General discussion on V-Ray for SketchUp [LOCKED]
by mcekk » Wed Oct 01, 2014 9:08 pm
Hi everyone, Is it possible to access methods and/or classes for V-Ray objects through the SU API? I want to edit the lights, materials and rendering options in an automated way. So far, I was able to apply geometric transformations to the lights using the following method: - I created a separated .skp file for each of the light objects (rectangle, spot, omni) with fixed parameters. These objects are saved as groups.
- I loaded these files as component definitions and created instances as needed.
- I applied geom transformations (translations rotations and scaling) to those components to set up the scene.
However I also want to change some parameters of the lighting and the materials from the script. Where is this information stored? Is there a xml file somewhere? Thanks in advance SU 2014 + VR2.0
-
mcekk
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:40 pm
- Name: Manuel Eguia
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: education
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by TedVitale_CG » Thu Oct 02, 2014 3:07 pm
Ill forward your question to the developers and get back to you when I have an answer.
-

TedVitale_CG
- Vray Support

-
- Posts: 207
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:02 pm
- Location: Baltimore MD
- Name: Ted Vitale
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2018
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by jiminy-billy-bob » Thu Oct 02, 2014 5:50 pm
As far as I know, there is no API for VfS. But the data is stored as XML in the object's attribute. So you can modify it to change the light's properties.
-

jiminy-billy-bob
- PluginStore Author

-
- Posts: 1588
- Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:46 pm
- Location: France
- Name: jiminy-billy-bob
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Intermediate
-
by mcekk » Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:15 pm
Thanks, Ted and Jiminy for the quick response. Can I safely edit the file current_skp.xml (located at ASGVIS/VfS), that apparently stores the current global parameters? Still can't find the light parameters.
-
mcekk
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:40 pm
- Name: Manuel Eguia
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: education
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by TedVitale_CG » Mon Oct 06, 2014 3:24 pm
Send me a PM and Ill email over a short example from one of the Developers.
-

TedVitale_CG
- Vray Support

-
- Posts: 207
- Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 6:02 pm
- Location: Baltimore MD
- Name: Ted Vitale
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2018
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
-
by mcekk » Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:50 pm
Thanks Ted.
-
mcekk
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:40 pm
- Name: Manuel Eguia
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: education
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by dkendig » Tue Oct 14, 2014 5:28 pm
no, that file gets overridden when you kick off a render. There are some helper functions we use to manipulate the xml that we store in the attribute dictionaries of the scene, but none of it is very obvious or easy to use for your own purposes. We are also going to be modifying the way a lot of our stuff works over the next couple versions, so if you were to tap in to our xml and play with it, it might not have a very long lifespan.
Devin Kendig Developer
-

dkendig
-
- Posts: 541
- Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:41 pm
- Location: Baltimore, MD
- Name: Devin Kendig
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: pre-2013
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by mcekk » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:52 pm
Thanks for the answer, Devin. Is there another V-Ray implementation where I can animate the illumination? Or I have to wait that this feature comes to SU? I also work with Blender. Thanks in advance.
Manuel Eguia Associate Professor University of Quilmes
-
mcekk
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:40 pm
- Name: Manuel Eguia
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: education
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by dkendig » Thu Oct 16, 2014 7:23 pm
we currently don't support animated parameters in any portion of V-Ray for SketchUp
Devin Kendig Developer
-

dkendig
-
- Posts: 541
- Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2008 4:41 pm
- Location: Baltimore, MD
- Name: Devin Kendig
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: pre-2013
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: other
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by mcekk » Tue Oct 21, 2014 12:37 am
I was able to do some short progress modifying the skp files from each light separately and reloading through the ruby script. The only thing that it is still missing is the possibility to render the scene from the script. It is possible to do this from the SU API or from the system? Thanks in advance.
Manuel Eguia Associate Professor University of Quilmes
-
mcekk
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:40 pm
- Name: Manuel Eguia
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: education
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by jiminy-billy-bob » Tue Oct 21, 2014 8:07 am
Yes, you can call VRayForSketchUp.launch_vray_render VRayForSketchUp.launch_vray_rt_render VRayForSketchUp.launch_vray_batch_render
-

jiminy-billy-bob
- PluginStore Author

-
- Posts: 1588
- Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:46 pm
- Location: France
- Name: jiminy-billy-bob
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Intermediate
-
by mcekk » Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:15 pm
Many Thanks Jiminy. !
Manuel Eguia Associate Professor University of Quilmes
-
mcekk
-
- Posts: 7
- Joined: Wed Nov 06, 2013 12:40 pm
- Name: Manuel Eguia
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2014
- License type: Pro
- SketchUp use: education
- Level of SketchUp: Advanced
by tuanminhtq » Mon Jan 03, 2022 11:01 am
How to call this to run Vray in ruby, please help, thanks alot VRayForSketchUp.launch_vray_render VRayForSketchUp.launch_vray_rt_render VRayForSketchUp.launch_vray_batch_render
-
tuanminhtq
-
- Posts: 1
- Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2022 10:55 am
- Name: Nguyễn Tuấn Minh
- Operating system: Windows
- SketchUp version: 2017
- License type: Free/Make
- SketchUp use: architecture
- Level of SketchUp: Beginner
by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago
-
Ad Machine
- Robot
-
- Posts: 2012
-
Return to V-Ray
|