[Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby ArCAD-UK » Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:40 am

:roll: Apparently a completely fresh COLD boot this morning and everything is running again with both the hacked and original versions of AHL :? Thanks for the help.

Another excellent tool from the Master! :ecstatic:
0

ArCAD-UK 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby ArCAD-UK » Fri Sep 27, 2013 9:29 am

Hi Tig, I was playing with this last night testing the boundaries. One thing that :? me is I can create cutting components with complex geometry including projecting groups with faces flush with the cutting plane, but as long as there is an ungrouped "loop" of edges SU cuts as expected. In HPT as has been previously mentioned such a component can cause unexpected displacement if there are groups/components projecting from the cut plane.

I appreciate the "fix", I was just wondering if the HPT would benefit from a requirement for a single loop on the cutting plane and ignore all other group/component and non-cutplane entities which would be more in line with the native SU cutting process?
0

ArCAD-UK 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby ArCAD-UK » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:23 pm

Hi TIG, I get regular bug splats if the Outliner is fully open e.g. displaying contents. Is there a fix or is this an SU problem? I've noticed with a number of plugs that the Outliner window goes manic with some processes but they don't always splat.
0

ArCAD-UK 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:25 pm

It's a know issue with any heavily processed tool.
Recommended that the Outliner is closed or at least rolled up when going intensive operations...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby moonray » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:31 pm

PLEASE HELP!
Hole punch menu does not appear after plugin installation and requred objects and component peparation. All required folders are ok. :cry:
SKETCHUP 2013
0

moonray 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 30, 2013 3:49 pm

@moonray

Let's assume you've installed it properly.
There is NO Plugins-menu item or toolbar.
If you right-click the context-menu has a submenu for the tool.
Some items are enabled/disabled - depending on what is selected.
If you have a component-instance selected that is gluing/cutting and glued to a face then you get the Punch option etc...

Can you post a simple example SKP so that we can see what you have done...

If you have not installed it properly, then you won't get the tool appearing in SketchUp at all.
How did you install it exactly ? :?
Your post suggests that the file/subfolder have installed correctly into the Plugins folder... but this might be an illusion...
Can you post a screen-shot of the folder, including its top bars in Windows Explorer...
If you have limited access rights to your Plugins folder Windows can leave you thinking it's installed, but it's not! Limited security permissions is the default for folders inside the Program Files tree - it needs adjusting to allow you to add/manage plugins...
A button/link in the window's top-bars saying 'Compatibility Files...' is a give away...
To set up you Plugins folder correctly...
As an admin [if you are not already one change your status in the Users Control Panel.
Find the Plugins folder and select it
Right-click
Context-menu
Properties
Security
Edit...
set permissions to FULL [read/write] for all users/groups listed
Apply/OK

Also select the SketchUp.exe file [in the same folder] and in the same way...
Properties
Compatibility
Tick the bottom check-box 'Run this Application as Administrator'

Now you can add/manage your Plugins... :enlight:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby moonray » Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:31 pm

Thank you for reply!
Yes understand that it is should be ncontext menu (not simple)
I have changed permitions to maximum rights both of exe file and plugins folder but
I still haven't found what I am looking for.
Please see my attached screens and the file.
0

moonray 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby moonray » Mon Sep 30, 2013 4:44 pm

:fecstatic:
It is OK! Thank you!
It works perfectly!
The reason was that i did not install the plugin inside sketchup itself, but just copied files to folders. I did not know that I am so stupid. :roflmao:
Thankyou! :enlight:
0

moonray 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 30, 2013 6:04 pm

Glad it's fixed.
The RBZ is an archive and it's contents need installing into the Plugins folder... :roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby davidfromwisbech » Wed Oct 02, 2013 8:44 pm

Hi
I am having a real problem with getting the hole punching tool to work, I am obviously missing something
I have added a sketchUp file of where I am with it
I would like to thank you in advance for your help
Regards
David
0

davidfromwisbech 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:05 pm

@David

You Component doesn't CUT a hole in its glued face, so how do you expect it to PUNCH one ??
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool v2.4 20130907

Postby Dave R » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:17 pm

TIG beat me to it but note the changes I made to your model.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 12, 2013 10:47 pm

Here's a future-proofed update.
viewtopic.php?p=271170#p271170
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Tue Mar 04, 2014 1:54 pm

This updated version makes the lingvo files compatible with v2014.
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=HolePunchTool
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby garystan » Fri Mar 14, 2014 8:27 pm

TIG :

Does the Hole Punchng Tool (plugin) require Sketchup 8 Pro ? The reason I'm asking is because I have Sketchup 8 (Free). When I downloaded this plugin, Sketchup said it was downloaded and installed. But, apparently, it's not in my Plugins Folder (within Sketchup). I checked and it is in the sdk folder inside of the Plugin Folder. But, the documentation doesn't state where it's supposed to be downloaded to, or what version of Sketchup it works with. With the Torus plugin, the documentation stated it would reside in the DRAW tab in Sketchup (which it is).

garystan
0

garystan 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Fri Mar 14, 2014 11:53 pm

If you read the usage notes... :roll:

This tool only ever appears in the right-click context-menu.
The enabled items vary depending on what is currently selected...
From just 'set depth', to punch [if not punched], to undo/redo/unlink etc if it is punched...

It is about to be reissued [tomorrow?] after reports of an observer glitch preventing Move etc [selection auto-undo] if the selection contains a punched component...
This will be fixed shortly...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 15, 2014 11:44 am

Here's an update in the PluginStore....
http://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=HolePunchTool
v2.8 Fixes an observer glitch whereby the whole selection was cleared if a punched instance/reveal was in the selection and the active tool was changed. :roll:
Turned out to be a simple typo :oops:

Please update your installation...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby SSM » Fri Sep 05, 2014 5:08 pm

Great tool but mine isnt working. After trying to place my window component, I right click to select "punch hole" but the only option I can select is "set depth". Thanks for any help in advance!
0

SSM 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Fri Sep 05, 2014 10:33 pm

Is your component definition [door/window/etc] set up to both glue AND cut ?
It must cut a hole in its glued_onto-face BEFORE it can ever be considered for a 'punch'...
If not, then it will never work...
AND please remember that a cutting component definition must have its 'blue' axis [shown as a blue-X] perpendicular to its main geometry - i.e. so it 'lays onto the face that it is to 'cut'.

Post an example SKP with wall/instances so we can see what you have set up wrongly...............
:?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby mariocha » Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:22 pm

After inserting doors and windows, which do cut openings, in some particular cases I would like the cut face to be copied and visible on the parent face, i.e outside the compo. Do you think part of your plugin could be used to get that ?
0
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Mon Aug 31, 2015 7:31 pm

mariocha wrote:After inserting doors and windows, which do cut openings, in some particular cases I would like the cut face to be copied and visible on the parent face, i.e outside the compo. Do you think part of your plugin could be used to get that ?
I don't fully understand the question...
If you UNlink the cutting instance - context-menu - then it is no longer connected to the instance anyway ?
Please explain what you mean/want = somewhat better...

Or perhaps ex-the-tool - how about using "intersect" between the instance and face, then "unglue" the instance ??
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby mariocha » Mon Aug 31, 2015 9:35 pm

Finally, I think your suggestion to intersect the compo with the face will be just fine. Thousand thanks ! :grin
0
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby mariocha » Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:39 pm

Dynamic components tend to get pretty complicated. They are mainly made of sub-components and groups.
In order to have them cut opening, I add loose edges framing the opening I want.
Some geometry, trimmings, extend outside the perimeter of those edges.
And also, some geometry are hidden, depending on the user choice of options.
So HolePunch is having a lot of problems with my complicated DCs.
Looking at the code, I think I understand that it is adding all the faces of sub components and groups as punching elements. Too many overlapping geometry in my DCs, I think.
Btw, your code is a huge lesson in high level SU Ruby API coding.
So my question; Is a HolePunch variant taking only the cut-opening edges as punching elements a good idea ? If so, feasible ?
PunchCutOpening.rb ? ;)
0
Last edited by mariocha on Sat Dec 05, 2015 10:30 am, edited 2 times in total.
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby pilou » Fri Dec 04, 2015 1:50 am

Maybe can help for some cases ?
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby mariocha » Sun Dec 06, 2015 9:59 pm

mariocha wrote: Is a HolePunch variant taking only the cut-opening edges as punching elements a good idea ? If so, feasible ?
PunchCutOpening.rb ? ;)

Ok, so as not to have anybody waste time over this, let it be known that I have done it. Well only proof of concept. Still a lot to do.
It took a lot of reading of numerous post and I must thank TIG, TT, Dan, Driven, Jim, and others for their several replies to newbies questions and for their unscripted plugins from which one can learn a lot.
Cookies to you all SU-Ruby masters. :)
0
Mario C.
Certified SketchUp Trainer, QC CA.
Every rule has exceptions, but some.
User avatar
mariocha 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:32 pm

Please note that this extension has some issues with v2017 entities' IDs etc - stopping it working properly.
An update is in progress - please be patient...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby hank » Tue Dec 27, 2016 9:24 am

Sounds like just what I need mariocha. Any updates? Could you post your rb?
0

hank 
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby yourpasswordis » Thu Feb 23, 2017 10:51 pm

Thanks for what looks like a great plugin, I'm here to report it's not working for me (Sketchup pro 2017 Win, tried with sketchup 2016). After following your instructions closely the plugin hangs for close to five minutes, then removes the component's original cut opening. furthermore the plugin doesn't create the second cutting face, it only fills in the original hole. I was sure to drag a new components form the component library every time I was trying to cut, as you've pointed out to many others on this thread.

I'd be happy to pay for support for this plugin but seeing as it's free I'll just have to hope TIG can help.
0
The difference between good enough and awesome is huge
User avatar
yourpasswordis 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby TIG » Fri Feb 24, 2017 11:48 am

Can you post a small SKP with a wall and cutting component window.
Otherwise it's all guesswork.

I suspect there's something wrong with your example window component.

To test this please make two 3d [two faced] walls - ensuring that their front faces are looking 'outwards'.
Now draw a smaller rectangle directly on a wall's face, give it a transparent material.
Next select the transparent rectangle and its edges [double-click it] and make it into a component.
In the dialog set it to glue and cut.
Name it something like "A_Window".

Now insert a second instance of it from the Component Browser [model tab] a,d glue it directly onto another wall.
At this point you should have two 'windows' on the walls which let you see into the walls' insides

Open the Ruby Console to see error-massages [if any].

Now use the Hole Puncher on each window in turn and see what happens...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Hole Punching Tool

Postby yourpasswordis » Sat Feb 25, 2017 9:22 pm

TIG, thanks for the reply. I've tried your test (details below) and a couple different windows now; no luck. Sketchup file attached. I've seen the plugin used on tutorials/YouTube and could swear I'm doing it right.

TIG wrote:To test this please make two 3d [two faced] walls - ensuring that their front faces are looking 'outwards'.

I made one wall by extruding a rectangle; ensuring the 'normals' faced outward. I grouped the wall then copied it in front of itself to create a common co-planar face. I tried using Hole Punch with a transparent rectangle cutting the co-planar face. The result was the removal of the cutting face (as before).

@lbert
0
Last edited by yourpasswordis on Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:30 am, edited 3 times in total.
The difference between good enough and awesome is huge
User avatar
yourpasswordis 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Aaronyee, as01dm and 14 guests

Visit our sponsors: