Vray reflection mapping

General discussion on V-Ray for SketchUp

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby Stinkie » Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:34 pm

Whoa! Err ... dankie? Dankiewel? Whatever - thanks!
0
User avatar
Stinkie 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby free agent » Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:42 pm

haha dis 'n plesier.
0
User avatar
free agent 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby ibon » Tue Apr 14, 2009 10:47 pm

Guys, really, really Thanks

Freeagent, now with the scene on my hands everything's clear. Thanks everyone for taking so much time with this. I wish some day i will help you as you have helped me
0
User avatar
ibon 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Tue Apr 14, 2009 11:38 pm

Did a little test scene. Used an HDRI as I wanted to get a colour tint to the lighting. Too bad the Sun shadows are gone. (If I remember correctly, I can get them if I turn on default light and decrease the GI light while also adjusting the camera exposure.)
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby ibon » Wed Apr 15, 2009 9:10 am

Very beautiful scene thomthom. I have tried to make my own with an HDRI map but after more than 10 trial errors can't get the desired position for my sun. Is any easyer method to quickly position your hdri?
0
User avatar
ibon 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 15, 2009 9:25 am

Hide all geometry, or do material override so it renders quickly and then do a few trial and errors of the HDRI horizontal position. Or you could do what Richard do; quite nice setup: viewtopic.php?f=15&t=18001&p=145253

Note that you won't have much luck if you try to adjust the vertical position of the SUN source from and HDRI. That will just mess things up.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby nomeradona » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:42 am

stinkie wrote:lol. Nevertheless I'd like to see, say, Damien Alomar elaborate on this issue. He usually does a good job explaining things.
yeap, whenever damien reply assurely my eyes are there...
0

nomeradona 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby nomeradona » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:48 am

stinkie wrote:Whoa! Err ... dankie? Dankiewel? Whatever - thanks!
Oh thank God FA is here to give some explanation about this.
hey stinkie are you saying FA is a donkey? lol.
0

nomeradona 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby nomeradona » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:49 am

thats a cool linking render Thom
0

nomeradona 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:57 am

What I'd like to know is how to create a render with a tinted sun but with sun shadows as in the picture posted by the original poster. Anyone got some tips?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby kwistenbiebel » Wed Apr 15, 2009 1:53 pm

thomthom wrote:What I'd like to know is how to create a render with a tinted sun but with sun shadows as in the picture posted by the original poster. Anyone got some tips?


That is where VrayforSU fails, as I stated before. Having a 'sun object' (an infinite light with a target) would be the solution, but considered impossible by Asgvis (why?). Cinema 4D's and Max's Vray versions both have the option to create a Vraysun.
In that way you can control the HDR and sky settings in the environment tabs, while controlling the direct light/shadows by the sun object.

In VfSU, all settings, including sun, need to be done by setting up the environment slots (GI,background, reflection, etc..)

The only way I found to more or less fake a HDR/Sun/sky combo was the following:
GI : use sky with 0.5 sun intensity
Background: a bitmap with 30000 multiplier
(optional : Reflection: a bitmap with a varying multiplier (10000 to...) to achieve the result you're after.)

These are values that worked for me in VfSU 1.0 . It might be a different case for later versions.
It's still difficult to get it right though....
0

kwistenbiebel 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:00 pm

I also don't understand why we can't have a Sun object. We have Omni and rectangular lights...
So the problem stems from that we can control the VRay Sun and the VRay Sky separately?

Maybe this is something we can ask for as a topic for the webseminars...


kwistenbiebel wrote:The only way I found to more or less fake a HDR/Sun/sky combo was the following:
GI : use sky with 0.5 sun intensity
Background: a bitmap with 30000 multiplier
(optional : Reflection: a bitmap with a varying multiplier (10000 to...) to achieve the result your after.)

Yea, this is what I've tried before. But I feel it's a hit and miss.

I wonder; would an alternative method be to place a rectangular light in the Sun's position? How would you balance the GI HDRI light and the rectangular light?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby kwistenbiebel » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:02 pm

I tried using a rectangular light but the light is 'flat'.

The sun really needs to be an 'infinite' light to behave realistically.
0

kwistenbiebel 
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby solo » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:12 pm

Guys, this is probably slightly off topic however I need to know about Vue to vray integration of HDR images, I have created a simple .hdr sky and wanted to know how it works with Vray (I suck at Vray hdri usage) so if a knowledgable user could try the attched file and let me know i would appreciate it.
0
http://www.solos-art.com

I'm better with polys than words
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:28 pm

Hmm... That's and odd HDRI sky. Why isn't the horizon flat?
Do you know what kind of format this HDR are supposed to be?

I tried with spherical mapping. But it just came out odd. The first two have Verical Repeat of 3. The last two 1.

(Why doesn't the multiple upload work?)
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby solo » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:34 pm

Great, I did something that I would normally not do so the result is as expected, I have another one that was done the standard way attached, the horizon should be fine now.

Could you post a quick walkthrough as to your setup? I need to know how to create hdr image renders in Vray sometime.
0
http://www.solos-art.com

I'm better with polys than words
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:54 pm

That still doesn't look like an environment image. It needs to be covering 360 degrees. Spherical, cube cross format for instance.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby solo » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:01 pm

Okay, then if I render the sky as a spherical 360 panarama and save as hdr it may work, lemme give that a go
0
http://www.solos-art.com

I'm better with polys than words
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:04 pm

My setup: With default physical camera settings:
  • Load the HDR image into the GI and Background maps
  • Set the mapping to Environment
  • Set Multiplier to 50 (Depending on the HDR, usually somewhere between 20-50. GI and Background often have slight different values.)
  • Adjust the Horizontal Rotation to orient the HDR sky as I want.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby solo » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:05 pm

Adjust the Horizontal Rotation to orient the HDR sky as I want.


This is my archilles heal.
0
http://www.solos-art.com

I'm better with polys than words
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby solo » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:10 pm

This one should be perfect.
0
http://www.solos-art.com

I'm better with polys than words
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby solo » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:16 pm

Set Multiplier to 50


Which one?

The global one or the image/texture editor one?
0
http://www.solos-art.com

I'm better with polys than words
User avatar
solo 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:29 pm

solo wrote:
Set Multiplier to 50


Which one?

The global one or the image/texture editor one?


The one in the Texture Editor.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:34 pm

Looking more into this, there seems to be a bug.

When you add a bitmap to the reflection slot in a V-Ray material, the bitmap is not used and you get instead a 100% even reflection.
So far, the only way I've managed to work around it has been by applying the bitmap to the Fresnel slot in a Fresnel map, setting the IOR very high.

All other map types seem to work, but VfSU (1.05.30) doesn't seem to use Bitmaps for reflection map type. Odd that it works by adding a bitmap inside a Fresnel, but not adding a bitmap into a Blend map.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: Vray reflection mapping

Postby thomthom » Thu May 14, 2009 2:42 pm

Solo; just read thsi in the Vue manual:

Page 165 wrote:Panoramic View
Real panoramic cameras are fixed to a handle that you have to hold when you take the shot. As it
takes the shot, the camera rotates around the handle, thus embracing any required angle of view.
Panoramic views can yield beautiful results.
This option is a numerical equivalent to the real panoramic camera. Here also, the camera is rotated
as the render engine makes progress. All-around panoramas can be achieved this way, but
beware: if the camera is not perfectly horizontal when you take the shot, the horizon will undulate.
This is not a numerical artifact: it happens also in the real world!
When you select this option, the panoramic
H Angle slider becomes available, letting
you decide on the horizontal angle swept by
the camera as it rotates.

This appear to be what happened to your VUE environments.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Previous


 

Return to V-Ray

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

Visit our sponsors: