[Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby reza1813 » Tue Feb 12, 2019 12:13 pm

Dear Fredo,
Thank you for your prompt reply to my question. Wow, I thought that adding curve line(Bezier) on Tool on surface plugin will be possible in SketchUp as MESH interface because this is just an example in order to show you what I mean and you obviously know that we usually need to add curve line on the curved surface(Like other Software: Rhino and...). Indeed, I ever use Drap(Feature in the SketchUp) or Flowify plugin(Anders L.) in order to put a pattern on my curved surface but most of the time it doesn't work properly or It does not look like what I am looking for.
All in all, I hope so in the near future, we have this feature on SketchUp. Thanks in advance.

Tools On Surface 01.jpg


Tools On Surface 02.jpg


Yours sincerely,
Hamidreza
1

reza1813 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby Chumley » Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:16 pm

Hi there.

Do you have a link to download the Tools on Surface plugin? I tried on the main page but link doesn't work.

Thanks.
0
User avatar
Chumley 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby TIG » Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:43 pm

You should always look in the Plugin Store for the latest versions of almost all toolsets...
See here...
https://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?p ... sOnSurface

Also remember to download and install the latest LibFredo...
https://sketchucation.com/pluginstore?pln=LibFredo6

After the installations, restart SketchUp to ensure everything gets synced...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby Caleb_Stanley » Fri Jun 28, 2019 3:48 pm

I am having issues upon the startup of SketchUp with ToolsOnSurface, I believe it may have something to do with the latest update but I am not sure. Below is the text of the error code upon starting.

ToolsOn Surface 2.4a: Error starting up plugin (creating menus and icons) invalid byte sequence in UTF-8 [in lib6config.rbe - #'===0: line 319]

c:/...'sketchup/plugins/fredo6_!libfredo6/lib6core.rbe:1058:in'rescue in block in effective_load_part2'

Please Help. Thank you.
0

Caleb_Stanley 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby TIG » Sun Jun 30, 2019 6:52 pm

I'm sure that Fredo will respond with more details...
However, the error message you posted is incomplete - in fact it omits the vital parts.
Can you re-post the FULL message [including your ../users/user_name/ etc]...

Also please confirm that you have the latest LibFredo RBZ installed...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby fredo6 » Sun Jun 30, 2019 9:02 pm

Thanks, TIG, for your invaluable help.

I already answer in the other thread where the problem was also posted.
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby rv1974 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 11:35 am

Fredo could erroneous Arc behavior be fixed please?
0

rv1974 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby jgb » Tue Jul 02, 2019 5:56 pm

I get that a lot too. Mentioned it numerous times in the past 8+ years and no improvement. Sometimes it works correctly, but I cannot define what works and what doesn't.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby rv1974 » Tue Jul 02, 2019 8:34 pm

Yep it's present from day 1. The 'workaround' is not to start/end from the outer edges. Just a microscopic offset, then manually extend the arc Kinda helps in many (but not 100%) cases
0

rv1974 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby fredo6 » Wed Jul 03, 2019 5:45 am

This is a fundamental flaw in the algorithm when you start from sharp borders.

So, not something simple to correct, versus revisiting seriously the algorithm itself.
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby jgb » Wed Jul 03, 2019 10:17 pm

What do you mean "sharp borders"?
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby fredo6 » Thu Jul 04, 2019 5:20 am

jgb wrote:What do you mean "sharp borders"?

Usual cases where you TOS algorithm has problem are those where the surface is a close shape and when you start from an edge which has a sharp angle.
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby mrswissmaster » Thu Mar 05, 2020 8:05 am

Is it possible to place image on curved surface?
0

mrswissmaster 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby Dave R » Thu Mar 05, 2020 1:50 pm

Native tools can do that or you could look at Fredo's Thru Paint.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby keitheseymour » Mon Mar 09, 2020 9:52 am

I'm running Sketchup 2015, and have installed Fredo6: Tools On Surface v2.4a. I can see it installed in my extensions list, but it doesn't show up in the menus to use. Any ideas? Thanks in advance.
0

keitheseymour 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby Box » Mon Mar 09, 2020 10:23 am

Did you install the Fredo Library that is required.
0
User avatar
Box 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby TIG » Mon Mar 09, 2020 12:27 pm

Fredo's tools appear under the Tools menu, did you look there ?
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby stebbins » Mon Apr 27, 2020 9:09 pm

Hello, how may I avoid these diagonal lines that are produced when offsetting rectangles?

Thanks in advance,
Chris
0

stebbins 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby fredo6 » Tue Apr 28, 2020 9:48 am

stebbins wrote:Hello, how may I avoid these diagonal lines that are produced when offsetting rectangles?

I would need to have the model, and also to understand how you used the OffsetOnSurface tool.
0
User avatar
fredo6 
PluginStore Author
PluginStore Author
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby jgb » Wed Apr 29, 2020 7:00 pm

I take it that those roofs have the center raised a bit. The diagonal lines are the "hip" bends. Quite normal. You need to make then "soft" or hidden.

Three ways, either select the line and change its attribute in Entity Attributes; or

with the erase tool, press and hold "CTRL" and sweep over the line.

The third way is to create a layer and move those lines into it. Make that layer visible or invisible as needed.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby j40 » Sun May 03, 2020 7:45 pm

Hi, great plugin! :thumb: I have an issue on SketchUp 2020 version (Mac), it's not appearing in none of menus.
on SU 2018 it's working perfectly though.
Any idea why it happens?
best regards
0

j40 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby Dave R » Sun May 03, 2020 7:53 pm

It will show in Tools>Fredo6 Collection in SketchUp 2020. Have you restarted SketchUp after installing it?
Screenshot - 5_3_2020 , 1_52_06 PM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby j40 » Sun May 03, 2020 8:25 pm

Dave R wrote:It will show in Tools>Fredo6 Collection in SketchUp 2020. Have you restarted SketchUp after installing it?
Screenshot - 5_3_2020 , 1_52_06 PM.png


Yes, I have. No luck. As if nothing was added/installed. Very odd.
0

j40 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby Dave R » Sun May 03, 2020 8:33 pm

How did you install it?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby j40 » Sun May 03, 2020 9:09 pm

Dave R wrote:How did you install it?

Via: Extension Manager>Install Extension>ToolsOnSurface_v2.4a.rbz
0

j40 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby Dave R » Sun May 03, 2020 9:13 pm

Do you have the most current version of LibFredo6 installed, too?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby j40 » Sun May 03, 2020 9:41 pm

Dave R wrote:Do you have the most current version of LibFredo6 installed, too?

Indeed.
The same .rbz was successfully installed on SU 2018 though :?
0

j40 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby TIG » Mon May 04, 2020 2:56 pm

Have you closed SketchUp, then restarted it to ensure everything is synced after the files/lib installation ?
1
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby j40 » Tue May 05, 2020 2:45 pm

TIG wrote:Have you closed SketchUp, then restarted it to ensure everything is synced after the files/lib installation ?

Yes, I have. Also updated to the most recent SU update (20.1.228 OS X).
1

j40 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Postby designerbursa » Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:46 am

When will your update arrive?
0
User avatar
designerbursa 
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Previous


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 0930alireza0935, Google Bot, keiz, nltphuc and 20 guests

Visit our sponsors: