[Plugin] 3D Text Editor

[Plugin] 3D Text Editor

Postby thomthom » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:04 pm

Overview
This plugin started out as part of BaseCamp 2012 coding challenge when I was given the keyword "Text Editor" to write a plugin around.

After BaseCamp I developed it further, improving it.

Access
Draw > Editable 3d Text

3D Text > Context Menu > Edit Text

Requirements
  • SketchUp 7 or newer - ( Other versions untested )
  • Internet Explorer 9 or newer - ( Other versions untested )
  • TT_Lib2 (v>=2.7.0)

Guide: How to install RBZ Files
Get the latest version from the SCF PluginStore http://sketchucation.com/resources/plug ... texteditor

Download



Footprint
<Sketchup>/Plugins/
+-
tt_texteditor.rb

0
Last edited by thomthom on Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby nickchun » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:11 pm

This looks like a much awaited improvement to 3D text. I will try it out ,thanks a lot.
0

nickchun 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby d12dozr » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:27 pm

Does it work with Text that has been created with the native 3D Text tool?
0
3D Printing with SketchUp Book
http://goo.gl/f7ooYh

d12dozr 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby gilles » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:32 pm

Well I have play a little with it on Mac and it is ok, just remove material if you have one applied.
Note: There was nothing else in the model.
0
" c'est curieux chez les marins ce besoin de faire des phrases "
User avatar
gilles 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby gilles » Tue Feb 19, 2013 9:34 pm

d12dozr wrote:Does it work with Text that has been created with the native 3D Text tool?


Not for me.
0
" c'est curieux chez les marins ce besoin de faire des phrases "
User avatar
gilles 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Tue Feb 19, 2013 11:12 pm

d12dozr wrote:Does it work with Text that has been created with the native 3D Text tool?

No. And there is no way I can make it do so either because the native tool just creates a group with some mesh and there is nothing to extract the original text from.

gilles wrote:Well I have play a little with it on Mac and it is ok, just remove material if you have one applied.
Note: There was nothing else in the model.

No crash? :shock:
...if the crash turn out to be only on my machine I'll cry - as I would have spent hours trying to fix it. :s

Did you apply the material on the outside or inside the text group?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby gilles » Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:37 am

Inside, then editing material just disappear. Seems to work fine.
0
" c'est curieux chez les marins ce besoin de faire des phrases "
User avatar
gilles 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 9:35 am

Apply it to the outside and you should be fine. The geometry is constantly recreated.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby TIG » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:38 am

You can make a MAC crash by specifying a 3dtext font-name that doesn't exists - on a PC it simply reverts to using the last used font-name.
So is your MAC crashing issue caused by assembling your list of fonts that is somehow including some that are inaccessible to Sketchup?
The MAC seems to keep its fonts in various places and perhaps Sketchup doesn't look for fonts from every location?
Or perhaps it's using 'Xxxx' when it's really named 'Xxxx Bold'?
It's easy enough to test on a MAC, by running a line of code on the Ruby Console that contains:
a real-font name ['Helvetica'] >>> 3dtext
a certainly non-existent font-name ['TT_foobar'] >>> crash
a suspect font-name [perhaps tested in turn from each finder-found 'font' directory, or with alternative 'naming' like 'Xxxx'/'Xxxx Bold' etc] >>> 3dtext or crash ?
If you find it's a folder of fonts that's getting listed but actually not being searched by Sketchup, then somehow exclude that folder from the listing process; or if it's 'Xxxx'/'Xxxx Bold' somehow recode to ensure full name is got, not it's 'Generic' name ??
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:44 am

I got crashes when using a font that existed on the Mac.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby pilou » Wed Feb 20, 2013 11:36 am

Some problems of visibility on V7 XP :)
(Old Explorer ? )
3dtext.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:20 pm

Yes. Your Explorer is way too old. I doubt I'll make anything that's compatible with anything older than IE9 from now on. It's just too much work.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby pilou » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:24 pm

As I have not more modern than IE6 ;)
This if needing will work on another computer :)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:25 pm

Pilou wrote:As I have not more modern than IE6 ;)

How are you even able to navigate websites with such an old browser?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby jolran » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:39 pm

Yes. Your Explorer is way too old. I doubt I'll make anything that's compatible with anything older than IE9 from now on. It's just too much work


+1

lot of work(forIE7). CSS sheet grows large!

OT:
I'm trying to make IE8 compatible dialog, but when reading this I might jump up one step.
You are still sticking to CSS2? I havent dared touching any CSS3 stuff yet,
but some are available to IE9 by the looks of it.

Plugin looks handy BTW :D :thumb:
0
User avatar
jolran 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby pilou » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:42 pm

How are you even able to navigate websites with such an old browser?

I don't use it for navigate! ;) It's just a spleeping one :)
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:46 pm

I'm using some CSS3 features. Gradients, rounded corners and other things. But generally the more stable CSS3 features. I have a plugin in the works, which will require IE10 - it allows you to install plugins by dragging files into a webdialog window.

IE has lost a lot of users - and Microsofts automatic updates are starting to make it's effect as well as they try hard to push users to keep IE up to date. I would only concern myself about anything older than IE9 if I really had a good reason - like if I made a commercial plugin where a significant amount of users has older systems.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 12:51 pm

Pilou wrote:I don't use it for navigate! ;) It's just a spleeping one :)

Gotcha. Well, I hope you one day can upgrade. Because there really isn't much I can do with IE6. But XP supports older IE versions than IE6, why not just let it update?
It's 11 years old - time to let it die. Even Microsofts wants it gone: http://www.ie6countdown.com/
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby jolran » Wed Feb 20, 2013 1:05 pm

Thanks for the info.
I will have to rethink about my css support then. I think your philosophy is sound.

And yeah! I had IE8 on my computer. And overnight "Badabing!" it became IE9.
Just like that :)

Sorry sorry, back to the plugin discussion.
0
User avatar
jolran 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby TIG » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:34 pm

thomthom wrote:I got crashes when using a font that existed on the Mac.
BUT is the 'font-name' you pass from your tool the exact same name as the MAC reports?
Or is that font perhaps in a fold-folder that Sketchup doesn't look-in, but your script does ?
E.g. some user or xfonts thing ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby pilou » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:48 pm

why not just let it update?

I am romantic, attached to the old things! :)

For 99 % my old one is sufficient! :enlight:

I don't see any major advantage to install new things ... except for launch your very elabrated plugins :)


For this if needing i can use other modern computers! :roll:
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Dave R » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:51 pm

Thomas, this is very cool. I'm using it on my MacBook Pro with 10.6.8 with no problems.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

If you are the smartest person in the room, you are in the wrong room.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:55 pm

Dave R wrote:Thomas, this is very cool. I'm using it on my MacBook Pro with 10.6.8 with no problems.

So my message box warning is just an annoyance then... :shock: :?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Dave R » Wed Feb 20, 2013 3:59 pm

It doesn't bother me that much. :D

It may cause crashes later. I haven't used it that much.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

If you are the smartest person in the room, you are in the wrong room.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:10 pm

I'll let it be like this for a while and wait for the mayhem.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Dave R » Wed Feb 20, 2013 4:41 pm

Be sure, I'll let you know.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

If you are the smartest person in the room, you are in the wrong room.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Ben Ritter » Wed Feb 20, 2013 8:32 pm

Thomthom, a very appreciative thank you.
0

Ben Ritter 
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby Dave R » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:04 pm

Thomas, I played with it a little more on my Mac and the only thing I can find is the close button doesn't do anything. No biggie for me. I'm flexible and can close it with the X button at the top left.
0
Inspecting mirrors is a job I could easily see myself doing.

If you are the smartest person in the room, you are in the wrong room.
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby pilou » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:13 am

like if I made a commercial plugin where a significant amount of users has older systems.


Seems another friendly systems than IE exist for old computers or it's the same?
here by Kiril2008
2paths.jpg
0
Last edited by pilou on Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:17 am, edited 3 times in total.
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] 3D Text Editor (1.0.0) — 19 February 2013

Postby thomthom » Thu Feb 21, 2013 9:14 am

Dave R wrote:Thomas, I played with it a little more on my Mac and the only thing I can find is the close button doesn't do anything. No biggie for me. I'm flexible and can close it with the X button at the top left.

hm... that's odd. Anything in the Ruby Console?
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Skip1234, Yahoo Bot and 7 guests

Visit our sponsors: