[Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby sepo » Wed Mar 17, 2010 10:20 pm

I am not able to get extrude edges by face or extrude edges by faces or extrude edges by rails by face to work. They all give me the message like on attached image and if I click OK I start losing the profiles created. What am I doing wrong. BTW I have installed demo of Thea. I wonder if the export plugin is making problem. The loft, lathe and extrude edges by rails works no problem. I am using latest version of the extrusion tools.
0

sepo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:12 am

The "profile's" face must be flat facing up [or down] in the Z [blue] axis.
Try again with that... :?:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby sepo » Thu Mar 18, 2010 10:54 am

:oops: yes ...it works now....after reading in detail....
0

sepo 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby monkeybss » Thu Mar 25, 2010 1:49 pm

But not for me! I've tried all possibilities and the Extrude Edges by Face doesn't work! Is there some other plugin that interferes ?
0

monkeybss 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 25, 2010 6:09 pm

monkeybss wrote:But not for me! I've tried all possibilities and the Extrude Edges by Face doesn't work! Is there some other plugin that interferes ?


None that I know of...

Are you completely sure you are following the instructions: you do have have curve 'paths' ready and a single flat face selected etc ?
Do you get any error messages in the Ruby Console when trying to use the tool[s] ?

EEbyFace needs some preselected edges/curves as paths and a preselected flat face.

EEbyRailsByFace needs 2/3/4 curves and a face - you preselect the face then choose the four curves to form the 'mesg' ribs - as profile, rail1, rail2 [can be 'rail1' again] and melding_profile [can be 'profile' again] (that's what I said, "...2/3/4 curves..."). The curves should have a modest number of segments and work best with the same or multiples of segments in the profiles/rails - although uneven segmentation will work, uneven 'meshes' can result as the unevenness is ironed out...

:?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby DIEGO-RODRIGUEZ » Tue Mar 30, 2010 4:34 pm

Tig.
a query.
Why? When the Rails have different number of segments in the rail less divisive segments of different lengths

could divide the rail in lengths equal?

0

DIEGO-RODRIGUEZ 
Banned
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:07 pm

Because rails are curves and these have segments if you give them the same number of segments then they are an even mesh, but if you don't the script tries to even out the mesh as much as possible: so 12+12 is fine [12 ribs], but 12+13 means that we need to squeeze an extra one into the 12 set [13 ribs]. We must run from node to node, we can't spring from a random point along a segment ? The sure way to even up unmatched rails would be to multiply the segments together - e.g 12x13=156 ribs - far too many !!!
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby DIEGO-RODRIGUEZ » Tue Mar 30, 2010 5:22 pm

I have tried.
and note that using multiples of the number of segments. for example
Rails1 12segment and Rails2 24segmen
Rails1 12segment and Rails2 36segmen
Rails1 12segment and Rails2 48segmen
divisions that are generated in the mesh are equal.

however if we use number of segments that are not multiples.
divisions that are generated in the mesh are not equal.
----------------------------------------------------------------
could enter the number of divisions after selecting the rails and profiles?
could preview a mesh phantom, similar to extrudelathe. and create changes in the number of divisions of the rails and profiles?
0

DIEGO-RODRIGUEZ 
Banned
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby broomstick » Wed Mar 31, 2010 12:26 pm

YOU THE MAN TIG!!

First attempt: 30 seconds of calculation!!


Same structure, using extrude edges by rails to do the panes!!


Is it magic? I think it is!!
0
User avatar
broomstick 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby simon le bon » Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:31 pm

Does somebody have already thought of that fantastic kind of Eebrbf possibilities ?



In order to achieve the left figure: -> ->


;) ;) simon
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby pilou » Fri Apr 16, 2010 5:49 pm

And at the end you can now rotate each "lines volumes" between them! ;)

For the pleasure of the eyes :enlight:
A geometric study by Cristobal Vila
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby simon le bon » Fri Apr 16, 2010 7:04 pm

Hi Pilou,
Isfahan is a pure Gem (as you sometimes like to say) It would deserve a dedicated thread IMO.
(I would like to know what softs Cristobal Vila had used.)

Pilou wrote:And at the end you can now rotate each "lines volumes" between them! ;)


Can you please explain further. I don't understand what you mean. What you say let me think I have missed an important enhancement.. :?:

A remark for TIG:
Here and there, the process make Su krashes whith the following message: BUG SPLAT RC _ RESOURCE DLL NOT FOUND
Is there some manipulations to avoid?

*simon
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby pilou » Fri Apr 16, 2010 7:14 pm

It would deserve a dedicated thread IMO.

I believe that it's yet exist somewhere in this forum ;)

Cristobal uses in general Electric Image! It's a big fan of it ;)

I don't understand what you mean. What you say let me think I have missed an important enhancement.

You absolutly no missed something :)
Is just that your final example is some "Flat"
So if you take each form you can rotate it ;)

rotate.png
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby simon le bon » Fri Apr 16, 2010 8:57 pm

Electric Image Animation System v8.0 EIAS 8 full version $895.00

8-) not for me dear Pilou

Pilou wrote:You absolutly no missed something :)

Oh! I see! ;)

In my mind that wasn't really an "exemple" to show but a potential to point out. ->How can we obtain else way a regular evolution of a curve from a shape to another in SU without any calculation? I see plenty of possible applications in architecture..
-> the other possibility offers a great time saving in building fences, trellis, framework...

Here is a quick rather poor exemple






:? s
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby pilou » Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:12 pm

yes you have also the 2 faces + path who give the evolution of a curve/ surface ;)

0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby simon le bon » Fri Apr 16, 2010 9:24 pm

Kirill 2 faces + path exact, exact :thumb:
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby simon le bon » Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:16 pm

I pursued my idea with : "La jolie petite fontaine"



*s
0
User avatar
simon le bon 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby Morphing_24 » Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:07 am

Hey TIG
I have just downloaded this plugin and I tried to find an answer here if there is always a default number of ribs . Everytime, I find that there are always 21 ribs and I have no idea how to change it. How can I do it??
thanks
0

Morphing_24 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 13, 2010 12:11 am

That number depends on the segments in the "rail/profiles's" curve - so add/subtract segments to change that...
Your 'rail/profile' must have 20 segments >> 21 "ends" ???
:roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby Morphing_24 » Tue Jul 13, 2010 4:35 am

thanks, problem solved :D
But now i have one problem and another question.
I use a macbook pro and this only happens on mac not on the PC generally. The problem is that whenever I try to use the extrude edges by rail by face, and most of the time after I choose profiles and rails it crashes and the crashDialogHeader appears . What do you think it might be??
And the other question is if the number of ribs depend on the segments, I made a curve using the line tool but it looks really edgy, and if I draw a line with the bezier tool, how can I control the number of ribs using this tool and at the same time keeping it smooth?
Thanks in advance
0

Morphing_24 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Tue Jul 13, 2010 11:41 am

The Bezier tool has an Edit option on its toolbar - so use that to change the number of segments in a curve - it's similar to how you can change the segmentation of an Arc in 'Entity Info'.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby charly2008 » Sat Jul 17, 2010 2:12 pm

Hi TIG,

I find your EEbyFace is very suitable for the construction of Gothic vaults. But one problem I have! How can I predetermine the orientation of the final Profile exactly? So far I have turned the initial profile until I accidentally had the desired direction. Is there a simpler solution?

Charly
0
He who makes no mistakes, makes nothing
User avatar
charly2008 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Sun Jul 18, 2010 10:34 pm

When you draw the 'Profile' face flat on the ground its Y [green] axis is used as the Z up axis of the extrusion. If this extrusion starts flat it is kept at Y [?] :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby joebamber » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:33 pm

TIG - the other extrusion tools are awesome and i now use them as much as i can,

But the Extrusion by Rail by Face; just has never worked for me, i've included pictures for you to understand...

It always says i haven't selected the face and so wont extrude them across either rails or profiles (though as you can see, i defintly did select it),

I have a MAC pro with sketchup 7 - and on bootcamp in both MAC and PC worlds i get this trouble... :cry:
0

joebamber 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:21 pm

It's because your selected Face isn't made 'FLAT' - i.e. it must line flat on the ground, and its Y [green] axis will be taken as the 'UP' direction when extruding it. It doesn't matter if it faces up or down the tool assumes it's facing up anyway!
Just rotate it about an edge so it's 'flat' on the ground.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby stefx » Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:25 pm

Hi TIG,
I use a MacBook too and I have the same problem of Morphin_24....have you got any idea to solve that?
Thank you very much.

Stef.
0

stefx 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:36 pm

stefx

You can control the number of points in a Bezier curve - as explained in my earlier response.
Can you give any more info or an example SKP with a failing set of curves ?
PM or posted :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby stefx » Thu Aug 26, 2010 9:00 pm

It is a simple bunch of curves....could you explain how i can manage the segments with the bezier curves?
thank you very much.

Stef.
0

stefx 
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby TIG » Thu Aug 26, 2010 11:18 pm

You don't have Beziers :? They are 'Arcs' and you need to use the built-in tool 'Entity Info' to manage those. They have 12 segments which is reasonable. Reduce the face's size/shape to get 'bars' formed...
See this illustration for more details
Capture.PNG
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Extrude Edges by Rails by Face

Postby shoeb_cars » Fri Aug 27, 2010 3:55 am

:sketchstatic: you are like right outta a scifi movie mahnnn....awesome
RESPECT +++

consider me ur fan... :enlight:
0

shoeb_cars 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

Visit our sponsors: