[Plugin] SectionCutFace

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby bmike » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:19 pm

Submitted multiple more bug splats, the latest was Crash Report #7933
0
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby bmike » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:23 pm

Crash Report #7935
0
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby bmike » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:43 pm

OK - I think I have isolated the issue, am testing now.

If I run the plugin to create a new scene from a scene that uses a style where 'Section Planes' has not been updated or refreshed - SU crashes.

Done this twice now in a row. Will test more.

If I run the plugin in a scene with a style that I have not altered (like turned the section planes on so I can see them, to create the new cut) - then it works consistently.
0
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Rich O Brien » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:48 pm

A guaranteed way to Splat is to Remake Section when you section is hiding all content.
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby bmike » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:52 pm

OK - I think I have isolated the issue, am testing now.

If I run the plugin to create a new scene from a scene that uses a style where 'Section Planes' has not been updated or refreshed - SU crashes.

Done this twice now in a row. Will test more.

If I run the plugin in a scene with a style that I have not altered (like turned the section planes on so I can see them, to create the new cut) - then it works consistently.

OK - This appears to be the case - if any change is made to the style of the current scene (like turn section planes on or off) - if you don't refresh the style when SectionCutFace tries to make a new scene it crashes.

I have tested this by altering edges, not refreshing and getting a crash, as well as only toggling the Section Plane on and off (for visibility) - and it crashes if I do not update the style before running the plugin.
1
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby bmike » Fri Jan 13, 2017 9:53 pm

Rich O Brien wrote:A guaranteed way to Splat is to Remake Section when you section is hiding all content.


I'm trying to make new...

See below - I think I have isolated what is happening - its related to styles...
0
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Sat Jan 14, 2017 3:29 pm

Can we keep the posts on this in the one place - here...
Having other posts at SketchUp.com is confusing - although their team's comments on your BugSplats might be helpful...

Can you provide a simple model with Styles etc that shows this behavior...
ZIP it and PM if you don't want it 'public'...
If it's too big to attach use a file sharing site and PM me a link...
Also some step by step instructions on how to make the splats would be most helpful...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby bmike » Sat Jan 14, 2017 3:57 pm

TIG wrote:Can we keep the posts on this in the one place - here...
Having other posts at SketchUp.com is confusing - although their team's comments on your BugSplats might be helpful...

Can you provide a simple model with Styles etc that shows this behavior...
ZIP it and PM if you don't want it 'public'...
If it's too big to attach use a file sharing site and PM me a link...
Also some step by step instructions on how to make the splats would be most helpful...


I can... later today.


2 issues that I have posted about -

1. - Is the layer behavior a bug or feature?

Video:
https://youtu.be/v9GZJrM7Jvo

I am getting the layer turned on in the scene I start from, when I believe it should only be on in the new scene that SCF creates.

2. the crashes - it crashes just with 2 boxes on the screen, and I believe this is connected to having a new scene created that is using a style that has been altered, but not refreshed.
0
User avatar
bmike 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Tue Jan 31, 2017 2:18 pm

Here's v6.1

Download


New FR strings file added [thanks to @mariocha].
Re-signed for full v2017 compatibility.

Haven't yet got to the bottom of the @bmike reported issues.
Watch this space...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby victor hugo » Tue Jan 31, 2017 10:24 pm

TIG.

I upgraded SectionCutFace using extension store, the previous version was working fine and with this upgrade to 6.1 when I want to create a section I don't get the prameters window.

Any clues why this doe not appear.

Thanks
0

victor hugo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:02 am

I see this too - most perplexing...
COMPO seems to be mistranslated in the strings file...
Bear with me...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:26 am

Thanks for the error report...
Here's v6.2

Download


The glitch with the COMP constant - i.e the incrementing SCUT name in all strings has been fixed.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby mcmillancabinet » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:51 am

I just installed SectionCutFace. I get the context menu "Add SectionCut Face" but right-clicking it does nothing, other than closing the context menu. There is no dialog box to specify the paramenters, and no section cut face is generated.

After right-clicking, the following is added to the Ruby console:

Error: #<NameError: uninitialized constant TIG::SectionCutFace::COMPO>
c:/users/dave/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2017/sketchup/plugins/sectioncutface/sectioncutface_code.rbs:1030:in `dialog'
c:/users/dave/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2017/sketchup/plugins/sectioncutface/sectioncutface_code.rbs:96:in `new'
c:/users/dave/appdata/roaming/sketchup/sketchup 2017/sketchup/plugins/sectioncutface/sectioncutface_start.rbs:61:in `block (2 levels) in <module:SectionCutFace>'
SketchUp:1:in `call'

Other info: I am running Pro 17.1.174 64-bit on Windows 7. The plugin was installed using the Sketchucation ExtensionStore interface.
0

mcmillancabinet 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Dave R » Wed Feb 01, 2017 12:58 am

I get the context menu "Add SectionCut Face" but right-clicking it does nothing, other than closing the context menu.


You're not supposed to right click on Add SectionCut Face. You're supposed to left click on it.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Wed Feb 01, 2017 1:12 am

Irrespective of that... did you download/install the latest update v6.2 ?
viewtopic.php?p=613140#p613140
It fixes this issue...
It was posted in within the last hour or so...
I expect your download and problem overlapped with this update...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby mcmillancabinet » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:02 pm

Sorry, Dave R, I worded that poorly. I don't right-click the context menu item. Rather, I right-click the section cut to bring up the context menu, from which I left-click the "Add SectionCut Face" item.

Thank you, TIG. The version is 6.1. I must have just missed 6.2. However, the "Update" button for Add SectionCut Face in Extension Manager is inactive. I will try uninstalling and reinstalling.
0

mcmillancabinet 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Rich O Brien » Wed Feb 01, 2017 4:14 pm

mcmillancabinet wrote:I must have just missed 6.2. However, the "Update" button for Add SectionCut Face in Extension Manager is inactive. I will try uninstalling and reinstalling.


The Update button in SketchUp's Extension only applies to Extension Warehouse installs. You need to update using our ExtensionStore in SketchUcation Tools v3
0
There's a frontroom and a backroom....reverse faces
User avatar
Rich O Brien 
Administrator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby mcmillancabinet » Wed Feb 01, 2017 5:14 pm

That did the trick, TIG. Thanks!

Looking back on this thread, I see some discussion about problems dimensioning in Layout. IE, with cut face edges hidden (as is the default), the dimensions have nothing to snap to. The proposed solution was to turn the edges on. But now this can cause problems with the new associative dimension feature, because if/when section cut faces are remade, any dimensions snapped to them "break," and stop keeping up with changes in the geometry like they're supposed to. To keep the dimensions associative, they must be snapped to the actual geometry "below" the cut face. To do this, I think, requires turning the cut faces off during dimensioning.
0

mcmillancabinet 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby ArchiNector » Sun Feb 05, 2017 4:45 pm

Hey,

So I've tried pretty much every for Section Cut Face and I cannot get it to work or render at all.

1. I start simple with a square
2. Section plane and get it to a good spot
3. Right click Add Section Cut Face
4. I don't mess with the setting and keep going
5. Render and nothing happens, the render does not cut!


I've seen videos and read the comments when its not working and I don't seem to find the reason why.
I installed it through preference and I've checked my folder and even seeing under both scenes and styles windows!


Thank you
0

ArchiNector 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Dave R » Sun Feb 05, 2017 8:59 pm

It's nothing to do with this tool. Most renderers don't render section cuts. You could use Zorro to make a real cut on a section plane to get it to show in the render.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Sun Feb 05, 2017 9:05 pm

Virtually all renderers don't render SketchUp's section cuts [at least without some forethought and jiggery-pokery], but they should always render the SectionCutFace group's faces...
What is your renderer ?

I can't see all of the details in your composite-image.
However, it seems that the SketchUp model's SectionCutFace is working fine.
It's just the rendered image that looks screwed ?
A 'white' section...

Can you post an image of the model - but ensure it's View > Monochrome mode and that your current Style has back-faces set to a distinctive color - like blue...
It should not show 'blue' - the visible faces should be the default front-face color [off-white], i.e. the one used by SectionCutFace - e.g. 'Black' when displayed with its material ??

You could also attach a simple SKP for us to look at too...
[even better]...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby ArchiNector » Mon Feb 06, 2017 1:12 am

TIG wrote:Virtually all renderers don't render SketchUp's section cuts [at least without some forethought and jiggery-pokery], but they should always render the SectionCutFace group's faces...
What is your renderer ?

I can't see all of the details in your composite-image.
However, it seems that the SketchUp model's SectionCutFace is working fine.
It's just the rendered image that looks screwed ?
A 'white' section...

Can you post an image of the model - but ensure it's View > Monochrome mode and that your current Style has back-faces set to a distinctive color - like blue...
It should not show 'blue' - the visible faces should be the default front-face color [off-white], i.e. the one used by SectionCutFace - e.g. 'Black' when displayed with its material ??

You could also attach a simple SKP for us to look at too...
[even better]...


Sure thing! It's been driving me nuts. I use Vray. I decided to try a test run because it was not working on an actual model.
0

ArchiNector 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:19 pm

SCF cuts and faces fine.

But, there's a but, a big but... there are very few renderers which accept a section-cut from SketchUp and then render it.
Instead the section-cut is ignored and the original uncut form is rendered.
In your case the SCF's section-cut-face-group is slightly within that form so you will no longer see it when it's renderer.

I wrote an add-on for Podium which allows that renderer to render section-cuts and their faces.
It makes a copy of the model, cuts the model at the section-plane and deletes the unseen part, it then adds the section-cut-face.
You can then render that to show a true section-cut.
But I don't think there's anything similar for Vray.

It can be done manually...
Can copy the model, then use Zorro2 [in the PluginStore] to cut that copy at the chosen section-plane and then use SCF to add the 'solid' face you desire.
Then render it...

Revert to the original model to continue working because the copy will now only have the entities 'behind' the section-plane - the reset are deleted.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby ArchiNector » Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:40 pm

Thank you TIG, I'll give it a try.

I've never use zorro but as long as it works I'll adjust
0

ArchiNector 
 

problems with section cutface

Postby Jvenning » Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:01 am

Does anyone have any idea why section cutface works so badly on my model. I have imported it into a designated skp file especially for taking sections to export to layout and many of the walls of the house are not being recognised leaving solid black faces throughout the rooms. Is it because the different elements (walls, floors etc) are grouped? If so is there a way around this without exploding the model.
0

Jvenning 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Thu Mar 23, 2017 12:19 am

I moved this post into this plugin's main thread, where it might get noticed.
SCF cannot take into account every users foibles.
It tries to determine what cut outlines are solid, and which are voids.
It doesn't always succeed.
If you are having problems I suggest you set it to keep all edges - even unfaced ones - all edges to be visible, and unlocked.
Then you can reform missing faces etc as needed by editing the SCF group.

I doubt that the $$ Skalp can consistently produce filled in cross-sections - as there are so many variables resulting from overlapping forms etc as to render it all be impossible...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby JQL » Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:10 am

From my experience with SectionCutFace, it only fails when I fail.

It's way better at generating faces with closed loops than Sketchup native face generation algorithm.

However, it requires perfect models to work flawlessly (if that's the case even skalp would work). For instance, if two faces of an apparent volume aren't touching each other it won't generate the Section Cut Face.

The problem is that I can't model flawlessly. It's no good, it's basically impossible to do it with my workflow. So I carry another tool when working with Section Cut Face: edgetools2, from Thomthom.

You have to follow Tig's settings suggestions and some more (I edited the rb file Tig created specifically to make changes to the default settings):

Capturar.JPG


  1. Color default: allows you to see the face and paint it at will by painting the group
  2. Keep all edges: allows for objects that don't have thickness to generate a section cut line instead of a face
  3. Hide edges: allows you to hide the edges that are generated between the intersection of the model with the section cut face. (Important: These should be the edges that make the SectionCutFace perimeter so these are certainly the cause for the face generation to fail).
  4. Lock: This locks the Section Cut Face group so you can't manually edit it. You should unlock it.
  5. Auto-Update: If a section moves this regenerates the section. I NEVER use auto-update as I use Section Cut Faces to draw and hatch details. I cannot risk loosing them. I don't mind using an update on demand though, for when I'm still not at detail stage.
  6. Layer: Is the Section Cut Face group´s layer. Fundamental to organize your scenes.
  7. Naming: This is if you want to follow a naming convention.
  8. Scene Visibility: Helps you control in which scenes Section Cut Face's Layer is visible.

The most important is that you are able to edit the group (unlock it) and see the edges (don't hide them)

If your section cut face fails to generate the correct face you edit the group, use the inspect tool from Edgetools2 and it will display automatically gaps in the perimeter and loose edges that interfere with face generation.

If these happen your model is poorly modeled (no worries, as I said it happens to me everytime). You just have to either fix the model, which can be tiresome, or simply, fix the perimeter edges, sometimes automatically through the use of Edgetools 2.

Then you can generate the Section Cut Face, either through tracing an edge along the perimeter, or using a face generation plugin.

The only situation where Section Cut Face always misses consistently is that it generates a line on the hole of a face if that hole is created by a holecutting component. It's a shame, but understandable as, by what Tig explained, that hole is just a display effect, not a true geometric hole.

It would be cool if this could be perfect though. But as it is, Section Cut Face is THE plugin that made me change from CAD to Sketchup. It's probably the most important plugin I have in my toolset.
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby W56DU » Sat Jun 24, 2017 3:22 pm

It is highly anticipated that you can add a selection area to modify the profile in the next release.
0

W56DU 
 

SectionCutFace for SU Pro 2013

Postby dontransanjose » Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:35 am

Hi TIG,

How may I get SectionCutFace for SU Pro 2013? I try versions 6.1 and 6.2 getting error "can't convert nil into String". I try version 2.3 failing all my other installed plugins.

Thank you very much.
dontransanjose@yahoo.com.
0

dontransanjose 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 04, 2017 12:43 pm

Can you copy paste the full error message, so I can see the line-numbers etc...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andredjs, Fq, Google Bot, iremars, Rafinha designer, yh05376 and 8 guests

Visit our sponsors: