[Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v10.6a - 01 Jun 20

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby GooUser » Sun Jun 10, 2012 4:20 pm

Thanks you very lot ! It's Great.
0

GooUser 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby Luaner » Mon Jun 18, 2012 3:37 am

Thanks again~❤
0

Luaner 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby the.pjt » Tue Jun 19, 2012 7:58 pm

hi dear ferdo , I have a little question ...

.. maybe it's a bad question and I know that it takes much time for you to write these features fur us ... thanks a lot for time you spend and offering your incredible codes freely to us ... thanks ferdo ..
my question is
how to disable time tracer and updater part due to have a faster startup and a lighter SU ?
I'm a ruby newbie .. but you codes are too complex for me to trace .. :) .. I just wanna to know the .rb files that does these extra works ...

I'm sorry for asking these .. I believe that these parts ( specially Updater module )are very useful for all users .. and thanks for codding these parts ferdo .. :P

thanks
0

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby fredo6 » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:10 pm

the.pjt wrote:my question is
how to disable time tracer and updater part due to have a faster startup and a lighter SU ?
I'm a ruby newbie .. but you codes are too complex for me to trace .. :) .. I just wanna to know the .rb files that does these extra works ...

You don't need to edit the ruby files.
Normally, go to the CheckForUpdate dialog box and enter 999 (days) in the 'next check' field.

Fredo

PS: 'Check for update' does not go to the Internet when SU Starts. It just checks the date to see if it should display the reminder, so it is very fast. The fact is that that the reminder is based on a WebDialog and the first web dialogs are used, it takes a little bit long (SU may load extra stuff or perform some operations in the background).
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby the.pjt » Tue Jun 19, 2012 9:50 pm

thanks feredo ... I hade done that ( 999 ) several days ago .. but I alwase see the ruby image (update check ) at start up .. how about time tracer tool ?

thanks for answer and support ferdo :ecstatic:
0

the.pjt 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby disco_UK » Wed Jun 20, 2012 7:00 pm

hi Fredo, Thanks for this work you've done :thumb:

I have unzipped it to my plugins folder on C:/Program Files(x86)/google/Google Sketchup 8/plugins but for some reasons I just cant find it in the menus! I have also put LibFredo6.rb in the plugins. am I missing something?

kindest regards

Disco
0

disco_UK 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby disco_UK » Wed Jun 20, 2012 8:06 pm

:oops:

Can't seem to get the toolbar up. I've followed some of the posts and checked its in the right directory, and also ticked the box in Sketchup.

Any help would be appreciated

A.Noob lol
0

disco_UK 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby Dave R » Wed Jun 20, 2012 9:52 pm

Which toolbar can't you get to display?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby disco_UK » Thu Jun 21, 2012 7:41 am

Dave R wrote:Which toolbar can't you get to display?


The fredo sub menu under window. I've PM'd Fredo who has been kind enough to reply but so far I've not got to the bottom of it. I do have podium installed and fredo suggest it could be a clash with that?

Thanks for the reply Dave :-)
0

disco_UK 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.5a - 08 May 12

Postby Dave R » Thu Jun 21, 2012 8:33 am

Ah. I see. You said you couldn't get a toolbar to show which is confusing since it isn't a toolbar but a menu entry. So did you try disabling Podium and did that fix it?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby fredo6 » Wed Jul 11, 2012 11:16 pm

NEW RELEASE: LibFredo6 v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

LibFredo6 4.6 is a new release which essentially support the publishing of Curvizard

See main post of this thread for Download.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby Osdap » Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:34 am

I am really new to the plugins for Google sketchup. Can anyone tell me how to update my plugins?
0

Osdap 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby pilou » Thu Jul 19, 2012 9:49 am

For the external plugins go to to this page for the name of the plugin
and go to to the end of the first post of the thread address read on the list!
You will find the last Update of each plugin!

And if you want the "indispensables" see my little list ;)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby kersnyc » Wed Jul 25, 2012 9:56 pm

Hi,
I know this might sound silly but I'm new to this and am having trouble with downloading the plug ins.. I want to download round corners and I thought in order to do so I needed to install the LibFred06. When it goes to download and I need to unzip it I DO NOT have a Sketchup Plugins folder option... How do I go about installing this? What do I do...
Thank You
0

kersnyc 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:08 am

You do have a Plugins folder - unless you have deleted it. :shock:
It's automatically made by the Sketchup installation - it contains example scripts etc...
You will not have a Plugins Menu displayed unless you have some scripts 'active'.
Copy/Paste+<enter> this line of code into the Ruby Console [open that from Sketchup's Window menu] - it will display the path to the Plugins folder on you installation.
Code: Select all
Sketchup.find_support_file("Plugins")

For a PC it's typically:
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins
Make sure you have FULL security access permissions [set via properties] for all of your Sketchup folder's subfolders and their contents...

I see you have v8 - with recent versions you could install archived tools using the Window>Preferences>Extensions 'load' button - BUT note that the archive needs to have a .rbz file suffix.
Thomthom has made a SimpleInstaller that does something similar, but also works on .zip archives and .rb/.rbs single files - automatically finding the Plugins folder and extracting files etc for you...
Find that in the Plugins Index - however you do need to put that into the Plugins folder and restart for it to auto-load, so we need to track down where that is...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby kersnyc » Fri Jul 27, 2012 8:04 pm

I tried typing Sketchup.find_support_file("Plugins") into the Ruby Console and nothing is happening?!!!!what do i do now?
0

kersnyc 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:32 am

Looks like you'll have to reinstall Sketchup - as an Admin - it should then make all missing folders/files etc.
Before that post a screen shot of your Sketchup folder showing the subfolders that you do have...
It's just weird.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby fredo6 » Sat Jul 28, 2012 9:27 pm

kersnyc wrote:I tried typing Sketchup.find_support_file("Plugins") into the Ruby Console and nothing is happening?!!!!what do i do now?

What do you mean "nothing is happening"
If you type the command in the Ruby console (and press Return) you always get an answer.

Fredo
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby kersnyc » Sun Jul 29, 2012 3:32 am

I didn't get an answer.
0

kersnyc 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:00 am

If you type [or copy/paste] the full text into the Sketchup Menu > Window > Ruby Console and press <enter> to confirm it, you will always get something returned as the answer !
So typed correctly:
Sketchup.find_support_file("Plugins")
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins
Typed incorrectly [i.e. not an initial capital 'S']:
sketchup.find_support_file("Plugins")
Error: #<NameError: undefined local variable or method `sketchup' for main:Object>
(eval):155

Typed incorrectly another way [i.e. without a final 's']:
Sketchup.find_support_file("Plugin")
nil
So even if the file/folder you are looking for doesn't exist you will get 'nil' :roll:
Can't you do the folders screen-shot I mentioned before?
You seem to be making very heavy-weather of this :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby kersnyc » Mon Jul 30, 2012 12:54 am

Hi,
I have attached a print of the screen...
0

kersnyc 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby Dave R » Mon Jul 30, 2012 2:28 am

But you did get an answer, Keryn. The answer was

"C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins"

You got that answer three times.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby TIG » Mon Jul 30, 2012 9:11 am

Hooray! :sketchstatic:
You do have a Plugins folder after all :o
Find that 'Plugins' folder [navigate your folders using Windows-Explorer...] and put the script/subfolder-of-files that ship inside the zip into it.
Check that the added files are really in the folder - I know your profile says XP but you might have changed? and Vista/Win7 can sometimes put such things into a side-folder IF you are not an Admin or have insufficient security permissions.
The subfolders inside the Sketchup folder should all have FULL permissions of you as you will from time to time want to add files into them...
Once the file/subfolder is in place restart Sketchup and everything should then work.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby whitelock » Wed Aug 01, 2012 2:22 pm

hi I need to install the fredo 6 plugin for round corners and unlike other plugins where its just been a simple drag and drop into the plugins folder. this download seems to be full of lots of files and I am not sure which ones to put in the plugins folder!!! I am not very computer savvy when I read the installation instructions (im on a mac) it said:

Unzip ‘RoundCorner 2.0.zip', by doing a Select All and then Extract in the Plugins
directory of Sketchup, answering YES to all prompts for file overwriting, in order to
make sure you reconstruct the folder hierarchy. NEVER change the name of files or
move them from their folder. The footprint should be (Windows environment):

I have no idea what I should do!! can anyone plese help
0

whitelock 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby Dave R » Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:59 pm

All of the files in the ZIP file should go into the Plugins folder but they need to maintain the same footprint as they have when you open the ZIP file. Fredo has outlined this very clearly in his first post of this thread. Go back and look at that. It's really quite simple and you should wind up with a folder and a Ruby file when they get installed.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby whitelock » Wed Aug 01, 2012 6:15 pm

Thanks for the reply, however I mean to stress I dont know what un-zipping files means. the file on my desktop is a blue folder. I open that and I have a .rb script and another blue folder. I open that and its filled with loads of .rb scripts, some pdfs some pngs and more blue folders with more pdfs and pngs. So waht do you do from here. I tried dragging the whole folder over into my plugins folder and when I opened sketchup it had a warning error loading plugins message, so I closed SU, went back to plugins folder and moved the file back to my desktop. I then tried moving all the .rb files over and got the same message when I opened SU. So again I removed all the files and put them back in the blue folder on the desktop. I then deleted the files and tried downloading the plugin again. It is then that I saw you need the additional lib fredo 6 plugin. i downloaded this first and was confronted with the same problem, I have a blue folder inside which there is a .rb script and another blue folder containing a mass of .rb scripts, png, pdfs etc. I gave up at this point!!!!
normally I am used to just dragging one .rb script across the plugins folder and it works.

So to reiterate my point what is unzipping? and what items do i drag over?.
I did read the instructions fully several times and they make no sense unless you are fluent in computer speak. which I am not I am a complete philistine so I need laymans terms if possible.

thanks
0

whitelock 
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby Dave R » Wed Aug 01, 2012 8:22 pm

I open that and I have a .rb script and another blue folder.


Stop right there. Copy the file and the folder to the Plugins folder and you're finished.

"Zipping" is a method of compressing files so they are smaller for transferring from one computer to another. Unzipping is decompressing. By opening the ZIP file on your Mac you are gaining access to the files inside and that is enough.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby fredo6 » Wed Aug 01, 2012 10:05 pm

@whitelock

As you are on Mac, you should follow the specific instructions for Mac. Note that this is because OSX hides the process of Un-zipping and shows the resulting files and folders in the dedicated Download Window.

On Mac OSX
1) Click on the Zip archive on Sketchucation
2) This should open the Download box with highlight on the folder LIBFREDO6_Dir_46 and LibFredo6.rb
3) Copy this folder and file to the Sketchup Plugins directory
Macintosh HD/Library/Application Support/Google SketchUp 8/SketchUp/plugins

The footprint on Mac OSX in the SU Plugin Directory must be:
LibFredo6 46 footprint - OSX.png


Fredo

PS: It would be helpful if a Mac users with a video capture software could make a short video on how installation can be done on Mac
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby thomthom » Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:33 am

Or, use Simple Installer which is a single .rb that needs to be placed in the plugins folder.
Then use that to install RBZ, ZIP, RB or RBS plugins.

viewtopic.php?t=42315
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin Library] LibFredo6 - v4.6c - 11 Jul 12

Postby whitelock » Thu Aug 02, 2012 8:49 am

thank you all for your help and patience!!! I will let you know how I get on.
0

whitelock 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bous1990, Majestic-12 Bot, ramon_hi and 14 guests

Visit our sponsors: