[Plugin] SectionCutFace

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby atelierpaar » Mon Mar 12, 2018 1:43 pm

Hi TIG, thanks for this great tool which I use quite often.
I guess we all spend most of our time changing/altering.
Unfortunately the setting"automatic update" slows my System down tremendously.
Would it be possible to update the section cut on demand ?
That would be really helpful.
Thanks for looking into it
Uli
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 12, 2018 2:21 pm

There are three 'Auto-Update' drop-down options in the dialog which opens after you choose 'Add' SCF.

The default option 'No' initially faces the section-cut. and after that no updating will occur - best if you intend to manually edit it later.

The 'On Demand' option updates the section-cut faces, if you use the 'Remake...' context-menu item later - this effectively redraws it afresh, so any manual changes you might have made to it will be lost.

The 'Yes' option is only recommended on small models, because it constantly Auto-updates the section-cut faces whenever the model changes, it will slow you down considerably.

If you have made an Auto-updating section-cut face, and now you want to downgrade it to a on-demand or unchanging version, then you just need to use the context-menu again to 'Add' a new SCF to that section-plane, and choose an alternative option in the dialog: if you choose 'On Demand', then when you select that section-plane later on the 'Remake...' context-menu item will become available to update it then...

Each section-plane can only have one associated SCF at any one time, so replacing one 'type' with another, by re-adding and choosing any desired options or other settings is relatively straightforward...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby atelierpaar » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:29 pm

Hi TIG,
thanks for your great help.
This will make thinks a whole lot easier.
I Understand that manual changes are lost - it happens quite often that my model isn't quiet the way it should be, and so I have to fix some geometry.
On the other hand, it would be nice, if changes of materials/colors could stay as they are.
Impossible ?
Thanks for looking into it.
Uli
0
User avatar
atelierpaar 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:36 pm

Unfortunately until 'you' invent a way of determining what material applies to what faces, it becomes untenable.
There might be fewer or more faces after the section is updated, so what material do they get etc etc...

There are paid [quite inexpensive] Extensions - of them all, I would recommend Skalp.
It will do far more - but then even that might not achieve what you hope for, every time !
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby pbacot » Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:51 pm

Doors and windows.

How do you construct a door and window in walls and get Section Cut face to leave the inside of the room empty. If I apply a face-cutting door component to the outer skin and leave the inner skin, the room is clear of the section cut face, but the section of the door looks wrong, with the inner wall skin. I've tried making an inner wall jamb cutting element. This looks correct in the model but Add Section Cut face fills the room.

I have applied a cutting element to both faces which represents the skins of the door element.-- a cutting component the inside skin of the door and frame, and another for the outside skin, but this is a very complicated procedure, just to get this to work (Obviating the usefulness of the feature)

Is it a matter of exact detail of the door profile or component construction, or a straight forward procedure to make it work.?
0
MacOSX Mojave High Sierra SketchUp Pro v19 Twilight v2 Thea v2 PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby pbacot » Sun Apr 08, 2018 9:57 pm

Doors and windows.

How do you construct a door and window in walls and get Section Cut face to leave the inside of the room empty. If I apply a face-cutting door component to the outer skin and leave the inner skin, the room is clear of the section cut face, but the section of the door looks wrong, with the inner wall skin. I've tried making an inner wall jamb cutting element. This looks correct in the model but Add Section Cut face fills the room.


Is it a matter of exact detail of the door profile or component construction, or a straight forward procedure to make it work.?
0
MacOSX Mojave High Sierra SketchUp Pro v19 Twilight v2 Thea v2 PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby mughal » Sun Apr 29, 2018 8:51 am

Hi!
i am using sketchup pro 2017 and i want to TIG sectioncutface and cutnfill
are these plugins are available?
Thanks
0

mughal 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Dave R » Sun Apr 29, 2018 4:07 pm

mughal wrote:Hi!
i am using sketchup pro 2017 and i want to TIG sectioncutface and cutnfill
are these plugins are available?
Thanks


Look in the PluginStore available at the top of this page.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby mughal » Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:30 am

Hi!
:thumb: Thanks
0

mughal 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby djo » Tue May 08, 2018 4:55 pm

bmike WROTE:

OK - This appears to be the case - if any change is made to the style of the current scene (like turn section planes on or off) - if you don't refresh the style when SectionCutFace tries to make a new scene it crashes.

THANKS Bmike, that fixed my annoying problem this morning! I also found that you can make or remake section cut face in the outliner. That avoid re-updating your scenes.
0

djo 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby mbieniu1 » Sat Apr 20, 2019 2:57 pm

Hello TIG
It seams your plugin doesnt work on Sketchup 2019
Can you check that out?
Regards
Michal
0

mbieniu1 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Dave R » Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:05 pm

It works just fine for me on SketchUp 2019.

What exactly doesn't work for you?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Sat Apr 20, 2019 3:20 pm

As DaveR says, v6.2 [available from the PluginStore] works just fine in ALL presently supported versions of SketchUp.
It is also fully signed for compatibility with all Extension Loading Policies.

When you say "it doesn't work" what happens ?
Your comment is far too cryptic.
Have you read and understood its usage-instructions ?

This tool has neither main-menu items nor a toolbar - it only appears in the right-click context-menu if you have one Section-Plane selected - and there are then various options depending on whether or not it has a cut, and if so, what its 'type' is etc...

If it's not a matter of "PEBCAK" then please give us better details so we can help you further...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby espar » Sun Jun 02, 2019 9:08 pm

My extension manager shows it as installed, but I can't seem to find the tools to actually use this.
Does it work with Sketchup2019?
0

espar 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 04, 2019 12:39 pm

Yes it works with v2019.
Please read its usage notes in its PluginStore entry...
It runs from the context-menu item[s] which only appear if one section-pane is selected.
https://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?p ... ionCutFace
https://sketchucation.com/plugin/744-sectioncutface
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Ars7 » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:47 am

Do you have it for SU v8 ?
0

Ars7 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Wed Dec 04, 2019 3:00 pm

I've sent a PM.
v6.2 might work in v8, I've sent you an older version v2.6 as an RBZ, that should work but has far fewer options etc...
I no longer have anything in between...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Ars7 » Sun Dec 08, 2019 9:23 am

Thank you very much, TIG
0

Ars7 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby ambro96 » Fri May 22, 2020 12:37 am

Hi there!
Im just new to this plug-in so forgive me if its a simple solution but I wanted to ask a question.

The section fill works, however there are visible lines in the model where the plane intersects the model when I was preparing the 3d views.

Also if I move or alter something, then the section fill is visible.

How I can avoid this? Is it possible

Cheers
Mark

PS not sure how to add screenshot images in this post.
0

ambro96 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Fri May 22, 2020 10:04 am

Without the SKP I can't be sure. but to me it looks like you have several nested elements - can you cut those cleanly with a section-plane ?
Is it the section-cut face that's wrong ?
Can't you cut the nested elements out side of their overarching 'container' to avoid this ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby ambro96 » Sun May 24, 2020 11:59 pm

Hi TIG

Not sure what you mean, sorry

Question 01:
It just seems like Section Faces applied to the Section Cut remain stuck in place and also remain visible in my 3D model once I return to my main 3D perspective Scene. They dont hide as per a standard SketchUp Section Planes does

Question 02:
Can they be dynamic, so if i move the section plane, the faces also auto update in the new section plane position?

Cheers
Mark
1

ambro96 
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby Dave R » Mon May 25, 2020 1:49 pm

ambro96 wrote:Question 01:
It just seems like Section Faces applied to the Section Cut remain stuck in place and also remain visible in my 3D model once I return to my main 3D perspective Scene. They dont hide as per a standard SketchUp Section Planes does


They are just geometry like any other faces with edges wrapped up in a group container. And like any other group, if you don't want to see it in certain views, you turn off the tag/layer you have associated with it.

ambro96 wrote:Question 02:
Can they be dynamic, so if i move the section plane, the faces also auto update in the new section plane position?


Yes. If you enable that when you create them. Turn on Auto Update. Then it will update after you move the section plane.
section cut face.gif
1
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby TIG » Mon May 25, 2020 1:56 pm

A01.
The SectionCutFace is group set just behind the Section-Plane, and it will persist even if the Section-Plane itself is switched off.
However, it has its own layer[tag] and that can be switched off in scenes as desired.
As within SketchUp itself any new layer[tag] created in the model will be 'on' in all scene-tabs, so you need to manually edit their visibility and update the scenes' settings as desired - its set up is remembered thereafter.
This is not directly related to SCF, more a foible of Layers[Tags] and Scenes.
SCF does try and circumvent this by offering Layer[Tag] naming & visibility options etc...

A02.
There are three settings available regarding 'updating'.
The default has no 'Auto-Update' attached to the SCF is 'No' - so if you move the Section-Plane the SCF remains where it was made.
Saying 'Yes 'means that if the model changes or the Section-Plane moves the SCF is automatically updated - this is only recommended in simple models because the frequent refreshing can be annoying.
Also any manually editing to the SCF is lost
The 'On-Demand' option lets you select the SCF and update ['Remake'] it to suit the current model elements and Section-Plane location etc - this gives you more control, but again any manually edits on the SCF are lost.

Please decide how you want to use it - there are many permutations...
- e.g. give your Section-Plane a layer[tag], give the SCF the same layer[tag] and name...
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] SectionCutFace

Postby ambro96 » Wed May 27, 2020 2:25 am

Thank you TIG and DAVE R for your assistance. This helps heaps
Kindest Regards
M
0

ambro96 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Previous


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fredo6, marionyonk, Pixero and 13 guests

Visit our sponsors: