Layout move tool

General discussion related to LayOut

Layout move tool

Postby TreblD » Mon Feb 15, 2016 8:59 am

Hi Im struggling with the Layout move tool. I try to move an object in LO and the magic hand appears, and I end up rotating it, then the 4 arrows appear and I end up resizing it. How can I just move it? is there a key I hold down? Its probably a simple answer, Ive googled it but no luck. Thanks in advance. Mal
0
User avatar
TreblD 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby JQL » Mon Feb 15, 2016 11:14 am

Unfortunatelly you're probably doing the right thing... but move tool in Layout is a bad move!

You have to grab an element you're trying to move and dragclick on it (press leftclick and don't let go, move around the mouse and place your stuff, release the mouse button only when it's in place.)

It's cubersome... I've (we've) bragged about it for long now!

The thing is that if you select the objects a box and a dot with a line on the center appears. Those are for (lack of) control:

  1. As with sketchup you can first move/copy/rotate/scale and then use a value using VCB.
  2. Unlike sketchup where you can click once to perform these operations and then feel confident you're not breaking them, in LO you have to hold your mouse for everything until the operation is finished
  3. For scaling, drag on the side/top/bottom arrows. Scale on the direction you want and then you can type a value like 2 for twice the size or .5 for half the size.
  4. For moving, rotating and scaling accuratelly there's a middle crosshair that you can drag into any point on drawing and you can place it there, then if you move around your objects that point can be used as reference for accuracy.
  5. Beware that there is a smaller dot near to the circle on the center and that is meant to use for rotating... unfortunatelly you cannot infer that rotation, only give it precise values.
  6. As in skecthup you can copy with move, however, unlike sketchup you must use every hand in your body to do so. I guess you have two but if you'd have 3 it would be easier... I hope you have at least two, but as you might be aware some people do not (I'm not being dramatic here, some people go skatting and break their arm so they can no longer work with Layout...)
  7. Wich brings us to the move tool. You have to drag, accuratelly place, and be careful... Zoom in and out so you miss the arrows and dongle in the middle or you'll mess your drawing. Then keep your finger down until you finished and never let go while trying to zoom in, zoom out, pan, accuratelly place, etc... You'll eventually get there and when you do, you'll find that, even with lots of experience, you'll be annoyed by that horrible tool, and you must use it so much, it will cause you stress in your muscles.

I hope I've helped!
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby TreblD » Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:53 pm

Haha OK JQL, great reply. Many thanks. I was hoping for an easy solution but somehow suspected that there wasn't going to be one. On that note, I would like to cast my vote to revamp the move tool. The four-in-one thing is a nightmare. Its just way too frustrating to move things. Just a simple move tool please Mr Trimble.

Cheers

Mal
0
User avatar
TreblD 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Mon Feb 15, 2016 1:11 pm

I must be doing it wrong because I've never found the move tool in LayOut to be a problem. Yes, you need to stay away from the Rotate handle if you don't want to rotate the entity. I think that just takes paying attention to what you are doing.

You can move the center grip to a different location on the entitiy and use it as a precision snapping point which makes it easy to do things like align geometry in SketchUp viewports.

The modifiers (Ctrl, Shift, Alt) do some interesting things with the Move tool. Ctrl invokes the copy function. Try resizing a SketchUp viewport while holding each of the others. Once you get the hang of it, you should never need to open and edit a SketchUp viewport in LayOut.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby JQL » Wed Feb 17, 2016 11:00 am

There's almost* nothing you can't do with the move tool. In that aspect it's great.

It's just the most cumbersome tool to use I have ever worked with. In that aspect everything is wrong with the move tool.

What's wrong with the move tool is that it's actually the select tool!

So you're right, there's nothing wrong with the move tool, the problem is with select tool!

*almost refers to the fact that you can't infer your dongle for rotate.
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby utiler » Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:59 am

JQL wrote:There's almost* nothing you can't do with the move tool. In that aspect it's great.

It's just the most cumbersome tool to use I have ever worked with. In that aspect everything is wrong with the move tool.

What's wrong with the move tool is that it's actually the select tool!

So you're right, there's nothing wrong with the move tool, the problem is with select tool!

*almost refers to the fact that you can't infer your dongle for rotate.



Exactly what JQL said and more.

LO's move tool needs to operate how SU's move too does; allow the user to simply snap to nodes without having to search around the selected zone and find a toggle to use as a snap.

Also, the rotate handle allows us to rotate an object but only very crudely. It needs to be able to provide the user an alignment to rotate from as well as user input via the VCB.

Or separate the move tool and create a rotate tool. Again, just like SU does.
0
purpose/expression/purpose/....
User avatar
utiler 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby JQL » Thu Feb 18, 2016 12:15 pm

utiler wrote:
Exactly what JQL said and more.

LO's move tool needs to operate how SU's move too does; allow the user to simply snap to nodes without having to search around the selected zone and find a toggle to use as a snap.

Also, the rotate handle allows us to rotate an object but only very crudely. It needs to be able to provide the user an alignment to rotate from as well as user input via the VCB.

Or separate the move tool and create a rotate tool. Again, just like SU does.


Exactly what utiler said and more.

I can't understand why LO isn't emulating the behaviour of EVERY sketchup tool!

The only people using LO are Sketchup users anyway, why not have the SU workflow seamless?
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Richard » Fri Feb 19, 2016 1:30 am

Dave R wrote:I must be doing it wrong because I've never found the move tool in LayOut to be a problem. Yes, you need to stay away from the Rotate handle if you don't want to rotate the entity. I think that just takes paying attention to what you are doing.

You can move the center grip to a different location on the entitiy and use it as a precision snapping point which makes it easy to do things like align geometry in SketchUp viewports.

The modifiers (Ctrl, Shift, Alt) do some interesting things with the Move tool. Ctrl invokes the copy function. Try resizing a SketchUp viewport while holding each of the others. Once you get the hang of it, you should never need to open and edit a SketchUp viewport in LayOut.



I'm actually with Dave on this one, I think the current functionality is brilliant. Select an object, move, scale, nudge, rotate all without the need to enable another tool! Scaling in layout in particular is AWESOME! The focus of the scale handles to the zoom or screen positioning is da bomb. In SU itself the scale tool has never worked as one would want, in fact it's the clunkiest tool at ones disposal.

Yes the lack of inferencing on rotate is an issue! But for all else I think if the functionality changes in future releases people will beg for it's return.
1
User avatar
Richard 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby JQL » Fri Feb 19, 2016 11:23 am

We've had this discussion before Richard. From the literally hundreds of people I introduced to Sketchup, none found LO move tool intuitive.

How can you feel copying a text from Point A to Point B having to hold mouse button down, while panning and zooming with the mouse wheel, not forgeting to hold on CTRL at the right moment with the other hand, not forgetting to correctly place your dongle, zooming in as close as possible to stay clear of other objects, and of the scale tool, being carefull not to double click so you don't edit while also watch Layout drag around to generate the viewport be fun?

I simply cannot help thinking you guys are doing way too simple stuff and that is the only reason you've never experienced what I've experienced... It's not an impossible task, but it's a very hard one... I hate it! The move tool in LO is really the payment I get for having choosen Sketchup+Layout as my main architectural application...

The only thing saving me from madness is that I no longer have to see that crosshair floating around my black screen, hovering on vector hatches and 2d lines colored by layer... That is the only thing that makes the move tool seem rather nice!
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Fri Feb 19, 2016 5:58 pm

I have a slightly off topic question along this line.

I want to scale a viewport. Sometimes when I try to drag the corner I would like to be able to specify the scale size for both the horizontal and vertical scale. How do I do that? When I click in the corner, the VCB changes to Scale but as soon as I let go of the mouse button, it changes back to measurement.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:01 pm

ntxdave wrote:I have a slightly off topic question along this line.

I want to scale a viewport. Sometimes when I try to drag the corner I would like to be able to specify the scale size for both the horizontal and vertical scale. How do I do that? When I click in the corner, the VCB changes to Scale but as soon as I let go of the mouse button, it changes back to measurement.


Is it the scale of the viewport or the scale of the model in the viewport that you care about?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:21 pm

Dave R wrote:
ntxdave wrote:I have a slightly off topic question along this line.

I want to scale a viewport. Sometimes when I try to drag the corner I would like to be able to specify the scale size for both the horizontal and vertical scale. How do I do that? When I click in the corner, the VCB changes to Scale but as soon as I let go of the mouse button, it changes back to measurement.


Is it the scale of the viewport or the scale of the model in the viewport that you care about?

It is the scale of the viewport.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:25 pm

Just let go of the mouse and type the scale factor. If you want the scale factor to be the same for both directions, just type the number such as .5 and hit Enter.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:29 pm

Dave R wrote:Just let go of the mouse and type the scale factor. If you want the scale factor to be the same for both directions, just type the number such as .5 and hit Enter.

That is what I tried but when I let go of the mouse button the VCB changed to Measurement instead of Scale. I will try again the next time I am in Layout.

Thanks for the reply......
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Fri Feb 19, 2016 9:31 pm

When you type in the Scale factor it'll go back to showing the scale.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby JQL » Fri Feb 19, 2016 10:06 pm

If you want to scale an object in one of the directions only, you shouldn't pick the corner anyway. Either pick the sides, top or bottom.
0
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Sat Feb 20, 2016 12:56 am

I just went and tried this again. I have two viewports of model on a page. One is a side view of a car wash layout and the other is a top view. I want to align the equipment in the 2 viewports. I just need to scale the side view a little and it will be fine. I click on one of the corners and drag and with enough patience I can get it aligned properly. What I have tried to do on several occasions is the click on one of the corners of the side view. The VCB shows me the scale factor for both horizontal and vertical scaling of the viewport. I would like to be able to type in the scale factor but as soon as I let go of the mouse the VCB goes back to Measurement and when I type in the scaling factor I get an error message that the measurement is invalid.

I was trying to type in something like 0.95,0.90 but get the error. I do not have screen capture software that would allow me to capture it and show you what is happening.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Sat Feb 20, 2016 1:02 am

If the scenes for your top and elevation views are with the camera set to Parallel Projection, just set the scale for the viewports the same in the SketchUp inspector. Then you'll be able to align the views easily. There's no need to worry about the borders of the viewports.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Richard » Sat Feb 20, 2016 1:20 am

JQL wrote:We've had this discussion before Richard. From the literally hundreds of people I introduced to Sketchup, none found LO move tool intuitive.


We certainly have and probably will again! Im not saying that the move tool couldn't function better, trying to marquee select a bunch of objects is a serious pain in the bum if you are trying to start on top of something! It just moves the background object GRRRRRRR!

Holding CTRL down whole time to copy, Grrrr!

Though the thing that shines for me, the scaling of objects, copy on scale or rotate, these are things are winners over SU's function. I've never worked out why SU allows you to copy with the move tool but not copy whilst rotating with the move tool!

And then there is the dongle thingy, I seriously love it!! Particularly whilst the zoom factor in Layout is so limited!
0
User avatar
Richard 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Sat Feb 20, 2016 2:40 am

Obviously have not been making myself clear.
Layout Viewports.PNG

In this example I have 2 scenes as mentioned before. I need to rescale the size of the viewport for the side view so that the content (the equipment) of the viewport aligns with the content of the top view viewport (as indicated by the purple arrows). I do it all the time by dragging the edges of the top viewport but sometimes Layout gets a little touchy. I would like to key in the scaling factors for the top viewport until I get the equipment to align. I am not trying to scale the content of the viewport.

Hope this makes it a little clearer of what I am trying to do and why I want to be able to key in the scaling values. As I said every time I have tried, as soon as I select an edge or corner and then let go of the mouse button, the VCB changes from the Scale to Measurement.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Sat Feb 20, 2016 2:53 am

So did you try just typing in a scale factor anyway? It does work.
scale.gif


Are both drawings at the same scale? I guess I don't understand why you wouldn't set the drawing scale the same in both views. Then the elements in the drawing would align.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:29 am

Yes, everything is at the same scale.

Because of the text and dimension (some not showing in the screen shot) I have to first adjust the top view. The at the requires me to make minor scaling adjustments to get the equipment to align. In your animation you enter just one number which is then used to scale bit width and height. Sine I only have to make very minor adjustments I need to specify a factor for both directions. If I try to type something like .98,.95 I get the error message.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:40 am

Again, I don't understand why you aren't scaling the view in the Sketchup inspector but I guess this is the way you want to go. Too much work for me the way you are doing it.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Box » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:47 am

I don't understand where you are having the problem, here it is with two very different scale factors.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Sat Feb 20, 2016 3:58 am

@Box that is exactly what I did and got the error message. I will try again in the morning. Feeling a little ill this evening. This really should be pretty straight forward.
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Charlie__V » Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:24 pm

ntxdave/all
I read through all of the above.......and I could have missed it, but do you have the "maintain scale on resize" ticked?

Charlie
0
Precision M1710/Win 7 Pro 64 bit/i-7 6920 Quad core 2.9 Ghz -3.8/16Gb ram/NVIDIA M5000M 8Gb

Charlie__V 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ntxdave » Sat Feb 20, 2016 5:41 pm

Well guys, I finally got it to work. Was making a very simple mistake. I had to grab hold of a corner and drag it first. Then I could key in the scaling factors.

Turns out the real key is activating the scale tool. Then I can mess around multiple times until I get it how I want it.

As I saw somewhere else, since Layout is only available to SketchUp Pro users, it would be good if all of the tools for manipulating objects was the same in both apps.

Thanks for all of the feedback.......I really appreciate it and glad I finally figured out what I was doing wrong. It is going to be useful in the future. I can be more precise than dragging.

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: :thumb:
0
User avatar
ntxdave 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ScottBold » Thu Jan 25, 2018 2:13 pm

So I'm labelling up a drawing in Layout, and I'm finding I'm unable to grab layout elements like lines accurately on snapping on them so I know they are then snapping to the exact point on the viewport.

I've got Object Snap on, Grid Snap off. I have standard datum and building grid labels from default scrapbook (and Sonder's templates) but when I drag them, I don't seem to get any inference snap on the object. As said, its not the destination, it is knowing I am dragging the object from an exact point or line on that object.

Any help please?
0

ScottBold 
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby Dave R » Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:13 pm

Can you share the LO file so I can see what you've got going on? If you don't want to make it public, send it by PM.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: Layout move tool

Postby ScottBold » Thu Jan 25, 2018 4:33 pm

The file size is too big to post, I have PMd you, but here is a screen shot. When I go to drag that SLAB datum object, I don't get any kind of handle or indication I am picking up the actual line. I have drawn a line off the slab for a guide that I was then going to delete. The move tool will snap to that, but it won't snap to the object I am picking up.
0

ScottBold 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to LayOut Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Visit our sponsors: