[Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

Postby Jim » Wed Aug 18, 2010 4:28 pm

Hi Geraldine,

The Ruby Console you mention in the Windows menu is SketchUp's built-in Ruby Console.

This plugin creates a Ruby Toolbar in the View >> Toolbars menu. The toolbar provides some shortcuts for using the Ruby Console and only runs on Windows machines.

506.png


So to install it, you download the .zip file, and extract it. Then copy the files to your Plugins folder as follows:

504.png


Then start Sketchup, and open the Toolbar from the Views >> Toolbars menu.

To find your Plugins folder, copy and paste this line to the Ruby Console, then press ENTER.

Sketchup.find_support_file("plugins")
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

Postby thomthom » Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:51 am

Jim - A wee bug I found.

The Show/Hide Ruby Console toolbar:
If you have the toolbar floating, it'll be floating in a toolbar named "Ruby Console" - which means the Show/Hide method also closes the toolbar.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

Postby Jim » Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:01 pm

Ok, thanks Thomthom. I guess the Win32 functions were finding the toolbar instead of the actual Ruby Console?

Anyway, made that changes, and a few other minor ones:

Ruby Toolbar
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

Postby Didier Bur » Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:09 pm

Thanks Jim, and happy new year.
0
Didier Bur
Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Architecture de Nancy (F)
http://rld.crai.archi.fr/rubylibrarydepot/
User avatar
Didier Bur 
 

Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

Postby Jim » Wed Jan 05, 2011 4:14 pm

Thank you, and a happy new year to you.

I am not sure if I should continue to include Win32API.so file with this plugin? Win32API.so is obsolete and we hope to be moving to something better in the near future.
0
Hi

Jim 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

Postby Dan Rathbun » Wed Jan 05, 2011 10:30 pm

everywinter wrote:Hi! Im a new user to ruby and ... Can you teach me what should i do? How should i start?

Go to this post... Ruby Newbie's Guide to Getting Started
0
    I'm not here much anymore. But a PM will fire email notifications.
    User avatar
    Dan Rathbun 
    PluginStore Author
    PluginStore Author
     

    Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar (Jan 2011)

    Postby Jim » Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:34 pm

    Hello, I made a minor improvement:

    * Remembers most recently used folder and last loaded file between sessions.

    http://sketchuptips.blogspot.com/2007/0 ... olbar.html
    0
    Hi

    Jim 
    Global Moderator
     

    Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

    Postby thomthom » Wed Jan 12, 2011 3:52 pm

    :thumb:
    0
    Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
    List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
    User avatar
    thomthom 
    PluginStore Author
    PluginStore Author
     

    Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

    Postby ksor » Sat Feb 11, 2012 9:42 pm

    Why do I get this load error when I try the "Ruby Toolbar"

    Error Loading File C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 8/Plugins/rubytoolbar/rubytoolbar.rb
    no such file to load -- Win32APIError Loading File rubytoolbar.rb
    no such file to load -- Win32API

    I have attached my PlugIns and rubytoolbar folders
    0
    Best regards
    KSor, Denmark
    Skype: keldsor

    ksor 
     

    Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

    Postby TIG » Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:43 am

    Because you also need Win32API.so in the Plugins folder to run a few tools like this on a PC.
    It does say on the download page:
    Requirements
    Sketchup
    Windows
    Win32API.so (if not already installed)
    So get it here viewtopic.php?f=323&t=42732&p=383201&hilit=win32ole#p383201
    Make sure you get the version to suit your SUp version.
    There are some useful docs too... IF you want to dabble with the dark-arts of these .so files... BUT please learn the basics first...
    While you are at it, also get Win32OLE.so - as I suspect you'll need it later when you get more adventurous... ;)
    0
    TIG
    User avatar
    TIG 
    Global Moderator
     

    Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

    Postby Dan Rathbun » Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:22 pm

    TIG wrote:Because you also need Win32API.so in the Plugins folder ...
    While you are at it, also get Win32OLE.so

    Both files are included in the "so" zips, I posted.

    (However, those are the only source object files from the Ruby distro, that are included.)
    0
      I'm not here much anymore. But a PM will fire email notifications.
      User avatar
      Dan Rathbun 
      PluginStore Author
      PluginStore Author
       

      Re: [Plugin] Ruby Toolbar

      Postby ksor » Sun Feb 12, 2012 2:49 pm

      I got it now :oops: !

      - and the toolbar works really fine - nice tool ! :sketchstatic:
      0
      Best regards
      KSor, Denmark
      Skype: keldsor

      ksor 
       

      SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

      by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



      Ad Machine 
      Robot
       

      Previous


       

      Return to Plugins

      Who is online

      Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

      Visit our sponsors: