[Plugin] WireTool (Catenary) (1.4.1) – updated 06.03.2013

[Plugin] WireTool (Catenary) (1.4.1) – updated 06.03.2013

Postby Aerilius » Sun May 27, 2012 3:05 am

This Plugin allows to draw physically accurate wires and ropes (catenary curves) between two points with only two clicks.

preview.png

ae_WireTool_1_4_1.rbz

Version: 1.4.1

Date: 06.03.2013

Usage:
(Menu) Plugins → Draw Wires

  • Type a number + s to change the number of curve segments:
    24s
  • Type a number + % to set an arc length (relative to the distance between source and target point):
    120%
  • Type a length to set a fixed arc length:
    72.5m
    30.66"

History:
version 1.4.1: 06.03.2013
- added Spanish translation
- fixed non-convergent numerical approximation for curve lengths near 100% of distance
version 1.4.0: 01.03.2013
- converted into a SketchUp Extension
- image and cursor added
version 1.3: 03.06.2012
- fixed wrong segment length (only noticeable with big sag like 200%)
- changed segments to have equal angles (visually best result, but not all segments have the same length)
- added optional parameter @@segment_distribution_mode in the script to toggle back to equal length segments (edit the ruby file)
version 1.2: 30.05.2012
- now all segments have equal arc length (no more equal x length)
- error with translation in activate didn't properly activate the tool
- @state=0 fixed
version 1.1: 27.05.2012
- translations
- better precision (changed threshold for numerical calculations)
version 1.0: 27.05.2012
2
Last edited by Aerilius on Wed Mar 06, 2013 12:27 pm, edited 10 times in total.

Aerilius 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Krisidious » Sun May 27, 2012 5:00 am

sweet thanks.
0
By: Kristoff Rand
Home Designer
Unique House Plans
User avatar
Krisidious 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Bob James » Sun May 27, 2012 8:21 am

I can really use this! Thank you. :thumb:
-1
i7-4930K 3.4Ghz, 2x GTX780 6GB, 32GB DDR3-1600 ECC, OCZ Vertex 4 500GB, WD Black 3TB, 32TB NAS, 4x 27" Monitors, SpaceMouse Pro, X-keys XK-60
User avatar
Bob James 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby thomthom » Sun May 27, 2012 12:18 pm

Aerilius wrote:Type a length to set a fixed arc length:

!!! I tried on this a couple of years ago! Never worked out how to do a fixed length curve. I need to snoop around in your code. I wanted to make a tool that would anchor the end point to other geometry so when you moved of the the object it was attached it the curve would update.
4
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby iichiversii » Sun May 27, 2012 12:24 pm

Now this is a great plugin, thanks :thumb:
0
Bring on the Rain...
User avatar
iichiversii 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby gullfo » Sun May 27, 2012 2:39 pm

very cool! this is one of the more useful shapes in acoustics!
0
User avatar
gullfo 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby thomthom » Sun May 27, 2012 3:03 pm

gullfo wrote:very cool! this is one of the more useful shapes in acoustics!

That I wasn't aware of. Guess I need to read up on it again.
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby mitcorb » Sun May 27, 2012 3:54 pm

Another good tool concept. By the way, Remus Knowles has another version in the Plugins Index.
0
I take the slow, deliberate approach in my aimless wandering.
User avatar
mitcorb 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby iichiversii » Sun May 27, 2012 7:06 pm

mitcorb wrote:Another good tool concept. By the way, Remus Knowles has another version in the Plugins Index.


Any idea what his version is called?
0
Bring on the Rain...
User avatar
iichiversii 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Aerilius » Sun May 27, 2012 7:22 pm

Remus' plugin is the Simple Catenary Curve. It "just" calculates the curve for a given set of 17 points but it put me on the right path to look on Wikipedia after I had a paper full of integrals that didn't want get further simplified.
0

Aerilius 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby urgen » Sun May 27, 2012 8:35 pm

HA!...cool idea.thanks Aerilius :thumb:
0
--pupil forever...------
User avatar
urgen 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby nektares » Tue May 29, 2012 5:35 am

I always did this with splines, this is a much better and precise way to do it, Thank you!
0

nektares 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby sdmitch » Tue May 29, 2012 3:38 pm

When I tried the plugin, I kept getting a canatnary drawn from the origin to my first pick point. Adding a @state = 0 to the def initialize method fixed this problem.
0
Nothing is worthless, it can always be used as a bad example.

http://sdmitch.blogspot.com/
User avatar
sdmitch 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Aerilius » Tue May 29, 2012 4:37 pm

Hi Sam,
thanks for the tip. I wonder why this happens, although the initialize method does not have @state=0, this should be set when the activate method calls reset.
Is someone else having this problem?
0

Aerilius 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby massimo » Tue May 29, 2012 5:13 pm

Is someone else having this problem?

Yes the same here. Thanks for the plugin btw. :thumb:
0
User avatar
massimo 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby thomthom » Tue May 29, 2012 5:30 pm

create_geometry and draw_geometry can be refactored into one method that returns an array of point3d objects - the only difference between these methods are the final statement. DRY
0
Thomas Thomassen — SketchUp Monkey & Coding addict
List of my plugins and link to the CookieWare fund
User avatar
thomthom 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Dave R » Tue May 29, 2012 6:00 pm

I didn't experience the same thing that Sam reported.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby gullfo » Tue May 29, 2012 10:42 pm

i added the @state=0 and it made a difference in terms of being able to select the first point. very nice tool!
0
User avatar
gullfo 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Dave R » Tue May 29, 2012 10:57 pm

So why don't I have this same problem? I didn't modify the script and it works fine for me.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby wind-borne » Tue May 29, 2012 11:13 pm

Dave R wrote:So why don't I have this same problem? I didn't modify the script and it works fine for me.


Which version are you using?
initial version works fine for me, updated version moves to origin.
0
"To read between the lines was easier than to follow the text."OSX 10.11.6 _ _ _ _ _ SU 8 pro
User avatar
wind-borne 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Dave R » Tue May 29, 2012 11:19 pm

That would explain it. I didn't catch that there was an update because the thread title wasn't edited to show that as is SOP here.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Dave R » Wed May 30, 2012 12:15 am

So now I've updated the plugin and added the line as mentioned. I get some rather strange behavior now. See the video.

0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby TIG » Wed May 30, 2012 12:33 am

I have the original version [that works] if anyone wants it... :?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby Dave R » Wed May 30, 2012 12:34 am

I guess I'd be interested.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary)

Postby raineysky » Wed May 30, 2012 12:44 am

I would very much like to have it if it makes rope. I tried it but got results like Dave shows in the video.
0

raineysky 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary) — updated 30.05.2012

Postby Aerilius » Wed May 30, 2012 8:42 am

Tools normally don't have weird behavior without reason. Running it with the Ruby console open gives often more definable results.
So I found and fixed an unobvious bug with the translations that stirred up all methods and I changed that the x-width of segments is variable to give always the same segment length.
0
Last edited by Aerilius on Thu May 31, 2012 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Aerilius 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary) — updated 30.05.2012

Postby Dave R » Wed May 30, 2012 10:22 am

That apparently fixed it. Thank you.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary) — updated 30.05.2012

Postby McGyver » Thu May 31, 2012 4:30 pm

This is very cool! Thank you!



Edited to add- This is REALLY cool! I was just messing around with it and it works great for something I was making. THANKS!
0
User avatar
McGyver 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary) — updated 30.05.2012

Postby Michaelv » Sat Jun 02, 2012 7:25 pm

Great Thanks.

There was another catenary tool (and other geometric curves too) here:
viewtopic.php?t=41310

I needed to make them like this though.

See below however, the first segment is much longer and they become smaller as they go on the curve:
0

Michaelv 
 

Re: [Plugin] WireTool (Catenary) — updated 03.06.2012

Postby Aerilius » Sun Jun 03, 2012 10:36 pm

@Michaelv: Thanks for noticing this! It was not much visible with little sagging (110%) but with big sagging. Sorry that it took some time (it's not easy to do math with curve lengths).
I fixed it now.

I also thought about the problem and find that the corners/endpoints a even less noticeable when I use equal angles between the segments. If you prefer equal segment lengths, you can change the parameter @@segments_distribution_mode to 1 inside the script.
0

Aerilius 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Next


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jbkjvjddfcz, mauromoro, pradeep16pradeep, youppi and 10 guests

Visit our sponsors: