[Plugin] Solid Inspector

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby psychomuffin » Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:44 pm

Thomthom, I must say, and I'm sure many others have, that this plugin is a lifesaver! It is amazing how some details so tiny can have such a huge impact to STLs. I would have never found the errors otherwise!

Also... for anyone else having trouble with the installation process with rbz, I just searched google for "tt_solid_inspector.rb" and that regular ol' *.rb file is posted in other places =-)I put that in my plugin folder and it worked great!
0

psychomuffin 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby tt_su » Mon Feb 17, 2014 9:48 pm

psychomuffin wrote:Also... for anyone else having trouble with the installation process with rbz, I just searched google for "tt_solid_inspector.rb" and that regular ol' *.rb file is posted in other places =-)I put that in my plugin folder and it worked great!

I'd recommend you install the latest version. If you are using SketchUp older than version 7 you can read this article on how to install it manually: http://www.thomthom.net/thoughts/2012/0 ... -sketchup/
0
User avatar
tt_su 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby keramare » Wed Mar 05, 2014 6:35 pm

just T H A N X
1

keramare 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby d12dozr » Mon Mar 10, 2014 9:48 pm

I just tried installing Solid Inspector via Extensions Warehouse in Sketchup 2014, but got an error message:

SI error.PNG


Downloading and installing manually worked fine, but also got a reminder to install TT_Lib2 (Duh!), which worked fine to install via Extensions Warehouse.

Just to check the process, I uninstalled Solid Inspector via Extensions Warehouse, closed and reopened Sketchup, then tried to reinstall it. Same error message.

So I can install manually, but not via EW.
0
3D Printing with SketchUp Book
http://goo.gl/f7ooYh

d12dozr 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Mythos » Mon May 12, 2014 9:47 am

I really like Solid Inspector because it makes my life much easier for 3D printing. Thank you very much for this fantastic tool!

Unfortunately there is a small issue left in the pre-inspection phase (before I use Solid Inspector):

Most times I create a lot of groups of nested solid objects to ease the model organization. Before a model can be printed I create a copy of the skp file and manually ungroup all nested groups until I have all solids on the root level of the group (letting the group become a solid group). This must be done otherwise the solid tools can not be used. Then I start to merge, intersect, subtract the solid groups by using the solid tools. Afterwards I use Solid Inspector to fix the problems. Then it can be printed.

:sketchstatic:

Especially for complex models this manually un-nesting operation of many groups took a lot of time. :|

Is there any possibility to do that un-nesting group operation with Solid Inspector? In other words I want to bring all nested solids on one level by a one-click operation to let all groups become solid-groups.

Here is a screenshot showing my problem. All nested groups need to be manually exploded to transform "1-Before" into "2-After" to let "2-After" be a solid group.



Thank you very much for your attention.
0

Mythos 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby robrobk » Sat Jun 14, 2014 8:43 am

i was building something and i found out that a component wasnt "solid" so i spent at least 2 hours trying to find the problem. i finally gave up and did a google search for my problem and found a website that had a link to this plugin, within 2 minutes, my component was solid

i cant thank you enough for this plugin! :ecstatic: :ecstatic: :ecstatic: :ecstatic: :ecstatic: :ecstatic:
0

robrobk 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Tandem » Fri Jul 04, 2014 5:57 am

Thank you very much Thomas for this great plugin, really saved the day. :ecstatic:
0
User avatar
Tandem 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby miniellipse » Tue Jul 08, 2014 6:49 pm

Clipboard01.png


I just downloaded this plugin and put it through a simple test. Not sure, what I am doing wrong but it does not seem to recognize a missing face.

I am using Sketchup version V14.0.4900
0

miniellipse 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Dave R » Tue Jul 08, 2014 8:00 pm

It's not showing you any problems because there aren't any. You just hid the face so it looks like there's a hole. That's not the same as a missing face. :roll:

If you actually delete the face, then the plugin shows you the hole. The plugin works just fine.
2014-07-08_13-56-47.png
1
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby tt_su » Wed Jul 09, 2014 3:48 pm

This issue came up with the STL exporter as well.
Filed new issue: https://bitbucket.org/thomthom/solid-in ... n-entities
0
User avatar
tt_su 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby TIG » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:23 pm

It's not an issue with Solid Inspector or SketchUp seeing the group as a Solid ?
BUT of course it could flag the 'hidden' parts if its export is critical...

It only becomes an issue when exporting geometry that ignores Hidden entities, or those on OFF Layers, because then the exported object is no longer a Solid...

So tools like the STL Exporter needs to 'include' any such 'hidden' geometry, if those are critical to the Solidity of the exported object......
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby thomthom » Thu Jul 10, 2014 8:37 am

Yea, even SketchUp doesn't take into account hidden entities in the solid-test. I guess it's not that common to hide individual faces of a mesh.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby kjhunter » Sun Jul 27, 2014 8:03 pm

Doesn't work. Additionally, documentation is anything but easy step-by-step. Anyway, I got to the point where Extension Warehouse worked. Installed Solid Inspector ok, but nothing showed up in tools. Figured I needed to install the TT_Lib which was also required. I went to do that, and the following came up:

The requested page "/en/content/tt_lib%25C2%25B2" could not be found.

System:
OSX 10.9.2

Again, the documentation of this "Solid Inspector" is REALLY unclear! :thumbd:
-2

kjhunter 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Dave R » Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:41 pm

It does indeed work fine when installed correctly along with TT_Lib2 as described in the first post of this thread.

What do you mean by "Anyway, I got to the point where Extension Warehouse worked"?

It sounds as if at least you didn't install TT_Lib2 correctly. How did you go about installing it?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby thomthom » Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:52 am

kjhunter wrote:The requested page "/en/content/tt_lib%25C2%25B2" could not be found.

From which link? From within EW? From TT_Lib2's description?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby thomthom » Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:53 am

kjhunter wrote:Again, the documentation of this "Solid Inspector" is REALLY unclear! :thumbd:

The description at EW?
What did you find unclear?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby jimbpoe » Mon Sep 29, 2014 6:38 pm

Does this plugin work with the free version of Sketchup 2014?
Thanks
0

jimbpoe 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:10 pm

jimbpoe wrote:Does this plugin work with the free version of Sketchup 2014?
Thanks


Yes. What makes you think it wouldn't?

Are you using SketchUp 2014? Your profile indicates SketchUp 8. (It works in both anyway.)
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby jimbpoe » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:22 pm

Thanks for the quick reply.

I thought there was a leak in one of my components because the Cutlist plugin would not print it and because it had no volume. I tried installing Solid Inspector but it did not find any leaks. Once I invoked Solid Inspector, I could not do anything in Sketchup and had to exit the Sketchup application.

Eventually I figured out that my component did not display a volume value because I had used a subcomponent within the component. I removed the subcomponent and Cutlist was able to recognize my component.

I'm still wondering how you exit Solid Inspector.

Thanks,
Jim
0

jimbpoe 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 29, 2014 9:43 pm

First, the CutList plugin doesn't require components to be solid. But, as you found, the parts you want showing in your cut list must be at the lowest level. Adding some other subcomponent will make the part not be the lowest level and thus not show.

As for exiting out of Sold Inspector, select another tool. I usually get the Select tool (hit the Spacebar) since I'll probably want to select something anyway.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Kyudos » Mon Oct 27, 2014 10:35 pm

Could someone please help a newbie out? Solid Inspector tells me something is wrong with the edges of the 'shelf' in this model, but I don't understand what it could be. It all looks 'ok...?
0

Kyudos 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Kyudos » Mon Oct 27, 2014 11:12 pm

Its OK - thanks for looking - but I figured it out! Internal faces! Could SI highlight the face rather than the edge? - that would've given me more of a clue...
0

Kyudos 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby cotty » Tue Oct 28, 2014 7:47 am

The edge has more than 2 faces, so the highlight is right...
0
User avatar
cotty 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby jgb » Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:19 am

Deleting an edge of a face deletes the face. Highlighting the face would be redundant.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby TIG » Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:44 am

You can delete an edge which then in turn deletes its associated face...
Any 'coplanar' faces using it will survive that edge's deletion, and simply merge together into one bigger face.
BUT if those faces you want to keep are not 'coplanar', then they too will disappear with the edge !

This example shows how an inner face makes a group into a non-solid.
Deleting just the face makes it solid - BUT in this case deleting any of the edges used by that unwanted face would not give the desired result, because other faces we want to retain rely on those edges - the faces are not 'coplanar'.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Kyudos » Tue Oct 28, 2014 10:34 pm

TIG describes my issue exactly. The first thing I tried was deleting the 'edge', but was frustrated to find that didn't help. I'm not saying that highlighting the edge is wrong - but highlighting the problem face would have been more helpful to a know-nothing-noob like me :)

(I actually had to install the Manifold extension and run that for it to tell me what the problem was).
0

Kyudos 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby TIG » Tue Oct 28, 2014 11:14 pm

Once you know it's an internal partition face [via Solid-Inspector]... then you can use a section-plane to cut into the form and let you see inside i [Xray-mode lets you see it, but not select it].

In that way you can easily select just that face problem and press <delete> to remove it.

The form should then be reported as a 'solid'...

If by 'Manifold' you mean my old plugin, then I suggest that my SolidSolver [or several newer tools] might be more appropriate to try to auto-fix these kind of issues... BUT understanding what the problem is and then manually fixing it is often more effective...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby magazines » Sun Nov 23, 2014 3:38 pm

Does anyone else not see Solid Inspector listed after installing SU15? I can't seem to find it at all in the pull-down menus anymore. Did it move? I looked for it in SU14 and SU15 and reinstalled from both Sketchucation manager and the extension warehouse along with new library file. I've used it for years and found it near the bottom of the tools pull down menu. Working on Mac with Yosemite.
0

magazines 
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby Dave R » Sun Nov 23, 2014 3:41 pm

It works just fine for me in the Tools menu on both PC and Mac with SU2015.

Did you install the current version of TT_lib2?

Screenshot - 11_23_2014 , 8_50_00 AM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Solid Inspector

Postby TIG » Sun Nov 23, 2014 4:00 pm

Is its Extension activated ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DenizMtly, lincoln, liz_araujo_ rocha, priyamgulati, teliart and 15 guests

Visit our sponsors: