The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

General discussion related to SketchUp Pro and Make

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby L i am » Mon Jan 01, 2018 2:52 pm

You probably missed this, too. If you want to place the same radius on other corners, double click near them.
Thank you, thank you, thank you!
0

L i am 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:47 pm

I know I should know this (being a top sketchukator and all--- :mrgreen: Yeah, I am having a hard time containing my laughter too. . .)but as I said. .I know I should know this but I don't:

as I go between scenes with sections how can I toggle between them and keep the section plane window off so I dont have to manually turn them off each time? I have always found the scene menu in SU very confusing and conveluted and I can't seem to get this to work as I want. Help please? Thanks.

David_H

scene_1.jpg
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:50 pm

David, you can access them in the Outliner. Right click on the desired section cut in Outliner and activate it or deactivate as needed.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Wed Jan 09, 2019 7:59 pm

Dave. . thanks for the response and please excuse the follow up. . . I guess I'm not following, or i didn't make my question clear and I don't use outliiner that much. . .is there a way to save the scene updates so that the windows just stay off? I don't see how Outline does that for me.

Thx,

D
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:01 pm

Never mind. .. I think I got it. I just update after the outliner thing. Correct?

Thx,

D
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:13 pm

Oh. Sorry. I didn't get that part. The display of section planes is a style setting thing so edit the style to turn them off, update the style and update the scenes.

Actually, if you edit the style and then update the scene, you should get a warning that tells you the style has been edited and asking if you want to update the style or create a new one.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:26 pm

Thank you! it's really quite amazing how much of the basic stuff you forget when you don't dealwith it that often.

D
1
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Wed Jan 09, 2019 8:41 pm

Yes it is amazing indeed.

And it shows how deep SketchUp can be.
1
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby rv1974 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 2:13 pm

Curic Extend is amazing!
https://gumroad.com/curic
50% discount code:
10k followers
0

rv1974 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby pilou » Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:39 pm

A tool EXTRUDE EDGES BY VECTOR BY tig don't make the same ? ;)

3
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby rv1974 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:28 pm

no, Curic works with multiple independent objects (groups, components) and\or its faces instantly.
Does Tig's one extrude to a curved object?
1

rv1974 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:34 pm

rv1974 wrote:Does Tig's one extrude to a curved object?


Yes.
1
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby rv1974 » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:22 pm

Very good, but once again ability to process multiple objects regardless the context makes night and day difference.
0

rv1974 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby TIG » Wed Mar 13, 2019 7:00 pm

rv1974 wrote:no, Curic works with multiple independent objects (groups, components) and\or its faces instantly.
Does Tig's one extrude to a curved object?
My EE... tool extends selected edges and by connection their faces to any objects in the way of the vector-path, or a picked point on that path - whichever is appropriate. It doesn't process the contents of selected groups etc, so you must edit them and select the geometry to process.
The objects to which it extrudes must include some faces [even if nested inside groups etc] - so curved surfaces are accommodated...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Khai » Thu Mar 14, 2019 8:34 am

My biggest Doh!

Struggling with microfaces on a component..

Brain : this is a component!
Me : I know
Brain : no, this is a component, get it?
Me : I know! Will you shuv up?
Brain : idiot. Copy it, enlarge it 500% over there, and then work on it, they won't be microfaces anymore and life will be easy. Pillock.
1

Khai 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Box » Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:28 am

Why on earth is Curic Extend in this thread!
If you want to post it put it in a thread of its own in the Plugins SubForum.
4
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Thu Mar 14, 2019 1:10 pm

Khai wrote:My biggest Doh!

Struggling with microfaces on a component..

Brain : this is a component!
Me : I know
Brain : no, this is a component, get it?
Me : I know! Will you shuv up?
Brain : idiot. Copy it, enlarge it 500% over there, and then work on it, they won't be microfaces anymore and life will be easy. Pillock.


As demonstrated by Box:

https://sketchucation.com/forums/viewto ... 18&t=68150
1
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:22 pm

Fellow Wizards:

so in previous versions of SU there was a blue icon with a query (?) symbol or something that would give you all the statistics of a model and the ability to fix and purge throughout. What happened to that too in V 18? Entity Info doesn't quite do it for me.

thx,

D
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:28 pm

david_h wrote:so in previous versions of SU there was a blue icon with a query (?) symbol or something that would give you all the statistics...


I suspect you mean the Query tool which creates something that looks like this:
Screenshot - 3_25_2019 , 10_26_40 AM.png


That is part of the Utilities Tools available from the Extension Warehouse.
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:31 pm

Thanks Dave. No. . it was a statistics tool of some kind. I didn't use it much but I need it today to find out where some problems are and that it can fix them.

It had a menu that would come up that would show all the entities and an option to fix problems etc.

again, Thanks.

D

EDIT: This just in:

I think I found it!

thx again.
0
Last edited by david_h on Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:35 pm

CleanUp3? TIG's Purge All?

Do you still have the older version of SketchUp installed so you could check to see what it is called?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Mon Mar 25, 2019 4:39 pm

info.png


It was in the Window Menu. I just did't know to look for it there cuz it had it's own toolbar icon but it doesn't now.

So. . . .
never mind.jpg
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby pilou » Thu May 09, 2019 9:47 am

A cool one never too late! :mrgreen:

- Draw a box
- Draw a Line Guide in whatever direction wished
- Release the mouse and type any integer fraction N/D in the VCB with your 2 hands! :)
7/3 for example...
(any time you want till the good position of the Guide line wished! :fro:

I don't know why that works not with N*D or N+D or N-D :?:

doh_guide_line.jpg
0
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby pilou » Thu May 09, 2019 10:14 am

With the same tool : how to draw an only one Guide Point in the Space without plugin! :)

Draw with the Tape tool any one Guide point on an Edge (not on an hot point)
(on a middle edge you can't draw a guide point)

Move this Guide Point in the space

Et voilà :)

GIF_move_one_guid_point.gif
1
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby slbaumgartner » Sat May 11, 2019 1:45 pm

pilou wrote:I don't know why that works not with N*D or N+D or N-D :?:


It works with N/D as a side effect of supporting fractional inches. Though it's a common request, the measurement box doesn't support arithmetic and doesn't really understand division other than integer ratios.
0

slbaumgartner 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Bep » Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:13 am

Don't make this mistake.

I unfolded a cilinder/ring, and measured its area (cm²) with the tekst tool, with hidden lines turned off in view. (bottom strip of fig 1)
The strip at the top drawn with the rectangle tool shows the correct area.
although the face, when selected looks undivided, the square cm² turn out to be only for a part of the ring.(fig 2)

I notest, that drawn with the rectangle tool, entity-info identify's the rectangle as a face, and the unfolded rectangle as a surface.

fig 1
hidden lines off.PNG

fig 2
hidden lines on.PNG


test.skp
0
"History is written by the winners"
User avatar
Bep 
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:35 pm

So I have a question. . .and this is coming from a "Top Sketchucator"

(try and contain your laughter at least till I pose the question :mrgreen: )

i am trying to import a collection of materials from a previous version of SU and I can't get those to stay put in my materials pallet. Each time I open us SU I have to reload them.

What am I doing wrong? Needless to say, I don't do this a lot. ;)
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby Dave R » Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:38 pm

David, what operating system? What SketchUp version?

Is this a collection of materials in a folder?
0
%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby TIG » Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:45 pm

From the 'palette' phrasing I guess you are on a MAC ?

No matter, when you import a collection into a model those collection-materials are available in that model.
When you open a new model [or an older one] those collection-materials are not there - why would they be ?

If you want the material-collection to be available in all new models, then open an empty new model from your template, add the collection-materials, then save the model as a template - overwriting your usual template, OR making a new template, and setting that as your default-template.

Now all new models will have those collection-materials associated with it ?
You should also be able to associate the collection with existing models ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: The "Duh!" thread (aka the Doh! thread)

Postby david_h » Wed Aug 28, 2019 10:51 pm

Thank you my Brethren.

I am on 2019, Win 10.

To TIG's point, I think i need to load these into the template.

thx,

D
0
If I make it look easy. . .then it probably is.
User avatar
david_h 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to SketchUp Pro & Make Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: fk0002 and 2 guests

Visit our sponsors: