[Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Full Set

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby Rich O Brien » Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:31 am

That suggests an incorrect installation. Read the Installing plugins sticky...

viewtopic.php?f=323&t=35746
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby christopher shaw » Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:51 am

Rich O Brien wrote:That suggests an incorrect installation. Read the Installing plugins sticky...

viewtopic.php?f=323&t=35746

Ive had a look through the instructions and im stuck almost instantly in that i dont have a plugins folder. Ive searched "computer" for all google sketchup 8 associated files and it only comes up with the .exe file. I have this version of pro through my university and im wondering if that has limited the capabilities? Im not very good with computers sorry, and thanks for the help once again
Chris
0

christopher shaw 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby christopher shaw » Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:09 am

christopher shaw wrote:
Rich O Brien wrote:That suggests an incorrect installation. Read the Installing plugins sticky...

viewtopic.php?f=323&t=35746

Ive had a look through the instructions and im stuck almost instantly in that i dont have a plugins folder. Ive searched "computer" for all google sketchup 8 associated files and it only comes up with the .exe file. I have this version of pro through my university and im wondering if that has limited the capabilities? Im not very good with computers sorry, and thanks for the help once again
Chris

I have just craked it with your help. I had to go through program files to find google files and inside was the sketchup files and plugins folder. Bemused why none of these would present themselves in a simple search :/
Rich many thanks for the help
Chris
0

christopher shaw 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby Dave R » Thu Dec 20, 2012 2:12 am

Which version of Windows are you using? There must be a Plugins folder or you wouldn't find cost in the Plugins menu. You must have some settings made that either don't allow the Plugins folder to be shown or you are looking in the wrong place. Do you have administrative rights on your machines?

Edit: you shouldn't need to run a search for the folder since the path was given.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:27 am

Search and ye shall find...

Not withstanding that the Plugins folder path for PC and MACs is given in many posts...
Why didn't you search your computer for 'Plugins' ?
That'd be far more obvious... :?
When I do that search on my computer I get 36 hits on folders named 'Plugins'!
Of course only one matches 'Sketchup 8'...
AND I have a lot of other apps !
:roll:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby christopher shaw » Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:41 pm

TIG wrote:
Search and ye shall find...

Not withstanding that the Plugins folder path for PC and MACs is given in many posts...
Why didn't you search your computer for 'Plugins' ?
That'd be far more obvious... :?
When I do that search on my computer I get 36 hits on folders named 'Plugins'!
Of course only one matches 'Sketchup 8'...
AND I have a lot of other apps !
:roll:

Hi guys, thats precisely what im getting at. Im using vista and when i click on start at the bottom left and type plugins into the search bar, it doesn't find the plugins folder. In fact it doesn't return any results for plugins (should return results for plugins for ArchiCAD, autoCAD, firefox etc, all installed). Which is bizarre as when i search for other items (folders, pictures, files) from time to time i have no problem locating them with a search of the computer. Apologies, im quite amateurish when it comes to this kind of thing, but thanks for the help
Chris
0

christopher shaw 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby Dave R » Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:47 pm

Perhaps you have some security setting that prevents the folder from showing? I just ran a search on my XP machine's C:\ and it turned up the Plugins folder for SketchUp and a number of other applications in seconds.

Try searching for Materials or Styles. Do those turn up?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:51 pm

A 'Start' bar's 'Search' will probably start looking in the "User"'s own folder-tree, so it finds things in your Documents, Pictures etc... but it won't find anything useful with 'plugins'; BUT if you open 'My Computer', change to the 'C:' drive and then 'Search' in the top-bar of that window for 'plugins' you'll get hits, because then it's looking through all files/folders on that drive - not limiting itself to your "User" folders...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby christopher shaw » Thu Dec 20, 2012 9:39 pm

I have gone to the OS(C): drive and searched that and i have found all the plugin folders now. Thank you all for the help, its much appreciated.

On another note, the reason i wanted the extrude plugin was to draw up some galvanised steel tube gates for a patent application. I had drawn the gate with the line tool and was having trouble getting the follow me tool to cross other tube sections. I noticed a youtube video with the extrude tool in operation and it looked as though it would solve all my problems. But ive struggled with it. Lets say ive drawn a waffle with just lines and i want to turn the lines into 40mm diameter tube (solid tube is fine for this purpose) is it possible to select the entire waffle and use the extrude tool to turn all the lines into tube, perfecting all the junctions?
Thanks
Chris
0

christopher shaw 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby TIG » Thu Dec 20, 2012 11:22 pm

There's nothing that I know of that does what you want :(
Didier Bur has a "lines to tubes" tool [ viewtopic.php?p=88592#p88592 ] that'll make all of the selected edges into tubes.
You can then Intersect them to make edges around their intersections... BUT the trimming of them to each other needs manual labor.
As the innards are unlikely to be seen then that might not be as issue [remember that 'Sufficient is fit.'].
Also if there are several repeated elements then these can be copied across, rather than made individually...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby christopher shaw » Fri Dec 21, 2012 1:02 am

TIG wrote:There's nothing that I know of that does what you want :(
Didier Bur has a "lines to tubes" tool [ viewtopic.php?p=88592#p88592 ] that'll make all of the selected edges into tubes.
You can then Intersect them to make edges around their intersections... BUT the trimming of them to each other needs manual labor.
As the innards are unlikely to be seen then that might not be as issue [remember that 'Sufficient is fit.'].
Also if there are several repeated elements then these can be copied across, rather than made individually...

Thanks for that TIG, its done what i needed to do just fine. As you say the corners just need a little tweaking but nothing to serious. Again many thanks for the help, this has saved me quite a few headaches :)
Chris

Ps. Who do the donations go to? The writer of the plugin?
0

christopher shaw 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby amasleong » Sun Dec 30, 2012 4:13 pm

Hi Anyone can advice..I Am New to this ( ExtrudeTools) Plug-in....After Unzip..they is a TIGtools folder, So i just Over-write the Existing TIGtools in side the Plugins folder right?? any update i need to do??

After Over-Write into the Plug-in folder......No Toolbar icon at all.... :o :o :o
do i miss something...Any Pro User can advice??
0

amasleong 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby TIG » Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:09 pm

amasleong wrote:Hi Anyone can advice..I Am New to this ( ExtrudeTools) Plug-in....After Unzip..they is a TIGtools folder, So i just Over-write the Existing TIGtools in side the Plugins folder right?? any update i need to do??

After Over-Write into the Plug-in folder......No Toolbar icon at all.... :o :o :o
do i miss something...Any Pro User can advice??
IN reverse order...

There is no difference between Free and Pro for these tools.

Some other tools share my TIGtools folder to house their various support files...
You should not 'overwrite' that folder, but when given the choice you should 'merge' its contents with the existing contents [overwriting any existing stuff], so that the tools' new files, now within that subfolder are accessible to it.
After a restart of Sketchup this toolset should appear under the correct menu item, as noted in the tools' notes.
Its toolbar might need a one-off activation from the View > Toolbars menu...
Check that the new files AND any files within the subfolder are in the exact relative relationships in the Plugins folder, when compared to the ZIP file itself...
Also check you have FULL security permissions to the 'Plugins' folder itself - select its icon, context-menu and Properties > Security > Edit... and that these settings also apply to any files/subfolders/etc with that folder.
If in doubt try removing any new files that you've just added and get thomthom's Simple Plugins Installer [v8] and use that to install everything from the ZIP archive itself...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby hanane90 » Sat Jan 12, 2013 7:41 pm

pleaz i need help , I instaled the pluging but it dosent work on sketchup :$
0

hanane90 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby Dave R » Sat Jan 12, 2013 8:52 pm

hanane90 wrote:pleaz i need help , I instaled the pluging but it dosent work on sketchup :$


The most common problem when this plugin set doesn't work is that it hasn't been installed correctly. This has been explained repeatedly in this thread. Please review it. You'll find the help you need.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby thomthom » Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:37 pm

I think we should re-release the plugins as RBZ files to encourage people to use the Install Extension feature in SketchUp.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby TIG » Sat Jan 12, 2013 9:59 pm

@TT
I agree, OR at least get them to use your 'Simple Plugins Installer'...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby thomthom » Sat Jan 12, 2013 10:03 pm

TIG wrote:@TT
I agree, OR at least get them to use your 'Simple Plugins Installer'...

I don't think we can get anyone to do anything. Except by making the packages RBZ files - that should make most people not just unzip the files randomly.

I can see another issue, a horde of questions on what to do with RBZ files. But I think that's the lesser evil as incorrect unzipping can cause errors which is harder to recover and detect. We can just reply with a simple link to a step by step thread for installing RBZ files.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby polys90 » Fri Jan 18, 2013 4:44 pm

how do i download the zip folder?
0

polys90 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby Dave R » Fri Jan 18, 2013 8:06 pm

It's in the first post of this thread. Click on it and it should download to your computer.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby bektaş » Sun Jan 20, 2013 2:24 pm

thank you
0

bektaş 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby erjenprins » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:04 am

I can't find the zipfile, is it gone?
0

erjenprins 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby Dave R » Fri Mar 01, 2013 2:58 am

erjenprins wrote:I can't find the zipfile, is it gone?


Really? Look at the first post in the thread?

link1.png


link2.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby imabzeous » Mon Mar 11, 2013 12:44 pm

I just dont know why will this happen to me and till when will it continue..... whenever i use any of extrude tool my sketchup crashes.. no matter what.. i use simple arc, i use bezier script... i make new files.. i work in older... but it will crash... it will work well will ask for all the options, reverse faces, erase faces etc.. but after tha it will crash :knockout: so please please if anybody can help me out
0

imabzeous 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:11 pm

imabzeous wrote:I just dont know why will this happen to me and till when will it continue..... whenever i use any of extrude tool my sketchup crashes.. no matter what.. i use simple arc, i use bezier script... i make new files.. i work in older... but it will crash... it will work well will ask for all the options, reverse faces, erase faces etc.. but after tha it will crash :knockout: so please please if anybody can help me out
What other complex tools do you have loaded when using the EEby... tools?
A few are known to change native-API methods, or have observers which are clumsily made and cause splats with innocent tools; when, like this one, they are adding groups etc...
Is it a 'hang' [white-screen/unresponsive but it will complete given time] or a full 'Bugsplat' crash where Sketchup closes...
Are there any messages in the Ruby Console ?
Try disabling any other tools that you might suspect [temporarily move their .rb files out of the Plugins folder, adding them back [in steps] and restarting Sketchup until you have found the culprit[s]].
There is a list on SCF of 'quarantined' scripts that are known to cause problems [like the old-version of Sketchy Physics etc]. Some recent 'BIM' tools are also known to add observers that can make big trouble even when they are not running, because their observers are always 'watching' and causing issues for others...
A screenshot of any messages and/or the Plugins folder would help fix the issue, which I suspect isn't EEby... but other things interacting with it...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby imabzeous » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:23 pm

Thanks a lot for your quick reply TIG.... i don't have many complex tools... the only one i can think of is power tool... but i remember this happened before too... and i have installed this tool recently....

here is a screenshot of my plugin folder... Bezier line script was installed after my first comment .. i thought may be there is some issue with native arc or its not welded so i decided to use that .. but it also didn't work.....

there aren't too many complex tools... but i will do and install a fresh copy...

but if you can suggest that which script is creating the problem...

and its full 'Bugsplat' crash ... like i run the script its running and suddenly it closes and sketchup ask for the crash report..
0

imabzeous 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:36 pm

Most of them look OK, a few I am unfamiliar with...
So first try disabling the PowerBar tool rb file, restart and retest EEby...
[make a temporary 'Disabled' folder inside the Plugins folder, and move them into it]
You also have a number of Renderer tools loading, perhaps disabling some of those would help...
Otherwise disable ~half of the other rb files, restart and retest EEby...
If it still splats you know it's an issue with one of those rb files that are in Plugins so disable ~half of those etc and retest.
This way you can quickly zoom in on the clashing script.
If the issue stops after disabling some files you know the culprit is in the moved set, so reverse the move of ~half and again zoom in on the culprit...
You only have about 40 rb files to test [and most of those look innocent enough] so dong things 'by halves', that's 40 >> 20 >> 10 >> 5 >> 3 >> 1
That's a maximum of ~5 steps to test all of them, but you're likely to find the issue much quicker...
Let us know it you find the problem... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby thomthom » Mon Mar 11, 2013 1:41 pm

Try to disable the render engines. They can often lead to crashes - especially if you have multiple loaded at the same time.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby zxinfinity » Mon Mar 11, 2013 3:27 pm

I know that podium doesn't play well with others. I'd start with that, I had the same issue with podium.
0

zxinfinity 
 

Re: [Plugin] ExtrudeTools - Zipped Set 20111207

Postby Box » Fri Mar 22, 2013 2:26 pm

HI Tig just a quick question.
Is it possible to set defaults for the various popups at the end?

For example I use EEBR quite often to create several sections and often the answers, no, yes,yes,no,yes,no will be the same for the next however many pieces I have.

As this wing shape has 7 sections it means a lot of clicking.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], tommyskc, YourMainMan and 52 guests

Visit our sponsors: