the number of pixels will obviously influence the time to process it, but a minute or so should suffice.
Also crop the PNG so that the number of 'background' pixels is minimized - every pixel is considered, even those that will eventually be removed.
Also remember that ALL transparent pixels will be removed - even slightly transparent ones - so ensure that the PNG consists of opaque pixels where you want to keep the face and transparent ones for the 'background' you want to remove...
If you still have issues please post the PNG you are trying to trim, and a screen-shot of your Java setup...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby hendrygunawan » Tue Apr 14, 2015 5:05 pm

I have the same problem too, and I try something funny. Just make sure your extensions in preferences got checked all. It solved my problems.
Just want to share. :)
0

hendrygunawan 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby deaneau » Fri Apr 17, 2015 8:04 am

@TIG 1 picture tell more than 100 words
1 movie tell more than 1010 words

a movie with some subtitles would be good,too.

TIG you must know...programmer have more logic cells in the brain than other.
some people try to intuit (me,too) and would understand this in the first time more intuitive.

logic =/= intuition ( Logic is not equal to Intuition)

Thank You Dean
0
MADE, BORN AND LIVING IN BERLIN
Big Thank You to all Programmers
Some German words are so long that they have a perspective. M.Twain
User avatar
deaneau 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby PickyBiker » Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:53 pm

I'm having trouble with the imagetrimmer not finding transparent pixels that can form faces. The image certainly does have a large transparent area.

I included the error message and the image file.
0

PickyBiker 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby TIG » Wed Jun 17, 2015 5:12 pm

You didn't supply the PNG file.
It needs to have an alpha-channel of transparent pixels.
Any degree of transparency assumes those pixels are to be ignored.
The usual issue is the other way round - too many pixels going as some are slightly transparent !
If you see the Image in SketchUp can you see through portions of it ?
With the PNG itself I might be able to comment more constructively...

PS: Are you getting the processed files made ?
Is .far file-type associated with Java - some compression tools hijack that type and stop ImageTrimmer working properly...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby PickyBiker » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:20 pm

Sorry about the missing png file... Here it is
0

PickyBiker 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby TIG » Thu Jun 18, 2015 6:03 pm

Do you have th latest version installed [ http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=SKMtools v20140207 ]

Your PNG works fine for me - see the screenshot - so I suspect something is adrift in the way the .jar files get processed...
See the earlier comment about the file-type association etc...

Do you get a folder made with the SKP that includes various files ?
If so zip it and post it...


PS TIP:
Auto-Crop the PNG image to remove the redundant transparent pixels - it'll speed up the processing, because every pixel gets inspected, and all of the extra transparent ones get ignored anyway !
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Image Trimmer by TIG

Postby davecoopstl » Fri Aug 21, 2015 4:59 pm

Can someone please explain to me how to use TIG's Image Trimmer (part of his SKMtools package)?

I'd love to be able to quickly and easily trim my PNG files, so they cast shadows correctly.

TIG, I'd love some advice.

Thanks.
Dave.
0

davecoopstl 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby pbacot » Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:11 pm

there's a good explanation here: viewtopic.php?t=33445
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby TIG » Fri Aug 21, 2015 5:22 pm

@dave

I have merged your post with the base thread.
Pointless in splitting...

If you read the initial instructions and resultant clarifications that are listed here, then it should suffice.

Précis:

Ensure Java is enabled.

Ensure JAR files are NOT associated with another app - some compression tools might unexpectedly hijack that file extension. They always need to be set up as small executables, associated with Java.

Make a PNG file with transparent pixels, which you want to remove later.
Any pixels with even a slight transparency will be removed, so flatten the image and then re-add an alpha-layer and delete the 'background' pixels you want to lose.
Also crop the image as tightly as possible - every pixel will be considered, so it's pointless having hundreds of transparent pixels surrounding what you want to keep - it just extends the processing time...
Run the tool and it should make what you want after a minute or so.
The finalizing dialogs are self-explanatory...
The 'smoothing' defaulting at 2.0 is usually sufficient to resolve jagged 'pixelated' edges in the final 'cutout'...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer v2.4 20130828

Postby davecoopstl » Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:17 pm

TIG, I got it working. I think I know what was wrong: My PNG file was almost 28 Megabytes!

I reduced the resolution from 300 to 100, cropped it tight, and the file went down to about 1 Meg.

Image Trimmer worked like a charm!

Thanks for the advice.
Dave.
0

davecoopstl 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby AGiam9 » Wed Jul 12, 2017 2:38 pm

Hi TIG,

I'm having some trouble getting the image trimmer to work on the below logo. I'm not all that familiar with programming and have tried to follow previous advice given in this forum but it is likely I am missing something. When I use the trimmer it starts loading and then suddenly stops and nothing happens. According to the guide on how to use this means there are no useable transparent pixels but I do not think that should be the case. I created two different versions of the PNG file, one with the logo as transparent and one with the logo filled with the outside transparent. From my understanding, the first one should work. So far I have troubleshooted by ensuring the EdgeDetector.jar file is executed by Java (it was not when I started, had to set it up). Not sure what the next step may be or if it is just the file. Can you please advise?
0

AGiam9 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby Dave R » Wed Jul 12, 2017 3:17 pm

If you look closely at the PNG, you'll see there is a huge number of pixels to work through for creating the edges. You might just need to wait longer. SketchUp will show (Not Responding) in the title bar while it is processing. Maybe go for a walk or eat a meal or something.

Do you know what fonts were used? It might make sense to use 3D text instead of Image Trimmer if you can get those fonts.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby Dave R » Wed Jul 12, 2017 4:16 pm

With patience and a walk of the dog...
Screenshot - 7_12_2017 , 10_14_05 AM.png

I used 0 for the simplification factor.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby TIG » Thu Aug 15, 2019 4:43 pm

It's just been reported that ImageTrimmer is broken with SketchUp v2019.2
There seems to be a 'reversion' in SketchUp's core code and now an Image's face's material can no longer be referenced for use in the rest of the model.
However, ImageTrimmer still works fine in all earlier versions of SketchUp.
Once v2019 is debugged it might work again - if not I might have to invent a workaround :roll:

It'll also impact on all of the related SKM tools involving Images' materials :shock:
4
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby TIG » Fri Aug 16, 2019 2:35 pm

Here's an updated version of SKMtools.
It fixes the glitch found with ImageTrimmer, introduced with SketchUp's v2019.2 new API restrictions on directly using the material from an Image in the model's entities.
There was already a SKMtools method to make a new material from an Image [leaving the Image intact], and add that material to the model's materials; this is now utilized to copy the Image's material into the model for reuse on the trimmed-component's faces...

Download

0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby Dave R » Fri Aug 16, 2019 2:48 pm

Excellent! It works in 2019 now. Thank you!
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby pbacot » Fri Aug 16, 2019 4:51 pm

Thank you!
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby alphamagnus » Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:19 am

well, 9 years after this was released , i'm trying to use it on Sketchup 2017, which doesn't seem to have the folders to copy the files to :/
0

alphamagnus 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby TIG » Tue Oct 08, 2019 12:19 pm

It makes the required folder inside the model's folder ?
Have you looked there ?
[That's why you need a 'saved' model to process, so the temp-folder can be made...]

Are there any error messages ?
Run it with the Ruby Console open to see...
The folder is made to contain the temporary files needed during processing.
At the end you are offered the choice to delete the files/folder, so if you do that you won't find anything !

The trimmed image is inside the model, so you rarely need to look into this temp-folder anyway ??

If you have not set up the PNG image properly then it might not have any transparent pixels and trim to look like it did originally, or conversely if all pixels have some transparency you get an empty result.

Also remember that JAR files used in the processing have to be associated with Java and not hijacked by any compression-app...

There's lots of advice in the main thread...


It works in all current versions of SketchUp...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby rclubb » Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:04 pm

I'm trying this plugin out on a pretty complex png. It appears to be running, going on about 3 hours now. Should I give up or do you think it's still going?

Sketchup 2019.2
late 2015 iMac (macOS Mojave 10.14.6)
4GHz 4-core i7 processor
32 GB 1867 DDR3 RAM
AMD Radeon R9 M390 2 GB
0

rclubb 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 16, 2019 4:30 pm

Are the white pixels transparent ?
Are the other colored pixels 100% solid ?
Why no aggressively crop the PNG so that it's tight to what you want to keep - otherwise thousands of pixels get analyzed and throw away anyway !


It shouldn't take more that 5mins...
How big is that PNG ??
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby rclubb » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:19 pm

So, I tried to cut the transparent space down and now I get a error message:
0

rclubb 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby rclubb » Fri Oct 18, 2019 9:47 pm

the white areas are all transparent. it is rectangle cropped as tight as possible.
0

rclubb 
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby TIG » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:57 pm

I downloaded your original PNG and it trimmed just fine in a minute or two...
However, the result is rubbish, because many of the colored pixels also have some transparency, also get trimmed !
A simple PNG edit to flatten and reassign a transparent layer to just the white 'surround' gives a better result...
However, given the relatively small size and resolution of the PNG the small areas - like the text - it still gives a pretty poor result...
Capture.PNG


From the screenshot you posted it looks like that's actually NOT an Image ?
You have a selected face ??
Did you adjust the PNG and get that result from ImageTrimmer ???
I some ways it's better that mine ! As it keeps the text etc unaffected...

Initially did you import it as an Image ? rather than a Texture...


Also I can't see the advantage of trimming this PNG into a Component ??
What's you end use plan ?
Perhaps it'd be more useful as an imported Image overlaid onto your model ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ImageTrimmer

Postby rclubb » Mon Oct 21, 2019 2:35 pm

I imported the PNG in as and image. It's originally a vector I saved as a PNG.
I traced out a rough line around the non-transparent areas to help speed up the Trimmer plugin but it didn't help. that's the screenshot I attached. When I traced it out and removed the empty space it made it no longer an image I think?
I don't know how to save as a PNG from illustrator and not lose 100% solid colors. In my vector, all colors are solid.

I want to place this on a 3d mock-up of a outdoor sign but it makes a black box around the PNG no matter what method I try.
0

rclubb 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Kasha Basha, kioma and 12 guests

Visit our sponsors: