[Plugin] cgScenesMAC v 2 April 2010

[Plugin] cgScenesMAC v 2 April 2010

Postby chrisglasier » Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:02 am

Scene dialogs.png


John (driven) kindly made a Mac version, the latest version with sample model is here.

chrisglasierScenesMac-v.2.zip


He hopes to make a self extracting version if you would like to wait for that.

Feedback from Mac users and/or coders would be much appreciated.

Helps manage scenes, layers and components in a single re-sizable automated interface.


Here is Release 1.051 for PC users:

cgScenes R 1.051.zip



GUIDELINES FOR SCENE MANAGEMENT

Sutra.jpg


Use cgScene's

left reel to browse (1st click) and open (2nd click) each scene and current aspect (e.g layer)
middle reel to check each aspect of the current scene
middle reel layer menu to sort layers by abc or visibility and to add and name new layer
middle reel components menu to show or hide all current scene components
right reel to browse (1st click) and hide/show (2nd click) properties to save, layers and components, and change (2nd click) views and styles.

Update to save scene properties selected. Update before Synch.

Synch to update web dialog content after making changes or component selection in Sketchup display.

Use Sketchup's

context menu to add, delete, rename or describe a scene
layer window to rename or delete existing layer
layer window to select layer colors
shadows toolbar


I think it best to download test model for initial familiarisation from here. It has perspectives, orthogonal views and trade scopes, using many layers and components and seven different styles. Also have a look at the gallery of images. Here are some recent additions showing design in progress:

Brickwork.jpg


Complete roof.jpg


Concrete.jpg


South.jpg


If a scene is not showing what is expected double check Properties to ensure everything required is being saved and check layer and components status as these can contradict each other. If still not performing correctly, PM me or post here.

But if you have any general suggestions please post them in Behind cgScenes.

Thanks

Chris
0
Last edited by chrisglasier on Thu Apr 01, 2010 12:51 pm, edited 24 times in total.
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby Edson » Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:42 pm

hi chris,

would you care to explain a little more about your plugin? i am afraid not everyone will know what it is about.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Sat Jun 06, 2009 2:35 am

Edson wrote:hi chris,

would you care to explain a little more about your plugin? i am afraid not everyone will know what it is about.


Yes, sorry. I made a video but all uploading has been blocked since some dispute over Youtube. So I thought I would try without; not too clever I guess!

The basic idea is to take essential elements of entity info, scene manager, layer, outliner, and styles windows, together with views and other items in the camera menu and put them into one web dialog "machine" (it has moving parts as you can see below).

Animation1.gif


This is made possible by nameset technology, a mix of listing by association (e.g. spaces associated with a building; ff+e associated with a space; layers associated with a scene) and web site animation. Unfortunately I can only claim the adaptation of the original idea to modern technology and thinking, as explained here.

I hope the set of animated images of the machine is helpful; but really if you are interested in using scenes to illustrate multiple aspects of designs with 3D presentations, dimensioned orthogonal views, dedicated trade details and on and on, I of course recommend trying out the real thing to see the whole interaction and where it might lead.

Thanks for your interest and advice,

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby Edson » Sat Jun 06, 2009 12:47 pm

chrisglasier wrote:The basic idea is to take essential elements of entity info, scene manager, layer, outliner, and styles windows, together with views and other items in the camera menu and put them into one web dialog "machine" (it has moving parts as you can see below).


i am sorry, but it remains obscure to me. perhaps the video would clear it up. have you tried to host your video somewhere else like vimeo or blip.tv?
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:14 pm

Edson wrote:
chrisglasier wrote:i am sorry, but it remains obscure to me. perhaps the video would clear it up. have you tried to host your video somewhere else like vimeo or blip.tv?


I have tried many - all fail - Vimeo after waiting 6 hours!

I have to go to dinner now, but simply if you select a scene in the left column, it opens that scene; if you select Layers in the middle column, it shows you the scene's layers and their visibility status in the third; if you select Components in the middle, it shows the scene's components in the third; the same for styles ...

The menus at the top enable you to toggle things on and off, add, erase and so on as in the SU windows. In other words it does nothing new, it just does it without you having to open and/or move from window to window. The information comes to you. More of your model is left exposed.

Really thanks, you know when so deep into something it is sometimes difficult to put things across. I hope this is a bit better!

My regards

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby Edson » Sat Jun 06, 2009 1:23 pm

chris,

this is much better. i'll have a go at it soon. thanks.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby thomthom » Sat Jun 06, 2009 2:32 pm

Downloaded to have a look at this. I see now that it's some kind of organizer window that takes on the roles of the many individual SU windows and merge functionality into one. Am I correct?

I got an error message when I tried it though. When I activated the tool in a model with no scenes I got this:
error.png
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Sat Jun 06, 2009 3:00 pm

thomthom wrote:I got an error message when I tried it though. When I activated the tool in a model with no scenes I got this:
error.png


Sorry it should open an alert. For the moment please just add a new scene before opening the plugin. Better still download the 5.7 mb test model from here so you can see how it handles (inshala) several scenes, layers, components and styles. Blank applications can be dead boring!

Sorry for teething problems ...

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby tomasz » Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:45 pm

chrisglasier wrote:Sorry for teething problems ...


To run the script successfully one needs to add

Code: Select all
require 'sketchup.rb'


at the start of the code.

I am testing it Chris right now. It looks interesting.
Toggling items could be done by double click also. It would improve layer\component sets editing speed.

Thanks
Tomasz
0

tomasz 
SU2TH & SU2KT Developer
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby tomasz » Sat Jun 06, 2009 4:57 pm

Now if we could have groups of scenes. What I mean - a higher level in hierarchy, above scenes alone.
If a user could move\copy a scene from one group to another it would be great.

In the given SU example the Groups could be called Perspectives, Elevations, Plans, Sections.

EDIT: There is a tricky thing I realized. Some plugins may attach attributes to scenes, so you would need to copy\move them too.

Tomasz
0

tomasz 
SU2TH & SU2KT Developer
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:16 am

Tomasz wrote:To run the script successfully one needs to add

Code: Select all
require 'sketchup.rb'


I have added it for the next release. If I remember correctly it is more precaution than necessity so the current code should work without it. But I am a reluctant coder particularly where Ruby is concerned, when I do little more than lip-sync. Any straightening out recommendations are well received.

Tomasz wrote:Toggling items could be done by double click also. It would improve layer\component sets editing speed.


Indeed. But please remember I am trying to make this a device module that can be added to the core nameset. I use some core minimalist panel and event handling conventions for overall control. I have avoided double click so far because I have been sceptical how it performs on handheld devices - a single stab or poke seems safer.

But I become more aware of things like editing speed as I am finishing the little house model. Yesterday I changed the top menu to be right aligned, directly above the main (3rd) clicking list, which is more natural. You will be able to move the white stripe closer (but this means more clicks for upward scrolling).

[BTW did you see the window is resizable (to help determine the compromise between screen obstruction and long names)?]

Tomasz wrote:
Now if we could have groups of scenes. What I mean - a higher level in hierarchy, above scenes alone.
If a user could move\copy a scene from one group to another it would be great.


Yes, higher level groups are the real challenge not just for scenes but also components. Not to be confused with SU groups, I categorise these as collections and groupings, collections that define the physical aspects of the project (buildings, floors, spaces, products) and groupings that are less influenced by final positioning that may relate to scheduling (sanitaryware), buying (purchase orders), distribution, containerisation, sustainability (to jump on the band wagon), colour boards, regulations (fire), operating (diagrams) and so on.

Two important points are that one component can belong to many groups and all collecting and grouping is computed outside modeling; and one important question is: can components be used in lieu of SU groups to the point of extinction - what do you think?

Thanks for your interest and help

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Wed Jun 10, 2009 6:56 am

Just to keep things updated :

cgScenes R1.01 (basic config).zip


Release 1.01 includes the following amendments:

Added sketchup.rb (thanks to Tomasz SCF)
Added scene setup for new files
Right aligned menu for easier toggling
Rename layer function
Excluded Layer0

cg
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby Chris Fullmer » Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:05 am

Hi Chris, you can organize it however you want, but most authors update the file in the original post so that people don't have to read through an entire thread to make sure they are downloading the most recent vesion.

Also, I think you started another thread where you posted this new version already. It might be adviseble to delete it from this thread, and just put a link to that thread from here, and also in the top post. And also, again, remove the old file from the top post. That way you only have one file - always the most current - posted somewhere. Otherwise it can be confusing for users to try and fin the most recent version.

But, you can do it however you like. Just in the end, try to make it so users can't accidentally find old versions of your scripts.

Keep up the great work! I can begin to finally understand namesets in the context of layers, scenes, styles, etc and how all these things are connected and all affect the same objects. Little by little it is coming together.

Chris

BTW, have you looked at Google Wave yet? It is interesting!
0
Lately you've been tan, suspicious for the winter.
All my Plugins I've written
User avatar
Chris Fullmer 
SketchUp Team
SketchUp Team
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Wed Jun 10, 2009 7:40 am

Chris Fullmer wrote:Hi Chris, you can organize it however you want ...


No, I don't want to take that line, but I just thought as this thread has [code] in the title it should also get the latest version. The other post is a background piece, but of course it needed to have the updated version to make sense. To save the "on and on," I asked Jim if cgScenes could be put on the register so I can just refer to it there for the releases and continue my mumblings here in the usual fashion. Do you think that would be OK?

Chris Fullmer wrote:.. how all these things are connected and all affect the same objects.


Yes and this underpins "linking data" that Kevin Kelly and others keep raving on about.

BTW, have you looked at Google Wave yet? It is interesting!


I can only imagine right now - youtube has been blocked here, but I am planning to look elsewhere soon

Thanks

Chris
0
Last edited by chrisglasier on Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby Jim » Wed Jun 10, 2009 8:05 am

chrisglasier wrote:" I asked Jim to be put cgScenes on the register so I can just refer to it there for the releases and continue my mumblings here in the usual fashion. Do you think that would be OK?

]
Sorry about this, Chris. I hope, in not very much longer that you will be able to enter and edit your entries yourself. I'm talking a couple of days, if you can wait...
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby jmmad » Tue Jun 16, 2009 4:40 pm

Hi Chris
looks a really useful plugin.
I downloaded version 1.3
But I don't know how to install it please give me a hint
Thxs
0
Get Upa !

jmmad 
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Tue Jun 16, 2009 5:23 pm

If you have a PC extract zip file to your plugs-in folder. Suggest you use model Test file (downloadable from web site). Open Sketchup. Look in plugins menu for cgScenes.

We are still working on Mac version.

Thanks

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Sat Jun 27, 2009 7:23 am

I put release 1.04 in the first post. You can also download it from the Namesets web site (Output section).
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby Dave R » Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:04 pm

Thanks for the update, Chris.

Could I ask a favor? Would you please edit the thread title to reflect the current version and revision date? That would make it easier for folks to know there's been a change to the plugin.

Thanks again.

Dave
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Sun Jun 28, 2009 11:59 am

Jim wrote:
chrisglasier wrote:" I asked Jim to be put cgScenes on the register so I can just refer to it there for the releases and continue my mumblings here in the usual fashion. Do you think that would be OK?


Sorry about this, Chris. I hope, in not very much longer that you will be able to enter and edit your entries yourself. I'm talking a couple of days, if you can wait...


Would you be so kind as to put cgScenes on manually now I have released 1.04(PC)? Do you need any info from me? Thanks.

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.04(PC) June 27 09

Postby Jim » Sun Jun 28, 2009 3:06 pm

My apologies, cgScenes is now in the Index.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.04(PC) June 27 09

Postby chrisglasier » Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:53 pm

Jim wrote:My apologies, cgScenes is now in the Index.


No apologises necessary. We should all be just grateful for your generosity. Many thanks.

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.05 16 Sept 09

Postby chrisglasier » Wed Sep 16, 2009 5:56 am

cgScenes R1.05 added to first post

cg
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.051 1st Oct 09

Postby chrisglasier » Thu Oct 01, 2009 3:23 am

Release R 1.051 added to first post. (Amendment to layerAdd tool - not shown in Tutorial)
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes

Postby chrisglasier » Tue Oct 06, 2009 1:08 am

Edson wrote:i am sorry, but it remains obscure to me. perhaps the video would clear it up. have you tried to host your video somewhere else like vimeo or blip.tv?


Finally Vimeo has been made available so I have been able to post a video as you suggested.

Gaieus very kindly also uploaded it to my YouTube account (köszönöm szépen, Csaba) which you can see here - I can only when I go to Hong Kong!
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.051 1st Oct 09

Postby Jim » Wed Oct 07, 2009 8:18 pm

Chris, I've been paying with Scene-based animations in a recent plugin and have been looking at your elegant interface for Scene navigation.

Although the current implementation is great for efficiently traversing long lists of Scenes, it becomes somewhat cumbersome when applied to the action of stepping through consecutive Scenes of an animation. The movement consists of a move-down-click, move-up-click action that is less than ideal.

I was curious what you thought about a way to short-cut right to a Scene on the first click? Maybe the control key in combination with a click could navigate directly to the clicked Scene?
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.051 1st Oct 09

Postby chrisglasier » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:05 am

Jim wrote:Chris, I've been paying with Scene-based animations in a recent plugin and have been looking at your elegant interface for Scene navigation.

Although the current implementation is great for efficiently traversing long lists of Scenes, it becomes somewhat cumbersome when applied to the action of stepping through consecutive Scenes of an animation. The movement consists of a move-down-click, move-up-click action that is less than ideal.

I was curious what you thought about a way to short-cut right to a Scene on the first click? Maybe the control key in combination with a click could navigate directly to the clicked Scene?


cgScenes is intended to sit well with native Sketchup tools and here is a case in point where the scene tabs are probably better suited to the task.

It would be good though if actions such as these were automatically synchronised with the web dialog. I did work with Rick Wilson on this but I never managed to get the code to work as written (probably because of the expertise mismatch). If you (or anyone else) feel inclined and have some time you may be interested to peruse the attached annotated file to see what's what.

My regards

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.051 1st Oct 09

Postby Jim » Thu Oct 08, 2009 2:13 pm

So you want the dialog to synch when the Scene tabs in SketchUp is selected?

Should I make the changes to the file most recently attached, or the the 1.051 version?
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.051 1st Oct 09

Postby chrisglasier » Thu Oct 08, 2009 4:15 pm

Jim wrote:So you want the dialog to synch when the Scene tabs in SketchUp is selected?

Should I make the changes to the file most recently attached, or the the 1.051 version?


May I elaborate tomorrow (GMT + 8)? The current manual synch action updates components, layers, scenes and properties. I think if the observer business can be solved 1.051 should be turned into a 1.10 release.

Till then ...

Chris
0
With JSON machines we can analyse what is to be achieved so that IT can help with automation to achieve it.
User avatar
chrisglasier 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] cgScenes R1.051 1st Oct 09

Postby Jim » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:14 pm

If I leave the dialog open after a time, I get this window pop up. I've never seen the message ever before, so I don't know exactly what is going on.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], jason2018, Oxer and 11 guests

Visit our sponsors: