[Plugin] 2D Tools

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.2

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:32 am

rv1974 wrote:Fillet tool is a nice addition. Thank you TIG!
P.S.I have 2 sets of the same icons on one tollbar. How to solve it?

Please ensure that earlier folders and 2D .rbs have been removed - perhaps (re)do a 'clean' install ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.2

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:33 am

Halroach wrote:
dedmin wrote:Couldn't get the 2d line style tool to work?


can't get the line styles to work either. Would it have to do with the styles?



There's aglitch on the layer creation... I'll issue an update to fix it asap...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 10:15 am

v2.3 now available here viewtopic.php?p=185760#p185760
Tweaks to LineStyle Tools [layer visibility glitch etc] and now CafFather's alternative icon set included [as zip], if desired...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby dedmin » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:01 am

Line styles still don't work - I can see layers are visible, but lines don't chance.
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:19 am

dedmin wrote:Line styles still don't work - I can see layers are visible, but lines don't chance.

Check you have materials to show mode is set 'on' - i.e. face materials show up... Check View/Hidden-Geometry is 'off'.
Start the linestyle tool, right-click in empty space, in the dialog that opens set the style to a line-width you know will show up at the size of model (default=1, if the edges are very long than perhaps =6, very small =.25 ???) and then style='Dashed' and color='Red' - so it'll be clearly distinguishable from the original edge. Pick an edge - that edge should get moved onto the ...HIDN layer [and disappear as it's switched 'off'] and a new dashed styled-line 'group' should be made and appear on the ...STYL layer ? Open the Outliner to see what groups you have... Get Entity Info on the edge and new group to check what happens...
Run the tool with the Windows/Ruby Console open and copy/paste us any error messages that you get, if it persists...
Consider posting a small [purged] model with the problem if it's not fixed ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby NewOne » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:46 am

Wonderful set of tools. :enlight: I'm not a McDonand's fan, but this time i must say: I'm lovin' It!
However, one thing is annoying. As you can see in attached image, the line is clipped when drawing (the mouse cursor is not seen, but this img was captured while drawing with 2d rectangle tool). I think this is because the drawing gets out its boundingbox and if that boundingbox is updated on mouse move, this clipping will not occur anymore.
One more thing: could Set Z-Plane tool to have inference? I'd like to be able to snap on vertexes and edges.

Thanks again for all the tools you made!.
0

NewOne 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby dedmin » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:50 am

TIG wrote:
dedmin wrote:Line styles still don't work - I can see layers are visible, but lines don't chance.

Check you have materials to show mode is set 'on' - i.e. face materials show up... Check View/Hidden-Geometry is 'off'.
Start the linestyle tool, right-click in empty space, in the dialog that opens set the style to a line-width you know will show up at the size of model (default=1, if the edges are very long than perhaps =6, very small =.25 ???) and then style='Dashed' and color='Red' - so it'll be clearly distinguishable from the original edge. Pick an edge - that edge should get moved onto the ...HIDN layer [and disappear as it's switched 'off'] and a new dashed styled-line 'group' should be made and appear on the ...STYL layer ? Open the Outliner to see what groups you have... Get Entity Info on the edge and new group to check what happens...
Run the tool with the Windows/Ruby Console open and copy/paste us any error messages that you get, if it persists...
Consider posting a small [purged] model with the problem if it's not fixed ?


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qGcLq9xOGys
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:07 pm

dedmin

I see from the video it's not working... The ...HIDN layer should turn off if you have it 'on'. I suspect it's something to do with scenes/pages... Do you get any Ruby Console Errors ?
I notie the lines are only afew mm long so choose a small width - 4 = 4" ~= 100mm x10 the length of the line !
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:09 pm

NewOne wrote:Wonderful set of tools. :enlight: I'm not a McDonand's fan, but this time i must say: I'm lovin' It!However, one thing is annoying. As you can see in attached image, the line is clipped when drawing (the mouse cursor is not seen, but this img was captured while drawing with 2d rectangle tool). I think this is because the drawing gets out its boundingbox and if that boundingbox is updated on mouse move, this clipping will not occur anymore.
One more thing: could Set Z-Plane tool to have inference? I'd like to be able to snap on vertexes and edges.
Thanks again for all the tools you made!.

I'll look into the rectangle's drawing clipping.
The Z-plane tool does have inferencing tooltips and will snap to these points but the cursor doesn't cahnge, I look at this too...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby dedmin » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:15 pm

TIG wrote:dedmin

I see from the video it's not working... The ...HIDN layer should turn off if you have it 'on'. I suspect it's something to do with scenes/pages... Do you get any Ruby Console Errors ?
I notie the lines are only afew mm long so choose a small width - 4 = 4" ~= 100mm x10 the length of the line !

Code: Select all
Error: #<NoMethodError: undefined method `set_visibility' for nil:NilClass>
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 7/Plugins/2Dtools/2DlinestyleTool.rb:188:in `style_line'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 7/Plugins/2Dtools/2DlinestyleTool.rb:166:in `onLButtonDown'
C:/Program Files/Google/Google SketchUp 7/Plugins/2Dtools/2DlinestyleTool.rb:188
0

dedmin 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby EarthMover » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:24 pm

I'm getting the same errors as dedmin with the line style tool.
0
3D Artist at Clearstory 3D Imaging
Guide Tool at Winning With Sketchup
Content Creator at Skapeup
User avatar
EarthMover 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby ken » Mon Sep 21, 2009 12:48 pm

TIG

Attached is the VCB during drawing an arc. Not sure, what VCB is displaying, however your help guide indicated that the VCB should be displaying the “swept-angle”

Thanks for the plugin

Ken
0
Fight like your the third monkey on Noah's Ark gangway.
User avatar
ken 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby Edson » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:01 pm

warning to mac users: in order for this pluging to open you must put it at USER\Libray\application support\google\google sketchup 7\plugins, not in the main plugins folder.

TIG: i click on the help icon and get nothing. is this a problem or there is nothing there?
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:07 pm

TIG, I'm getting the same message in the console when I click on the first edge when trying to change the line style.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:46 pm

v2.4 is here viewtopic.php?p=185760#p185760
It fixes many of the reported glitches including:
LineStyle failure with no scenes/pages fixed.
Z-plane inferencing improved.
Rectangle drawing clipping fixed up to 1km.
Help in MHT for PC is now also in PDF for Mac users, and also as DOC too.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.3

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 1:52 pm

Ken wrote:TIG
Attached is the VCB during drawing an arc. Not sure, what VCB is displaying, however your help guide indicated that the VCB should be displaying the “swept-angle”
Thanks for the plugin
Ken

Ken
Clearly the 2d arc is 'working' and it's about 306 degrees (306993/1000) ! The reported angle in the VCB is calculated in radians, turned to degrees, made into a float, then into text... there's never a /1000 in it ! I can't see where the fractional info is coming from - do you have 'fractional' units set ? I don't get the nnn/nnn even with that set on my PC ? Can you give more details of your OS and model setup etc...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:03 pm

Thank you TIG. That appears to have fixed the line style problem.

Is there a way to edit the spacing of dashes or dots on the line style?

FWIW, I tried the swept arc and got a decimal display of the angle and I do have units set to fractional.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby EarthMover » Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:44 pm

Thanks for your diligence TIG. I'm always amazed at your dedication...especially with no financial compensation. You are one of the many SU heroes!

BTW - Everything is working fine now for me!
0
3D Artist at Clearstory 3D Imaging
Guide Tool at Winning With Sketchup
Content Creator at Skapeup
User avatar
EarthMover 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 6:51 pm

Dave R wrote:Thank you TIG. That appears to have fixed the line style problem.
Is there a way to edit the spacing of dashes or dots on the line style?
FWIW, I tried the swept arc and got a decimal display of the angle and I do have units set to fractional.


The angle should display as decimal degrees to ~3dp e.g. 90.0 or 91.125
The 'dashes and dots' space ~equal=line_width, but squash up to suit odd line lengths. You can write your own styles ! Just edit the code as needed !!! ;)

Seriously, if there's another style you'd like that's not there, then give me an example and I might be able to add it ? :geek:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.4

Postby Dave R » Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:05 pm

I wasn't complaining about the angle display. Just mentioning that it seemed to be alright for me. I didn't get the strange fractional display that Ken got.

Thanks on the line styles. I don't have anything in mind at the moment. I was just curious. In some case the dashes or dots seemed too close together but that could be just me.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 7:37 pm

Here's v2.5 viewtopic.php?p=185760#p185760

Clipping fixed with Tool.getExtents thanks to NewOne's idea. :geek: + :ugeek:
0
Last edited by TIG on Tue Sep 22, 2009 11:19 am, edited 1 time in total.
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby ken » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:15 pm

TIG
Here is my operating system and Sketchup info.

XP Profession Ver 2002, Service Pack 2, Sketchup Pro 7.0.10247.

The VCB apparently reads the cursor position, I can move the cursor without changing the angle and get a changing reading on the VCB.

I have discovered that if I start the arc at the origin, the VCB will read 0 degree at the top, 90 to the right, 180 down and 90 towards the left at each axis. It appears to be able to snap to the axis.

I used the protractor and made guidelines at 60, 45 and 30 degrees. If I stopped at any of the guidelines, the VCB read the correct degrees, but would not read the correct degrees between the guidelines. i.e Going CW, 60, 45, 30, 150, 135 and 120.

Wish I could give you more help.

Again, I want to thank you for this plugin. I find I can turn out small 2d drawing quicker with Sketchup than if I use any other CAD program. Not asking you to change anything, however, I would prefer when doing a 2d drawing to just have all the icons for all the different selections displayed. To me that would be faster than trying to remember what control to pick. I know that would take up a lot of space, but I would only load this menu when I have to do a 2d drawing.

Also, V2.5 still says ver V2.4. Did you not change the Ver number or did you download V2.4 again?

Ken
0
Fight like your the third monkey on Noah's Ark gangway.
User avatar
ken 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby TIG » Mon Sep 21, 2009 11:51 pm

Ken

The very first post in this thread contains a zip with the latest [currently v2.5] files in it. Some files might have not changed and say v2.4 in them - but for completeness they're all in the one zip...

I hope that the options aren't too cumbersome... Make a note and stick it on top of your monitor... ;)
They do mostly appear in the VCB bar too.....

Line:
Ctrl toggles Lines/ConstructionLines
Alt toggles Lines/Polylines
Type lengths in VCB

Rectangle:
Type Dimensions pt1+width or height

Freehand:
Type segment length in VCB

Arc:
Ctrl toggles 3-point/center+2-point
Alt toggles angles 0-180/180-360
Type NNs'egments at any time or length/radius between pt1/pt2 or swept-angle between pt2/pt3

Circle:
Ctrl toggle center+radius/3-point
Alt toggle center+radius/2-point(diameter)
Type NNs'egments at any time or pt1+radius/diameter etc

Fillet:
Alt toggles Fillet/Chamfer
Type NNs'egments for radius or radius, or chamfer/chamfer1:chamfer2

The other tools either have limited options or have dialogs [2DText] or you right-click in empty-space to open their dialog - e.g. Hatching and Line-Style
Selecting some 2DText or a Styled-Line gives special context-menus and then the editing dialog...

:enlight:
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby xrok1 » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:26 am

:ecstatic:
0
“There are three classes of people: those who see. Those who see when they are shown. Those who do not see.”

http://www.Twilightrender.com try it!

xrok1 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Matt666 » Tue Sep 22, 2009 8:50 am

Hi TIG!
Great new tools, thank you!
Just one thing I've changed in your plugin... I don't like to put plugins in the plugins folder... :oops: So I made my script withs relative pathes.
If you want I can tell you where you pathes are absolute...
0
Frenglish at its best !
My scripts

Matt666 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby agrazdi » Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:48 pm

Tig

Any plans for a double line ?

agrazdi
0

agrazdi 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby EarthMover » Tue Sep 22, 2009 2:19 pm

The more I use this toolset, the more I love it. I had to do a quick cross section of a roof detail yesterday to apply for permits on an upcoming build. Instead of CAD, I was able to do it all in Sketchup using 2D tools. Putting the line style changes on their own layer to be toggled on and off, is brilliant. You can do preliminary plan view drawings with line styles, then shut them off and proceed with the 3D modeling. Another great thing about Line Styles......they are renderable!!

It would be nice to incorporate Matt's extend tool into the toolset. Also making an extend tool for an arc would be brilliant. So often I have to try and continue and existing arc to a line and it usually requires finding the center point, using TOS to draw a Cline Circle, then snapping the arcs bulge to it, as tangent snaps isn't always reliable. Another way is to explode the curve, find center point and rotate a section around, but if it could be streamlined into a Arc extend tool, that would great.

One other request would be the ability to have leader text that doesn't change size when your scroll in and out. Perhaps there is a setting to change this that I don't know about??? Perhaps an improved leader text tool for 2D tools would be in order.
0
3D Artist at Clearstory 3D Imaging
Guide Tool at Winning With Sketchup
Content Creator at Skapeup
User avatar
EarthMover 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Pixero » Tue Sep 22, 2009 3:21 pm

I cant see any snapping points when using the line tool. Bug?
0
User avatar
Pixero 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby markozeta » Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:37 pm

EarthMover wrote:One other request would be the ability to have leader text that doesn't change size when your scroll in and out. Perhaps there is a setting to change this that I don't know about??? Perhaps an improved leader text tool for 2D tools would be in order.


Set your text size to be a value in inches, rather than point size.

Window > Model Info > Text > Font Size.

Set it for a value in inches and it will be constant. In points it will move zoom with the zoom.
0
BSME - Cal Poly Pomona
Sketchup Pipe Maniac

markozeta 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools v2.5

Postby Ben Ritter » Tue Sep 22, 2009 4:41 pm

TIG,

Just started to use the tools and all I can say is that they are wonderful. Thank you so much.

One problem I'm having is getting the hatching command to work. Does not want to initialize, no dialog box, etc.

Ben
0

Ben Ritter 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bondoking, DeexrA, Google Bot and 7 guests

Visit our sponsors: