[Tutorial > Modeling] How a Pro Builds a House in SU pt 1

Share or learn with the Pros

[Tutorial > Modeling] How a Pro Builds a House in SU pt 1

Postby Krisidious » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:05 pm

How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Continued in Part 2 viewtopic.php?f=18&t=752
Continued in Part 3 viewtopic.php?f=18&t=723

first we need a template setup for our architectural use.

Tada... http://www.sketchup-house-plans.com/48- ... l-modeling

now that we have our template...

step 1
import your house plan image as an image.
Step_001.jpg


step 2
draw a line along a distance in the drawing in which you know what the distance is before hand. example a standard shower/tub is 5' so I would draw a line along the shower/tub wall.
Step_002.jpg


step 3
now group the house plan image and the line you drew together.
Step_003.jpg


step 4
open the group you just made, and use the measure tool to measure the distance of the line that you draw in step 2. as soon as you click the second point on the measurement. type in the specification line 5' or the distance of the wall you chose. SU Will ask do you want to re-size the group? answer yes.
Step_004.jpg


step 5
explode the group, and delete the line you drew. your plan should now be scaled, to real life dimensions.
Step_005.jpg


step 6
draw a large rectangle, larger than your plan. right click on your plan image and choose "use as material" and apply the material to the rectangle.
Step_006.jpg


step 7
you should now have your plan on a large face, trace the plan.
Step_007.jpg


step 8
be sure to use proper thicknesses, such as 6" exterior walls for wood and 8" for concrete.
Step_008.jpg


step 9
trace the door and window openings.
Step_009.jpg


step 10
select your whole first floor plan and move it to the
"level I" layer. and make a copy of it. and move it over about 100' feet or more to the side.
stay with me... this copy will now become many things to us. it will be a truss layout, a foundation layout, a framing layout, the list goes on. we will use it over and over to create different levels of the home.
Step_010.jpg


step 11
repeat this process for your foundation, your first level and your second level and third...

next time we'll create components from each of the layers and show how to work on your house while looking at it too...

see you then...
0
Last edited by Krisidious on Tue Nov 05, 2013 11:32 am, edited 6 times in total.
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby juju » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:06 pm

Thx for the contribution, however the link you provided for the template isn't working.
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Krisidious » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:06 pm

ok that should fix it.... the link should work as a zip
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Gaieus » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:07 pm

Very informative kristoff. Looking forward to the next stage :lol:
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby not registered yet » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:07 pm

I'm excited to see the next installment in this series! Keep it up!

(rpargman)
-1

not registered yet 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Edson » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:08 pm

hi kris,

i am following your two tutorials with great interest and have a couple of questions to make you.

are you starting from the assumption that there is no plan in dwg or dxf format for one to start with and that all there is is some image scanned from a mag or some other source? i ask that because tracing over a picture is not that easy, as there are no edges or endpoints to grab on to.

what is the point of applying the plan as material on the larger rectangle? you suggest one to use proper thicknesses but the larger plan is out of scale. please explain this.

why not trace the plan over the rightly scaled plan and then make copies of it to put on other layers as you suggest?

please continue this amazing thread. regards.

edson
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Gaieus » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:09 pm

emahfuz, see Kristoff's step number 2 in order to get the scaling correct (as as close as possible).

Inference locking helps to keep things straight / square / plumb. Applying the picture to a square as a texture allows you to draw straight onto the picture (now a SU plane) - you can always removed the picture again later on.

Correct me if I'm wrong in my statements, please. ;)
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby not registered yet » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:09 pm

Guess What! I used HouseBuilder.rb to construct my house! Here is the file:

(Invader ZIM)
0

not registered yet 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Gaieus » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:10 pm

Must be nice houses Invader!
Just I cannot get them run... (edit: OK: you fixed it now...)


BTW - this topic is about a particular tutorial in the Tutorials forum. Could you please not divert it?!
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Edson » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:11 pm

hi juju,

i did step 2 exactly as told and got the plan scaled right. my mistake was probably having used the texture tool to make the image fit the larger rectangle.

from what you said the plane under the picture helps keep things straight and plumb. would not that happen if i traced the plan that is not on the rectangle?

thanks.

edson
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby juju » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:11 pm

Edson, what you're saying isn't quite making sense. The idea is to create a plane on which to "texture" the image plan and then trace it. It shouldn't be outside of the plane you created.
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Edson » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:12 pm

juju, sorry about that. let me try again.

i imported the plan and scaled it, ok? then i drew a larger rectangle close to it and copied the scaled plan onto it. since the rectangle was bigger than the image there ensued a tiling effect. in trying to get rid of the tiling (by using Texture>>Position) i threw the plan off scale. so i ended up with two plans side by side, one scaled correctly and the other slightly bigger while all the tutorial suggested was to have one scaled plan "textured" on the plane.

i hope it makes some sense to you now.

edson
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Gaieus » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:12 pm

Edson, you can also try to scale the "larger" rectangle in a way (not with the scale tool) but selecting the edge on the side you notice the tiling and moving it (make sure to lock the axis of movement) to the edge of the original drawing.
You can repeat this along the other axis. This way you end up with a rectangle which is perfectly covered with the image (and only one instance of it).
0
User avatar
Gaieus 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Charlie__V » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:12 pm

krisidious,

Many thanks for this,especially the scaling image part. :~)

C
0
Precision M1710/Win 7 Pro 64 bit/i-7 6920 Quad core 2.9 Ghz -3.8/16Gb ram/NVIDIA M5000M 8Gb

Charlie__V 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Nick W » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:13 pm

Kris,

I've been walking through your process and it's very helpful and informative. I've learned a lot. Thanks for that Smile

What is the big orange line in your template (see attached)? I can't seem to track it down or hide it. It is congruent with the green axis and is visible only on the positive side of the origin.

Thanks!
0

Nick W 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby juju » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:14 pm

The orange line is the direction where the sunlight is coming from. I use it on all my work to get accurate sun angles.
0
Save the Earth, it's the only planet with chocolate.
User avatar
juju 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Nick W » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:14 pm

If that is the case, do you know how to hide it?

The orange line doesn't change when I change the position of the sun...

I imagine it's something very simple... thanks in advance for your instructive help
0

Nick W 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Edson » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:15 pm

uncheck it and the sun's direction will not show.
0
edson mahfuz, architect | porto alegre • brasil
http://www.mahfuz.arq.br
User avatar
Edson 
Global Moderator
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Nick W » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:15 pm

Thanks guys!

I just realized that the non-pro version probably doesn't have that feature, as I can't find it right now. Though I've seen it before, which confused me on several occasions (I have Pro at work, but not at home).

Peace!
nick
0

Nick W 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Krisidious » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:16 pm

it's the North Arrow... and you should have it in your model info

go to the top of SketchUp...

go to Window
then to Model info
then click on Location
at the bottom it says Solar Orientation
uncheck Show in Model.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Nick W » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:17 pm

It's not there as far as I can see... (see attached)

maybe it's an issue with an older version? Version 6.0.515 is what I have installed here.

however, I know that I've seen the "location" options before. I'm assuming it was while working on my work computer, which led me to the conclusion that it's a Pro vs not-Pro difference.
0

Nick W 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Nick W » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:17 pm

Here is the help text regarding setting location. This seems to confirm the lack of "Location" settings in the non-Pro version:

SketchUp Help Text wrote:Specifying a Model's Location in the World
You can set the location of your model in all versions of SketchUp. However, the mechanism for setting location is different between SketchUp Pro and Google SketchUp (free).

Setting Location in SketchUp Pro
Use the Location panel in the Model Info dialog box (Window > Model Info > Location) to set the location for your model.

Caution - Do not use the Location panel in the Model Info dialog box to change the location of a model after importing the current view from Google Earth (using the Google Plugin). Using the Location panel to position models in Google Earth will likely result in an incorrectly located model.

Setting Location in Google SketchUp (free)
Load Google Earth and navigate to the location where you model will exist (the town is sufficient). Use SketchUp's Get Current View button to import the current view, as well as the location, from Google Earth. You can hide or delete the Google Earth snapshots if you want to work without them (such as when doing a shadow study).
0

Nick W 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Nick W » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:18 pm

I'll change the setting when I get to work on Monday.

I noticed that the north line only shows up in the ISO view tab, not in the elevation or plan views. I'm guessing it's because Kris had set the views up with that feature enabled or disabled and SU still recognizes the setting, but doesn't give me the interface to change it.

Thanks again for this template, Kris! :)
0

Nick W 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Krisidious » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:18 pm

no problem Nick... and thanks for finding this little glitch... I'll remove it from the template and replace the file... again nice catch.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Nick W » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:18 pm

[light bulb over head] After thinking through what I wrote in the last post, I realized that since the setting is attached to the view I could simply regenerate the ISO view by resetting the camera position from a scene with the North line disabled.
0

Nick W 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby rhankc » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:19 pm

hello Kris,
back to the template again, I have been using your template on most new starts, mostly because I think it works different than the stock start file; probably the most noticeable difference is the higher number of degree divisions (minutes?) on the protractor from the vs. 6 stock protractor. Is that protractor an entity from previous versions or is there a settings for fine tuning your system?
Thanks for your time.
Hank
0
Hank

rhankc 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Krisidious » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:20 pm

I bleive that's in the modelinfo dialog box...

goto Window>Model Info>Units

then angle units and Precision and snapping

that should do it...
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby rhankc » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:20 pm

you are right, and I go there daily, have not ever seen it... thanks
0
Hank

rhankc 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby syburn » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:21 pm

hi all,

im having probs with step 6. after making the rectangle i then cant see the jpg plan as its under neath. so no matter how much i right click i cant see the "Use image blah blah" option.

Any ideas what im doing wrong?


Report this post

(syburn)
1
User avatar
syburn 
 

Re: How a Pro Builds a House in Sketchup Part 1

Postby Krisidious » Sat Nov 17, 2007 2:22 pm

at this point it is best to right click on your image, and select use image as texture, then apply the texture to the rectangle... now continue tracing...
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to SketchUp Tutorials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

Visit our sponsors: