[Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

[Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:11 pm

A new tool to maintain some sanity...
Runs in the background.
Dialog [Y|N] when setting Current-Layer away from "Layer0".
Silently assigns "Layer0" to all newly added Geometry [Edges and Faces] irrespective of the Current-Layer or the Entities 'context', including any Geometry resulting from Exploding Groups or Components, which themselves might have other Layers.

Download


EDITS:
From v2.0 it also adds a Context-Menu item if the current Selection contains
Geometry [Edges and Faces] not assigned to "Layer0", it is called -
"Selected-Geometry-To-Layer0" - it reassigns that Geometry's Layer[s] to be
"Layer0". The Layers of other Entities in the Selection - e.g. Groups -
are ignored, only Geometry in the Selection is changed.
However, if the Selection contains Groups or Components, AND they in turn
contain Geometry that is not assigned to "Layer0", then you are then prompted
Yes|No to fix that... These changes mine down into any nested containers too...
These Layer changes are one-step undo-able.
From v4.0 it's an Extension,
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby Krisidious » Tue Jun 02, 2015 3:22 pm

But keeps the group or component layer? while keeping geometry at layer0?
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby pbacot » Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:28 pm

Wow. Another plugin that might logically have been a built-in option for SU itself. Great idea and execution!
0
MacOSX Mojave ShetchUp Pro v19 Twilight Pro v2 M2 Kerkythea PowerCADD
User avatar
pbacot 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby cotty » Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:51 pm

I only see one problem with this plugin:
those who do understand what it does might not need it, and those who do not understand will probably not install it (unless we force them to) :-)

Great idea, thank you!
0
User avatar
cotty 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:16 pm

Krisidious wrote:But keeps the group or component layer? while keeping geometry at layer0?
Yes - you are correct.
It only affects Edges and Faces [aka Geometry] everything else stays on the layer it already has...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby Krisidious » Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:17 pm

TIG wrote: Yes - you are correct.
It only affects Edges and Faces [aka Geometry] everything else stays on the layer it already has...


Beautiful... :thumb:
1
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 02, 2015 5:22 pm

cotty wrote:I only see one problem with this plugin:
those who do understand what it does might not need it, and those who do not understand will probably not install it (unless we force them to) :-)
Great idea, thank you!
I fully agree.
But we have to start somewhere...
In a way it was an exercise in Observer creation.
I was quite pleased that there seems minimal lag when it kicks in.
I NEVER set the Current-Layer to anything other than Layer0.
But at least this fixes the exploding Group/Component issue where its Geometry inherits the container's Layer !
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby db11 » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:33 pm

And the string of TIG hits just keeps on coming!

I always draw on Layer0, but I have had issues with raw geometry ending up on other layers... usually after exploding a group without paying attention to the layer inheritance, or after changing the current layer in order to delete another layer into it — and then forgetting to reset the default layer before resuming drawing.

This will help to eliminate the untidy consequences of those occasional —usually late night— attention lapses.

Thanks for another useful plugin TIG. The Layers from/to List plugins will also see a lot of use and are equally appreciated.

Doug
1

db11 
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby JQL » Tue Jun 02, 2015 11:53 pm

cotty wrote:I only see one problem with this plugin:
those who do understand what it does might not need it, and those who do not understand will probably not install it (unless we force them to) :-)

Great idea, thank you!


LOL! So true!

I tell you what... I will never install it myself, but I will force it's installation on all the people I tutor Sketchup to.

Does it work automatically with models imported from 3D Warehouse?
1
User avatar
JQL 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Wed Jun 03, 2015 11:16 am

Here's v2.0

Download


It now adds a Context-Menu item if the current Selection contains
Geometry [Edges and Faces] not assigned to "Layer0", it is called -
"Selected-Geometry-To-Layer0" - it reassigns that Geometry's Layer[s] to be
"Layer0". The Layers of other Entities in the Selection - e.g. Groups -
are ignored, only Geometry in the Selection is changed.
However, if the Selection contains Groups or Components, AND they in turn
contain Geometry that is not assigned to "Layer0", then you are then prompted
Yes|No to fix that... These changes mine down into any nested containers too...
These Layer changes are one-step undo-able.
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby JClements » Wed Jun 03, 2015 2:59 pm

"But at least this fixes the exploding Group/Component issue where its Geometry inherits the container's Layer !"

That is the 5-star attribute of this plugin. Thank you TIG!
0
John
Illustrator
Beaverton, Oregon
User avatar
JClements 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby cmeed » Thu Jun 11, 2015 10:04 am

Hi Tig, - Great Plugin again. there is a clash with ACT (advanced camera tech) that you and people should be aware of. the ACT automatically creates layers and then geometry on them. This leads to your pop up box repeating itself. you have to switch SU off using windows Task Manager.
i disabled tig-layerwatcher in plugins manager - restarted and ACT works fine.
c
0
User avatar
cmeed 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Thu Jun 11, 2015 5:10 pm

cmeed wrote:Hi Tig, - Great Plugin again. there is a clash with ACT (advanced camera tech) that you and people should be aware of. the ACT automatically creates layers and then geometry on them. This leads to your pop up box repeating itself. you have to switch SU off using windows Task Manager.
i disabled tig-layerwatcher in plugins manager - restarted and ACT works fine.
c
Thank you for the report.
Of course ACT should never need to change the active layer from Layer0, or to put geometry on a layer that is not Layer0 - so I am perplexed...
Investigating...
EDIT:

Oddly when the ACT tool adds a layer [it adds two] it makes it current and then immediately reverts to the existing layer anyway, so it's pretty dumb !
It is possible to add a layer and use it, without ever making it current.
ACT adds camera objects etc onto those newly made layers...
I am thinking of reporting its silliness to the authors...
I can easily trap for this idiocy, but it would not be expected if ACT acted sensibly.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Thu Jun 11, 2015 6:27 pm

Here's v3.0

Download

It now allows tools [like ACT] to set a layer active that is NOT Layer0 - without the warning message.
It also allows non-native tools to add geometry onto layers other than Layer0.
Native tools are still covered...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby cmeed » Thu Jun 11, 2015 6:57 pm

As always your work and speed is sublime !
0
User avatar
cmeed 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby cmeed » Thu Jun 11, 2015 7:01 pm

As always your work and speed is sublime !
If only ACT was updated - it's been the same pain in the a*se for so long now. We don't need those extra layers! I've never needed those camera volumes it produces and you can't turn them off. They keep coming back and It's slow slow slow. Grrrr.
Grumble grumble.
0
User avatar
cmeed 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby numerobis » Sun Jun 14, 2015 11:45 am

Great little plugin for fixing this idiotic exploding behavior! Thanks!

And yes... ACT should be fixed too - this large geometry is a joke that makes it unusable!
0

numerobis 
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby DOD3R » Mon Jun 15, 2015 2:35 am

Hello All,
Allow me to just share my idea on how i deal with this in my workflow.
I probably as everybody have the habit to save usually at least once in ten minutes, or usually when finishing some steps like component,floor.
To address the problem of geometry on different layer than 0 I made similar habit of running clean up plugin from ThomThom. I did set up two hotkeys for two kind of settings. First is applicable for solid like geometries with smoothing and deleting edges and the other is practically just geometry on layer 0.

have a great day everybody.

T.
0

DOD3R 
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Sun Aug 02, 2015 7:13 pm

Here's v4.0

Download


Now trapped for obscure errors from some other plugins' operations affecting its observers etc.
It has also been made into an 'Extension'.
2
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Fri Nov 13, 2015 9:03 pm

Here's v5.0

Download


It has minor tweaks and is also 'future-proofed'.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Sat Nov 14, 2015 6:09 pm

Here's v6.0.

Download


It has better reporting of geometry assignment to Layer0 on completion.
It also has a few background security tweaks too.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Mon Dec 28, 2015 2:37 pm

Here's v7.0

Download

Its code loading regime has been adjusted in an attempt to avoid an occasional glitch with v2016.
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby facer » Tue Dec 29, 2015 9:58 am

TIG,
Thank you for the "clever plugin".

I can not find a reference to the plugin other than in
SketchUcation Plugins Manager and in the "Plugins" folder.

How would I "easily" check on which version I am running in the future?

All the best for the New Year!
0
User avatar
facer 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby Dave R » Tue Dec 29, 2015 11:48 am

facer wrote:TIG,
Thank you for the "clever plugin".

I can not find a reference to the plugin other than in
SketchUcation Plugins Manager and in the "Plugins" folder.

How would I "easily" check on which version I am running in the future?

All the best for the New Year!


Window>Preferences

Screenshot - 12_29_2015 , 4_52_10 AM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby facer » Tue Dec 29, 2015 12:08 pm

Thank you Dave R,
I did not see the plugin's summary at the bottom last time I looked:
Version 7.0
Creator: TIG
Copyright: TIG (c) 2015
0
User avatar
facer 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Mon Jan 04, 2016 1:11 pm

Here's v8.0

Download

It fixes a reported glitch - where the Layer Observer [spotting the resetting of the current-layer away from Layer0] was not getting transferred across when a new SKP was opened. Now fixed. :D
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 07, 2016 1:06 pm

Here's v9.0

Download


Read the revised Usage notes on its PluginStore page...

BugSplats on MACs when immediately undoing Make Group / Component now avoided.

Note that it no longer reassigns the layers of natively Exploded Containers' Geometry [because an unsolvable undo-stack overflow problem when > ~200 pieces of geometry are moved into their new context, because then undo of the explode becomes impossible],

BUT there is a new context-menu item "Explode-To-Layer0" - it is only available if the selected Containers are not on Layer0 - it then explodes the Containers and reassigns Layer0 to the resultant Geometry: this explode is then once again properly one-step undo-able, irrespective of the amount of geometry getting moved and reassigned to Layer0.

Otherwise its processes and tools are generally as in v8.0...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby dan19936 » Fri Mar 11, 2016 10:30 pm

TIG - thank you for this plugin! I've assigned the Explode-To-Layer0 command to my keyboard shortcut, the only problem is that since this is a context sensitive command, groups on layer0 won't explode with my shortcut. The solution is to also use [Plugin] Layer Zero Fixup Tools by slbaumgartner and assign that to your shortcut.

http://sketchucation.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=375498#p375498

Dan
0

dan19936 
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 12, 2016 1:33 pm

You don't need to use "Explode to Layer0" if the container is assigned "Layer0" - therefore it doesn't appear in the context-menu in that case, you can just explode it and its contents will go onto Layer0 anyway...
The purpose of this alternative exploder is that if the container is on Layer1 and you do a native Explode the geometry that was inside it on Layer0 arrives on Layer1, this alternative way always explodes onto Layer0.

However I can see times when you might want to use the "Explode to Layer0" on a number of containers, some of which are already assigned Layer0 and they will they get skipped.
I'll adjust the code and update...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] TIG-LayerWatcher

Postby TIG » Sat Mar 12, 2016 2:57 pm

Here's v9.1

Download

"Explode-To-Layer0" now works on all Containers, even those already assigned Layer0.
Its final reporting dialog is also enhanced.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MidgeUre, normaalewoon and 16 guests

Visit our sponsors: