[Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.4a - 01 Nov 18

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby cotty » Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:40 pm

You can disable the endpoints in the style settings.
0
User avatar
cotty 
Top SketchUcator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:43 pm

stulutions wrote: but why are my lines all crude looking compared to the nice smooth ones that your example shows?

thanks again!


The style you have selected with the template has endpoints and extensions turned on. You can edit those out in the Edit tab of the Styles window.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby stulutions » Sun Mar 13, 2016 9:46 pm

you guys are awesome...thanks....

thats good for now, but im sure ill be back soon! haha

loving sketchup...got a 3d connexion and i borrowed/stole my wife's cintiq 13hd tablet, what an amazing combo of tools!
0

stulutions 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby jgb » Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:30 pm

The difference is that you have "Display endpoints" turned on, and mine are off.

Now the weird part.
I set my line styles by a toolbar addin that has several types of line styles to select from.
It is supposed to replicate the menu items standard in SU. In this case, VIEW - EDGE STYLES.

But my SU menu does NOT have "Display Endpoints" which is very surprising.

Mind you, I have been using SU for many years and with a lot of addons, to the extent that now I really don't know what many functions are native SU or part of an addon.

Scrn-Cap 474.jpg


Maybe someone else can explain this, but I cannot find "Display Endpoints" in any SU menu.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:35 pm

Endpoints and Extensions are controlled in the Styles window which you can get to via the Window menu or in the Default Tray in SU2016 for PC.

Screenshot - 3_14_2016 , 1_40_00 PM.png


there are many more style setting options available in the Styles window than you can access through the View menu.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby jgb » Mon Mar 14, 2016 7:54 pm

Thank you Dave.

I looked quickly at Styles, but not at that level below.
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby AsiaStarArt » Fri Sep 09, 2016 3:05 am

:fro: :fro: :fro: 谢谢!
0

AsiaStarArt 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Hannessy » Mon Oct 10, 2016 9:28 pm

Hello,

I was excited finally to use this wonderful tool, but then this:

ToolsOnSurface 2.2a: Error starting up plugin (creating menus and icons)
undefined method `declare_topmenu' for #<Traductor::Plugin:0x007fe1c8dcf6e8> [in bootstrap_OnSurface.rb: - #`startup(): line 324]

/Users/Library/Application Support/SketchUp 2016/SketchUp/Plugins/Fredo6_!LibFredo6/Lib6Core.rb:959:in `rescue in block in effective_load_part2'

can someone help me? Thank you!

Greetz

Hannessy
0

Hannessy 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:29 pm

Did you install it from the latest downloaded RBZ using the Preferences > Extensions > Install Extensions... button ?

Did you also install the latest LibFredo ?

This Library is needed by almost all of Fredo's tools...

Install and restart SketchUp to see what happens...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby TIG » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:33 pm

If you have copied older files over from another SketchUp version you might have some old files ?
I suggest you open your Plugins folder and manually delete any subfolders and loader RB files that clearly relate to Fredo's tools/lib and reinstall them all.


Fredo will probably chip in when he reads this...
0
TIG
User avatar
TIG 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby rmsnmz » Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:48 am

I get an error when I install this: "Installation of fredo6_ToolsOnSurface is probably incorrect. Subfolder is missing." Any insight from anyone?
0

rmsnmz 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Wed Nov 09, 2016 1:51 am

How are you attempting to install it? What version of SketchUp? What operating system? Your profile doesn't say. If you want help you have to give us some useful information.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby rmsnmz » Wed Nov 09, 2016 6:27 pm

Dave R wrote:How are you attempting to install it? What version of SketchUp? What operating system? Your profile doesn't say. If you want help you have to give us some useful information.


Yes, trying to install this extension. Su 2016 + Windows 7 Pro. And I see the same error message when try to install some of the Fredo's other extensions as well; topo shaper, visu hole and the animator. Others install ok.
0

rmsnmz 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Wed Nov 09, 2016 6:53 pm

Unfortunately you failed to answer my question about how you are attempting to install it. Please tell us HOW you are installing them. And give us the exact text of the error message you are getting. Help us help you.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby rmsnmz » Wed Nov 09, 2016 11:56 pm

Dave R wrote:Unfortunately you failed to answer my question about how you are attempting to install it. Please tell us HOW you are installing them. And give us the exact text of the error message you are getting. Help us help you.



Trying to install through the sketchucation extension store 3.0... See the warning popup... Each time I try to install the extension this error message pops up. I tried installing through using the *.rbz file as well (with the skecthucation archive installer) but the same result. This same error message pops up when i try to install Fredo's Visu hole, toposhaper and animator extensions as well. Any more information?
0

rmsnmz 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby ganhorg » Fri Dec 02, 2016 8:53 pm

:P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P :P
0

ganhorg 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby FZSarasota » Wed Dec 14, 2016 9:59 pm

Ok, Just tested it on SU2017, works great (found no bug splats so far). To have more control over primitives in SU isn't only a major time saver, but a necessity most of the time. Yea, I'm new to SU (came over from the VFX industry, modeling with different packages -LW, Maya, MAX, etc...). Don't get me wrong, SU is wonderful, but some it's tools are a bit lacking (user control wise) IMHO... Sure, SU is geared towards a different market (I get it).

That being said, I'm really glad you (and others) have taken the time to develop these plugins & tool sets that improve upon SU's functionality.

So far I've DL'ed and installed 3 of you're plugins (will DL all of them this weekend).

Joint Push Pull.
RoundCorner.
Tools On Surface.

All are doing their thing in ver.2017 without issues

Thanks again,

-Terry
0

FZSarasota 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby jgb » Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:03 am

FZSarasota » Wed, 14 Dec 2016 4:59 pm
That being said, I'm really glad you (and others) have taken the time to develop these plugins & tool sets that improve upon SU's functionality.

Take a good look at Curviloft and its associated tools. :ecstatic:
0
__________________
jgb
User avatar
jgb 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby ursulaod » Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:01 pm

Dave R wrote:Unfortunately you failed to answer my question about how you are attempting to install it. Please tell us HOW you are installing them. And give us the exact text of the error message you are getting. Help us help you.



I also have this same problem and error- install through sketchucation extension manager 3.0, sketchup pro 2016, windows 10 Pro

The sketchucation manager shows they're installed, but no drop down in windows- extensions, and no toolbar.

There are other extensions downloaded through trimbles extension manager in the same plugin folder that work fine, so it's not the location.

Thanks!
0

ursulaod 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Fri Dec 30, 2016 10:55 am

ursulaod wrote:I also have this same problem and error- install through sketchucation extension manager 3.0, sketchup pro 2016, windows 10 Pro

The sketchucation manager shows they're installed, but no drop down in windows- extensions, and no toolbar.

There are other extensions downloaded through trimbles extension manager in the same plugin folder that work fine, so it's not the location.

Thanks!


Did you also install LibFredo6 on which this extension depends?

From the first page of this thread:
Screenshot - 12_30_2016 , 3_53_38 AM.png


And from the SCF Extension Store page.
Screenshot - 12_30_2016 , 3_55_21 AM.png
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby aaahn » Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:43 am

I can't find the download button for Tools on Surface. Do you still offer it?
0

aaahn 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Mon Feb 06, 2017 3:33 pm

aaahn wrote:I can't find the download button for Tools on Surface. Do you still offer it?


Really? See my post immediately above yours. downloading the extension is very clearly spelled out under the word Download with the red arrow in the yellow box in the first post of this thread.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Fletch » Sat Mar 25, 2017 1:40 pm

rmsnmz wrote:
Dave R wrote:Unfortunately you failed to answer my question about how you are attempting to install it. Please tell us HOW you are installing them. And give us the exact text of the error message you are getting. Help us help you.



Trying to install through the sketchucation extension store 3.0... See the warning popup... Each time I try to install the extension this error message pops up. I tried installing through using the *.rbz file as well (with the skecthucation archive installer) but the same result. This same error message pops up when i try to install Fredo's Visu hole, toposhaper and animator extensions as well. Any more information?


I got this same error message. (Win10/SU2017)

The problem was solved after I opened (using Windows File Explorer) both possible installation locations for SketchUp plugins and manually deleted all files/folders with the name "fredo". C:/Users/Username/AppData/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp2017/SketchUp/Plugins (Place ALL FREDO TOOLS/plugins/extesions IN THIS FOLDER LOCATION!)
C:/ProgramData/SketchUp/SketchUp2017/SketchUp/Plugins (PLACE NO FREDO Plugins/extensions/tools HERE!)

Then, using the SketchUcation Extension store 3.0.8 tool I re-installed all of fredo's plugins ONE-AT-A-TIME, carefully starting with "LibFredo6" and being sure to restart Sketchup after installing each and every plugin to make sure they were installing without errors.

The other thing I was careful to do is to choose the same plugin folder every time (C:/Users/Username/AppData...). I think what happened to get the error the first time is that I somehow chose the wrong plugin installation location for Libfredo6.
0
Last edited by Fletch on Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fletch 
Twilight Render
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Sat Mar 25, 2017 1:46 pm

Fletch wrote:The other thing I was careful to do is to choose the same plugin folder every time (C:/ProgramData/SketchUp...). I think what happened to get the error the first time is that I somehow chose the wrong plugin installation location for Libfredo6.

This time around I installed them all into a single location and they all show up ONLY under the "SketchUcation Extensions Manager" they do NOT show up at all now under the "Plugin Manager"


The correct location for all user-installed extensions including the ones by Fredo is In User/App Data/Roaming/SketchUp/SketchUp 2017/SketchUp/Plugins. You should not install into the Program Data directory.

There are several reasons for this. Unless you modified the security settings for the directory, the extensions won't be installed correctly. This is the problem we had back when the Plugins folder was in Program Files/SketchUp... and which they got around by moving it to the user/App Data...

If you ever have any need to reinstall SketchUp, the Program Data Plugins folder will most likely get overwritten and you'll lose anything you added to it. You can even uninstall SketchUp entirely and the User/App Data plugins folder will not be touched.
0
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Fletch » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:30 pm

good tip, Dave :!: :)
however, it did solve the problem.
I think the answer is that the Fredo collection must all be placed in the same folder, not split up among the two folders.
I'll modify my post above to match your suggestion.
1

Fletch 
Twilight Render
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby ecs05norway » Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:18 am

Don't know what I'm doing wrong here.

This plugin is a great idea. If I could get it to work properly I'd love it.

But so far I'm just getting more frustrated.

It loads properly. No errors. I can draw whatever I like on curved surfaces with it without any problems.

But I can't get Sketchup to recognize the faces thus drawn as being separate from the surface they were drawn on. It continues to treat the thing as one whole face.

I'm on SU2017Make with LibFredo 7.5 on Windows 10, if it matters.
0

ecs05norway 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby Dave R » Wed Apr 12, 2017 10:10 am

ecs05norway wrote:Don't know what I'm doing wrong here.

But I can't get Sketchup to recognize the faces thus drawn as being separate from the surface they were drawn on. It continues to treat the thing as one whole face.


You still need to make the surface on which you are drawing a group or component first. It's the same as if you were using the native tools to draw on a surface.
-1
Etaoin Shrdlu


%

(THERE'S NO PLACE LIKE)

G28 X0.0 Y0.0 Z0.0

M30

%
User avatar
Dave R 
Global Moderator
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby ecs05norway » Thu Apr 13, 2017 3:58 am

Dave R wrote:
ecs05norway wrote:Don't know what I'm doing wrong here.

But I can't get Sketchup to recognize the faces thus drawn as being separate from the surface they were drawn on. It continues to treat the thing as one whole face.


You still need to make the surface on which you are drawing a group or component first. It's the same as if you were using the native tools to draw on a surface.


I'm sorry, Dave, but that makes no sense to me at all. If I make the target surface a Group it doesn't change the behavior at all.

One thing I did figure out is that I had the option to make the output a group turned on, which is why it wasn't integrating with the surface properly. If I turn that off, however, it seems to behave badly with the geometry of the surface and I get random triangles disappearing on the edges. It does, however, at least recognize the surface enclosed by the drawn object as separate from the outside.
0

ecs05norway 
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby applemango85 » Thu May 18, 2017 5:15 pm

Hi

Does anyone know how to get the arc tool to work - when I do get it drawing something I only get a dashed/broken line which I can only select little pieces

thanks
0

applemango85 
Premium Member
Premium Member
 

Re: [Plugin] Tools On Surface - v2.2a - 13 Nov 15

Postby pilou » Thu May 18, 2017 6:46 pm

Click Start - Click End
& Move! ;)

GIF_arctool.gif
-1
Frenchy Pilou
Is beautiful that please without concept!
Speedy Galerie
User avatar
pilou 
Top SketchUcator
 

SketchUcation One-Liner Adverts

by Ad Machine » 5 minutes ago



Ad Machine 
Robot
 

PreviousNext


 

Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bravodigital15, inayath009, Kimoria and 15 guests

Visit our sponsors: