[Plugin] 2D Tools

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby pavelleon410 » Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:42 pm

Thank you so much, this simple option was so lacking for me to work! Great!
0

pavelleon410 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby MarekSk » Tue May 22, 2018 12:08 pm

Hello,
I used to use 2D tools regularly, especially 2D text. Since I have completely reinstalled PC, installed Sketchup v.17.2.555 64-bit the function "Edit text" is very slow. If change the text in the
pop-up window and hit ENTER, sometimes I wait even for one minute. This happens even the project is empty. Can you help me how to solve the issue please? In the past modifying text was getting slow when the project grows but not empty. Many thanks
0

MarekSk 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Tue May 22, 2018 4:43 pm

MarekSk wrote:Hello,
I used to use 2D tools regularly, especially 2D text. Since I have completely reinstalled PC, installed Sketchup v.17.2.555 64-bit the function "Edit text" is very slow. If change the text in the
pop-up window and hit ENTER, sometimes I wait even for one minute. This happens even the project is empty. Can you help me how to solve the issue please? In the past modifying text was getting slow when the project grows but not empty. Many thanks


What video card are you using?
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby MarekSk » Wed May 23, 2018 1:32 pm

Hello,
many thanks for the fast feedback. I am using Lenovo T520:
- i7-2760 2,4Ghz
- Intel(R) HD Graphics 3000
and
- NVIDIA Quatro 1000M

Same time ago it worked fast enough. At least for not so large projects.
0

MarekSk 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Wed May 23, 2018 5:42 pm

Ensure that your system is set up to use the NVIDIA graphics-card when using SketchUp.
A Windows system update might have reset this to the less good built-in Intel card.


PS: Please update your user's profile.
You can't be still using SketchUp v6 !
And your Windows version would be useful too...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby KSpring » Wed May 23, 2018 6:11 pm

I am not having any luck getting this plugin to work in SketchUp 2018. Will update it to work in SU2018? When I tried the Linestyles tool no line would draw. When I tried the 2D text tool no text.
0

KSpring 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Wed May 23, 2018 6:24 pm

KSpring wrote:I am not having any luck getting this plugin to work in SketchUp 2018. Will update it to work in SU2018? When I tried the Linestyles tool no line would draw. When I tried the 2D text tool no text.


It works fine for me in SketchUp 2018 and doesn't need to be updated.

Screenshot - 5_23_2018 , 12_20_45 PM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby MarekSk » Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:26 pm

Hello,
many thanks for help. Fortunately I have found what causes the problem. It is "layer" toolbars visible. If I hide it everything worsk fine. If I add Layer toolbar at toolbar section above immediately I wait for tens second to get text modified.
Because I also use and need layer toolbar I would like to ask you how to resolve the problem.
0

MarekSk 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:56 pm

Looks like the Layers toolbar is causing similar issues that used to occur if the Outliner was open, and a plugin did lots of operations to create something.
Again, closing that window side stepped the issue.
Since 2dTools works for you without long delays, if the Layers toolbar is closed, the only effective solution is to temporarily close the Layers toolbar whilst you are using 2dTools... The toolbar is easily renewed when you need it later...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Efrado » Wed Oct 10, 2018 3:29 am

Hi Tig,
I downloaded the the plugin, but when tried to use de hatch pattern function, I realized the dialog window pointed somewhere else.
Is there a place I could get the folder of hatch patterns you show in the video as a batch of files, or should I get or create each file for myself?
I am using Su 2017 free on macbook pro.

Thank you for your guidance.
0

Efrado 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Wed Oct 10, 2018 11:05 am

The hatch files are shipped with the toolset.
If you installed the RBZ properly they should be available to you...
The subfolder path is .../SketchUp/Plugins/2Dtools/Hatching AND .../HatchingExtra.
They are all JPG images.
When the 2Dhatching dialog opens you simply need to navigate to the desired folder and choose an image, which is then used as a texture for a new material...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Efrado » Tue Oct 16, 2018 7:28 pm

Hi TIG,
Thank you for yourMARVELOUS work.
0

Efrado 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby maxhouserocks » Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:43 pm

Hello. Fantastic plugin.
Is it possible to make a sketchup arc into a dashed line? i am having no luck with arcs, but lines look perfect. Any help appreciated.
Thanks,
Bob
0
User avatar
maxhouserocks 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Oct 23, 2018 6:56 pm

If you make an Arc and experiment with its number of Segments [either at its creation or afterwards using Entity Info], then the 2dLineStyle tool can 'overlay' a dotted/dashed representation...

Do some experimenting...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby maxhouserocks » Tue Oct 23, 2018 9:01 pm

Yes! I ended up changing the segments and getting the results i needed. Thanks!
Bob
0
User avatar
maxhouserocks 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby 3Ddesignr » Tue Nov 27, 2018 4:38 pm

Hello. I'm having trouble getting the 2d Tools file installed into Sketchup. I used to use Windows 7 and Sketchup 2008, and had no trouble. But now, I've upgraded to Windows 10 and Sketchup 2016. I downloaded both the 2d Tools file and the SketchUcation installation files, which now reside in my "Downloads" folder. From this point, I don't have a clue on what to do next. Can someone help me step by step to get this file working? I love these tools and used them for years, but now I've upgraded and don't understand how to actually install them. Thanks for any help.
0

3Ddesignr 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Nov 27, 2018 5:20 pm

To install any downloaded RBZ file manually is a very similar process to that in older SketchUp versions...***
Use the SketchUp menu item - Window > Extension Manager > Install Extension... [red-button bottom-right corner]
Find the downloaded RBZ file in the file-browser that opens, then answer in the affirmative to any prompts.
The RBZ is installed.
For complex extensions it's always advisable to restart SketchUp to ensure everything gets synced properly...

***Note that in the older SketchUp versions [>=v8M2] the 'installer button' is in the Preferences > Extensions dialog - but in the newer SketchUp version 'Extensions' get their own dedicated dialog.
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Kloggs » Fri Dec 07, 2018 10:13 pm

It won't down load because I don't have an app installed to download it. I see it says it needs debabeliser which is meant to automatically install, but that is obviously not happening. Ill try to download that first.
0

Kloggs 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:28 pm

Kloggs wrote:It won't down load because I don't have an app installed to download it. I see it says it needs debabeliser which is meant to automatically install, but that is obviously not happening. Ill try to download that first.
I just don't understand what you have said... :?
If you download any extension's RBZ file from the PluginStore, then your web-browser should automatically download it and put it into your Downloads folder - as a single RBZ file.

It is possible to break an RBZ - e.g. if you have your browser set up oddly - e.g. to extract contents of a compressed file, instead of simply downloading them; or you manually open the RBZ with a compression tool and mess around with its contents.
None of this is needed.
Note how an RBZ is actually a ZIP file with a different file-type suffix.

First off check that your web-browser is NOT recognizing the RBZ as a ZIP file and extracting it somewhere.
Check its settings...
The fact you say it seems to be missing deBableizer suggests the RBZ is somehow being 'extracted' wrongly.
Note that deBableizer is a helper script and it ships inside this toolset's RBZ.
You do NOT need to get t separately, if everything is set up properly.

Assuming you do manage to get the RBZ downloaded into your Downloads folder [i.e. it stays in one piece], then afterwards you simply get SketchUp itself to extract the RBZ's contents and put them into the correct locations for you...
[Using its built-in Extension Manager > "Install Extension..." red-button - as I have explained in earlier posts...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Sat Dec 08, 2018 3:29 pm

Kloggs wrote:It won't down load because I don't have an app installed to download it. I see it says it needs debabeliser which is meant to automatically install, but that is obviously not happening. Ill try to download that first.


After you download the file to your computer you should have 2Dtools_v7.6.rbz in your Downloads folder. In SketchUp, go to window>Extension Manager and click on the Install Extension button. Then navigate to the Downloads folder, select 2Dtools_v7.6.rbz and click Open. Then click Yes.

As for deBabelizer, that will be installed automatically as TIG indicated.

Dependencies: deBabelizer.rb [auto-installed with this plugin]
1
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby maszka » Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:31 pm

2d tool fillet works only with "zerO" value for radious. when I enter any digits to make round corner the value disappear and the fillet command ends with sharp corner. Any tips how to fix it?
0

maszka 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:24 pm

How are you inputting these fillet-radius values ?

Activate the tool and type in the fillet's radius...
Then pick the two edges to be filleted...

Do NOT click in the measurements-box.

Just type in the required value "in space" [using your locale's decimal-separator - . or ,]

Read the status-bar prompts...

It works fine for me...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Seanspace » Sat Aug 24, 2019 7:29 pm

Hi Tig

Thank you for this amazing plugin. When I press the download button I only get the .rbz installer, I dont seem to get a zip file. Am I missing something here? The issue is that I can't access the hatch files? Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you so much for an awesome plugin!
0

Seanspace 
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby Dave R » Sat Aug 24, 2019 7:32 pm

Seanspace wrote:When I press the download button I only get the .rbz installer, I dont seem to get a zip file. Am I missing something here? The issue is that I can't access the hatch files? Any advice would be appreciated.


You're only supposed to get the rbz file. If you are downloading that directly to your computer, go to SketchUp>Window>Extension Manager and click on Install Extension (red button). Navigate to the downloaded RBZ file, select it, click Open...

You could install the Sketchucation Extension Store (from the link at the top of the page) and let it automatically install extensions like this one for you. It'll help you keep extensions you've installed with it up to date and provide you with a bundle of extensions from SCF to install automatically when you move to a new computer or upgrade to a new version of SketchUp.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] 2D Tools

Postby TIG » Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:51 pm

There are no ZIP folders to download - an RBZ is a special ZIP folder used by SketchUp to contain all of an Extensions necessary files needed, and it is installed using the Extension Manager as Dave has explained...

Once the RBZ is installed the hatch image-files are located in subfolders in the 2Dtools subfolder, which is installed into your Plugins folder.
There are two subfolders - Hatching & HatchingExtra.

By default the 2Dhatching tool opens a file-browser dialog, starting the first subfolder and you can then choose one of those images to use as your hatch pattern [there are 49 JPG images and an explanatory ReadMe.txt file]: alternatively you can navigate up one level, then back down, into the second subfolder to access those extra hatches [there are 41 JPG images]...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

Previous


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Bot, zhinyanglau and 79 guests

Visit our sponsors: