[Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

[Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby TIG » Fri Oct 22, 2010 10:56 pm

(c) TIG 2010
Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software for
any purpose and without fee is hereby granted, provided that the above
copyright notice appear in all copies.
THIS SOFTWARE IS PROVIDED "AS IS" AND WITHOUT ANY EXPRESS OR
IMPLIED WARRANTIES, INCLUDING, WITHOUT LIMITATION, THE IMPLIED
WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY AND FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
___________________________________________________________________________
You need this file
#SilhouetteToPlane.rb >>> Plugins Folder
You must also have this file
#WorkPlane.rb >>> Plugins Folder
___________________________________________________________________________
Usage:
Make or choose a 'WorkPlane' that is located on the 'plane' onto which
you want to project your 'flattened' Geometry.
Select the 'WorkPlane' and the required Geometry [Edges etc, note that
Faces etc will be ignored], and/or Groups, and/or Component_Instances.
Run this Tool from the menu 'Plugins' > 'Silhouette to Plane'
or type 'silhouettetoplane' in the Ruby Console.
If there is no 'WorkPlane' and/or other objects in the Selection you get an
error message.
Assuming it runs...
All Edges in the Selection that are not 'hidden' or not on 'off layers' are
projected onto that 'plane'.
The new 'flattened' Edges are put into a new Group named 'SIL_123456.789'
[it has a 'date/time' suffix].
Each new Edge takes the original Edge's layer.
The new Edges are inspected and only those that are needed to form a fully
faced 'silhouette' WITHOUT cut-outs are retained.
With this version internal 'hole' cut-outs in silhouettes are NOT formed.
On completion the new Group ['SIL_123456.789'] is left highlighted.
___________________________________________________________________________
Donations:
by PayPal to info @ revitrev.org
___________________________________________________________________________
Version:
1.0 20101022 First release.
1.1 20101023 The correct Plane of a 'WorkPlane' is now used even if it has
been Transformed inside its own Group.
Speed and reliability improved. Title fixed.
___________________________________________________________________________
#SilhouetteToPlane.rb
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane

Postby shura » Fri Oct 22, 2010 11:57 pm

very good idea TIG! Although, I am getting some errors here - with a single loop of edges it works fine, but for several faces it gets messed up:

silhouetteError.jpg


btw, would it be possible to have the projection lines run all to the same focal point, similar to Radial Lines plugin? Like this we could also have a flattened picture of a perspective view.
0
User avatar
shura 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane

Postby TIG » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:06 am

This is the first [buggy] release!
Can you post and example SKP so that I can see the errors...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane

Postby shura » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:16 am

SU 7.1 on Vista, have tons of plugins but only one error so far (wxfsu) ...
0
User avatar
shura 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane

Postby honoluludesktop » Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:34 am

TIG, How many plugin, and point releases are you currently averaging? 1 a week?-)

And, you still find time to help us. Thanks!!!!!
0
User avatar
honoluludesktop 
In Remembrance
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane

Postby pilou » Sat Oct 23, 2010 2:40 am

1 a week?

1 a day is more appropriated ;)
0
Is beautiful that please without concept!
My Little site :)
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane

Postby Didier Bur » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:56 pm

Hi TIG,
I suggest you change line #63 to: @model.start_operation("Silhouette to Plane") 8-)
Thanks for all your hard work !
0
Didier Bur
User avatar
Didier Bur 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby TIG » Sat Oct 23, 2010 1:48 pm

Here's v1.1 viewtopic.php?p=281445#p281445
The correct Plane of a 'WorkPlane' is now used even if it has been Transformed inside its own Group.
Speed and reliability improved.
Title fixed.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby EarthMover » Sat Oct 23, 2010 3:13 pm

Great Script! :thumb: Perfect for sorting out faces that have trouble closing. Could you possibly have it so that if no work plane is selected, that it will default to a placing the silhouette on the 0 z plane? Similar to ThomThoms Flatten script in his "Plan Tools", except yours automagically creates the face and groups it.
0
3D Artist at Clearstory 3D Imaging
Guide Tool at Winning With Sketchup
Content Creator at Skapeup
User avatar
EarthMover 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby TIG » Sat Oct 23, 2010 4:05 pm

EarthMover wrote:Great Script! :thumb: Perfect for sorting out faces that have trouble closing. Could you possibly have it so that if no work plane is selected, that it will default to a placing the silhouette on the 0 z plane? Similar to ThomThoms Flatten script in his "Plan Tools", except yours automagically creates the face and groups it.

You could always make a quick WorkPlane on the ground...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby shura » Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:07 pm

Just great! You are a hero, hats off to thee!
0
User avatar
shura 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby TIG » Sun Oct 24, 2010 3:57 pm

Here's an example...
Capture.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby pilou » Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:16 pm

This sort of image must be at each first post :)
0
Is beautiful that please without concept!
My Little site :)
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby EarthMover » Sun Oct 24, 2010 5:39 pm

Here's another example.

Silhouette to plane is also great for flattening a set of looped edges you want to be planar to form a face, but cant seem to find the vert that's out of whack.
0
3D Artist at Clearstory 3D Imaging
Guide Tool at Winning With Sketchup
Content Creator at Skapeup
User avatar
EarthMover 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby xrok1 » Sun Oct 24, 2010 6:40 pm

this could be great for making face me components! render the 3d version then apply as texture to the 2d. :D
0
“There are three classes of people: those who see. Those who see when they are shown. Those who do not see.”

http://www.Twilightrender.com try it!

xrok1 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby Ben Ritter » Mon Oct 25, 2010 5:32 pm

TIG, fabulous! Thank you for the flatten to plane script as well. You are very generous, and gifted.
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby caleidos4d » Tue Oct 26, 2010 7:12 pm

TIG!!! :berserk:
0

caleidos4d 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby danbig » Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:06 pm

Thanks, TIG. Amazing script.

Does this plugin do the flatten to plane, or is that a separate plugin? I can't seem to find the command for flatten to plane. (Silhouette to Plane is working great)
0

danbig 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby shura » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:04 pm

0
User avatar
shura 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby shura » Thu Oct 28, 2010 11:49 am

Just to point out again what Adam already said, Silhouette to Workplane makes closing difficult outlines sooo easy. Brought back the faith in freehand tool to me.

palmsilhouette.jpg



Rocky, that is a pretty smart idea. I am having thoughts about this kind of matte painting tricks all the time.
(like here: viewtopic.php?f=79&t=31069)

thanks again for your generosity TIG!
0
User avatar
shura 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby JClements » Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:11 pm

TIG:
When I click on the script's download button the #SilhoutteTpoPlane.rb downloads. I put the script in the plugins directory of SU8. When I open SU8 I get the following error:

Error Loading File #SilhouetteToPlane.rb
no such file to load -- #WorkPlane.rb


Should #WorkPlane.rb also have been downloaded?

Regards, John
0
John | Illustrator | Beaverton, Oregon

JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby TIG » Fri Oct 29, 2010 4:59 pm

JClements wrote:TIG:
When I click on the script's download button the #SilhoutteTpoPlane.rb downloads. I put the script in the plugins directory of SU8. When I open SU8 I get the following error:

Error Loading File #SilhouetteToPlane.rb
no such file to load -- #WorkPlane.rb


Should #WorkPlane.rb also have been downloaded?

Regards, John

John
IF you had read the notes you'd see that you need 'WorkPlane.rb'... because you must first make and then select a 'WorkPlane' with your other parts you want to project - that's how it knows what plane to project its result on to... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby CAntonis » Fri Oct 29, 2010 7:53 pm

Working great as always

Thank U TIG
0
User avatar
CAntonis 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby Bertier » Sun Nov 07, 2010 10:01 pm

sweet
0

Bertier 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby Heven7_floor » Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:24 pm

Thanks :ecstatic: , it is great script for mechanic model favour, this plug-in shall mostly advance to project 3d model in STD plan,

but I found some error happen, when I test by simple cylinder ,which was rotated a bit from origin , there are 1 error time of total 4 time


I love this script , and hope it could been tune-up ,but I am begin to learn for SU plugin codding , shame to less helping :oops:
0

Heven7_floor 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby JClements » Mon Dec 06, 2010 3:35 pm

TIG, not sure if this is how you intended the script to work or not.

Using SU8. If I select a bunch of standalone geometry and a couple of groups, only the standalone geometry gets project to the working plane. Each group has to be selected individually to be projected.
0
John | Illustrator | Beaverton, Oregon

JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby TIG » Mon Dec 06, 2010 5:25 pm

JClements wrote:TIG, not sure if this is how you intended the script to work or not.

Using SU8. If I select a bunch of standalone geometry and a couple of groups, only the standalone geometry gets project to the working plane. Each group has to be selected individually to be projected.

Everything should project I'll check into it...
Do you get the same 'error' with components too ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby JClements » Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:22 pm

Hi TIG:

Yes, the script works with SU8 and with components. However, the selection set seems to require that it include all of one type of geometry only, either: all loose geometry or all groups or all components.

Attached is the test .skp I used.

John
0
John | Illustrator | Beaverton, Oregon

JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby nektares » Tue Dec 07, 2010 5:53 pm

this could be extremely useful!! i will try it out later today! thanks Tig!
0

nektares 
 

Re: [Plugin] Silhouette to Plane v1.1

Postby gnlmrc60b22f205v » Tue Aug 21, 2018 1:21 pm

With SU2018 cause the SU crash.
0

gnlmrc60b22f205v 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: amandat001, Bing [Bot], daibui, fbrkqls1, milnov, NatoxD, paulasz19, Sylwia, zain01 and 9 guests